A24 | Release Date: March 15, 2013
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 400 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
199
Mixed:
81
Negative:
120
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
EpicLadySpongeMar 21, 2016
The sole fact critics loved it is showing me that this movie might be at least a 7, right? Well, wrong! I didn't even love a single scratch of it. Even James Franco decides to waste his life playing in this plotless movie. The best part aboutThe sole fact critics loved it is showing me that this movie might be at least a 7, right? Well, wrong! I didn't even love a single scratch of it. Even James Franco decides to waste his life playing in this plotless movie. The best part about it is that I'm reviewing this movie in Spring so you can't tell whether I'll see it again or not... but because my score is a negative, it means I don't want to see it again. If you're a critic and you decide to love watching this, you can save your life by getting some eye medicine. How in the world is such a film made in 2013 can be made to be absolutely to look shamefully bad in front of public? Now if we didn't had films like Scary Movie 5 or Grown Ups 2, this would've been the worst film of 2013 I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
123nononoJan 10, 2016
An atrocity.

What happened to Mr. Korine? This wretched "film" is the EPITOME of everything he was trying to annihilate in the 90s. People are so hungry for something different these days, they'll praise a horrid mess like this as
An atrocity.

What happened to Mr. Korine?

This wretched "film" is the EPITOME of everything he was trying to annihilate in the 90s.

People are so hungry for something different these days, they'll praise a horrid mess like this as Christ's second coming.

When you're starving, a mold encrusted crumb seems like a feast.

People (artists and everyday folk alike) grow and change. And no, I'm not one of the vile cretin scumbags who "wishes Korine was still on drugs and living in misery", but this isn't "growth". It's a void.

Here's to hoping whatever he does next blows his prime years' beautiful, untouchable work out of the water (WRITING the screenplay for Kids, and writing and directing Gummo, and Julien Donkey Boy), and here's to also hoping that what he does next is so stunningly wonderful that it can bury his last 3 hideous works (Mister Lonely, Trash Humpers, and Spring Breakers). Each of those last 3 got progressively worse.

It does seem he's still got it in him to create real magic. It really does. He's a special and unique soul, but this one was off the charts nauseating and disappointing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HalenastOct 18, 2015
It is the worst movie I have ever seen. I watched it because thought that James Franco work will be great but right now I am absolutely disappointed. Actors played their roles awful. If you like naked bodies and film with no story than it is for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Spring Breakers" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

The Good: James Franco. His performance as Alien, a rapper and criminal, makes the film at least watchable for stretches. At one point, close to the middle of the film, it becomes decent
"Spring Breakers" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

The Good: James Franco. His performance as Alien, a rapper and criminal, makes the film at least watchable for stretches. At one point, close to the middle of the film, it becomes decent before spiraling back into being awful again.

The Bad: The film is mostly about Spring Break debauchery and over half of the film revolves around lengthy scenes of people dancing, drinking, doing drugs, and having sex. It was like one long MTV special. I understand that they wanted to portray what goes on down there during Spring Break, but it seemed to be the main focus of the film and wasn't entertaining at all. I also had zero feelings towards the main characters of the film, who are four college girls who rob a fast food place to get the cash for their trip ... and then fall in with a criminal. I just didn't care about any of them and there wasn't much characterization. They were four random irresponsible college girls and nothing more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
tarquin_makismoJul 4, 2014
Look, many people here have tried to convey how truly awful this movie was but still haven't been believed, so I will describe my own feeling as deeply as possible in order to discourage the unwary from witnessing a spectacle that will leaveLook, many people here have tried to convey how truly awful this movie was but still haven't been believed, so I will describe my own feeling as deeply as possible in order to discourage the unwary from witnessing a spectacle that will leave them forever traumatised and mind-raped : THIS MOVIE IS A CRIME AGAINST HUMANITY !!!
I am a dog-lover, and if I thought my beloved hound's canine brain was comprehending, for a microsecond, any of the mind-altering senselesness of any of the scenes in this movie, I would SHOOT HIM IN THE HEAD immediately, without hesitation, out of sheer pity, just as you would put a rabid dog out of its misery.
No-one deserves to watch this movie - not Pol Pot, not Hitler, not Newt Gringrich - least of all any James Franco fans who thought be had any semblance of talent or taste.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RanielMay 28, 2014
This is the worst movie that i've ever seen, it's like a porno!! And Selena Gomez is the worst actress that the world ever seen!!!!!!! It's Terrible!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Viper8787May 18, 2014
A god awful movie. I didn't enjoy any part of this movie except for the acting of James Franco, who I have always liked as an actor. This movie was just about partying, drugs and stealing nothing interesting at all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
tonnuMay 15, 2014
i registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put oni registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put on to try and be cool, and that's what this movie achieved. the whole thing is vacuous and the dialogue is HORRIBLE. like really bad. the sequence where franco starts reciting his "poems" were among the worst dialogues ever written in cinematic history. and god the girls were HOT HOT HOT, but even that cannot save this BS. no plot, no characters (the girls don't have names even?), no nothing. what a waste of hot chicks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
blur95Apr 15, 2014
Harmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the sameHarmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the same scene multiple times and repeat the same dialogue.
I didn't really have an interest in the characters. They weren't charismatic nor interesting themselves. The whole film lacked direction in my opinion. It felt like it didn't know where to go. Don't be fooled, this movie sucks.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
SpangleApr 1, 2014
Wow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that reallyWow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed to think of another positive. I mean, the film did a good job making the ending intense, but even then, it felt sort of pointless and random. Intense, sure, but useful? Not at all. That is how Spring Breakers is defined for me, really. A bunch of scenes and situations that were dragged out for far too long. For me, this one felt like a horrible music video that was an hour and a half long rather than just 3-5 minutes long. Hell, even if this one was just a music video, I would still hate it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
doereMar 20, 2014
how can anybody like this movie? I saw it twice, once in theaters with several friends and once in class and everybody around agreed that it was terrible. the "action" scenes in it are just horrendous, and the rest of the movie is boring.how can anybody like this movie? I saw it twice, once in theaters with several friends and once in class and everybody around agreed that it was terrible. the "action" scenes in it are just horrendous, and the rest of the movie is boring. This is the worst movie i have ever seen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
marymovieJan 2, 2014
this movie is nothing but a disappointment. besides being a superfiacial movie the performances are terrible. not all that glitters is gold and this movie is proof of that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
maxremoDec 26, 2013
This film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film wouldThis film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film would rock!! but It left me depressed just like its mediocre storyline. It was extremely unbearable to watch but I continued, hoping that it would surprise me but it didn't. Watch at your own risk. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
marktukOct 10, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word describes this film. Pretentious. One of the main characters is a church going Christian, and her name... Faith (Selena Gomez). Halfway through the film, she jumps on a coach and leaves. That's it? She's the only character that gets any real character development and before you know it she's gone. This film is utter garbage. It's also infuriatingly repetitive, some scenes play out 3-4 different times as flash backs or flash forwards. The film is padded out big time, and only just makes it to 94 minutes. You could probably edit this film down to under an hour without losing any main plot points. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
sammieteeOct 6, 2013
I couldn't even sit through this entire movie, and I never give up on a movie. I couldn't connect with the characters at all and I felt like I was watching from a distance. I got bored and really didn't care what happened. I found the plotI couldn't even sit through this entire movie, and I never give up on a movie. I couldn't connect with the characters at all and I felt like I was watching from a distance. I got bored and really didn't care what happened. I found the plot jumpy and difficult to follow but maybe that was because I stopped paying attention or caring. I did like the artsy look to it but the characters and the plot were crap and a half. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
applesandorangeSep 17, 2013
Not much of a story line, it wasn't exciting and thrilling like they said it would be... I also think the actors could have been chosen better, something to spice it up a little, Bland
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
v_muellerAug 21, 2013
Schlechtester Film, welchen ich diesen Monat gesehen hab.
Zuerst handelt er von erotisch präsentierten Frauen bis die Handlung zu einer Freundschaft mit einem Gangster führt. Das Ende ist zudem noch miserabel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
film_bugAug 15, 2013
A shallow, uninteresting and self-indulgent film. The story didn't make sense. The cast was weak. Nothing about this movie was worth talking about. I had to force myself to finish it for the sake of being fair.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Aug 3, 2013
The worst movie of the year. James Franco has officially gotten on my last nerve. Does Slena Gomze think she can act. It made me want to puke it was so vile and gross.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
BobLeeSwaggerJul 22, 2013
Just plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. It seems like a lot of people hear that a movie is artsy and deep and immediately decide it's good. MaybeJust plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. It seems like a lot of people hear that a movie is artsy and deep and immediately decide it's good. Maybe they're afraid people will think they didn't get it. If that's the case then call me ignorant, but this movie had 0 substance. Its as big a pile of trash as the characters it displays. I would say about 15 minutes of this whole movie advanced some sort of plot. The rest is useless flash forwards, flash backs, and just plain flashes. I suppose there was some attempt at social commentary, but it was poorly developed. The worst part is that the acting wasn't bad and it was shot in a way that had it actually had a good story, it could have been a phenomenal film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Bruce722Jul 19, 2013
The critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has noThe critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has no actual point other than to show an unnecessary amount of nudity and tell a 45 minute story in 92 minutes because the movie repeats itself the entire time. The acting was actually fairly decent but beyond that why bother even watching? If you want to watch a handful of stupid girls make exaggeratedly stupid decisions in a film that drags and has no point, this is the movie for you. If you want to be entertained, don't bother. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
psyberdelicJul 12, 2013
You just have to wonder at anyone who liked this piece of garbage. Sure, there was lots of T&A and some really stupid gratuitous violence but there was no point to the film. Other than for Harmony Korrine's lame attempt to show how decadentYou just have to wonder at anyone who liked this piece of garbage. Sure, there was lots of T&A and some really stupid gratuitous violence but there was no point to the film. Other than for Harmony Korrine's lame attempt to show how decadent college age, brain dead, party people have become. The premise wasn't all that bad. Nice girls get corrupted on spring break and have to deal with it. But the way the premise was handled was more like an adolescent male's wet dream of what could be. Watching porn makes way more sense than this junk. And the shoot out? Two girls in bikinis who just can't miss against ten or fifteen guys who just killed their friendly pimp wannabe with a single shot? Just plain dumb and a bit nauseating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
KivaJul 6, 2013
Spring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a hugeSpring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a huge amount of time. The trailer seemed an extraordinary film and I though at first that Spring Breakers is going to be one of my favorite films. However, I was disappointed by the result. The actors and the characters were not interesting I liked the direction though and while i was watching that film i was waiting for something to happen but nothing happened at all. This movie is a huge waste of time and I don't recommend it. I watched it with friends and they all didn't like it. Why did it have even one good review is a strange mystery for me Do a favour to yourselfs and don't watch Spring Breakers. If you want watch the trailer three or four times.* I was expecting for some sexual scenes as I read about that film and it had not a great amount of them but even that couldn't make the film better* Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Jul 1, 2013
Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing,Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Jun 23, 2013
Spring Breakers is one of the worst movies so far this year. It actually isn't a film other then showing continuous naked women, complete overuse of drugs and people committing crime like its fun. It not only comes across as boring andSpring Breakers is one of the worst movies so far this year. It actually isn't a film other then showing continuous naked women, complete overuse of drugs and people committing crime like its fun. It not only comes across as boring and repetitive but ridiculous the way the movie unfolds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
kaiser-oneMay 13, 2013
Worst movie I've ever seen. The movie is literally a 2 hours music video with boobs, drugs and asses everywhere. I left the the Theater after 30 minutes of this
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
zepoxiMay 5, 2013
Probably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say, don't spend money on this one, you will regret it. I have no idea why some think James Franco'sProbably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say, don't spend money on this one, you will regret it. I have no idea why some think James Franco's performance is astonishing other then to try and rate this terrible movie higher then it should be.

I'd like to give this a 3, maybe 4 but some give it a 10, in order to counter that it'll be 0
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
Chipper12345Apr 11, 2013
This has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is nothing in the movie to recommend. The movie is only about an hour long, but it keeps showing the same scene over and over. The story is completely ridiculous andThis has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is nothing in the movie to recommend. The movie is only about an hour long, but it keeps showing the same scene over and over. The story is completely ridiculous and unbelievable. The acting in universally bad, and you do not feel for any character. Just awful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
XaxApr 10, 2013
It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
mbeckfordApr 7, 2013
This movie had such great potential. If it just followed the compelling
short description of the movie, instead of making that short
description nearly EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THE MOVIE, it would be intriguing. This was the most
This movie had such great potential. If it just followed the compelling
short description of the movie, instead of making that short
description nearly EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THE MOVIE, it would be
intriguing.

This was the most tedious, redundant and gratuitous movie I've seen in
a very long time. I expected the gratuitous it opened with an
extended "Girls Gone Wild" sequence. But then it showed that sequence
again, and again and again, then again, and again and again!

This would be a "one-star" without James Franco. Once he is introduced
you are captivated by his transformation into a wannabe gangsta rapper,
especially given his tame, Disney-esque acting in "Oz, the Great and
Powerful."

But then the tedious redundancy corrupted even his performance. The
cinematography is interesting but with little plot and the unrelenting
repetitiveness, even that became another irritant. If they removed all
of the redundant scenes I think the movie would have been 30 minutes
long.
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews