Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1571 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,440
Mixed:
39
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KeiK.May 18, 2003
SHUT UP ALL OF YOU WHO HATE THIS FILM! "It tries to hard to appeal to all audiences..." PLEASE! It wasn't "trying too hard". It is a work of art with no flaws. "The plot is weak" says many people. The plot wasn't ment to be a SHUT UP ALL OF YOU WHO HATE THIS FILM! "It tries to hard to appeal to all audiences..." PLEASE! It wasn't "trying too hard". It is a work of art with no flaws. "The plot is weak" says many people. The plot wasn't ment to be a complex epic like "Lord of the Rings" or "Princess Mononoke". It's supposed to be a modern-day fairytale. Fairytales don't need to be complex, they need to be simple, compelling, and above all, enchanting. "Spirited Away" has a great plot. If you don't know much about the Japanese culture or religion, you will probably think it ridiculous. But if you want to like "Spirited Away" more than you already do, here's what you do: first, do research on the Japanese culture and religion. Much of the "strange things" came out of that. Then, listen to piano or classical music. Much of the movie's music is very beautiful and classic. Then, watch a few animes. DO NOT WATCH ONES LIKE POKEMON OR DIGIMON. Watch ones that are more into the Japanese culture.(Examples: "Inu-Yasha" and "Ranma 1/2" or some other anime sci-fi masterpieces like: "Akira" or "Ghost In Shell"). Then read a few fantasies. Then go to an art museum. Then study a 10-year-old's movements and dialogue. Then watch "Spirited Away" 3 times and you'll get superb results. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BGroszMay 2, 2003
Very entertaining movie. Visually stunning. However, in my opion, it is not THE classic that everyone in the world makes it out to be. Don't get me wrong, I do like and appreciate the movie but I don't revere it. I am one of the Very entertaining movie. Visually stunning. However, in my opion, it is not THE classic that everyone in the world makes it out to be. Don't get me wrong, I do like and appreciate the movie but I don't revere it. I am one of the few that thinks Prince Mononoke is a better Miyazaki movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.May 29, 2003
I really enjoyed this movie. It is such a refreshment to see a good movie that doesn't make me feel like i have corrupted my soul. I could watch it again to just appreciate the art work let alone the story and the characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IamaPROUDAnimeFanMay 4, 2003
I have seen LOADS of animes (Princess Mononoke, Inu-Yasha, Cowboy Bebop, Yu-Yu Hakusho, etc.) and this one was incredible. To Mauricio G.--Spirited Away is NOT the Matrix. It is completely a fantasy. The Matrix is sci-fi. Both are true I have seen LOADS of animes (Princess Mononoke, Inu-Yasha, Cowboy Bebop, Yu-Yu Hakusho, etc.) and this one was incredible. To Mauricio G.--Spirited Away is NOT the Matrix. It is completely a fantasy. The Matrix is sci-fi. Both are true masterpieces (but the Matrix is sadly under-rated). I mean I only found two things in Spirited Away that were similar to the Matrix (the alternate worlds, and the scene where Chihiro gets her mouth zipped up is similar to when Neo isn't able to speak, but that's too hard to explain). Fantasies don't need logic to be a masterpiece. Magic seems to be the logical thing in Spirited Away. Now if you're saying, "There's no way he can cast a spell. How is she able to get into the Spirit World". That's just plain stupid. I mean, Lord of the Rings was excellent, yet it had some themes in it similar to Spirited Away, and I don't see anyone whining about that! Mauricio, I believe that YOU haven't seen many animes. The Japanese culture is very different from the American one, which is why things are so different in this film. Spirited Away isn't Ghost In Shell or Akira. It's barely even close to the themes in those films. Now if this was a sci-fi film, I could see where you're headed on the logic thing. But it isn't. IT IS A FANTASY! Magic, supernatural, all those things are in here, and no sci-fi things. WHY ARE YOU COMPARING THIS ANIME TO A SCI-FI MOVIE?!? The person who was using The Matrix as an example was merely talking about something that happened in Princess Mononoke that was like the Matrix. READ THE WHOLE FRIGGEN REVIEW BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH! "Many forced up stuff". Could you give us some examples. GEEZ! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BigChihiroFanMay 7, 2003
Marucio, you crack me up. Comparing a work of deep and beautiful art (Spirited Away) to a money-making hype machine with no substance (Matrix) is very funny. Spirited Away is imaginative, colorful, deep and funny. The Matrix rips off Phillip Marucio, you crack me up. Comparing a work of deep and beautiful art (Spirited Away) to a money-making hype machine with no substance (Matrix) is very funny. Spirited Away is imaginative, colorful, deep and funny. The Matrix rips off Phillip K. Dick's sci-fi stories and has all action with no story or coherence. But they're way to different and shouldn't be compared at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RhiannonB.May 9, 2003
This movie is the most charming, adventurous movie i have ever seen. Personally I think haku was the best character i have ever seen.i don't know how they come up with this stuff,but spirited away really takes you to another world.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SalmaK.Jun 16, 2003
I think the people who hated this film are being too picky about it because it's anime. Too bad they can just sit back, relax, and get spirited away.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClaraO.Jun 19, 2003
This is a very very cool movie.. anyone who havent watched it yet should by any means, watch it! it's characters are a cool lot, and the story's really interesting. I was really absorbed into the whole show. It's really This is a very very cool movie.. anyone who havent watched it yet should by any means, watch it! it's characters are a cool lot, and the story's really interesting. I was really absorbed into the whole show. It's really entertaining and tuoching in some ways. Plus the music's really cool too! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChelseaA.Jun 4, 2003
Heh, you are so RIGHT Austin S.! Lizzy, I was cracking up at your review. I've read many very stupid reviews (the ones that were negative) but yours is easily the dumbest. No Face would DEFINETLY rip your arms off if you were Chihiro. Heh, you are so RIGHT Austin S.! Lizzy, I was cracking up at your review. I've read many very stupid reviews (the ones that were negative) but yours is easily the dumbest. No Face would DEFINETLY rip your arms off if you were Chihiro. Or maybe you'd get turned into coal by Yubaba first. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnimeRulezJun 8, 2003
THIS IS SUCH A GOOD MOVIE! DON'T IGNORE IT!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TiffanieK.Jun 9, 2003
I love the movie. And I understand it perfectly *glares at Lizze L* It is one of the best movies I have even seen and I wonder if there will be a sequel and I thank my teacher for showing it to us in class and not letting us finish it making I love the movie. And I understand it perfectly *glares at Lizze L* It is one of the best movies I have even seen and I wonder if there will be a sequel and I thank my teacher for showing it to us in class and not letting us finish it making me want to rent it so I could see what happened at the end! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HenryW.Jul 15, 2003
The most magical movie ever put on screen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FAQPersonJul 15, 2003
[***SPOILERS ***] OK, I'll answer some unanswered questions for those who were a bit confused by this movie? SPOILERS AHOY!!! 1) No face was a confusing character...he was nice, then mean, then nice, what's up with that? Well, it[***SPOILERS ***] OK, I'll answer some unanswered questions for those who were a bit confused by this movie? SPOILERS AHOY!!! 1) No face was a confusing character...he was nice, then mean, then nice, what's up with that? Well, it seems as though No Face reacts as other people react. If you treat people rudely, he'll treat you rudely. Treat him nicely, he'll surely give you respect in return. The reason No Face became good again was because the gift of the river spirit purified him. 2)Why was Zeniba so mean but then turned out to be nice? Yes, this one confused me too when I first saw this film. You see, she was a bit angry after what Haku did (but that's be a huge spoiler) and so as anyone could imagine, she was feeling very frustrated. But the second time we see her she seems friendly, possibly because she seemed to have calm down or knew Chihiro was coming. 3)That giant baby was WEIRD! What the heck?! Well, remember that the Japanese have the religion Buddhism, and I think Miyazaki wanted to make the baby resemble the Buddha, because you see Buddha statues all over Japan I hope I explained things ok, but yeah, I can see where this movie is very confusing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DeathJan 16, 2004
I love and I mean LOVE animes, but this one just sucked. I fell asleep.....twice. If you want to see a great anime watch Akira. May Death find you quickly.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
HairyD.Mar 9, 2004
For kids. As an adult I found the movie silly and boring in parts. I'm not suggesting a fantasy should make sense but this one made even less sense than I would expect - how did Chihiro figure out that getting No-face outside the For kids. As an adult I found the movie silly and boring in parts. I'm not suggesting a fantasy should make sense but this one made even less sense than I would expect - how did Chihiro figure out that getting No-face outside the bath-house would calm him down? (or that none of the pigs were her parents?) There were a lot of side plots like that where Chihiro got to be cute, lovable and heroic to the point of nausea. It highlights the fact that there was no overall plot. Basically side plots kept happening until the movie was ready to end and then the parents were just freed. So apart from a lame ending, lame side plots and pseudo pedo-erotic love between Chihiro and a River (did anyone not find that creepy!?), it was fine. As long as you're a kid and don't ask too many questions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NotPaidOffMay 3, 2004
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. It's a hodge podge of incoherent babble justified by all these so called comparisons by so-called reviewers. I gave it 1 star only cause it had Disney on it. I guess hell has frozen over.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LineaK.Jun 10, 2005
It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Terrible animation combined with a senseless plot made it hard to sit through to the end.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
2
KJHJun 22, 2010
When I saw the movie, it was way too scary. It was more of a nightmare than a movie.
0 of 13 users found this helpful
4
LaraC.Oct 16, 2002
Let me get a few things straightened out. First of all, I've seen better animation from Miyazaki's previous films. There was no computer animation in them, unlike some of the computer animation in "Spirited Away". Some people say Let me get a few things straightened out. First of all, I've seen better animation from Miyazaki's previous films. There was no computer animation in them, unlike some of the computer animation in "Spirited Away". Some people say it's more "realistic", but I think it looks so strange. Another thing is, how can a person enjoy all that weirdness? I mean, do they LIKE having a spirit barfing all over the place because he ate something that tasted bad? Do they like an obnoxious giant baby who resembles a sumo wrestler? Do they like an overly wrinkled witch that needs a taller body? Do they like being left hanging with questions such as:Why was the spirit No Face kind, then evil, and then kind again? Or, why did everyone say Yubaba's sister was dangerous when she was immensly kind? The "charm" the movie was SUPPOSED to have, was drowned in childish weirdness. Miyazaki had none of that in his previous films. Plus, his previous films had the charm that could beat some of Disney's animated films, but "Spirited Away" just didn't have that charm. Sorry Miyazaki. Your other films were fantastic though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JezabellD.Jan 3, 2004
FOR ALL YOU FREAKS OUT THERE!!! This movie was very good and also very weird. I found myself staring off and thinking about the movie 20 minutes after the movie was done. I do have one question though, why did Haku (in the dragon form) snap FOR ALL YOU FREAKS OUT THERE!!! This movie was very good and also very weird. I found myself staring off and thinking about the movie 20 minutes after the movie was done. I do have one question though, why did Haku (in the dragon form) snap at the little girl and also he wasnt acting like he knew her..?? OH! and whats the deal with the titanic slam? Titanic really happend, there is a huge F**** difference between real and fake...get it right B****! People acctually died, no one died in "spirited away!" Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TrentY.May 20, 2004
Boring, dull, and almost incomprehensible. This film is "joyous" only for those who can sit throught the inane dialogue and pokemon-esque cartooning.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JohnnnieP.Jun 21, 2006
I have not seen one review that addresses the exact themes that are woven into the film, throughout. remember the wolf in little red riding hood. all dressed up with nowhere to go, waiting for a free meal in grandmas bed well.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
jennys.Feb 17, 2005
Hey, it was alright. But the thing was most of the stuff weren't necessary and the spirit stuff was way too much. i was dissapointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
I spent most of the time going, "What?" and "Huh?" and "Not in America..." The plot is somewhat fascinating, but when you realize that very little will be revealed you can't help but feel abandoned.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ReadThisNov 24, 2004
It was terrible and needs work on the characters, Haku and Sen saw each other 3 times and were ready to make out near the end!!!!!!! Noface needed help with his 'uh uh' sounds, what are they trying to teach kids?
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
DalekOct 3, 2014
Spirited Away is great in terms of it's weird, imaginative characters, and somewhat confusing storyline but the voice acting (English dub) is just really cheesy, and bad.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
TubieNov 2, 2010
My second favorite animated movie of all time. I loved this movie so much i wished it was a series or that somehow it never ended. That is a good sign that you are watching something special. I can describe it all with one word: beautiful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
defOct 12, 2010
This is so not as good as Totoro. Or Graveyard of the Fireflies. I have no idea why this movie is always rated higher than Totoro other than it was marketed heavily in the US and Totoro was not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
a Hayao Miyazaki version of Alice in Wonderland and its so incredible!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
juliankleissJan 31, 2011
A little girl called Chihiro falls into a surreal world, from which she tries to save her parents. At first most characters appear to be bad-tempered or even evil. Nevertheless, along the way they all turn out rather nice. Therefore, none ofA little girl called Chihiro falls into a surreal world, from which she tries to save her parents. At first most characters appear to be bad-tempered or even evil. Nevertheless, along the way they all turn out rather nice. Therefore, none of the characters are categorizable into the typical archetypes of good or bad. This "realness" of the characters' personalities, however, makes the movie's storytelling very unusual to the habits and expectations of us western moviegoers. Moreover, one might miss a sense of having learned a lesson over the course of the film, for the parents do not rethink their piggishness, and Chihiro, despite many experiences and therefore many opportunities, does not appear to have grown much out from her childish vulnerability and dependence either. For these reasons, and despite its vivid imagination, Spirited Away (has great potential, but) might not satisfy everyone. However, the viewer might learn a lesson of freeing oneself from expectations and opening up for the unconventional. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews