Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 31, 2013
    60
    Pacino, long ago having given up subtlety for bombast, continues along that path here, but he's still fun to watch.
  2. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Jan 30, 2013
    20
    Does anyone, young or old, wish to see a 72-year-old Pacino sporting spiky hair and goatee, hollering in his "Tony Montana" voice about having a boner? Is he in a contest with Mick Jagger to see who can keep up the wild-man shtick into the triple digits?
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jan 31, 2013
    38
    We get it: Stand Up Guys is supposed to be cutesy criminal magic realism. But Stevens, an actor turned director, never finds the right vibe, and the movie's genuinely creepy misogyny sours the attempts to go sentimental in the final act.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 30, 2013
    88
    Sometimes it's all about the casting. The notice of a screening came around, I read the names Al Pacino, Christopher Walken and Alan Arkin, and it didn't matter in a way what the movie was about - although it didn't hurt that it was a crime movie.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    Arkin in particular can barely hide his lack of enthusiasm for the material. Some of the looks he shoots his co-stars appear to contain a secret code of some kind, deciphered as: 'Well, at least I'm in 'Argo.'"
  6. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jan 30, 2013
    67
    Stand Up Guys reminds you that these three are still way too good to collapse into shticky self-parody, even when they're in a movie that's practically begging them to.
  7. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 13, 2012
    60
    While the action is brisk, the film never feels in a hurry. Walken and Pacino amble through their paces. Arkin ups the adrenaline any time he's around, and he is not around quite enough.
  8. 50
    The central premise is a half-hearted retread. And the gags come from a score of earlier films and sitcoms.
  9. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    An excruciating and melodramatic comedy.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 1, 2013
    60
    Stand Up Guys becomes something not only enjoyable but memorable and emotionally layered at the same time.
  11. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 13, 2012
    40
    The script is undernourished, the supporting characters - including a horribly miscast Lucy Punch - ill-conceived, and Val increasingly hard to take. But when the movie ended, I wanted to watch Walken all over again.
  12. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 13, 2012
    25
    Painful, misshapen and a little gross. It's an enlarged prostate of a movie.
  13. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 31, 2013
    30
    Stevens wants to honor the living legends who have miraculously agreed to appear in his movie, but after spending a full hour treating their characters like cartoons, the about-face into heartfelt slop lacks the necessary gravitas.
  14. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Elegiac and corny and not really convincing on any level (especially when it comes to its treatment of women - be they hookers, or waitresses, or girls on the town), Stand Up Guys nonetheless holds some fascination just for the off-the-charts affectedness of Pacino's performance.
  15. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    It's often said that actors with distinctive vocal styles could compellingly read the phone book -- in this case, it would absolutely be a more entertaining hour-and-a-half.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 1, 2013
    63
    Some actors don't need top-shelf material. Just the pleasure of their company is enough. And so Al Pacino, Christopher Walken and Alan Arkin turn the insubstantial Stand Up Guys into solid entertainment.
  17. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 31, 2013
    100
    The thing most people will take away from Stand Up Guys is that it contains Al Pacino's best performance in years. So if you don't think Al Pacino still has it in him, this is a welcome chance to be proved wrong. But here's something interesting. Stand Up Guys also contains Christopher Walken's best performance in years. In addition, the film is extraordinarily well cast, and the acting, even in the smaller roles, is more than noteworthy.
  18. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    Dec 13, 2012
    63
    Fails to plumb the dramatic depths of its setups, but every now and then the actors pick up the slack, filling in the blanks with three decades's worth of mythic resonance.
  19. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jan 31, 2013
    38
    Dare we say it? Even the acting is atrocious, with pop-eyed Pacino chewing the scenery like a geezer gumming his oatmeal.
  20. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jan 30, 2013
    25
    The leads here aren't the only element of the film that's past its prime.
  21. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    Some nice touches, though it needs to be indulged.
  22. Reviewed by: Duane Byrge
    Dec 4, 2012
    70
    Stand Up Guys never wobbles into maudlin or cheap-n-easy sentimentality. It is an entertaining yet sobering portrayal of not-so-wise guys who do not go gently into a no-good night.
  23. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 13, 2012
    60
    Most of the modest pleasures are in the ways the men expertly play off one another and invest their shallow characters with more depth than any filmmaker could reasonably expect.
  24. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jan 29, 2013
    33
    It's like stocking a team with proven performers and hoping that everything else will work itself out at the end, including a rickety script, indifferent direction, and a plot that pretends its final act is anything other than a cliché-hugging inevitability.
  25. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jan 31, 2013
    30
    A buddy movie that limps along, pausing for breath and pulse checks like a geriatric dutifully fulfilling doctor's orders to get some exercise.
  26. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 11, 2012
    20
    This moronically unfunny gangster comedy fluctuates wildly between the lowest-of-low humor and pity-the-aged-man pathos, and offers further evidence that the best days are behind its iconic cast members.
  27. Reviewed by: Curtis Woloschuk
    Jun 15, 2013
    20
    Most ‘one crazy night’ movies (from After Hours to Superbad) thrive on a sense of escalation, but Stand Up Guys only seems to lower the stakes as it stumbles tediously on.
  28. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Jan 31, 2013
    38
    It's been a long time since a movie wasted as much talent as Stand Up Guys, a film that aims to be a geezer "Goodfellas" but whose execution is a misfire.
  29. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    Dec 4, 2012
    70
    Veering between buddy movie and action-thriller, Stand Up Guys is a mildly raunchy, modestly entertaining geriatric comedy.
  30. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Dec 11, 2012
    30
    But by the end, the feeling the movie inspires isn't suspense but relief: Thank God that the producers behind "Grumpy Old Men" and "The Sunshine Boys" didn't yet have Viagra to joke about.
  31. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 31, 2013
    30
    It's long on Viagra jokes and whorehouse scenes, and comes up short on plausibility.
  32. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    It's Walken who grounds every scene with the kind of watchful honesty that has become his brand in late-career.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    I really, really loved this movie, all the more so because many of the critics had me expecting a piece of crap. Wow, talk about losingI really, really loved this movie, all the more so because many of the critics had me expecting a piece of crap. Wow, talk about losing faith in these "experts" on film. Really puzzled as to why it was so panned. Can't help but believe some ageism is at work: wrinkly old guys are not supposed to be going to bed with young hookers or beating up young studs. Oh yeah, an Asian store clerk gets punched by Pacino's character so I guess this got the PC brigade riled up). Its a movie for Christ's sake. One critic even said it lacked "plausibility." Earth to critic: this wasn't a documentary. Go see it; you'll love it, especially if you grew up with these guys on the screen like I have. Full Review »
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    A surprisingly entertaining movie led by to legends giving strong performances. I was happy to see Pacino and Walken at the top of their gameA surprisingly entertaining movie led by to legends giving strong performances. I was happy to see Pacino and Walken at the top of their game and I recommend this film because of it. Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    Storyline: Val (Al Pacino) has been in prison for 28 years and took the fall for everyone else but a grudge has been held by Claphands (MarkStoryline: Val (Al Pacino) has been in prison for 28 years and took the fall for everyone else but a grudge has been held by Claphands (Mark Margolis) all this time and orders Val's best buddy, Doc (Chistopher Walken) to kill him. Doc is reluctant to carry it out and while trying to delay it they end up teaming up with Hirsch (Alan Arkin) and show they still have what it takes. I know it sounds like a run of the mill buddy movie, and it kind of is, but Pacino, Walken and Arkin make this film. I think the script is smart because while it has what you expect from a buddy movie with old time gangsters in it the dialogue, jokes and one liners are subtle enough to satisfy the more intelligent viewer.

    Acting: I knew when I first heard about this movie and saw the cast list that I needed to see it for the acting if nothing else and it excels at this. Pacino, Walken and Arkin looked like they really enjoyed making this and the chemistry is obvious. The real surprise for me is the support. They are all very, very good in the smaller roles.

    Direction: I had no idea until seeing this film that Fisher Stevens directed never mind won an Oscar. I've seen him in countless films but was never impressed, but now, I'll be watching for his work. It looks like he allowed a bit of ad-libbing as some of the scenes had an authentic feel about the dialogue.

    Production: I have no idea how much this cost but it's a very well produced movie but does appear to have a low budget. This is a character driven movie and with these three doing the driving it can't and doesn't fail. I'd like to think that if it had no big names as the leads it would still be good but this just simply isn't the case. Without them it would have been very humdrum but it does have them and it's far from humdrum.

    Conclusion: It's not their best work but this is a well cast, well acted and well written film that I enjoyed greatly and found funny, especially Alan Arkin. A very good movie. Recommended.

    Score: 7.5/10
    Full Review »