Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: With the aide of the Enterprise crew, Admiral Kirk must stop an old nemesis, Khan Noonien Singh, from using the Genesis Device as the ultimate weapon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Janet Maslin
    Apr 1, 2013
    90
    The second Star Trek movie is swift, droll and adventurous, not to mention appealingly gadget-happy. It's everything the first one should have been and wasn't.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 1, 2013
    88
    The Wrath of Khan is a top-notch, fast-paced adventure that can be enjoyed equally by fans of the series and those who have never seen an episode.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Godfrey
    Apr 1, 2013
    88
    A funnier, faster, altogether more energetic film than Star Trek I, The Wrath of Khan doesn't linger over its modest special effects. This is really down-home week with Captain - now Admiral - Kirk and the boys. [5 June 1982]
  4. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Star Trek II is a very satisfying space adventure, closer in spirit and format to the popular TV series than to its big-budget predecessor.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    I don't much care if the battles aren't that amazing, because the story doesn't depend on them. It's about a sacrifice made by Spock, and it draws on the sentiment and audience identification developed over the years by the TV series.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    One leaves the film neither hugely thrilled nor greatly awed, but with a pleasant sense of having caught up with old friends and found them to be just fine, pretty much the way one hoped they would turn out in later life.
  7. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    Apr 1, 2013
    40
    The Wrath of Khan is a small soap opera about a man coming to terms with age and death and a son he had never acknowledged. It's really "On Golden Galaxy," and it would have made a lot more sense as a modestly produced hour of television. [7 June 1982, p.53]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    After watching into darkness, then coming back to this I pleasantly enjoyed every minute.

    It actually drags you in with the in depth
    After watching into darkness, then coming back to this I pleasantly enjoyed every minute.

    It actually drags you in with the in depth emotions and story instead of pure action like more recent films.
    Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    8
    It's been a really long time since I last saw this, but I do remember enjoying it immensely. Like before it improves on everything from theIt's been a really long time since I last saw this, but I do remember enjoying it immensely. Like before it improves on everything from the last movie and even Shatner's "acting" is tolerable, mostly. However this time round it has an actual plot, story and also adding allot to the Star Trek universe's lore.

    Overall:
    A great addition to the series, that does look a little dated by today's standards, but even so still isn't bad and does a good job delivering its story. Not to mention one of the saddest endings ever (at the time.)
    Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    6
    I like more Star Trek: The Motion Picture because the story is weird ,and i like strange story's the j.j abrams star trek movies ,it has soI like more Star Trek: The Motion Picture because the story is weird ,and i like strange story's the j.j abrams star trek movies ,it has so many action in it. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    5
    Honestly, this movie wasn't great. Most of the acting is unwatchabley bad. Some of the set up was boreing. The only good part was when khan'sHonestly, this movie wasn't great. Most of the acting is unwatchabley bad. Some of the set up was boreing. The only good part was when khan's ship was tearing up the enterprise. Collapse

Trailers