Splinter

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 25, 2013
    2
    "B" movie all the way, with a low budget. If you want to see a cheesy infection/zombie movie with rather bad acting, unbelievable characters, not much suspense: do watch this. If you want to watch a quality movie watch something else. I do no understand the good reviews, some kind of double standard is applied to these low budget, indie-horrors, but this does not make it a good movie in"B" movie all the way, with a low budget. If you want to see a cheesy infection/zombie movie with rather bad acting, unbelievable characters, not much suspense: do watch this. If you want to watch a quality movie watch something else. I do no understand the good reviews, some kind of double standard is applied to these low budget, indie-horrors, but this does not make it a good movie in reality. Honestly you will not see anything new here. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    A badass flick right here. It definitely leaves the generic scary movies in the dust. Fantastic writing, fantastic plot, fantastic acting. The best scary movie I've seen coming from this generation.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Not spectacular at all but smart, simple original: a very interesting movie. All horror fans will apreciate, mainly for its very nice creatures. Great discovery.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2009
    5
    I'm not giving this an average score for brown blood, although there was some present. this movie just wasn't that good. it wasn't bad either. although the monster was original (if you discount "the thing"), it didn't get the proper respect. it left me wanting more monster, as the choppy editing only allowed you to see flashes, bits, and pieces. i had great I'm not giving this an average score for brown blood, although there was some present. this movie just wasn't that good. it wasn't bad either. although the monster was original (if you discount "the thing"), it didn't get the proper respect. it left me wanting more monster, as the choppy editing only allowed you to see flashes, bits, and pieces. i had great expectations from the same house (magnet) that brought out "let the right one in". Expand
  5. ChrisK
    Apr 25, 2009
    7
    Pretty Decent Scary Movie, Not a bit cheezy and very original. Don't pass us this non mainstream movie.
  6. JayH
    Apr 5, 2009
    7
    Surprisingly suspenseful, the director skillfully keeps from going over the top. The dialogue is fresh and convincing, as is the acting. Good score. Fine special effects. Sometimes the camerawork is a bit annoying, but overall a great effort.
  7. KP
    Jul 22, 2009
    8
    This movie was excellent for the genre. I loved this one, period!
  8. MikeS
    Feb 17, 2009
    4
    Ok, this is good, very good in almost all respects, and yes effects are very good- even groundbreaking. But, uh, was Hershey's one of the main investors of this film? And are we all supposed to ignore the fact that this "blood" that they used was obviously chocolate syrup? It seems they did use some coloring in the syrup on the gas station window, but most of it was just plain Ok, this is good, very good in almost all respects, and yes effects are very good- even groundbreaking. But, uh, was Hershey's one of the main investors of this film? And are we all supposed to ignore the fact that this "blood" that they used was obviously chocolate syrup? It seems they did use some coloring in the syrup on the gas station window, but most of it was just plain chocolate. I get it, ok, it's a nod to the masters of horror, bach when they used black and white film, and it worked very good on B&W, but color film- it just doesn't work and it ruins the effect. Come on, am I the only one who is going to say anything about the brown blood? Expand
  9. MichaelG
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    of the recent horror movies to come out on dvd this year, this is really good horror film...amongst the vast sea of awful horror movies, this one stands out. its got a interesting "monster" , cool special effects (reminds people what you can actually accomplish without CGI) and characters relatable enough that you can care what happens to them.
  10. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    I don't understand, with the plethora of cheesy, bad acted, horribly directed horror films that have come out recently, why films such as this do not get their deserved respect. Many complaints I have heard about this movie are pretty petty, considering the achievements the director and actors have made, with an obviously lower than blockbuster budget. I am a die-hard fan of old horror andI don't understand, with the plethora of cheesy, bad acted, horribly directed horror films that have come out recently, why films such as this do not get their deserved respect. Many complaints I have heard about this movie are pretty petty, considering the achievements the director and actors have made, with an obviously lower than blockbuster budget. I am a die-hard fan of old horror and sci-fi, and miss the days when directors could set a mood, a feeling of dread, without resorting to jump in your face scare tactics and relying on special effects to compensate for a sub-par plot and acting. Although this movie DOES have some jump in your face moments, and has the monster on display, quite a bit in my opinion, it also leaves much to the imagination, which can be a lot creepier in my opinion. It doesn't upset me at all that the monster is not just thrust in your face the entire movie. This director, and actors both did an excellent job of building their characters, and making me care for them, unlike so many other horror flicks. Give credit where credit is due, and learn to appreciate these little gems, when they do pop up. Definitely worth a watch if you're into a good horror flick, with surprisingly good acting to boot! Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Splinter is a bad idea, borrowing body parts, as it were, from old horror flicks to genuinely unsatisfying results.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    80
    A spare, effective and genuinely frightening retro-nightmare.
  3. The result, however clich├ęd, is spectacularly unnerving: hair-trigger horror.