DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: May 24, 2002
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
11
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
simba86Feb 27, 2011
wonderful! the music is awsome,the animation is top notch,and the story is inspiring! i loved it so much i created petition for a sequel! go here to sign www.petitiononline.com/spirit2/petition.html or google spirit petition 2 and click onwonderful! the music is awsome,the animation is top notch,and the story is inspiring! i loved it so much i created petition for a sequel! go here to sign www.petitiononline.com/spirit2/petition.html or google spirit petition 2 and click on the first link you see. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Ps3blaze22Apr 29, 2013
Spirit: Stallion of The Cimarron is one of the best movies you will ever watch, I guarantee that. I rarely seen that watched it and didn't say it was one of his/her childhood favs. Spirit is just phenomenal, no-one can deny that. I'm over 20Spirit: Stallion of The Cimarron is one of the best movies you will ever watch, I guarantee that. I rarely seen that watched it and didn't say it was one of his/her childhood favs. Spirit is just phenomenal, no-one can deny that. I'm over 20 and I think it is a good movies to this day. Go watch it if you haven't already. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
BoogsbayFeb 12, 2013
I was young when I last saw this movie. This was one of my favorite movies when I was little and I enjoyed the animation and the music in the movie. Sure the story can be a bit weird but that doesn't stop this from being a great film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DavidL.Nov 7, 2006
It is one of the best movies I have ever viewed.!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterH.May 25, 2006
This movie is short a little bit, but I think that is the all fault of it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
lifeisfunJun 29, 2008
The impression of this movie on my heart whenever i watch it is beyond explanations. The music i believe is just the match for such a brilliant piece of work or should i say the music is it's soul.A true apotheosis of what SPIRIT is.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AquophisFeb 6, 2012
Loved the music and the traditional animation, although the narration sounded passive and bored at times. It also had a great environmental message. Only cynical anti-environmentalists will hate this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Dec 19, 2015
it is not the best horse movie.But it is the best animated horse movie. it actually dose have it's good parts and it dose make it self good.So it is good. But not great.Unlike movies like, Secretariat,Sea biscuit, and Racing Stripes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DanoninoMar 4, 2016
I grew with this movie so I have an emotional side with this movie, it always makes me cry with some beautifully done scenes, and the animation is great for the year, the music went smoothly and really went along with the message, I love it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 15, 2013
Don't judge the time length of "Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron" because it's short. But even so, it's very emotional, touching and exciting. The movie has some great action scenes and honestly makes you think you're watching a sci-fi.Don't judge the time length of "Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron" because it's short. But even so, it's very emotional, touching and exciting. The movie has some great action scenes and honestly makes you think you're watching a sci-fi. Overall, it's a really effective film that is told with narration and music. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
JenDec 28, 2007
It was cute but ridiculously incorrect about horses. but then..it could have been worse.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
6
JacobOct 19, 2013
Had the film been a short/30-1 hour with no dialogue it could have been amazing but the pacing, like of character, and presentation issues hold it back from being spectacular. That being said some great animation and nice show don’t tellHad the film been a short/30-1 hour with no dialogue it could have been amazing but the pacing, like of character, and presentation issues hold it back from being spectacular. That being said some great animation and nice show don’t tell moments help bring you into the world of the film making it enjoyable to watch at least once. This isn’t one of my favorite 2-D animated films from Dreamworks but it is still entertaining enjoyable enough to watch at least once. It’s a rent. Some may like/love it while others may not. As for me its alright not a bad film but at the same time nothing spectacular. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
avatar16Nov 19, 2011
En voyant Spirit, on se dit que l'ensemble aurait pu être sublime, s'il n'avait pas été quelque peu bâclé sur certains points. A commencer par un scénario certesEn voyant Spirit, on se dit que l'ensemble aurait pu être sublime, s'il n'avait pas été quelque peu bâclé sur certains points. A commencer par un scénario certes sympathique et moralisateur, mais les scènes s'enchaînent trop vite, empêchant de s'attacher à la majorité des personnages et à l'histoire elle-même. De plus, ce film abuse excessivement des décors et effets numériques. C'est bien dommage car cela gâche des animations en dessin superbes que les nouveaux films Disney ne pourraient renier. Il n'y a qu'à voir les expressions de chaque animal, arrivant à parler avec le visage et non la voix (et oui, point d'animaux qui parlent!). Mais le meilleur que l'on peut retenir de ce Spirit, c'est bien l'ambiance musicale, tout simplement exceptionnelle : l'association des thèmes de Hans Zimmer et des chansons de Bryan Adams fait des ravages et ce durant l'intégralité du film. En somme, Spirit reste un dessin animé de bonne facture, mais qui méritait bien plus. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentJun 30, 2015
Although the rather sentimental tone and ill-fitting score let it down, Spirit nonetheless demonstrates DreamWorks' knack for creating sweeping vistas and stunning animation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LindseyR.Aug 1, 2006
It was a good movie, i'll try not to use bad language but yea I think they should have kept a lot of music out of it...because most of it they didn't need, i like horses, Spirit Rocks, but I found out what his dad was and his mom It was a good movie, i'll try not to use bad language but yea I think they should have kept a lot of music out of it...because most of it they didn't need, i like horses, Spirit Rocks, but I found out what his dad was and his mom was like a yellowish, and whitish hair..he would have to be Gray with a whitish hair.....so yea bad science! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BritneyS.Feb 25, 2007
Spirit is a fantastic movie! I think it really tells the story of the American West, from the heart of the horse, not the cowboy. I have ridden a mustang before, and he had as much passion as I saw out of Spirit in the movie. The music is Spirit is a fantastic movie! I think it really tells the story of the American West, from the heart of the horse, not the cowboy. I have ridden a mustang before, and he had as much passion as I saw out of Spirit in the movie. The music is wonderful! Bryan Adams did a great job on every song he was in, and the music anywhere in the movie is perfect. Spirit reminds me of my horse Roscoe, he has the same attitudes as Spirit. Great movie! Deserves a 20!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ImadQ.Aug 8, 2009
Awesome animation, coupled with a touching story.. and to think it was conveyed with so less a narration, is amazing. One of Bryan Adams' best works in music. See it for what it is, and anyone will love it.. and stop comparing it with Awesome animation, coupled with a touching story.. and to think it was conveyed with so less a narration, is amazing. One of Bryan Adams' best works in music. See it for what it is, and anyone will love it.. and stop comparing it with "Lion King" and (worse) "Shrek" please! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cieral.Nov 7, 2005
Spirit is THE coolest film along with black beauty & dreamer,coz i am a horse fanatic.all u spirit-haters can just go & chuck themselves down mt.everest coz ur boring.Spirit,the minute the music comes on,i jusst get soooo excited.2all u Spirit is THE coolest film along with black beauty & dreamer,coz i am a horse fanatic.all u spirit-haters can just go & chuck themselves down mt.everest coz ur boring.Spirit,the minute the music comes on,i jusst get soooo excited.2all u spirit luvrs go onto the spirit website.I LUV SPIRIT!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleighNov 26, 2005
I love this movie! the animation is first rate and the plot is adventurus. to those who don't like it, you try making that fim that well and we'll rate you!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
well, it wasn't as good as The Road to El Dorado and The Prince of Egypt, but despite that, its awesome! God Praise Dreamworks Animation
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesDec 9, 2017
The look of the film is excellent. Not as detailed as some animation (example - you can't see the horses hair, it is just a solid color) but I actually appreciate that. I know I'm watching animation. The story is simple, but charactersThe look of the film is excellent. Not as detailed as some animation (example - you can't see the horses hair, it is just a solid color) but I actually appreciate that. I know I'm watching animation. The story is simple, but characters well developed. Nice to see an animated film not relying on bathroom humor that is loud and hectic. Despite what some critics say, this is a family film that all ages will appreciate. I'm not sure the Bryan Adams songs were needed or added that much to the film, but they weren't distracting either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysMar 7, 2014
Spirit has spirit, and the movie glides along well. Beautiful landscapes and excellent animation combine with talented actors to form a mostly-cohesive picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Taylor1Mar 8, 2017
This movie is one of my favorite animated movies of all time. The story is wonderful and contains many memorable songs. I've loved this movie for as long as I can remember! 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hardcorekiddApr 30, 2018
With striking visuals and an amazing narration, Stallion Of The Cimarron is as underrated as you think it would be. I'm going to give Spirit Stallion Of The Cimarron a A-.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews