Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 9, 2008
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 435 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
347
Mixed:
29
Negative:
59
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
CamHJun 25, 2008
An exciting spectacle. I think it's been unfairly treated by the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisV.Jun 6, 2008
I grew up watching the cartoons and this movie captured the feel of them perfectly. The way the family interacted was exactly as I expected especially Pops and Spridle. The only actor that was a little off was Hirsch, he needed to be a I grew up watching the cartoons and this movie captured the feel of them perfectly. The way the family interacted was exactly as I expected especially Pops and Spridle. The only actor that was a little off was Hirsch, he needed to be a little more emotional when he gets angry. Even Inspector Detector and Cruncher Block were done extremely well. Maybe the filmmakers put in a few too many wild stunts and maybe they followed the cartoon format too closely for the critics, who it seems didn't watch a single one of the cartoons in preparation for reviewing this film, but not for me. I loved it, if you're a fan of the cartoon and you haven't seen this yet then GO NOW!!! GO SPEED RACER GO!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HAYDJun 6, 2008
Very Good, I liked the cartoon and I love races and videogames, maybe that is why I liked it. However, I think I've never seen something like this before. the -1 is for some very large dialogues.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Jul 28, 2008
I don't understand why all these mega critics where so appalled by the effects, because they were definently in the commercials leading up to the movie release so if they disliked them there they should not have went at all. The plot I don't understand why all these mega critics where so appalled by the effects, because they were definently in the commercials leading up to the movie release so if they disliked them there they should not have went at all. The plot has been attacked over and over, because it is a simple plot with an inspiring message. Nothing to complicated so far. It was a kids movie and i knew this when i entered the theater and i was pleased to the extent of loving this movie more than The Dark Night. The effects were tremendous and they had my eyes bleeding......in total admiration...it was something new and fresh and something i have not seen before and that's why i love it. The makers of this film took a risk in this extravagant style and it was all worth it. This has been the only movie to truly wow me this summer, and i am not an avid reader of speed racer or any manga. I have not even seen the cartoon before, but what i have seen thus far is something i loved to watch. If some high paid movie critics didn't love it. No problem for me its not my fault they are to selfrightous to sit down and enjoy a great movie with a simple inspiring plot married to the greates visuals i have seen yet....yes.....even better than The Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilM.Jul 6, 2008
I can't believe these were the same guys that were behind the masterpiece that was The Matrix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KiraAug 18, 2008
Ok so i saw this movie when it came out and then looked at these reviews and i am frankly disappointed. Miles C. is not giveing this movie a fair rating at all. This movie was meant for kids and for adults who like this show as a kid. First Ok so i saw this movie when it came out and then looked at these reviews and i am frankly disappointed. Miles C. is not giveing this movie a fair rating at all. This movie was meant for kids and for adults who like this show as a kid. First no one has given a good reason for this being a bad movie but I can think of many good reasons. The animation and CG is great and the racetrack during the Grand Prix is very creative and colorful. Oh and this is movie based on an ANIME so yea dont expect it to be the most amazing movie in the world. They simulated the old Mach 5 well with its old gadgets, the storyline was find i dont think it is bad i mean ok so its cliche like the grand prix is rigged yadda but speed is out there to try to prove it wrong and show royalton who's boss. THERE IS A STORYLINE! (although not the best they could have thought of) the end where trixie is kissed by speed is also great where the flashes become hearts, the whole face moving an turning thing going to a new scene it creative but a little overdone but still well done, and yes the whole town is cartooney because...hmmm...well THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE CARTOONEY!!! But all in all this was a great movie and all those out there that rant on it, think of some good reasons and then you will have an argument with something behind it. O yea and some parts were way kiddish the whole like royalton tour with the dirvers being tested and chim chim and the other little kid....idk his name in royalton just cruising but once again this movie is to entertain children as well adults so they had to put some kiddish things in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimV.eSep 17, 2008
This movie is non-stop fun. Don't take it too seriously! All the critics seem to hate it. I thought it was excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DylanM.Sep 18, 2008
In 30 years, Speed Racer will be looked upon as Blade Runner is now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeterK.Sep 18, 2008
Confused and confusing film making. Hard to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Sep 7, 2008
Too over the top and I did not care for the stylized special effects, but it did have some imagination and a good pace, as well as some memorable moments. The acting was fine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MorganFFeb 7, 2009
The effects were horrible. The plot stupid and confusing. The only times I laughed were at the absurdity of it all. And "cool beans"? WTF.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinCDec 3, 2008
Pure fun. I had a smile on my face the whole time. I'd never watched the cartoon and didn't actually expect much from this movie, other than cool visuals. Boy, was I surprised. The story really pulled me in. And the action of the Pure fun. I had a smile on my face the whole time. I'd never watched the cartoon and didn't actually expect much from this movie, other than cool visuals. Boy, was I surprised. The story really pulled me in. And the action of the racing kept me on the edge of my seat. As for the story, it even managed to bring a tear to my wife's eye. (Who really didn't want to watch it. I had to promise her that if she didn't like it, we'd stop after 20 minutes. When it was over, she thanked me for bringing it home.) Yes, it's campy and has it's tongue firmly in cheek, but it's also sincere, sweet and kick-ass rocking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MZelenzMay 11, 2008
A good move for the family, brothers, kids in general. Unless your a real girlie-girl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.May 11, 2008
This was a great--yes, that's right--a great movie. Satisfaction is about how well experiences mesh with expectations. If, as a kid, you loved the original cartoons, you'll love this movie. Even if you aren't familiar with the This was a great--yes, that's right--a great movie. Satisfaction is about how well experiences mesh with expectations. If, as a kid, you loved the original cartoons, you'll love this movie. Even if you aren't familiar with the original cartoons but have the capacity to be entertained and excited, you'll love this movie. The only explanation for not loving it is to expect something of it that a Speed Racer movie could not--and should not--be. Speed Racer was always about speed and excitement, family, outlandish settings and triumph over (yes, ridiculous) odds. This movie scores on all fronts. I will forever owe the Wachoski's a debt (well, after the Matrix movies, maybe we'll just call it even!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JudyT.May 11, 2008
We got just what one would have excepted from the two brothers that ruined a good Matrix movie. A lame, long, CGI filled mess with no interesting story or characters. I gave it a six because the race sequences through more like a roller We got just what one would have excepted from the two brothers that ruined a good Matrix movie. A lame, long, CGI filled mess with no interesting story or characters. I gave it a six because the race sequences through more like a roller derby were good and were the only part of the movie that my grandson paid attention to. Most of the kids in the audience were bored to distraction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisHMay 11, 2008
Forget the critics. Speed Racer is an amazing and fun ride through visual spectacle of the best kind. Iron Man won't show you anything you haven't seen before. Speed Racer will. Iron Man won't provide a good villain or a plot Forget the critics. Speed Racer is an amazing and fun ride through visual spectacle of the best kind. Iron Man won't show you anything you haven't seen before. Speed Racer will. Iron Man won't provide a good villain or a plot that has any meaning whatsoever. Speed Racer will. Go see this flick if only for the major ground breaking visuals. You'll like it a lot more than you think going in/. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenWMay 11, 2008
An awesomely visual spectacle in which the car racers are superb, I am 17 and being as this is a childish movie I may not have enjoyed as much as the kids around me did. But it did certainly reach to their target audience. Throughout the An awesomely visual spectacle in which the car racers are superb, I am 17 and being as this is a childish movie I may not have enjoyed as much as the kids around me did. But it did certainly reach to their target audience. Throughout the film it becomes clear there is one half of the film where theres the back story of Speed and how he finds out how corrupt racing is and then theres his younger brother and ChimChim. There is something for adults and kids and with visuals never seen before it makes up to be a fun watch for the family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinB.May 10, 2008
From the echoes of the anime during the short but sweet opening marquis graphic, into the wonderful juxtaposition of a flash-back and the feeling we all get when behind the wheel sometimes, wondering into a dream-like state and for two hours From the echoes of the anime during the short but sweet opening marquis graphic, into the wonderful juxtaposition of a flash-back and the feeling we all get when behind the wheel sometimes, wondering into a dream-like state and for two hours that's just what I felt like I was doing. Trying to fit the one of the most popular animes ever into a consice and fabulously written script (based on the source material) may not be something that will win oscars but it will win fans. Throughout I was transported to a place of future fantasy as one was in Back to the Future Part Two, or Blade Runner, and I held on with my eyes being tossed all over, mouth agape wondering what other tributes would be thrown in to give the fans something more to take from this colorful film. While some agree the monkey may have taken more scenes than necessary, The Wachoski's had a vision overall. Considering the original Japanese cartoon was considered extremely violent, who on western shores would consider seeing such a film with so many different moods and themes. The scene of Royalton's expose was tense, but the monkey was a perfect to break it. I truly enjoyed this wild ride into the future world of racing and I hope to back in a few years. But with the critics shooting down artistic licenses left and right, the directors may become dejected. Just remember, this is not Atonement or There will be blood, it is a cartoon adaptation so what would you expect from a cartoon? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomE.May 11, 2008
It was great to see Speed Racer on the big screen. I grew up with Speed Racer and I wanted to share the experience with my kids. I highly recommend the film if you are a fan of Speed Racer!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlairS.May 10, 2008
Very much loved the movie. Most enjoyable movie I've seen in ages. However it is not the best. There are bits which are a bit childish and wont appeal to adults. Likewise, there is alot of complex dialogue that wouldnt appeal to kids. Very much loved the movie. Most enjoyable movie I've seen in ages. However it is not the best. There are bits which are a bit childish and wont appeal to adults. Likewise, there is alot of complex dialogue that wouldnt appeal to kids. This is a movie for fans, or forgiving people. The reviews on it are being harsh, only because its being reasonably faithful to the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewFMay 12, 2008
I loved this movie It really hit me in the part of my mind that is 7 yrs old still. and I hate that the critics are so wrapped up in art house bores to know that they are seeing fun entertainment with a lot of heart and imagination. My guess I loved this movie It really hit me in the part of my mind that is 7 yrs old still. and I hate that the critics are so wrapped up in art house bores to know that they are seeing fun entertainment with a lot of heart and imagination. My guess is people will be talking about this movie in the future under the category of cult films. I can't wait to go see a again with my nephew. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeS.May 10, 2008
F-zero GX meets speed racer meets acid. what more could you ask for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennyZMay 12, 2008
I'm very, very picky about movies, but I had an absolute blast at "Speed Racer" and I'm not ashamed to say so. The movie never snickers, condescends, or mocks its story or characters. I loved the over the top visual style. The I'm very, very picky about movies, but I had an absolute blast at "Speed Racer" and I'm not ashamed to say so. The movie never snickers, condescends, or mocks its story or characters. I loved the over the top visual style. The story had a lot of heart as well, it brought a tear to my eye on more than one occasion, to my great and pleasant surprise. The critics missed the mark on this one, and I'm glad to see so many MC users give the film the praise I think it richly deserves. Absolutely top notch and dead spot-on casting all the way around as well. I found it hard to resist a movie made with so much obvious love, affection, and visual creativity. "Speed Racer" is a misunderstood minor masterpiece, in my ever so humble opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiR.May 12, 2008
A visual feast that's not anywhere near as bad as haters will have you believe. Just don't go expecting the deepest plot around and just go see it to have fun and you'll definitely enjoy it all. Fast cars exploding... A visual feast that's not anywhere near as bad as haters will have you believe. Just don't go expecting the deepest plot around and just go see it to have fun and you'll definitely enjoy it all. Fast cars exploding... constantly! What more do people need? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SadieTMay 12, 2008
My family loved this movie. I think it has been unjustly criticized--it's a movie about a cartoon racer, it's not trying to be "Schindler's List" people! Just relax and enjoy it for what it is--a thrilling and beautiful ride!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DemetriosS.May 12, 2008
Great entertainment........as a Speed Racer fan since I was 10 years old, I could not have asked for anything more....except maybe even more scenes with the mach 5. When Speed get knocked over the cliff and then comes back up on the other Great entertainment........as a Speed Racer fan since I was 10 years old, I could not have asked for anything more....except maybe even more scenes with the mach 5. When Speed get knocked over the cliff and then comes back up on the other side of the mountain.......WOW! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayF.May 10, 2008
Stunning, gorgeous, exciting, thrilling, the funnest time I've had at the movies in 5 years. Yes, the plot is thin, but the emotional moments pack a punch. Like the mom says, my breath was taken away. It's that good. If you Stunning, gorgeous, exciting, thrilling, the funnest time I've had at the movies in 5 years. Yes, the plot is thin, but the emotional moments pack a punch. Like the mom says, my breath was taken away. It's that good. If you don't take it seriously, it insinuates itself to be taken with eventually a lot of heart and a whole hundred tons of dazzle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HughS.May 12, 2008
I don't know whose dog the Wachowski's killed to piss off all the reviewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomM.May 12, 2008
Everything in this movie was ridiculously over the top. It's the cinematic equivalent of cotton candy laced with espresso. I LIKED it! What were the critics who gave this movie poor reviews expecting- a nuanced meditation on man's Everything in this movie was ridiculously over the top. It's the cinematic equivalent of cotton candy laced with espresso. I LIKED it! What were the critics who gave this movie poor reviews expecting- a nuanced meditation on man's inhumanity to man? This movie is like a two hour vacation for your higher cognitive functioning. I'm glad I didn't see this in IMAX though as I think I would still be reeling from the experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlbertoC.May 12, 2008
Incredibly entertaining movie despite the surprising low reviews. What the critics don't realize is that this is a stylized film that is like an anime come to life. BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY EVER!!!! GO WACHOWSKI BROS!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SlybriMMay 13, 2008
John Goodman fights a Ninja. That's worth 10 bucks right there. It's completely absurd but it's fast and fun and it captures the spirit of the old cartoon. I actually liked this more than Iron Man, and I'm a huge Marvel John Goodman fights a Ninja. That's worth 10 bucks right there. It's completely absurd but it's fast and fun and it captures the spirit of the old cartoon. I actually liked this more than Iron Man, and I'm a huge Marvel fan. I can't wait to own this on Blu-Ray. The visuals are wonderful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RoccoS.May 13, 2008
Adrenaline rush to the end! Pay no attention to haters and take your wife/husband and kids to enjoy a wonderful family movie. Go speed racer, GO!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DEANDMay 13, 2008
Ok...where do i begin...Races made no sense and were painfully boring, colour scheme was like watching a 3 hour version of Barbie Girl by Aqua. Special effects were actually not groundbreaking or breathtaking, but cheap and nasty - I'm Ok...where do i begin...Races made no sense and were painfully boring, colour scheme was like watching a 3 hour version of Barbie Girl by Aqua. Special effects were actually not groundbreaking or breathtaking, but cheap and nasty - I'm tired of people saying this is the future of film. No. The future of film is good movies, not how much high tech crap you can throw at em to make them sing and dance... and whether or not they're shot on red blue green or taupe screen, they still need a plot and some good ideas. At least the Matrix had a few of those. And the Matrix may have made the Wachowskis famous, but Speed racer will definitely make them infamous. Its not for kids either, its way too boring. Actually this was about as exciting as watching one of those arcade games play by itself while it waits for the next person to insert a coin. No sorry, it was worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StephenPMay 14, 2008
It boggles my mind how poor the ratings are for this movie. I've seen it twice already and cannot wait to purchase it on Blu-Ray when it comes out. I was very surprised by this movie - there was a lot more going on by way of serious It boggles my mind how poor the ratings are for this movie. I've seen it twice already and cannot wait to purchase it on Blu-Ray when it comes out. I was very surprised by this movie - there was a lot more going on by way of serious themes in the movie. I enjoyed the camera work and the silliness of many parts. There was very little in this movie that I did not like. I don't want to push my opinion on anyone else, just take away from this - don't trust the reviews. If I am jaded (because I liked V for Vendetta a lot too) I guess I'm just glad that I could enjoy the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarinMay 16, 2008
A very enjoyable family movie that's a little hyper at times but delivers awesome visuals and laugh out loud moments for the kids. The mainstream critics missed the boat on this one... maybe because Iron-Man was so good the expectations A very enjoyable family movie that's a little hyper at times but delivers awesome visuals and laugh out loud moments for the kids. The mainstream critics missed the boat on this one... maybe because Iron-Man was so good the expectations for future movies will be hard to overcome. Speed Racer is a decent flick that makes the summer season fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewFMay 16, 2008
Like nothing you will ever see on the big screen. The artistic style and visuals of this movie are absolutely brilliant. Too bad it's getting so trashed by the critics. Like "Tron" for the 21st century, i think it's a movie Like nothing you will ever see on the big screen. The artistic style and visuals of this movie are absolutely brilliant. Too bad it's getting so trashed by the critics. Like "Tron" for the 21st century, i think it's a movie slightly ahead of it's time. Go see it on the big screen while you can! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmySMay 17, 2008
Look at the critics score then look at the user votes score, the audience obviously loves this film. That's because it is true to the original cartoon, has a great story, and eye popping special effects. The story is like the cartoon Look at the critics score then look at the user votes score, the audience obviously loves this film. That's because it is true to the original cartoon, has a great story, and eye popping special effects. The story is like the cartoon was...fairly simple and a little silly, and funny. What else would you expect from a movie like this anyway? Go watch this movie on the big screen, it's terrific fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesE.May 17, 2008
I went with my family, little kid and beautiful wife had a great time... overall people at the room where laughing and having a great time.... in mexico people have great fondeness for the old japanese cartoons that were so popular, I went with my family, little kid and beautiful wife had a great time... overall people at the room where laughing and having a great time.... in mexico people have great fondeness for the old japanese cartoons that were so popular, culturally speaking japanese productions have been always so welcomed here in mexico I think is going to do great overseas usa, critics are really stupid, excuse me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlW.May 17, 2008
I find it hard to believe that so many "critics" rated this film so poorly. I thought the Wachowski brothers hit all of their marks. The movie was supposed to be a live action cartoon representing the best of the Speed racer cartoon. It did I find it hard to believe that so many "critics" rated this film so poorly. I thought the Wachowski brothers hit all of their marks. The movie was supposed to be a live action cartoon representing the best of the Speed racer cartoon. It did that and much much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ludd_gangMay 21, 2008
I grew up on this show, now my kid is watching the DVD's. The movie hits it dead on, is vastly entertaining and awesomely colored visuals. Nice message about the importance of family. Lots of fun. The critics are too cool for school.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.May 21, 2008
it was the coolest movie ever but with iron man i would say speed racer
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantE.May 21, 2008
If you know what you're getting, there's no way you'll be disappointed. The critics just went in blindly, hence idiotic reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaiC.May 22, 2008
A bold and entirely successful endeavor to capture both the charm and spirit of a beloved franchise. It breaks all the rules of cinema in favor of creating an experience that turns suspension of disbelief into solid gold. This film ought not A bold and entirely successful endeavor to capture both the charm and spirit of a beloved franchise. It breaks all the rules of cinema in favor of creating an experience that turns suspension of disbelief into solid gold. This film ought not be compared - or reviewed - along the lines of conventional cinema. It really doesn't seem to be intended that way. I don't think many other directors could reproduce what the Wachowski's have accomplished with Speed Racer. Like it or hate it, it is a unique and powerful picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenVDPMay 22, 2008
I went with my girlfriend not expecting a whole lot but in the end the movie won me over with it's style and heart. It wont be everyone cups of tea but give it chance. It will make you feel like a kid by the end of it. Critics will I went with my girlfriend not expecting a whole lot but in the end the movie won me over with it's style and heart. It wont be everyone cups of tea but give it chance. It will make you feel like a kid by the end of it. Critics will never get this movie because I think most of them lost there child like innocence years ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HolliP.May 23, 2008
I don't know what movie the critics saw because I thought this movie succeeded on every level it was aiming for -- namely transforming a cartoon/video game world into a fun big screen experience. There could have been a little less I don't know what movie the critics saw because I thought this movie succeeded on every level it was aiming for -- namely transforming a cartoon/video game world into a fun big screen experience. There could have been a little less talking, a little less of the arty faces panning through the screen, but every race and every fight was tons of fun as my cheering 8 year old son would heartily attest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeoffH.May 24, 2008
Best CG since Transformers. Most artistic, entertaining and accessible movie so far this decade. The Wachowski brothers do not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
J.G.May 24, 2008
This film betrays the cartoon in more ways than one, adding in special effects to try and compensate for a ridiculous story-line, and lifeless characters. The movie as a whole is very disorienting, and though it shows that a lot of effort This film betrays the cartoon in more ways than one, adding in special effects to try and compensate for a ridiculous story-line, and lifeless characters. The movie as a whole is very disorienting, and though it shows that a lot of effort was put into its production, the final product is a painful swirl of anger and torment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OllieA.May 28, 2008
I'm an avid movie goer, and teach media arts, so I have a tendency to pick movies apart. I'm not sure what the critics were expecting, but I thought it was great fun, and the visuals were super slick. would have given it a 9.5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexR.May 29, 2008
he has a button, when he presses it a dildo shoots up the chair into his ass for an ultimate orgasm. racer x is his dad who wants his bung hole. the monkey also jerks him off while the boy double dildos in the trunk.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshR.May 30, 2008
This has to be, the worst film, I have ever watched in my life, the casting was god awful - by which I mean the annoying little fat kid who plays 2 characters and the random Australian man and A MONKEY (??), the special effects made me This has to be, the worst film, I have ever watched in my life, the casting was god awful - by which I mean the annoying little fat kid who plays 2 characters and the random Australian man and A MONKEY (??), the special effects made me dizzy, the story was- well there wasn't one and the whole thing lasted nearly 2 and a half hours. The only good thing I can even think of, is that when the DVD is released, it will make a good replacement for traditional paper shooting targets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanH.May 8, 2008
This is one of the most innovative movies I have ever seen, but it is also a great family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWMay 9, 2008
I saw the movie last night, and I don't see why so many critics are down on it. It was over the top, graphically, in acting style, in what happened, and in several other ways. But that was the point. It was a beautiful movie I saw the movie last night, and I don't see why so many critics are down on it. It was over the top, graphically, in acting style, in what happened, and in several other ways. But that was the point. It was a beautiful movie artistically, and the characters were very amusing in their absurdity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickJ.May 9, 2008
Fantastic movie for what it was. I came in expecting another Iron Man-esque retro cartoon hero turned modern, but was pleasantly to find it stuck to its' roots. The action was nothing short of incredible, and the overall atmosphere and Fantastic movie for what it was. I came in expecting another Iron Man-esque retro cartoon hero turned modern, but was pleasantly to find it stuck to its' roots. The action was nothing short of incredible, and the overall atmosphere and storyline were great as well. Watch it with an open mind, and you will undoubtedly love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DannyR.May 9, 2008
I saw the movie last night at the new Harkins theater in Tucson, Arizona. I liked the movie a lot. It's not going to win an Oscar for best movie but it's very intense and fun to watch. It's has a great family vibe going. So I saw the movie last night at the new Harkins theater in Tucson, Arizona. I liked the movie a lot. It's not going to win an Oscar for best movie but it's very intense and fun to watch. It's has a great family vibe going. So take you kids to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianMay 9, 2008
I have been a fan for years since I was a kid and this lived up to everything I wanted it to be. The final race was a bit short but I almost didnt notice since it was so intense. F what the critics think. It more than did the job of I have been a fan for years since I was a kid and this lived up to everything I wanted it to be. The final race was a bit short but I almost didnt notice since it was so intense. F what the critics think. It more than did the job of entertaining me which is why I go to see movies anyway. Entertainment and escape. Its a fun ride and funny and answers lots of those questions the show left us with. The Mach 6 is awesome!! Make plans to see it more than once!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielH.May 9, 2008
I'm a movie snob and I decided last minute to go see this movie for lack of something better to do....I loved it! Don't listen to the critics- this movie is awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RandyM.Jun 28, 2008
Awful. Simply awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderG.Jun 5, 2008
can someone tell me why are there so many bad reviews for this movie by well known critics? my only guess is that they didn't think it was a kids movie, they were probably expecting people dodging bullets, and doing kung fu ninja moves can someone tell me why are there so many bad reviews for this movie by well known critics? my only guess is that they didn't think it was a kids movie, they were probably expecting people dodging bullets, and doing kung fu ninja moves in mid air. this is by far the best family movie i have ever seen this summer. music, cinematography, editing, cast, and directing all perfect. to me its a master piece! don't believe the critics, believe us the people. if you ever go watch it (imax recommended) keep in mind that it is a kids movie. i promise you wont be disappointed. Go speed go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JonnyBoyAug 16, 2008
While the races are fast-paced and somewhat exciting, you'll be disapointed that you can't tell what is even going on. This is Speedracer, a film that concentrates on looks more than anything else. And it shows. The film's While the races are fast-paced and somewhat exciting, you'll be disapointed that you can't tell what is even going on. This is Speedracer, a film that concentrates on looks more than anything else. And it shows. The film's "comic relief" is Spritle and his pet monkey, however, they are more annoying that funny. The family learns that a big company has controlled who wins in each race for the last 50 years. That is about as complicated as the storyline gets. The next hour or so is so boring, you would like to walk out of the theater, however, you stay because you think, jsut maybe, it could turn for the better. Well don't stay. Save yourself the trouble and money on this film and stay as far away from it as you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimS.Sep 17, 2008
Good solid movie. Good characters. Great artist style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HaroldM.Sep 17, 2008
The "real critics" just don't understand when a movie is going for campy and it secedes at that making it vary good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Sep 17, 2008
I can honestly say that I haven't been that amped coming out of a movie since the original Star Wars!! If you are a fan of the original cartoon and enjoy watching anime, then this is a must see (but if you are, then you've probably I can honestly say that I haven't been that amped coming out of a movie since the original Star Wars!! If you are a fan of the original cartoon and enjoy watching anime, then this is a must see (but if you are, then you've probably already seen it). The Warchawski Brothers brilliantly succeeded in capturing the original cartoon as a live action film. Go Speed go!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidD.Sep 17, 2008
I really have no idea what about this movie seems to have won it over so much negativity; I absolutely loved this film. It may be due to the love it or hate it aspects of it, in any case, this is definitely one of those situations where I really have no idea what about this movie seems to have won it over so much negativity; I absolutely loved this film. It may be due to the love it or hate it aspects of it, in any case, this is definitely one of those situations where you're going to want to ignore the critics on this one. Earlier this year, I watched Horton, and that movie was so awful I actually walked out of the ending. How did that movie get good ratings?! I suspect foul play; I don't trust critics. If you're ever looking for an example of how to bring a Japanese animated show to life, I can't think of a better example than this film. Everything felt extremely well-balanced. The heavily-criticized opening scene, which involves a montage of Speeds' life and his defining career race well established the plot while fully immersing viewers into the action. I'm also a big fan of John Goodman, and I believe the heart-warming scene between him and Speed is probably among my top five film moments this year. Almost overshadowed by the ensuing race finale, which was, at the LEAST, one hell of a rush. Common complaints may be the length, which I believe derives from the desire from the directors to not have to take out anything conducive to the plot without compromising the plot development and over-all set-up for the films' thrilling finale. Or that the film was "experimental" and often "too colorful". Yes, it was a different experience than most typical movie affair, yes it seemed like someone over-did it on the ecstasy, but any of that hardly detracts from the experience. I love when movies strive to break out of the norm, going so far as to screw what the critics will think, and I loved this movie. I watched it about twice and fully enjoyed it both times. I've seen the ending several times already; every time I see it, it hits just as hard as the first time. Some may really hate this film for whatever reason, but I implore you: see this film! Note: IGNs' top film critic, Todd Gilchrist, submitted a very good review of this film. I'd recommend giving it a read. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanHSep 20, 2008
I personally loved Speed Racer but the film seems to have been too sweet for the critics sensitive palates, or perhaps their poor reviews were written at the behest of their corporate masters in retaliation against Speed Racers I personally loved Speed Racer but the film seems to have been too sweet for the critics sensitive palates, or perhaps their poor reviews were written at the behest of their corporate masters in retaliation against Speed Racers ant-capitalist message. The disparity between critic and user scores says it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VincenzoSep 22, 2008
I am stunned by the number of people giving this a 9 or a 10. This movie was JUSTLY criticised by critics for being poorly scripted, overlong, gawdy and fake. Whilst I wouldn't call the movie boring, there is nothing memorbale about it I am stunned by the number of people giving this a 9 or a 10. This movie was JUSTLY criticised by critics for being poorly scripted, overlong, gawdy and fake. Whilst I wouldn't call the movie boring, there is nothing memorbale about it whatsoever. To those of you calling it "innovative" did you not see the pod race in the phantom menace? I would argue that looked more realistic, with more urgency and creativty, than this. Great actors like Emile Hirsch and John Goodman are wasted in very poorly written roles. Cardboard movies can be fun, and even art -I might cite Kill Bill as one that is more succesful in doing this. If Speed Racer is the future then I may end up avoiding the cinema Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DQS.Dec 31, 2008
This wasn't a movie. No. Make a list of the things that make up a movie and the only thing that Sped Racer qualifies with is: recorded sequences edited together. I'd rather watch the original sample material included with iMovie - This wasn't a movie. No. Make a list of the things that make up a movie and the only thing that Sped Racer qualifies with is: recorded sequences edited together. I'd rather watch the original sample material included with iMovie - Yeah, I'd rather watch the kids wash the St. Bernard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoM.May 11, 2008
The reaction from Critics toward this movie is a phenomena on its own and just to clarify I'm talking about the ones that are bashing this movie, I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterL.May 11, 2008
Loved it and the hope you give this movie a chance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryF.May 11, 2008
There must have been a 48hr virus that turned movie reviewers into joyless, curmudgeons. They either didn't watch Speed Racer as children, or they thought it was a re-screening of "No Country For Old Men". This movie was great. There must have been a 48hr virus that turned movie reviewers into joyless, curmudgeons. They either didn't watch Speed Racer as children, or they thought it was a re-screening of "No Country For Old Men". This movie was great. Fantastic visuals, lots of obvious and subtle references to the cartoon, and acting that's more than good enough for a movie adapted from a 70s cartoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeMay 11, 2008
The movie was exactly what it was supposed to be. Nothing more and nothing less. As a movie it may not be a cinematic masterpiece. The point that the critics have missed is that it was never meant to be. As an adaptation the movie is spot The movie was exactly what it was supposed to be. Nothing more and nothing less. As a movie it may not be a cinematic masterpiece. The point that the critics have missed is that it was never meant to be. As an adaptation the movie is spot on. This is Speed Racer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanS.May 11, 2008
I loved the movie and so did my 12 year old daughter. But, hey, I grew up loving Speed Racer cartoons, so maybe I am the target demographic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillT.May 11, 2008
Hugely enjoyable. I see no reason as to why the big guys are slamming this one. Sure, it's like driving your 200 mph supercar down the road to insanity, but it's a fun trip. I suggest this to anyone who wants to go and see a highly Hugely enjoyable. I see no reason as to why the big guys are slamming this one. Sure, it's like driving your 200 mph supercar down the road to insanity, but it's a fun trip. I suggest this to anyone who wants to go and see a highly enjoyable, very fun flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottFMay 11, 2008
The beautifully captured racing sequences are far from enough to save the picture. Speed racer is stunningly awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankB.May 12, 2008
I personally got dragged to this movie and thought it was gonna suck based on all the bad reviews it got. Other than some bad acting trying to be like the original this movie rocked. I loved it, the car races/fights were visually amazing, I personally got dragged to this movie and thought it was gonna suck based on all the bad reviews it got. Other than some bad acting trying to be like the original this movie rocked. I loved it, the car races/fights were visually amazing, and the ending race was pretty sweet. Like I said my only beef with this movie is that they tried to be a lil too much like the original anime/cartoon with their dialogue and i didn't care for the costumes too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattM.May 12, 2008
I'm not really sure what the people who hated this movie were expecting. It pretty much lived up to everything I wanted from it and more. The story is extremely simple and really only provides a basic framework for the stunning visual I'm not really sure what the people who hated this movie were expecting. It pretty much lived up to everything I wanted from it and more. The story is extremely simple and really only provides a basic framework for the stunning visual feast that is essentially the real content of the film. The acting is competent but never great -- Matthew Fox is especially wooden and Emile Hirsch isn't quite the hero he ought to be -- and given the A-list actors here, it's understandable that people may be a bit underwhelmed by the performances (which could be potentially blamed on a so-so script)... But those racing sequences are so insane and mesmerizing that it's hard for me to not love this movie. I usually hate kids' movies and the humor here wasn't so much that it turned me off. The story-telling was clever in its flashbacks, always jolting you in one direction or another, just like the wild anti-physics of the racing itself. Despite any of the drawbacks of the film, I still really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who's looking for an entertaining, light but visually arresting experience in the theatre. (This won't translate well to the small screen.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.May 13, 2008
"Speed Racer" is colorful, all right. And fast. The storyline is a paean to technology and mavericks. The storyline goes like this: Speed(Emilie Hirsch) rebuffs the advances of a racing team(read: major studio), and its head honcho "Speed Racer" is colorful, all right. And fast. The storyline is a paean to technology and mavericks. The storyline goes like this: Speed(Emilie Hirsch) rebuffs the advances of a racing team(read: major studio), and its head honcho Royalton(Roger Allam), because he wants to maintain his independence. This storyline plays like a thinly-veiled reference to George Lucas, who is, technically, an independent filmmaker. "Speed Racer" has a DIY spirit, awash in special effects laden upon special effects, which reflects Lucas' aesthetics, post-"American Graffiti". And then there's Hirsch, fresh off an almost Oscar-nominated performance in Sean Penn's "Into the Wild", looking amateurish, as Hayden Christensen did in the second trilogy of "Star Wars" films. During the end credits, Chim Chim(a chimpanzee named Kenzie) gets behind the wheel, which really drives home the thankless nature of starring in a special effects-driven film like "Speed Racer". You really don't notice if its Hirsch, or Tobey Maguire, or Mark Mothersbaugh of Devo(he wrote a song called "Speed Racer", from 1982's "Oh, No: It's Devo!), occupying the white suit. The moviegoer's attention is diverted to the graffiti(this is a rebuke to Speed's mom's assessment about her son's "art") on the screen. But you notice the monkey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulR.May 13, 2008
Excellent representation of TV Show. Great effects. Story kept you interested. Dying to see it again. First movie in years I will pay to see again. Whoever rates this movie poorly either never watched the TV show or is too "grown-up" to see movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TiernanS.May 15, 2008
I must acknowledge a grand kudos to the world for mostly ignoring this clunker in its opening weekend. The trailer generated no excitement from me except a bit of rollercoaster vertigo. Even the seven minute opening of the film currenty I must acknowledge a grand kudos to the world for mostly ignoring this clunker in its opening weekend. The trailer generated no excitement from me except a bit of rollercoaster vertigo. Even the seven minute opening of the film currenty available online to generate excitement and anticipation left me cold and unaffected. "Color, We need more Color." "Light, We need more light." "Make it faster too." These three exclamations were likely the only directorial assistance required in post production. Blah! Sin City made a similar approach to much more potent and engaging effect. I give the film a 1 just because the trailer made me crave Skittles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricY.May 16, 2008
The effects are great, they spent the time to develop the plot and the characters, it had the feel of the original cartoons. The visual style really hasn't been seen before, they took a lot of risks. This movie is much better than the The effects are great, they spent the time to develop the plot and the characters, it had the feel of the original cartoons. The visual style really hasn't been seen before, they took a lot of risks. This movie is much better than the 37 score it's getting on metacritic. I enjoyed it a little bit more than Iron Man which adheres fairly close to the current Hollywood fomula. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
memodelrioMay 16, 2008
To hell with critics, this is a really enjoyable film.... excellent! best i have seen in years.. very refreshing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AJMay 18, 2008
Dizzying and glorious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TanpienL.May 22, 2008
time to review the official reviewers, since they either have brain palsy or are over 60. This movie is great family fun, even for the kids who don't know where the secret plans for the MACH 5 are hidden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.May 22, 2008
Since this big-screen adaptation and expansion of the popular 1960s Japanese TV cartoon is a PG, there are obviously no on-screen decapitations, but you can be sure that heads rolled in the Warner Bros. front office when this was edged out Since this big-screen adaptation and expansion of the popular 1960s Japanese TV cartoon is a PG, there are obviously no on-screen decapitations, but you can be sure that heads rolled in the Warner Bros. front office when this was edged out of the #2 slot in its opening week by the dopey Cameron Diaz-Ashton Kutcher romcom What Happens In Vegas. (Both movies were bested by a second week of Iron Man.) Not that either Vegas or Racer are going to be invited to any Mensa meetings anytime soon, but this turn of events proves that God's in his heaven and all's right with the world: simple emptyheadedness is infinitely preferable to mindless stupidity. The Gummi Bears color schemes DO hold interest for about 20 minutes, the problem being that this is a 135-minute (!!!) movie that proves once again as do most filmizations of TV sitcoms that what works and even flourishes in small doses can become interminable torture when overextended. (And speaking of meaningless stylistic curlicues, if anyone's tempted to rent this out on DVD in a couple months or so, playing drinking games based on the movie's frequency of psuedo-clever across-the-screen wipes is clearly not advisable; 45 minutes into this and anyone doing anything stronger than O'Doul's is likely to slip into an alcoholic coma.) The Warchowski Brothers, whose best film, 1996's clever kidnap thriller Bound moves farther and farther away from them and whose trademark movie The Matrix was responsible for forming a subadolescent religion whose followers quickly converted to mass nihilism as soon as the sequels came out, have lost the capacity to navigate the most rudimentary demands of simple expository narrative; the one-good-man-seeking-the-truth-in-a-corrupt-system storyline takes forever to unfold, and the two Big Race payoffs don't because the SFX are so artificial and confusingly presented that they kill anything resembling rooting interest. (If you wanted to credit the Wachowskis with more than they deserve, you could chalk this up to an attempt at Brechtian distancing, but then these guys are so post-literate that they'd probably define Brecht as a brand of shampoo once sold at Kroger's.) Emile Hirsch (Into the Wild) is fairly dull in the title role, but Susan Sarandon's warmth, Christina Ricci's (uncharacteristic) cuteness and Roger Allam, amusingly channeling Tim Curry's patented plumminess as a villainous tycoon qualify as genuinely if briefly redeeming factors. However, John Goodman, who has always hit the mark when portraying such solidly American figures as Babe Ruth, Huey Long and Fred Flintstone, seems out of place, ill at ease and stiffly bombastic interpreting the product of another culture. (He doesn't look too healthy, either. I'm worried!) Speaking of cultural disconnect, some controversy has arisen as to whether Speed Racer's nonstop frenetic gaudiness will, as certain disco-ball Japanese TV shows have done, induce epileptic fits. Probably not, but NARCOLEPTIC fits, well, that's another story! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SomeGuyMay 24, 2008
I went in with low expectations, and was very pleasantly surprised: This is a comic book come to life. That's it. It's not high art, it's pop art, a make-believe world where every color is saturated, every race is dream-like I went in with low expectations, and was very pleasantly surprised: This is a comic book come to life. That's it. It's not high art, it's pop art, a make-believe world where every color is saturated, every race is dream-like speed, the good guys look good, and the scruffy bad guys look, well, scruffy and bad. The aesthetic is an amalgam of anime/american comics/video games. And it's over-the-top funny, with lots of pokes at itself and its genre(s). C'mon, the Viking-dressed race team, who get their payoff as a big trunk full of furs - that they then run lovingly over their faces? That's funny! The critics (some of whom I greatly respect) who don't get this movie .... just don't get it. It's meant to be fun, light, over the top eye candy. That's all it is. And the back and forth time lines with the overlayered foreground talking heads to explicate plot lines and change scenes? Confusing at first, but then it makes sense: it's that comic book thing coming through. Mark my words, this will be a film people either love or hate - and in a few years, it'll be a cult film. Way cool. For sheer entertainment and directorial daring, I'd rate it above the fine but very conventional "Iron Man." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCMay 29, 2008
This movie was great and had awesome visual effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilB.May 31, 2008
Insane and totally awesome, this film will blow your eyeballs away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CliffBJun 13, 2008
Just a 10 to balance out the 0's. Otherwise an 8 or 9. I thought the movie was very enjoyable and it came across as the Wachowski brothers intended. So far the most entertaining movie of the summer to me. You go to a movie like this Just a 10 to balance out the 0's. Otherwise an 8 or 9. I thought the movie was very enjoyable and it came across as the Wachowski brothers intended. So far the most entertaining movie of the summer to me. You go to a movie like this expecting a movie like this; and if you have low expectations due to the critics' reviews you will be pleasantly surprised. Please note, I'm also the kind of guy who bashes idiots for getting bored watching flicks like "There Will Be Blood." So now it is my turn to say that the critics mainly blew it on this one. It is not the best movie ever, but fathers can't go wrong taking their sons to this. Even if their sons are in their 30's, unless they are so uptight they can't remember what it was like to be a kid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LuizJun 14, 2008
It´s a good movie for what it intents to be: a Japanese cartoon ive action. It is fun and it captures the spectators attention. If your´re a speed racer fan it´s fantastic. Leaving the story aside, technically the movie is It´s a good movie for what it intents to be: a Japanese cartoon ive action. It is fun and it captures the spectators attention. If your´re a speed racer fan it´s fantastic. Leaving the story aside, technically the movie is great, with incredible scenarios (all digital) and very good film editing. Although it looks like oriented to a younger audience, adults (like i said, specially fans) may enjoy as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisE.Jun 14, 2008
A beautiful symphony of sights, sounds and movements. It has a genuine sense of awe to it and is more moving than most films I've seen this year. Terribly misunderstood; a cult classic in the making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlK.Jun 14, 2008
Classic Speed Racer mixed with the Wachowski brothers visuals. Excellent. Me and the little bro, absolutely loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MilesC.Jun 26, 2008
This movie was horrible!!! the only reason i saw it was because it was playing after Iron-man at the drive-in. There was no plot basically it was just one big race that went nowhere. The only fun part of the movie was making fun of it the This movie was horrible!!! the only reason i saw it was because it was playing after Iron-man at the drive-in. There was no plot basically it was just one big race that went nowhere. The only fun part of the movie was making fun of it the whole time. The critics were dead on the rating except it might be somewhat high but I don't know why every one else rated this so high. A 2 year old child might like it but thats just because of all the flashing colors, i wouldn't be surprised if this movie has given people seizures because of all the flashing colors. And for those who say this movie is good for children just remember that twice in the movie a child flips of a adult, some mild language. It was almost as if the just hired special effects guys and forgot to write the plot so they hired some five year old to make it up as they go along. And for children especially its way too confusing, i think they need to include the written plot with explanation before the movie, basically speed found out that xracer was not his brother and then at the end of the movie xracer says that he got plastic surgery and he really is his brother, hmm he isn't yet he is- makes a lot of sense. On top of that it's basically hinting that the big racing company is wal-mart and their small company is a small business that wal-mart forces to go out of business9 which of source a lot of children will get this). Hey i will give them credit for one thing- showing me the worst piece of CRAP I've ever seen! you may be thinking I'm just highly critical and don't like many movies but i did somewhat like the last pirates of the Caribbean movie so go figure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BalmungJun 28, 2008
Critics killed this movie. If you don even understand what Manga and Anime is. If you can even understand why the movie looks the way it looks, you shouldn't be allowed to critique this movie. This an spectacular movie experience, a Critics killed this movie. If you don even understand what Manga and Anime is. If you can even understand why the movie looks the way it looks, you shouldn't be allowed to critique this movie. This an spectacular movie experience, a perfect representation of the original animation style with real people. Go see it, I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisV.KJul 15, 2008
Too much like the cartoon for critics to handle, and too fast for their crusty old eyes to take in. This movie was outrageous fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliusH.Aug 12, 2008
I could not believe how great this movie was. The ending alone was the best reason for seeing this movie the whole thing was like comparing it to the first time you hear a good Elton John song, the lights the cheering the explosion I could not believe how great this movie was. The ending alone was the best reason for seeing this movie the whole thing was like comparing it to the first time you hear a good Elton John song, the lights the cheering the explosion everything was perfect, a tear came to my eye after. and John Goodman beats up a ninja, it was awe inspiring. A wonderful recreation of an old cartoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RatO.Sep 21, 2008
Although this is not the greatest movie of all time, it is the beginning of a brand new Genre. Never-before has this style been done, and for a first try, it's incredible. I could hardly move my eyes from the bright colors and fantastic Although this is not the greatest movie of all time, it is the beginning of a brand new Genre. Never-before has this style been done, and for a first try, it's incredible. I could hardly move my eyes from the bright colors and fantastic backgrounds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OscarV.Jan 17, 2009
I love this movie regardless what the critics said. It was fun and I was surprised by the deep family story. Made me tear up at the end when Racer X revealed his true identity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KostasNov 14, 2008
No natur rules.No folming rules.No common sense rules generally.New "technique of filming" or giving a product to people is NOT always good!And this is the movie to proove it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
gm101Dec 3, 2010
What a horrible movie! I actually watched the tv show when I was a kid, and after watching the movie, I realized that some shows are best kept in television, and not made into a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 18, 2010
I didn't watch the TV series when I was a little kid until fourteen years later, I have all the episodes on five discs on the Speed Racer DVD. not the movie. just the TV series. so, what about this movie?

yeah, its awesome. the cast fits
I didn't watch the TV series when I was a little kid until fourteen years later, I have all the episodes on five discs on the Speed Racer DVD. not the movie. just the TV series. so, what about this movie?

yeah, its awesome. the cast fits perfectly, the races were top-notch, and I got to listen to that kick *** song in the ending credits and I got so thrilled! so forget about the bad grade the critics gave to this movie.

SPEED RACER IS SO FRICKIN AWESOME!!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheQuietGamerFeb 23, 2011
I can literally find no reason to watch this terrible movie, acting is terrible, and the plot is predictable garbage, avoid at all costs, you have been warned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews