Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: February 13, 1998
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 45 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
14
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JustinJul 25, 2006
Very well done. I read the book after watching the movie, and then I watched the movie again. The only reason I'm not giving this a 10 is because the movie was not very accurate with the book. Other than that, it was good.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
StewartC.Mar 11, 2006
at times the acting is poor but the rest of the time this is an intense thriller which is easily one of the cleverest and best sci-fi's.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]May 5, 2006
A very intriguing thriller with a great premise, even thought he execution doesn't always live up to it. It deserves much better respect than what the critics here have been giving it. It makes you wonder...is mankind ready to take on A very intriguing thriller with a great premise, even thought he execution doesn't always live up to it. It deserves much better respect than what the critics here have been giving it. It makes you wonder...is mankind ready to take on extraordinary gifts and discoveries like the sphere? Judging from world events, my answer...sadly, no. Whatever you think, though, prepare to be intrigued. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SchroederRockDec 25, 2016
I watched this movie as a kid and found it a lot of fun and a bit scary. That was a while ago. Watching it again the movie still holds pretty strong - only the ending isn't so good. But with an excellent cast and an interesting story/setting,I watched this movie as a kid and found it a lot of fun and a bit scary. That was a while ago. Watching it again the movie still holds pretty strong - only the ending isn't so good. But with an excellent cast and an interesting story/setting, Sphere is a movie that was heavily dismissed by critics. Unfortunate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FadeBlackMar 18, 2017
Yikes. It's a movie with a fantastic concept, and a great cast that tries to keep it alive - but the plot disintegrates into complete nonsense. It tries to be mysterious and present some kind of psychological current, but the character'sYikes. It's a movie with a fantastic concept, and a great cast that tries to keep it alive - but the plot disintegrates into complete nonsense. It tries to be mysterious and present some kind of psychological current, but the character's actions, the logistics, the presentation, even the music all felt hammy and almost comedic at times. This one needs a remake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oneandonlywm3Apr 18, 2014
I expected a lot from this movie considering how much I loved the novel. I would've given this a 10, if I watched half of the movie only. They altered the way the ending happened. I'm not gonna spoil it but they changed it in a way thatI expected a lot from this movie considering how much I loved the novel. I would've given this a 10, if I watched half of the movie only. They altered the way the ending happened. I'm not gonna spoil it but they changed it in a way that viewers who have read the novel would obviously hate the ending. A good movie nevertheless, but I'm just a little bit annoyed with the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jhegedus42Aug 1, 2013
Strange that this movie is so down rated on IMDB and metacritic. It's really good for _my_ taste. This also shows that people have different taste in movies and taking the average of their rating is perhaps not the best measure to assess theStrange that this movie is so down rated on IMDB and metacritic. It's really good for _my_ taste. This also shows that people have different taste in movies and taking the average of their rating is perhaps not the best measure to assess the quality of the movie. In other words, it would be a better measure to see which other movies were liked by people who liked a given movie. In technical (machine learning/statistical) terms, some kind of a clustering of movies based on an empirical similarity matrix (created by asking people's opinion) would be a more useful characterization of a given movie than just simply assigning a score to a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lionheart8888Feb 3, 2015
I created a metacritic account when I saw the low score this movie received. This movie is great. Dustin Hoffman does a great job. Sheron Stone great job. Liv Schreiber great job. And Samuel L. better job. Oh, and Queen Latifah's has a smallI created a metacritic account when I saw the low score this movie received. This movie is great. Dustin Hoffman does a great job. Sheron Stone great job. Liv Schreiber great job. And Samuel L. better job. Oh, and Queen Latifah's has a small part that's just there for icing on the cake. Its also pretty terrifying. This movie touches our deepest fears about the deepest portions of our oceans and our minds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BroyaxJan 1, 2017
Un poil tiré par les cheveux, un tantinet naïf dans sa résolution et un peu maladroit sur quelques détails, Sphère est tiré d'un bouquin de Michael Crichton, ceci expliquant cela sans doute, car autant dire que les livres du bonhomme ne sontUn poil tiré par les cheveux, un tantinet naïf dans sa résolution et un peu maladroit sur quelques détails, Sphère est tiré d'un bouquin de Michael Crichton, ceci expliquant cela sans doute, car autant dire que les livres du bonhomme ne sont pas vraiment des parangons de génie en matière de Science-Fiction.

Pour autant, le principe de l'objet extra-terrestre aux vertus étranges déjà vu et déjà lu -ici ou ailleurs et auparavant- n'en est pas moins assez bien exploité et plutôt bien construit. Le mystère s'épaissit puis se déroule au fil de ce huis clos sous-marin qui n'est pas sans évoquer dans son ambiance Abyss, l'autre film naïf dans le genre.

Le rythme reste solide malgré les deux heures bien tassées, porté par un Dustin Hoffman qui n'a pas besoin de forcer son talent pour apporter un charisme immédiat à son personnage, entouré des comparses Jackson et Stone qui s'en tirent avec les honneurs.

La mise en scène rigoureuse de Levinson contribue à sortir par le haut un film qui finit contre toute attente par retomber sur ses pieds et se révèle un agréable divertissement.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews