Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1337 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,230
Mixed:
28
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SuperKurzaczDec 13, 2011
This is the best movie of Hayao Miyazaki . I have seen it over 7 times and I think it deserves a 10/10. All I can say is a epic movie it is great .
30 of 32 users found this helpful302
All this user's reviews
10
CarmenDec 17, 2006
I do not have the gift of prose, but I do know that this was one of the best films I have ever seen. Animate or Non-Animated. It draws you in and takes you to another world, another realm, another universe. many movies claims to do that, I do not have the gift of prose, but I do know that this was one of the best films I have ever seen. Animate or Non-Animated. It draws you in and takes you to another world, another realm, another universe. many movies claims to do that, this one just does. Please see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AosS.Apr 26, 2006
The very best film animation.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NintendoMasterGOct 17, 2011
This is, without doubt, one of the best movies I have ever seen! Animation at its best. Spirited Away is another masterpiece from Hayao Miyazaki, and it does not disappoint. I've watched this movie countless times, and it's never boring.This is, without doubt, one of the best movies I have ever seen! Animation at its best. Spirited Away is another masterpiece from Hayao Miyazaki, and it does not disappoint. I've watched this movie countless times, and it's never boring. Tears, every time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Kanda2012Feb 16, 2012
This is one of the great movies in Japan. I moved the state which Chihiro hang on working for getting her parents back. Good picture, good story... Everything is good.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LanaDelReyMar 23, 2013
Perfect From Start To Finish
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SangheeJ.Apr 9, 2006
a beautiful film and original plot. I only saw the dubbed version, but it captured my heart. there was an original plot and an ordinary herione. Its a beautiful movie and I suggest any one of any age to look into it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Feb 14, 2008
Even if you've never heard of this movie and are curious as to why it's on this top 10 list, you have reason enough to see it. You'll thank yourself later.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrendenS.Jul 24, 2008
Beautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the character. I got absorbed into this movie. Every aspect of this movie was done far above par. I Beautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the character. I got absorbed into this movie. Every aspect of this movie was done far above par. I can't think of another Anime, much less an animated movie that even comes close to this one. It is a modern day Alice in Wonderland, that has something for everyone. Adults and children, critics and average viewers, anime lovers and anime haters will find something in this movie that grabs them deep down and drags them along through the whole thing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LoganRMar 6, 2009
This is the greatest movie ever! From a great plot, to excellent animation, to originality, to the awesome music, this movie is the perfect movie that everybody much watch! Another great from Hayao Miyazaki!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AmyT.May 8, 2003
This movie is a phenomenon. The animation is so beautiful that one can hardly describe it in words. Some of the characters may seem strange, but that's what makes the story so enchanting. I highly enjoyed it and could have given it a This movie is a phenomenon. The animation is so beautiful that one can hardly describe it in words. Some of the characters may seem strange, but that's what makes the story so enchanting. I highly enjoyed it and could have given it a rating of a hundred billion if I could. Japanese anime has never let me down. Each background scene is so gorgeous that it puts the dull real world in shame. I don't feel that the movie is at all forced-up at all. The characters are very natural (Chihiro and Haku are so cute!), and there are a lot of attention to the details (e.g. the times when Chihiro trips). If you hate this film, it just shows much about your close-mindedness, doesn't it? (Well, maybe I'm being a bit too stereotypical) Anyone who has a young heart and who is full of imagination would appreciate this work greatly. I was simply mesmerized by the movie. (Bring a box of tissue paper when you watch this movie.. It can get quite emotional at times.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZachP.Aug 30, 2006
This film has everything an animated film should have: great voices (Suzanne Pleshette giving two very different characters two very different voices), cutting-edge animation (in a world of computer animation, its hand drawn beautifully), This film has everything an animated film should have: great voices (Suzanne Pleshette giving two very different characters two very different voices), cutting-edge animation (in a world of computer animation, its hand drawn beautifully), and best of all: an amazing, and innovative story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElisaS.Nov 9, 2008
A truly beautiful piece! The animation is flawless, the characters fascinating, and the story very touching. The artwork especially blew me away, as did Chihiro's maturation.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DelysidAug 29, 2005
Everything Miyazaki does has at least a touch of genius, but "Spirited Away" is his triumph -- pure brilliance on every level. Beautiful animation, compelling characters, set in a fantastic world as layered, convincing, and magical as "Lord Everything Miyazaki does has at least a touch of genius, but "Spirited Away" is his triumph -- pure brilliance on every level. Beautiful animation, compelling characters, set in a fantastic world as layered, convincing, and magical as "Lord of the Rings", but with a vastly different flavour. I know little about Japanese mythology, but I suspect there's a lot of it in this film, yet its appeal is universal and immediate. This is a film well worth buying the DVD for, as it will reward repeated viewings in a way few other films can match. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EvangelineT.Jan 11, 2007
Studio Ghibly never ceases to amaze me with its wondrous animation and beautiful stories. Those who say that this plot is ridiculous or weak, they are wrong. It would only seem like that to those who truly have not embraced childhood and Studio Ghibly never ceases to amaze me with its wondrous animation and beautiful stories. Those who say that this plot is ridiculous or weak, they are wrong. It would only seem like that to those who truly have not embraced childhood and imagination, those who have grown up and are 'lost' in the adult world. How amazing it is that Miyazaki can relate so well to a 10-year-old. The animation and gestures and movements and dialogue even have subtly yet effectively captured Chihiro's liveliness and courageousness. Chihiro shows us how indepth and underestimated that children really are. Now, it's not to say that this movie does not have any faults. Sure, sometimes, its logic is a bit abnormal, but the abnormalcy isn't always bad. Fantasy is just like that, and it usually adds a touch of amusement or a touch up to the project itself. All in all, this is a movie that everyone is sure to remember, by its wonderful and relateable characters, by its amazing and breathtaking imagery and lastly, the one I will remember most, the message that Life is bittersweet, and you may have obstacles to overcome, but you mustn't be afraid. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickTJul 27, 2007
Hey Louis and Louis's Brother, I find it funny that two kids with the IQ of a squirell have the nerve to criticize a movie that you are clearly too stupid to understand. Miyazaki is a master. If you don't appreciate Miyazaki, go Hey Louis and Louis's Brother, I find it funny that two kids with the IQ of a squirell have the nerve to criticize a movie that you are clearly too stupid to understand. Miyazaki is a master. If you don't appreciate Miyazaki, go watch some crap that you understand: Deuce Bigalow, License to Wed, Superbabies. Don't worry there are plenty of fart jokes to enjoy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
steveexplodesJan 12, 2014
Unbelievable. This movie left me in an infatuated daze a week after viewing it. Great characters, great story, AMAZING designs, and, in my opinion, the best animation I've ever seen. The great thing about it is that it is so good at showingUnbelievable. This movie left me in an infatuated daze a week after viewing it. Great characters, great story, AMAZING designs, and, in my opinion, the best animation I've ever seen. The great thing about it is that it is so good at showing little vignette-like moments that pace unbelievably well. Aside from one little nitpick that is dwarfed by the rest of the movie, this is my favorite film of all time. The only negative is that it has made every movie after it a slight disappointment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
xlogan123May 4, 2012
This is my favorite Miyazaki film. Every few years I end up watching it again, and it's always enjoyable. It's an adorable film that people of all ages are capable of appreciating.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
star_gazingMar 15, 2013
It is by far one of the greatest movies I have ever watched. Ever since I was little, this was the movie I thoroughly enjoyed watching. The animations are so detailed and structured, the characters so well developed, And everything falls intoIt is by far one of the greatest movies I have ever watched. Ever since I was little, this was the movie I thoroughly enjoyed watching. The animations are so detailed and structured, the characters so well developed, And everything falls into place. Simply a masterpiece for it's time, for it's company, and for everything else. It seems that Studio Ghibli, and particularly Hayao Miyazaki, can't make a bad movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
21DaHoagie12Feb 4, 2013
I try not to give all the films I "like" a 10/10 because two films I like, per se, might not be on the same level; not all films I like are 10/10 movies.. Therefore I try to give films an honest rating, there are only a few of my favoriteI try not to give all the films I "like" a 10/10 because two films I like, per se, might not be on the same level; not all films I like are 10/10 movies.. Therefore I try to give films an honest rating, there are only a few of my favorite movies that are 10/10 movies, those being, for example, the lord of the rings films, the green mile, and a few others, Spirited Away is one of them as well. I think I was maybe 10 or 11 years old when Spirited Away popped up on cartoon network, I caught maybe the second half of it but I was enthralled so (get this, so old fashioned) I grabbed the newspaper and looked through the TV schedule to find the next viewing. I ended up watching it every time it was on TV until they stopped showing after like two weeks, my dad thought it was unhealthy for me and encouraged me to go outside anyway. I ended up forgetting about the movie for a long time, and I mean a long time. As a grew up I kinda picked up bird watching as a hobby and am actually now turning it into a profession, but I remember doing some research on barn owls and watching a video where the top rated comment was "barn owls always remind me of no-face from spirited away" holy crap, I've heard of that movie, yeah, it was that one on TV years ago, gosh I need to watch that again. I got my hands on the movie and as I sat down to watch it, for the first time in like 9 years, I thought to myself, "hmmmm... I hope this movie still appeals to me now that I'm almost 20" two hours later, there's me wiping tears from my eyes, grabbing my computer and looking up every other ghibli film out there. It was like I was immediately addicted, I needed my fix of ghibli films so I, eventually, over a year or so, got my hands on all of them; honesty, most of them are quite fantastic as well, especially mononoke and totoro. But back to this movie; as someone who watched dragon ball z and digimon and pokemon and anime like that and eventually grew out of it, I was completely astounded at how 'real' this film felt. No, obviously, the things that happened in the film took place in a fantasy world that was expertly crafted and just stretched the imagination beyond belief, but the characters felt real, they were tangible and believable, I connected with them and I cared about them because their emotions were earnest and connected with me so vividly. The character development was fantastic and that was one of the things that made it such a joy to watch. And some people might say that the story is haphazard and confusing; I didn't think so, I think the things that were unexplained in the films or ambiguous were meant to be that way, it adds to the mystery of it, and that's another that I loved so much; being able to make those decisions for yourself as to what you believe the writers implied. Not only that, but the animation itself was absolutely fantastic! The most visually breathtaking drawings and scenes I've ever seen are from this movie. And, as a musician and student of music, I'd like to say that Joe Hisaishi absolutely perfected this film with his impeccable score! Since I first re-watched it almost a year ago, I've probably watched it 5 or 6 times since and I just cant get enough of it. I listen to the soundtrack all the time and it's just beyond beautiful, as I mentioned before. This film is an absolute gem of a film, many people write off animated films before they give them a chance, but this is a film that could easily be translated into a live action film with real actors and it would work just as well; the medium with which a film is presented doesn't always dictate the quality or style of the film. I never thought that an anime film would be one of my favorite films of all time but indeed it is, I will watch Spirited Away a hundred more times, and when I have kids, I'll make sure it's one of the first films they watch as well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettJun 3, 2013
Ten from ten. This is one of the best animated movies ever created. Plot takes you away from very first seconds and you live there in fairy country with Tihiro, saddens and rejoices with her in a flood of touching music. Hayao Miyazaki is aTen from ten. This is one of the best animated movies ever created. Plot takes you away from very first seconds and you live there in fairy country with Tihiro, saddens and rejoices with her in a flood of touching music. Hayao Miyazaki is a genius, well worth watching his other works. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Skullgirlsfan13May 16, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you want to talk about a perfect film, then look no further than this one here. it is by far the best studio Ghibli film, probably one of the best animated movies, and just a really good movie overall. Some could be turned off from these type of movies for its different type of animation compared with Disney, but get over it and explore some variety. Some of the aspects of this film that make it so good are the characters, Chihiro is suppose to be this wining little girl, but in the end is mature. An evil witch named Yubaba, such a classic villain in my opinion, showing her cold heart with such nefarious acts as turning Chihiro's parents into pigs! All the rest are magical and full of creativity, there's no weak leak in characters. The setting is beautiful, showing the rich culture of Japan and the spectacular animation just makes one feel great. I cannot think of one problem about this movie, none, it's that good. Go watch it right now, or your missing out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
asjklasjklasMar 5, 2015
The cultural significance of Japanese animation has many, many historical gems within its filmography, however, Spirited Away has to be one of the finest of them all. Hayao Miyazaki has been one of animation’s most vital directors since theThe cultural significance of Japanese animation has many, many historical gems within its filmography, however, Spirited Away has to be one of the finest of them all. Hayao Miyazaki has been one of animation’s most vital directors since the late-‘70s and an example of his greatness rests in the heart, mind and spirit of this classic. The coming-of-age themes surrounding its protagonist’s character development, the dazzling animation, the imaginative designs of the spirits and landscapes, it’s a Holy sight nobody, child or elder or in between, should miss. It’s an inspiration from the first minute to its very last. And for once, I’d recommend it in English dubs or subs, as Walt Disney made an excellent attempt to match it with its Japanese counterpart almost entirely and the English voice actors are just as memorable as the original actors. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bmaster4616Jan 17, 2015
Best animation movie of all time. It shows Hayao's fantastic art direction, storytelling, characters, etc. Nothing can stand in front of it and nothing can hold up to these standards. Masterpiece of brilliant intelligence.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
metacritiqNov 18, 2013
I loved it. Very dreamy, beautiful scenes, some heavy themes. I'm not sure what age the target audience is, but I could easily see children and adults both loving it for different reasons, or maybe the same reasons. Worth a watch, goodI loved it. Very dreamy, beautiful scenes, some heavy themes. I'm not sure what age the target audience is, but I could easily see children and adults both loving it for different reasons, or maybe the same reasons. Worth a watch, good movie to put on just before bed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mr_RoseAug 15, 2014
The magical, mysterious atmosphere as well as the wonderfully, thoroughly genius plot makes this animation movie a masterpiece not only beyond animation or anime movies, but the movie industry in general. Miyazaki created an undisputedThe magical, mysterious atmosphere as well as the wonderfully, thoroughly genius plot makes this animation movie a masterpiece not only beyond animation or anime movies, but the movie industry in general. Miyazaki created an undisputed masterpiece that will not lose its magic and beauty any time soon. It will always be my Number 1 favorite movie of all times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheHonestJackMay 23, 2014
MIYAZAKI IS AN ANIMATION GOD. Spirited away gets an 11/10. Best animated film I've ever seen in my entire life, and if you haven't seen it, you have not lived.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Spirited Away", made by the Japanese animation king Hayao Miyazaki, is a amazing film. It has the capacity of diving deep into the characters and script and transforming them into a mature state. Its a film that knows what its doing and"Spirited Away", made by the Japanese animation king Hayao Miyazaki, is a amazing film. It has the capacity of diving deep into the characters and script and transforming them into a mature state. Its a film that knows what its doing and perfectly executes it's job. It's just simply amazing... Expand
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelGJun 25, 2010
The most enchanting film I've ever seen. An emotionally, intellectually, and spiritually complex masterpiece that defies categorization.
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
RobertSJun 19, 2010
One of the best films I've ever seen. By far the best animated film. Infact, I'd go as far to call this my favorite film of all time. This goes with saying I'm a huge fan of film making in general, and hope to start my own One of the best films I've ever seen. By far the best animated film. Infact, I'd go as far to call this my favorite film of all time. This goes with saying I'm a huge fan of film making in general, and hope to start my own studio one day with several collaborators that are forming ideas with me. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful
10
heyitsmegrif4Dec 27, 2011
Spirited Away is imaginative, adventerous, thrilling, heartfelt, visually beautiful and funny. Hayao Miyazaki has definitely created the best animated movie yet. I give this movie 98%.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
LaughingOutLoudJun 3, 2010
@Levente S ""Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? @Levente S ""Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? Why does the villain's twin wear identical clothes? Why are stairs no longer a reliable method of vertical transport? Why does the villain give a final test before honouring her word, rather than be, say, villainous and betray someone?"" I loved how you try to rationalize a movie about imagination, mythology, and a different world. and i don't see why there must be deceit, that's the problem with the world...people like you who have built in "feed me plot, feed me deceit, feed me treachery?" Why cant the world of a animation be filled with fairy tales and good creatures who are simply misunderstood? Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JH.Jan 1, 2008
The most imaginative film to come from Miyazaki. This film was an absolute joy to watch.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NielsW.Dec 6, 2007
"Spirited Away" is one of the first animated films I have seen that really had some thing to say. The classic animation as we know it from Disney's films, have created a image of animated film as movies for children only. Although their "Spirited Away" is one of the first animated films I have seen that really had some thing to say. The classic animation as we know it from Disney's films, have created a image of animated film as movies for children only. Although their universes can be called seductive and fascinating especially for kids of young age, there isn't any challenge watching them. At least if you are an adult. Don't get me wrong, Disney have my deepest respect. Their are a great and fun to experience the basic human feelings like love and hate, good and evil. But at the same time they don't seem to be able to put anything else into the films. They always use stereotypes so one can't get confused about their intentions and they also idealize everything, all this for the children to enjoy. This have created the tendency of animation films as children's films. Miyazaki's film isn't like that. The little Chihiro is a typical girl of the modern age and like Alice in Wonderland she enters a parallel universe. Here she finds a world of long forgotten spirits and gods that sees the humans as dirty and as creatures not to be trusted. She has to go through several challenges and have to chose the right choices so she and her parents can come back to the "real" world. As observers we get a much more nuanced idea of who she really is and what emotions she has to deal with. This is just one of many examples where Miyazaki differs from the classic animation. Although there is more to think about it can still be watched by smaller children! (It can be quite scary, though) It is a Great film! Enjoy it. Niels Wee Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BarryP.Aug 22, 2007
This is a beautiful masterpiece. When i watched this for the first time i felt like i was a kid again, and it was kind of like my imagination had been put into this film. It's magical, it's quite funny, it's graphically This is a beautiful masterpiece. When i watched this for the first time i felt like i was a kid again, and it was kind of like my imagination had been put into this film. It's magical, it's quite funny, it's graphically beautiful and the storyline is intense and touching. The best cartoon-anime ever created, better than any Disney movie at least. Definitely in my top 10 movies of all time. Amazing Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
HunterHSep 5, 2007
This film is a complete masterpiece, combining gorgeous animation and a beautiful plot. It is my absolute favorite movie of all time, and it will always go down in my book as classical. To those who hated it, I have the utmost respect for This film is a complete masterpiece, combining gorgeous animation and a beautiful plot. It is my absolute favorite movie of all time, and it will always go down in my book as classical. To those who hated it, I have the utmost respect for your opinions, but you don't have to go and make up pathetic excuses like how it has a weak plot. Appreciate a masterpiece like a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SuperIguanaApr 23, 2012
This move is the best Miyazaki film and the story is really good.I,ve seen it over 5 times and I think ,ts the best.The animation is really good and I think the characters are grate.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
JamieSOct 3, 2005
I saw the first fifteen minutes of this movie in Chinese and was totally spellbound. I then refused to watch the rest until I could find it in English - it took me one year. It's the best animated film I have ever seen, better than I saw the first fifteen minutes of this movie in Chinese and was totally spellbound. I then refused to watch the rest until I could find it in English - it took me one year. It's the best animated film I have ever seen, better than Fantasia 1 and 2 or Allegro non Troppo. The music is haunting and evocative. The graphics are colorful and beautiful and fascinating. (Wait until you see the transformations of people into animals and vice-versa, then you'll see how an animation can be fascinating). The story and characters are imaginative and sympathetic. The whole thing is incredibly imaginative and well done, for example Spider Grandfather was brilliant and the witch when her fingers started to creep up the side of Chiharo's body like a spider crawling slowly up a piece of meat ... creepy, spooky, chilling, and wow what a way to set a mood , intimate motivaton, and generate tension ... see this and understand why japanimation is the best in the world. "Spirited Away" was how I felt too while I was watching it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JunK.Sep 6, 2005
I loved this movie!!! I could relate to Chihiro so much. I have to admit, she was abit annoying in the beginning, but she got better as the movie went on. I'm not sure if Miyazaki will make a sequel, but he has plenty of places to start I loved this movie!!! I could relate to Chihiro so much. I have to admit, she was abit annoying in the beginning, but she got better as the movie went on. I'm not sure if Miyazaki will make a sequel, but he has plenty of places to start (ex. "Will we meet again?" " i'm sure we will." "Promise?" "Promise."). Well, you have to see this movie if you haven't yet. HAKU IS SOOOO SEXY!!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
YashiraM.Jul 27, 2006
I love this move! I saw it once and I fell in love with it! I actually told my mom to buy it for me and she is looking for it every where.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StarV.Apr 22, 2004
There is no other way to describe this movie but GREAT!!! WOW might work but great is the only way to describe this great movie!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
csw12May 27, 2013
Spirited Away is a weird and unique film that is wonderful in everyway. Hayao Miyazaki gives a truly haunting film that will take you into a different world and open your imagination.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
eggOct 3, 2013
This is one of the very best movies I have ever seen. No exaggeration. I won't lie, I can see why people wouldn't like it. I can see how it would completely go over some people's heads, but this is a movie which you don't need to keep up on.This is one of the very best movies I have ever seen. No exaggeration. I won't lie, I can see why people wouldn't like it. I can see how it would completely go over some people's heads, but this is a movie which you don't need to keep up on. You can simply sit back and let it happen. But, it can also make you think about it too. There are numerous ways which you could watch this film. The story depth is fantastic. It delivers a complex plot which can sometimes be hard to keep up on, while still delivering a clear simple message whenever you watch it. The art and the animation is just stunning. There are too many ways to describe this movie. Yes. The hype is true. Watch it and find out for yourself. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
KrisS.Mar 23, 2008
The most wonderful animated film I've watch in 30 years, and one of the greatest movies period. Incredibly moving, wildly imaginative, for kids and adults alike.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
KumarG.Apr 2, 2010
You might think otherways, but anyhow, i am not a fan of anime and manga. So, I think, this movie is a bit overrated. There are a hell lot of movies in which transformation from childhood to adulthood is depicted. So there's nothing You might think otherways, but anyhow, i am not a fan of anime and manga. So, I think, this movie is a bit overrated. There are a hell lot of movies in which transformation from childhood to adulthood is depicted. So there's nothing new, even the animation was poor, considering its contemporaries. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
GagaForGhibliMay 28, 2012
This Is A Amazing Movie!
Everyone Should See It (Even If You Dont Like Anime Or Animation)
A Great Family Movie, The Animation Style Is Amazing! A Perfect Movie!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
DesmondLJun 16, 2010
The film was okay, but didn't not attract me at all. First at all, the characters were unlikeable (expect Haku), the story was boring (because the plot didn't not give any sense) and mostly it didn't not scary!! I don't The film was okay, but didn't not attract me at all. First at all, the characters were unlikeable (expect Haku), the story was boring (because the plot didn't not give any sense) and mostly it didn't not scary!! I don't know why the reviewer so over-hyping and gave it over 90 or 100. Expand
5 of 25 users found this helpful
4
OliverW.Jan 18, 2009
Unlike just about everybody else, I do believe that films are supposed to make sense. For example, the characters must have reasons for their actions. And the very presence of a character must be necessary to the story. Don't get me Unlike just about everybody else, I do believe that films are supposed to make sense. For example, the characters must have reasons for their actions. And the very presence of a character must be necessary to the story. Don't get me wrong -- I have no problem with metaphor and fantasy worlds, I only ask that the storyteller lay the ground rules and follow them. Unfortunately, there is no rhyme or reason to this story. It's as if Miyazaki dropped acid one day and wrote everything down. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because his world, though disturbing and nonsensical, is so compellingly original. But watching it was a bit like chewing tinfoil. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
Louis'sbrotherMar 21, 2007
With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story makes absolutely no sense, the characters are just stupid, and the acting is terrible. DO not watch it at all! Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful
1
LeventeS.Jun 25, 2009
Despite impressive visuals and halfway decent characters Spirited Away suffers tremendously from a plot so hair-brained and juvenile that it undermines everything good about the movie. Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once Despite impressive visuals and halfway decent characters Spirited Away suffers tremendously from a plot so hair-brained and juvenile that it undermines everything good about the movie. Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? Why does the villain's twin wear identical clothes? Why are stairs no longer a reliable method of vertical transport? Why does the villain give a final test before honouring her word, rather than be, say, villainous and betray someone? These are all massive problems, and though there are probably more, I hate them so much I can't even remember them. This movie is terrible and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone older than five (though said five year old may wet his pants and have nightmares about it). Expand
6 of 53 users found this helpful
4
Trev29Feb 8, 2013
Quite possibly the most overrated film by both the critics and the audience. Was it unique and interesting at first? Yes, but it manages to turn into a bizarrely random movie that makes you don't feel any emotion in the end. The metaphors inQuite possibly the most overrated film by both the critics and the audience. Was it unique and interesting at first? Yes, but it manages to turn into a bizarrely random movie that makes you don't feel any emotion in the end. The metaphors in this movie must be hidden very well, cause I can't point them at all. Expand
3 of 27 users found this helpful324
All this user's reviews
1
LeoB.Feb 12, 2003
Too bad, boring and disgusting.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
0
LouisH.Mar 22, 2007
I can't believe how anyone could possibly like this movie. It's just like a Japanese anime version of "Alice in Wonderland", but 100X worse! I had no clue what this scrap-on-screen was even about, and I am glad, because I would I can't believe how anyone could possibly like this movie. It's just like a Japanese anime version of "Alice in Wonderland", but 100X worse! I had no clue what this scrap-on-screen was even about, and I am glad, because I would have fried my brain if I knew! Absoulute 0. Expand
2 of 28 users found this helpful
0
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
An over the top, messy, crazy, incoherent, poorly structured, japanese take on ''Alice in Wonderland''
Except the beautiful animation (like with every Miyazaki film) there really is nothing here for me to like
1 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
10
JaredA.Apr 26, 2010
This is the movie to watch. Awesome story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickMay 17, 2007
Louis' brother, first off, you can't criticize acting in a CARTOON. Second, the plot was creative and beat typical plots of today. Third, I offer my condolences for your inability to give a "-100,000,000" rating, but we're not Louis' brother, first off, you can't criticize acting in a CARTOON. Second, the plot was creative and beat typical plots of today. Third, I offer my condolences for your inability to give a "-100,000,000" rating, but we're not ALL that stupid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelAAug 21, 2009
Spirited Away isn't usual, but that's why it's amazing, vivid animation, endearing characters, great story & music, it's simply perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
joehJan 8, 2010
It is more than just a film, it is a canvas of cinematography that boasts passion in every frame. I cannot describe in words how wonderful this movie is, all I can say is the train scene alone is one of the most atmospheric and asthetically It is more than just a film, it is a canvas of cinematography that boasts passion in every frame. I cannot describe in words how wonderful this movie is, all I can say is the train scene alone is one of the most atmospheric and asthetically pleasing moments I have ever seen, both real or imagined. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
C.D.Feb 6, 2006
What a movie. A true visual feast, a journey to another world. Every little detail is in its perfect place, from the waves sloshing over No-Face -- you can almost feel them moving you -- to the girl's realistic, childlike frustration as What a movie. A true visual feast, a journey to another world. Every little detail is in its perfect place, from the waves sloshing over No-Face -- you can almost feel them moving you -- to the girl's realistic, childlike frustration as she tries to stomp the evil slug, to the little creatures reenacting the heroic moment a few minutes later. I can't believe no one else here saw any similarities to Never Ending Story, though. World of weirdness to which a young hero/heroine escape, a rideable furry dragon, etc. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JHighFeb 8, 2006
When I discovered this was a Disney film, I was not surprised. It Envelopes the viewer's senses, making even this 30 yead old tough guy feel like a kid again. When my daighter gets to the age she'll understand it, I will make sure When I discovered this was a Disney film, I was not surprised. It Envelopes the viewer's senses, making even this 30 yead old tough guy feel like a kid again. When my daighter gets to the age she'll understand it, I will make sure she sees this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RethunkReviewOct 5, 2007
What Spirited Away lacks in continuity, it makes up for in ingenuity. Miyazaki's imagination is hard to top, and the visuals are often beautiful. The story wanders about in much the same fashion that the main character wanders about, What Spirited Away lacks in continuity, it makes up for in ingenuity. Miyazaki's imagination is hard to top, and the visuals are often beautiful. The story wanders about in much the same fashion that the main character wanders about, and in so doing the film sometimes crosses over from fantasy to phantasmagoria. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnnySApr 14, 2008
One of the greatest animated movie movies I've ever seen! This isn't just a animation it has substance and character, fully captivating from the first scene to the last. "Spirited Away" was an absolute joy to watch, it's one One of the greatest animated movie movies I've ever seen! This isn't just a animation it has substance and character, fully captivating from the first scene to the last. "Spirited Away" was an absolute joy to watch, it's one of the classics! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EmilyD.Nov 8, 2009
all though the plot may confuse the small brained people of our times I did see the greatness in it and I do understand the movie I do agree around the middle I started wondering why but then I remembered a movie is a different world because all though the plot may confuse the small brained people of our times I did see the greatness in it and I do understand the movie I do agree around the middle I started wondering why but then I remembered a movie is a different world because if movie had to be real we would find no entertainment once so ever!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChanelRAug 10, 2009
Spirited away is simply wonderful. Its enchanted and astonishing. And I really hope Hayao Miyazaki will decide to make a sequel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EusebioP.Sep 7, 2009
Marvelous script (Fantasy, friendship, tenderness and some horror), stunning animation and the best music score. Disney is at millions light years of this masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VelimirR.Feb 8, 2010
Indeed a real masterpiece!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TaylorHMay 27, 2010
This is one of the best films I have ever seen AND it is the best animated film I have ever seen. It appears to be for children, but the themes of the story are much deeper and darker than most children will get. Well worth watching.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KJHJun 22, 2010
When I saw the movie, it was way too scary. It was more of a nightmare than a movie.
0 of 13 users found this helpful
2
JohnnnieP.Jun 21, 2006
I have not seen one review that addresses the exact themes that are woven into the film, throughout. remember the wolf in little red riding hood. all dressed up with nowhere to go, waiting for a free meal in grandmas bed well.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
5
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
I spent most of the time going, "What?" and "Huh?" and "Not in America..." The plot is somewhat fascinating, but when you realize that very little will be revealed you can't help but feel abandoned.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DalekOct 3, 2014
Spirited Away is great in terms of it's weird, imaginative characters, and somewhat confusing storyline but the voice acting (English dub) is just really cheesy, and bad.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
TubieNov 2, 2010
My second favorite animated movie of all time. I loved this movie so much i wished it was a series or that somehow it never ended. That is a good sign that you are watching something special. I can describe it all with one word: beautiful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
defOct 12, 2010
This is so not as good as Totoro. Or Graveyard of the Fireflies. I have no idea why this movie is always rated higher than Totoro other than it was marketed heavily in the US and Totoro was not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
a Hayao Miyazaki version of Alice in Wonderland and its so incredible!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
juliankleissJan 31, 2011
A little girl called Chihiro falls into a surreal world, from which she tries to save her parents. At first most characters appear to be bad-tempered or even evil. Nevertheless, along the way they all turn out rather nice. Therefore, none ofA little girl called Chihiro falls into a surreal world, from which she tries to save her parents. At first most characters appear to be bad-tempered or even evil. Nevertheless, along the way they all turn out rather nice. Therefore, none of the characters are categorizable into the typical archetypes of good or bad. This "realness" of the characters' personalities, however, makes the movie's storytelling very unusual to the habits and expectations of us western moviegoers. Moreover, one might miss a sense of having learned a lesson over the course of the film, for the parents do not rethink their piggishness, and Chihiro, despite many experiences and therefore many opportunities, does not appear to have grown much out from her childish vulnerability and dependence either. For these reasons, and despite its vivid imagination, Spirited Away (has great potential, but) might not satisfy everyone. However, the viewer might learn a lesson of freeing oneself from expectations and opening up for the unconventional. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
When I put Spirited Away into my DVD player it was already facing a tough critic as I hate Japanese Animation, but for the most part it won me over. That isn't to say I loved it, as I found the dialogue rather infantile in parts and at timesWhen I put Spirited Away into my DVD player it was already facing a tough critic as I hate Japanese Animation, but for the most part it won me over. That isn't to say I loved it, as I found the dialogue rather infantile in parts and at times the movie became to sappy, but overall the animation and Alice in Wonderland feel offers a lot for the palate and will in turn offer viewers an exciting display in Japanese Animation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
I will say that, to me, certain elements of the plot did not connect. And that's okay. Because that little hint of not knowing is part of the movies charm. Nothing needs to happen, nothing needs to calculate and nothing needs to add up.I will say that, to me, certain elements of the plot did not connect. And that's okay. Because that little hint of not knowing is part of the movies charm. Nothing needs to happen, nothing needs to calculate and nothing needs to add up. Because if nothing else, Spirited Away is, in every sense of the word, an escape. From the characters to the dialogue to the animation, this work is simply spilling at the brims with magic, wonder and heart. I love it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
westbrook21Jun 29, 2013
Decent movie worth a watch, with a strong storyline and a good script. However, I am not a fan of the animation, it reminds me too much of Pokemon and the typical Japanese cartoons.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
night4Apr 5, 2016
I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.

However, it so blatantly and bluntly denounces "greed" that it loses all credibility. I know, it's meant for children. But the message seems to be if you have, want, or somehow acquire ANY money, ever, you're evil.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SusanJ.Nov 2, 2005
Spirted Away is an emotional and touching story of a young girl in a search for her family. It's amazing how an aminated feature could connect so much to all age groups. One of the best aminated movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Feb 1, 2006
This is indisputably one of the best animated features ever to grace any screen. In my own fantasy land--if the oscars were an indication of anything--films like this would be recognized for being glaring statements on the process of growing This is indisputably one of the best animated features ever to grace any screen. In my own fantasy land--if the oscars were an indication of anything--films like this would be recognized for being glaring statements on the process of growing up, and the childlike curiosity that is within us all. We can see that with Chihiro's parents, too, and it becomes the irony of the story that Chihiro takes charge and becomes an adult herself, all within the confines of one film. This is Miyazaki's masterpiece. If ever he achieves a feat higher, then I'll wet my pants, and that's a promise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheElusivePossomMay 9, 2006
[**SPOILERS**] This film I found hard to rate. Let me clear up any misconceptions perhaps generated by that comment: make no mistake, this is a masterpiece. From the moment we follow Chihiro's lazy gaze at the passing townscape from the[**SPOILERS**] This film I found hard to rate. Let me clear up any misconceptions perhaps generated by that comment: make no mistake, this is a masterpiece. From the moment we follow Chihiro's lazy gaze at the passing townscape from the backseat of the family saloon, we are drawn into another world. This world is sustained by first rate animé-tion and truly breath-taking artwork, culminating in a visual feast. The characters we meet are typically bizarre and wonderfully imaginative without straying too far into an intangible dreamland; you have to remember, we're viewing a cartoon caricature of Japanese culture here, and this is beautifully reflected in the (often grotesque) spirits of the world. The plot is imaginative, lacking cliché and laced with tension, and we actually care about the characters thanks to excellent voice-acting. Stand-out examples of this are found in the characters of Lin and Haku, who are multi-dimensional and emotive. This really is the kind of film that would appeal to anyone, though it requires a perhaps more mature mind to appreciate the effort behind it. So where does it fall short? Well, it is successful in pretty much every aspect: we immediately feel comfortable in adapting to this new and visually overwhelming world, and decide that we would happily spend 3 hours watching Chihiro explore it. Unfortunately, we only just get past two. It's the PACING of this movie that makes us feel like we are facing a framed work of art, but are told we can only stare at the middle section of it. The film's entrance is a lulling experience (Chihiro and her family take a good 15 minutes just to discover the spirit plane, and remember, that's about 1/8th of the movie already). The ending, contrary to this, is inexplicably and unfortunately rushed: *SPOILERS* By the time our heroine is given train tickets to see Zeniba, she has amassed a cute collection of comrades to join her, and so we expect another hour or so of narrow escapes from dangerous situations while they realise how important they are to each other, and the fuzzy Disney allegory is complete; after all, this is meant to be an adventure. However, the train journey and the trip through the swamp are ENTIRELY uneventful. On reaching Zeniba, the troupe enjoy tea together (and as a pointless sideline, No-Face decides to stay with Zenoba to help her) and then Haku arrives, providing the remaining "adventurers" an equally uneventful trip home. This is, of course, until Chihiro randomly remembers Haku's name and breaks the spell binding him to work for the repulsive Obaba. The plot now flies along faster than the viewer feels confortable with, and the "final test" promised by Obaba turns out to be one question, which Chihiro immediately answers, though her method is never explained. So all is well, Chihiro hurredly rejoins her parents, who of course don't remember a thing of the spirit world, and the movie aruptly ends on a "I-should-be-ok-for-the-first-day-of-school-as-I've-just-survived-the-most-magical-journey-ever" dynamic. *SPOILERS END* This disappointingly mellow and rushed ending marrs what is otherwise a masterpiece. Thus, it falls short of a respectable 9, but to give it a 7 (a grade I usually reserve for mindless but enjoyable action flicks) would undervalue its achievement. An 8 it is then. I would recommend seeing this beautiful film, but ask if you don't mind leaving wanting more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JTJul 20, 2006
Loved it. Best animated movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
Fantastic, watch it once properly, then again to laugh at how funny it is... you should watch the other gibli ones too... in my opinion this wasn't the best one, they were all supreme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanS.Jan 1, 2007
An interesting story. I am a big anime fan, but when this movie came out in cinemas I took one look at it and thought... "No way will I watch that". I took it out on DVD after hearing it was actually a pretty good success and I must say I An interesting story. I am a big anime fan, but when this movie came out in cinemas I took one look at it and thought... "No way will I watch that". I took it out on DVD after hearing it was actually a pretty good success and I must say I was impressed. I myself have watched "Princess Mononoke" and many other anime series'. I found the plot in this movie intruiging as well as uncomplicated and the characters rather easy to relate to (no I'm not 10, but I still feel they are more like 'us' as people). I would have to agree with some that there are certain aspects of the film that could be better and explained in more detail, for example: No-face's apparent mood swings and everybody's belief that Zeniba is (or was) evil when she obviously proved not to be. I do not think it is fair to compare this movie to one of Miyazaki's other films, "Princess Mononoke". The two films are (in essence) very different and are not meant to relate to each other. "Spirited Away" is a fantasy story that shows how a little 10-year old girl can have the courage to overcome her own fears and the greatest of obstacles, while still managing to find some semblance of love in a twisted and unfamiliar world. Rating 9 and a half to 10! Over-all a great story with very good animation. Enchanting, captivating, imaginative and true to the audience. I give it two thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndieV.Jul 2, 2007
this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. for those of you who gave it a zero, you must be really stupid or really cruel. either you flunked this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. for those of you who gave it a zero, you must be really stupid or really cruel. either you flunked first grade and can't tell the simple plot of a movie or you fell asleep during the movie and obviously didn't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ECAug 5, 2007
This is a magnificent movie. It was the first anime movie i had ever watched and I was completely hooked. To those who do not understand the hidden meanings behind this film: It is not difficult to understand, you must simply think outside This is a magnificent movie. It was the first anime movie i had ever watched and I was completely hooked. To those who do not understand the hidden meanings behind this film: It is not difficult to understand, you must simply think outside the box. It's like snow white, you can call it a stupid movie, with not much of a plot, but when you think about it, the meaning behind it all is very important (which I hope you will someday understand). Anyways, Spirited Away was an excellent movie, but as someone hs previously mentioned, the ending was too rushed. I had expected a longer adventure to Granny's house, or at least a peek to the later years, where one would expect Chihiro to be reunited with Haku. Basically this caused a great flaw in this movie. However, I still recommend it to anyone who hasn't watched it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jamieo.Sep 30, 2007
I'm almost sorry I've watched it because I'll never get to watch it for the first time again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeccaW.Feb 27, 2008
This movie was perfect. I could watch it over and over again. Please make a number 2!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulienT.Oct 22, 2009
A wonderful story in an amazingly complex universe where magic is everywhere but often comes with a price. This is, I believe, the common recipe for a Miyasaki anime. But I cannot get enough of it! This one is especially moving, thanks to A wonderful story in an amazingly complex universe where magic is everywhere but often comes with a price. This is, I believe, the common recipe for a Miyasaki anime. But I cannot get enough of it! This one is especially moving, thanks to its characters and the feeling of a childhood summer you wished had never ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantR.Jan 27, 2009
This film is amazing. Definately my favourite. I do not understand how people can write reviews here that say it has terrible animation because quite frankly this is the best written and animated Japanese film out there. It has stunning This film is amazing. Definately my favourite. I do not understand how people can write reviews here that say it has terrible animation because quite frankly this is the best written and animated Japanese film out there. It has stunning locations which insite wonder and fasination and has amazing and fantastical characters and creatures which amuse and entertain the audience. The English voice acting is superbly done and matches the Japanese-made animation incredibly well. The story can be slightly confusing at first but what you have to remember is that this film was made by Japanese for a Japanese audience so us obnoxious Westeners are just going to have to accept that it is a different culture with different myths and the story is built around those. This film is bloody amazing and should not be missed by anyone. Studio Ghibli's best film ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Aug 19, 2009
One of those few animated movies that just bring out the imagination in us and take along with it on a winding and enchanting journey with sweeping music and lovable characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.ToadJan 30, 2010
I really can't give it less than a ten.... one of the most enchanting films I've ever seen. Now first things first, if you are the kind of person that absolutely needs a coherent plot, then you might not digest the film easily. I I really can't give it less than a ten.... one of the most enchanting films I've ever seen. Now first things first, if you are the kind of person that absolutely needs a coherent plot, then you might not digest the film easily. I have to admit, on a lot of films I tend to get fustrated too if things don't make sense. However Spirited Away has such catchy visuals and an AMAZING soundtrack you feel completely absorbed. If you want to get enchanted by something else than disney, watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackC.Feb 4, 2010
Amazing, simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyW.Sep 27, 2005
This is my favourite animated film of all time, the Lion King will have to move to 2nd Place (sorry!) It's nice to read all these opinions of other people around the world who also share my view on the film. My family think that because This is my favourite animated film of all time, the Lion King will have to move to 2nd Place (sorry!) It's nice to read all these opinions of other people around the world who also share my view on the film. My family think that because it is an animated film then it will be immature and just for children, when really it can be just as enjoyable for adults to watch, if some of them weren't so prejudiced all the time. (i'm not trying to affend anyone, but if i have i'm sorry). For an animated film, the wold and the characters where so complex, that you don't normally get in animated films like Disney for example. Some of the things that chihiro went through and the things and type of people she encountered i felt i could relate to, so that in a way made be feel more moved by the story. It is truly a masterpiece in every sense of the word. The story was beautilful and the world in which chihiro came across was so vast and imaginative, i was completely blown away. The music was perfect along with the casting of actors!!! SUPERB!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KHNov 3, 2006
I don't know how this film can denied from any list of the greatest movies ever. You know you have a real treasure when an anime can take home an Oscar for best picture! (However, I am fully aware that a film winning an Oscar means I don't know how this film can denied from any list of the greatest movies ever. You know you have a real treasure when an anime can take home an Oscar for best picture! (However, I am fully aware that a film winning an Oscar means about nothing, except the actors get paid more.) This movie is so imaginative and out there. Someone who gave it a bad review wrote that no one commented on the themes, but I was going to comment on them before I read them: You shouldn't be greedy is one of them. You also really take something from the ending because the heroine succeeds by growing and using what she's learned - no fancy ending battle! Watch the movie, you'll like it if you have any heart and a well-sized imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaelD>Jan 2, 2006
I dont see how anybody can hate this film its awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KelleyG.Feb 3, 2006
I thought this was oine of the most heartfelt, enchanting movies i have ever seen. Never before has an animated movie captured my heart this way. this is one of my all time favorite movies EVER. I heard that there will be no sequels, and i I thought this was oine of the most heartfelt, enchanting movies i have ever seen. Never before has an animated movie captured my heart this way. this is one of my all time favorite movies EVER. I heard that there will be no sequels, and i dont know whether to be happy or sad, many times sequels are dumb and pointless, and couldnt hold a candle to the original and end up making me think less of the original, but ever time i watch Spirited Away i just want to see the connection and love between Chihiro and Haku grow. However all-in-all i LOVED this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlyssaD.Feb 5, 2006
this movie is the best no matter how many times i see it i cry it was the best. i mean there should there be a sequel taking haku in the human world which chihiri is a high scholler and a new guy transfer to her school which should be haku this movie is the best no matter how many times i see it i cry it was the best. i mean there should there be a sequel taking haku in the human world which chihiri is a high scholler and a new guy transfer to her school which should be haku since it's been so long that they haven't seen each other but only haku recognizes her he must then find a way to make here remember and while things are happening bad things happen like chihiro's boyfriend is a monster trying to get haku out of her system well thats what i think but it should definetly have a sequel no matter what. this is the greatest movie of all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvanMar 24, 2006
Best animated movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful