User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 968 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    George Lucas's epic masterpiece before the dark times.
  2. Dec 5, 2015
    7
    I know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than the original because there's more color, in "a new hope" it was mostly in spaceships or tatooine so it's either all grey or orange, this movie makes starI know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than the original because there's more color, in "a new hope" it was mostly in spaceships or tatooine so it's either all grey or orange, this movie makes star wars a lot more colorful, and the lightsaber battles are way better then they were in the originals, in the older films it looked friggin ridiculous in the prequels they made them badass. This movie is not horrible, but's not a masterpiece either, some of the acting is wooden but still worth watching because it's STAR WARS for crying out loud. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2016
    7
    While not being a terrible film, the first installment in Lucas' prequels just leaves audiences with an empty stomach. There is a lot to love in the film, cool characters, Darth Maul, good action sequences and a lot of eye candy (for 1999). But there is also a lot to hate, not a lot of substance, some bad acting (Anakin), some bad and awkward dialogue, terrible characters like Jar JarWhile not being a terrible film, the first installment in Lucas' prequels just leaves audiences with an empty stomach. There is a lot to love in the film, cool characters, Darth Maul, good action sequences and a lot of eye candy (for 1999). But there is also a lot to hate, not a lot of substance, some bad acting (Anakin), some bad and awkward dialogue, terrible characters like Jar Jar Binks and effects while ok for 1999 that look extremely bad today. But if you love Star Wars, it is definitely watchable and enjoyable, most of the time. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2016
    8
    I liked this movie, even though the acting could have been better. Darth Maul is a real badass, loved the Duel of the Fates. Compared to TFA it's a masterpiece.
  5. BitBurn
    Oct 8, 2004
    7
    Liam Neeson's performance saved the day! And that baddie Darth Maul is wicked cool!!
  6. CameronS.
    Mar 3, 2004
    7
    Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a grand display of visuals, and the first chapter in which Lucas lost sight of what was great about Star Wars. Episode I is by no means a great film, and now it is almost painful to watch it. Once Jar Jar Binks appears, it just grows annoying. However, the visuals on the screen and the noises of the soundtrack are greatly appealing. While today, Episode I Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a grand display of visuals, and the first chapter in which Lucas lost sight of what was great about Star Wars. Episode I is by no means a great film, and now it is almost painful to watch it. Once Jar Jar Binks appears, it just grows annoying. However, the visuals on the screen and the noises of the soundtrack are greatly appealing. While today, Episode I seems fairly mediocre, especially when being compared to the original trilogy. However, I saw it way too many times in theatres and home video not to reccomend it. I don't plan on watching it until it gets a grand 2005 IMAX release, when it can be seen the right way, not analyze with inanities. The film is slightly inferior to Attack of the Clones, which is nearly just as painful. It was fun when it came out, and it's painful now that it's old. The Phantom Edit is much better, I strongly reccomend downloading it in all its shortened glory. Expand
  7. feliped.
    Apr 24, 2005
    9
    In the middle of the movie i was bored. but after that it was an action pack. this is a true star wars movie!
  8. LoganA.
    Apr 6, 2005
    8
    I'll be brutally honest, this is the worst Star Wars installment of the series. That said, it is still a decent movie. The acting may not be stellar in all respects, but once again, THIS IS STAR WARS. IT IS IN A DIFFERENT TIME AND GALAXY. Besides, Liam Neeson, Ewan Mcgregor, and Natalie Portman did good jobs for what they were required to do. And asking everyone to give a "Castaway" I'll be brutally honest, this is the worst Star Wars installment of the series. That said, it is still a decent movie. The acting may not be stellar in all respects, but once again, THIS IS STAR WARS. IT IS IN A DIFFERENT TIME AND GALAXY. Besides, Liam Neeson, Ewan Mcgregor, and Natalie Portman did good jobs for what they were required to do. And asking everyone to give a "Castaway" Oscar nominated peformance is absurd. I know that's not what people said specifically, but I'm growing tired of ill-tempered imbociles comparing everything to an overtly critical scale of judgement when reviewing movies that weren't meant to be a typical film. This movie did what it was supposed to do; set up the series for the next episodes. I think it does a decent job of that. And in the end, "Duel of the Fates" is possibly one of the best lightsaber duels of all time. Expand
  9. IanE
    May 25, 2005
    8
    This movie is not the best star wars movie, but the lightsaber duels and overall performance doesn't deserve all the 0's 2's and 3's that this movie is getting, it gets an 8 from me.
  10. BobB.
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod racing scene wasn't too shabby, either. All of this included with the best lightsaber duel in the series makes this movie very much worth watching.
  11. PaulF.
    Apr 27, 2007
    8
    When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the destroyer droids rolling into action and the Darth Maul battle at the end? Yes it isn't as good as the originals but IMO it's more than good enough When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the destroyer droids rolling into action and the Darth Maul battle at the end? Yes it isn't as good as the originals but IMO it's more than good enough to sit alongside them. Expand
  12. Telimaktar
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Till today I can watch this movie over and over again just like the rest of its family. Thank you George Lucas for this works of art.
  13. YashS
    Mar 17, 2009
    8
    Darth Maul and Qui-Gon-Jinn are the BEST Obi-Wan went crazy at the final battle scene That was the best battle scene of the series I hate that Darth Maul died He is so cool Same with Qui-Gon Everything else was okay
  14. mikek
    May 27, 2009
    8
    I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of the clones..the darth maul is one of the best lightsaber duels in all the movies it was a sin the amount of time he got in the film after all the I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of the clones..the darth maul is one of the best lightsaber duels in all the movies it was a sin the amount of time he got in the film after all the publicity it was an upset but what we get is great and qui gon was quite possibly the best performance in the whoel prequal trilogy. Expand
  15. Gilbert
    Nov 17, 2002
    7
    Not a bad movie in and of itself...no worse than "okay"...but not much better either. Neat idea - the fall of the Republic, the rise of the Empire, galaxy tumbling into a World of Sh.t - but poor execution. In fact, such poor execution that I have no idea what's going on. At all. It smacks of extended-toy-advert, with precious little film to hide it, unlike the other three. Not a bad movie in and of itself...no worse than "okay"...but not much better either. Neat idea - the fall of the Republic, the rise of the Empire, galaxy tumbling into a World of Sh.t - but poor execution. In fact, such poor execution that I have no idea what's going on. At all. It smacks of extended-toy-advert, with precious little film to hide it, unlike the other three. Especially the pod race: what the hell is the point in spending ten damn minutes on it? And that sub-Disney commentator arsehole! Why didn't someone beat him to death? And what, ANAKIN made C3PO? When he was a kid? Heck as like he did! Still, good preformances from Leeson (I mean Neeson), and Ewan, Portman and McDiarmid. Great design for the senate. Jar Jar Binks isn't really much more irritating than, say, the Ewoks, or those little jabbering desert twats from the first movie. Look, 7 out of ten is about what it deserves. It's got some great bits, but an equal number of crappy bits, and a hefty majority of average bits. It's one of the most average films ever made, and, since it must sit next to three of the best ever made (well, two of the best and a great one) makes it look sh.tty. Cemented George's (undeserved) reputation as a "hack". Hello? A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back (and Jedi) still exist, you damn ingrates! Expand
  16. SimonD.
    Jun 26, 2003
    7
    To my surprise, I find that this film improves with each re-watching. OK, I wait to fast forward through the pointless journey from the Gungan city to Naboo's capital every time, but otherwise, this film is fun. It's not profound, or sharp, and Jar Jar is every bit as annoying as ever. But if you can accept this as a film for kids, you can perhaps let your inner kind enjoy it. A To my surprise, I find that this film improves with each re-watching. OK, I wait to fast forward through the pointless journey from the Gungan city to Naboo's capital every time, but otherwise, this film is fun. It's not profound, or sharp, and Jar Jar is every bit as annoying as ever. But if you can accept this as a film for kids, you can perhaps let your inner kind enjoy it. A great performance by Liam Neeson, a good performance by a young Ewan MacGregor, and some spectacualr action scenes carry viewers through the slow parts. Also of note is John Williams' score, featuring a good deal of original music that serves to enhance the film. Watch this. Bring a kid. Make some popcorn, It's not the origianl Star Wars, but it's not half bad. Expand
  17. AndrewM
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    I am astounded that so many people were disappointed by this movie...seriously folks, surely you weren't expecting new re-creations of the first three!?! (Episodes 4-6) By that I mean new stories, of course, but given the same filmmaking treatment and methods as with the early films. For a start, they were made two decades ago - and in those 20 years since, technology (not just I am astounded that so many people were disappointed by this movie...seriously folks, surely you weren't expecting new re-creations of the first three!?! (Episodes 4-6) By that I mean new stories, of course, but given the same filmmaking treatment and methods as with the early films. For a start, they were made two decades ago - and in those 20 years since, technology (not just filmmaking) has changed dramatically. That alone should suggest that The Phantom Menace was always going to be somewhat unique amongst the Star Wars chronicles. At least until the sequels came out anyway. Secondly, the plot and most of the characters are totally new. This ain't the same time and place that Ep's 4-6 were set - how could the movie possibly feel the same? Anyway, I'm just a little confounded why so many people (including friends of mine) were expecting the impossible. Now, what did I think of this film? I liked it. I liked it a lot! Actually, I don't think Lucas could have done much more in opening the trilogy, than what he's done here. The script is not the strong point, but it never is in these films. It is however typically and appropriately storybook-style and it more than adequately illustrates the story. The characters are fascinating - though I too found Binks more than a little annoying - and the production sets are undeniably Lucas-worthy. It's a magnificent feat this film, and is truly up to Lucas's usual standards. What I like most about it, as is the case with all the Star Wars films, is that it is incessantly replayable. Plus, you will get more out of it each time. That's value for money! The film plays half an hour shorter than its' length and for me that is always a sign of an enjoyable film. And this is an immensely enjoyable one! Bring on the sequels! Expand
  18. Tonydannie
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    I can't believe How much this movie is hated so. Granted it is not the best of the Star Wars films. And Jar jar is Annoying,But not as annoying as those pesky ewoks. Once you get pass all of that the movie is a great ride. This is suppose to be the first chapter of a biggier story. It sets everything for the other films. Palpatines plans. The Sith Urge for revenge. And The I can't believe How much this movie is hated so. Granted it is not the best of the Star Wars films. And Jar jar is Annoying,But not as annoying as those pesky ewoks. Once you get pass all of that the movie is a great ride. This is suppose to be the first chapter of a biggier story. It sets everything for the other films. Palpatines plans. The Sith Urge for revenge. And The Relationship of Anakin and wife to be Padme. As well as his Relationship with Obi-wan. The Visual Effects are expectacullar. And the Music Soars when it should. Expand
  19. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    It may feel stretched out too long and the story may not be too powerful compared to episodes IV, V, and VI, but it still does have a strong tale to tell.
  20. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    For me this is the perfect family action film. All of George lucas' film making led to this point where lucasfilm could seemlessly integrate the first full screen cg character jar jar. I love jar jar! I love the complex political plot this new trilogy enabled and anyone who takes issue with jar jar need only look at mordern animated film like despicable me to see how forward thinking thatFor me this is the perfect family action film. All of George lucas' film making led to this point where lucasfilm could seemlessly integrate the first full screen cg character jar jar. I love jar jar! I love the complex political plot this new trilogy enabled and anyone who takes issue with jar jar need only look at mordern animated film like despicable me to see how forward thinking that character design was. The perfect example of a perfect cinematic 'ride' encapsulating everything previous star wars worked to show at a digestable pace wrapped in high art. Expand
  21. Aug 13, 2015
    8
    While not as bad as what people say about this movie, Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menance still however suffers from an interesting plot that fails to be engaging enough.

    Rating: 7.5/10 Pros: +Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the best parts of the movie. +The special effects in this movie looks really impressive for a movie released at its time. +The podracing scene took me
    While not as bad as what people say about this movie, Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menance still however suffers from an interesting plot that fails to be engaging enough.

    Rating: 7.5/10

    Pros:
    +Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the best parts of the movie.
    +The special effects in this movie looks really impressive for a movie released at its time.
    +The podracing scene took me on the edge of my seat.
    +The Jedi battle scene makes me feel like I want to be a Jedi Knight!

    Neutral:
    .The plot is very interesting. However, it’s not engaging enough as it feels like it’s more of a set up for the next two movies of the prequel trilogy of Star Wars.

    Cons:
    -The acting of young Anakin Skywalker. Just terrible. It’s really hard to root for Anakin Skywalker because of this.
    -Jar Jar Binks went from an interesting character to the most annoying character real quick. His comic relief humor is just terrible and unnecessary.
    Expand
  22. Oct 2, 2015
    7
    There is a lot of hate for this and in my opinion it doesn't. It hasn't age well but it's still badass watching those fight scene and shows how much they improve since the older episodes. The story doesn't deserve any awards but its enjoyable. I can go on and on but that's all I have to say about this movie.
  23. J0e
    Jan 15, 2016
    8
    I do not get all the hate for this movie it has an ok story it has good characters and some bad ones 2 cool bad guys and 2 bad ones has some bad acting but also good acting. Overall it is a good movie with a lot of flaws and I know it has not aged very well but it still is cool has some awesome characters and awesome fight scenes.
  24. GlennL.
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    Excellent film which starts the prequel series of the Star Wars Trilogy.
  25. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Holds a special place in my list as the first movie I can remember seeing in a theatre with my father. It's a good movie, but the prequel trilogy is no comparison to the original films.
  26. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Alongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previous films. Lucas wanted to go beyond what he did before, when people were expecting the same. People wanted a movie that had some happy characterAlongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previous films. Lucas wanted to go beyond what he did before, when people were expecting the same. People wanted a movie that had some happy character development that reinforced their happy little lives, but they got way more than that, and all it did was piss them all off.

    Episode I has high political commentary including the nature of politics and warfare, nearly unmatched special effects, depth of world and lore that only great sci-fi's have, and much more. Next time you want to not like this movie, really consider if it's based on what your friends say or how you felt while watching the movie.
    Expand
  27. MarkS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    7
    Before seating myself in the theatre to watch this highly anticipated prequel, I had already accepted the fact that it wouldn't have the same effect on me as Star Wars did when I was 5 years old. It's simply impossible -- a notion that many die-hard fans (who would later turn out to be the movie's harshest critics) were reluctant to entertain. The Phantom Menace isn't Before seating myself in the theatre to watch this highly anticipated prequel, I had already accepted the fact that it wouldn't have the same effect on me as Star Wars did when I was 5 years old. It's simply impossible -- a notion that many die-hard fans (who would later turn out to be the movie's harshest critics) were reluctant to entertain. The Phantom Menace isn't perfect. In some places it's shockingly lax, but it's not the complete disaster that many would have you think. There's a lot going for it -- Liam Neeson steals the show as Qui Gon Jin, the cinematography and special effects are occasionally breathtaking, the sound design is faultless and John Williams is clearly enjoying himself where the score's concerned. The film's major set pieces, particularly the pod race and the three-way Jedi duel are everything that good Star Wars should be. Naturally, there are also problems. Jake Lloyd is terribly miscast as Anakin, Jar Jar is a commendable CGI experiment but a dramatic albatross, the Trade Federation droids are too goofy and the screenplay itself is horribly unbalanced, needlessly overcomplex and in desperate need of a dialogue overhaul. Despite these shortcomings, The Phantom Menace still manages to entertain, expand the Star Wars mythology and set up the characters for the next two movies. It's just a shame that George Lucas wasn't willing to place his trust in another director to help realise his vision (Steven Spielberg was up for it -- with his keen eye for structure, a Darabont script polish and Haley Joel Osment on board as Anakin, this would have been the jaw-dropping, heart-breaking 10 out of 10 spectacular that everyone wanted). The Phantom Menace remains merely an enjoyable hi-tech matinee romp, which is good enough by any other standards, but we can't help but wish George Lucas had turned off his targeting computer and used the Force instead. Collapse
  28. RobC
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Due to the bad rap this movie has, i'll sequence this review in sections. I'll state a common complain and answer, explaining why this is a great film. ---The dialouge is too formal/proper!---- This is a different time period. It is before the fall of the Rebublic. A different time has a different dialect. (Do really think people are goning to be say fer-shizzle in 30 years?) Due to the bad rap this movie has, i'll sequence this review in sections. I'll state a common complain and answer, explaining why this is a great film. ---The dialouge is too formal/proper!---- This is a different time period. It is before the fall of the Rebublic. A different time has a different dialect. (Do really think people are goning to be say fer-shizzle in 30 years?) ----The CGI ruins it!---- This topic angers me! If it had rubber puppets and strings on the ships, than the movie would be laughed out of the theaters. Were in the computer age, get used to it. ----The acting was bad!---- IT IS A MOVIE ABOUT ANOTHER GALAXY! IF YOU ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THE ACTING, YOU DONT GET IT!!! ----It was too long!---- And Titanic wasn't? ----Jar Jar is a disgrace!---- Yeah, he should die. Expand
  29. KyleM.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    This is the best star wars ever. a terrifc beginning to the saga. a little predictable but u dont even notice it.
  30. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    I just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star Wars universe until the Bluray edition came out. I can say, this isn't as bad as I remember or as most people say. Its a children's film that a lot ofI just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star Wars universe until the Bluray edition came out. I can say, this isn't as bad as I remember or as most people say. Its a children's film that a lot of adults spent way to much time getting upset about, take it for what it is and you can enjoy it. Expand
  31. May 10, 2011
    10
    The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!

    "The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that summer, as well as the screenplay. Man I love this film, and the more I see it the more I love it. Qui-Gon, Darth Maul and Watto three of my top ten
    The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!


    "The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that summer, as well as the screenplay. Man I love this film, and the more I see it the more I love it. Qui-Gon, Darth Maul and Watto three of my top ten favorite characters. 8 times between May and Dec. of '99, and every time I seen it the crowd cheered, and at the end erupted in applauds. It was cool, very cool. For me I didn't want to see a rehash of ANH, and what I got was a new twist to and old universe. I was pleasantly surprised by the out come, of all three prequels.

    To this day I still LOVE this movie. It's just gets better and better!
    Expand
  32. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The locations and scenery are beautiful and exotic; the extremely well-done overall design of each planet and the specific places we are taken to is proof of that. From the lush and delectable beauty of Naboo to the vast and overwhelming city-planet of Coruscant, the environments are simply wonderful to behold. I simply don't understand why the use of CGI in the film is ridiculed as it is-CGI is something created by humans, just like animatronics-I don't believe CGI is "less human" than animatronics. The CGI enhances the visual quality of the environment and the characters that are CGI; this was what CGI was created to do, after all. The action sequences are amazing to behold, especially in the film's 20-minute climax; the pacing was perfect-the quick cuts between the three major conflicts matched the intense, fast-paced style of the battle-George Lucas' mastery in the visual arts was evident in the film. The symbolism and mythology-a Star Wars hallmark-is still a force to be reckoned with. Darth Maul's image, the duality in characters like Palpatine, and the symbiosis between prevalent organizations are all compelling, as well as the character types. Speaking of characters, I enjoyed Qui-Gon, Obi-Wan, Padmé, and Anakin. I was interested by each of their journeys, and where they began and ended. I cared about them, as well; they weren't "wooden" and "boring," and nor were the performances behind them. The writing was good-not written by a 5-year-old-Lucas kept me interested in the characters and the story. I liked the politics involved in the story, as I am very interested in politics. The pacing for the story was good, as well. The supposed "plot-holes" are easily explained and/or easily ignored, and are more like nit-picks than actual criticism. I realize the problems both certain fans and critics alike have with this film-I understand their criticisms, but, to me, they either hold no water, or aren't significant enough to undermine the film, as I see it. I thought at least some of Jar-Jar Binks' antics were funny; he didn't annoy me, and I'm willing to bet he didn't annoy most of the kids who watched the film. Not only was Jar-Jar a character for kids, but he represents a "wise fool" in the film. Additionally, I hope people realize that this film isn't "universally hated;" look at this site-62% of fans gave this film a 3.5/5, and 57% of critics, just 3 points under "fresh" status, gave the film a positive review. All in all, Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace is an excellent film, and a more than worthy beginning to the saga; if you haven't seen it already, it is at least worth watching once. Expand
  33. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    IMO the best Star Wars film. I thought it was great from start to finish. The acting was good, The story was far more interesting this time around as well.
  34. May 21, 2012
    10
    Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate.
  35. MarkK
    Jan 9, 2009
    7
    A good story told at a slow pace. The stereotypical characters and boring fights don't help it either. Still good fun though.
  36. [Anonymous]
    Jun 29, 2005
    7
    This one wasn't very deep, but at least the visuals blow you away. Jar Jar wasn't intolerable to me, but it's irriitating how Lucas misses so many opportunities to explore and develop Anakin Skywalker. His ambition to be a podracer, to rise above his limits, his decision to take flight and fight hte federation battle ships, all those could've been used to develop him, This one wasn't very deep, but at least the visuals blow you away. Jar Jar wasn't intolerable to me, but it's irriitating how Lucas misses so many opportunities to explore and develop Anakin Skywalker. His ambition to be a podracer, to rise above his limits, his decision to take flight and fight hte federation battle ships, all those could've been used to develop him, but they weren't. If Lucas focused much more on developing anakin, this film could've been something greater, much greater. Overall, not so much a star wars film as a decent sci-fi film, good to look at, but marred by too many lost opportunities. Expand
  37. AlexG.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Not bad, quite enjoyable, and actually quite a humorous and light movie.
  38. kitty
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    This is how I rate the new Star Wars movies; The Phantom Menace- I can live with background, overall entertaining. Attack of the clones- still entertaining, starting to go down a little here. Revenge of the Sith- People, what happened! Wake up and start being creative here! And while you're at it re-write the script!
  39. RickJ.G.
    Oct 1, 2002
    8
    The movie's visual delights more than make up for its shortcomings. Yeah, not the most inspired screenplay and the parting of mother and son is dreadfully downplayed. I liked Neeson as Qui-Gon and I thought the saber battles were wonderfully choregraphed.
  40. PaulM.
    Mar 16, 2003
    8
    A good movie and exciting, but Jar Jar kills the show. Liam Neeson and Ewan MCgregor are good as Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan. But there is no Harrison Ford, a person that gives the movie a more laid back type style movie. It's all too serious (besides Jar Jar but he's just plain gay) for it's own good. The "duel of the fates" fight is the best lightsaber fight in all the movies A good movie and exciting, but Jar Jar kills the show. Liam Neeson and Ewan MCgregor are good as Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan. But there is no Harrison Ford, a person that gives the movie a more laid back type style movie. It's all too serious (besides Jar Jar but he's just plain gay) for it's own good. The "duel of the fates" fight is the best lightsaber fight in all the movies combined, and the podrace was very exciting, but at the end you feel like they left out something, but you don't know exactly what. Like a foot without a big toe.(hahaha) Expand
  41. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    It begins as a great film, Liam Neeson is absolutely amazing!! But then comes in jar jar and Annakin, all at once this film becomes a kid's movie. I may be a hippocrit because I watched it when I was 5 and thought that jar jar was my favourite character from the new trilogy (Obi wan still is #1). The beggining and the end are amazing, but other than the car race, Annakin is waaaay tooIt begins as a great film, Liam Neeson is absolutely amazing!! But then comes in jar jar and Annakin, all at once this film becomes a kid's movie. I may be a hippocrit because I watched it when I was 5 and thought that jar jar was my favourite character from the new trilogy (Obi wan still is #1). The beggining and the end are amazing, but other than the car race, Annakin is waaaay too cutesy and jar jar's failed attemps at being funny make me face-palm. Expand
  42. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    In 99, I didn't much care for Episode 1, but now, after watching it on blu ray in 2011, it's not as bad as I remembered. It's just the first chapter of the saga, and like many character introduction pieces, they can be a little dry. I just think that expectations were very high, and we all had our own version of how this was going to play out in 99. Don't close your mind to it, but justIn 99, I didn't much care for Episode 1, but now, after watching it on blu ray in 2011, it's not as bad as I remembered. It's just the first chapter of the saga, and like many character introduction pieces, they can be a little dry. I just think that expectations were very high, and we all had our own version of how this was going to play out in 99. Don't close your mind to it, but just rewatch and judge it removed from the anticipation. Expand
  43. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    A good start to the Saga. The Podraces are awesome, Darth Maul is awesome, and the lightsaber fights are cool. I see everyone whining, moaning and complaining about this film just because for what it is, there is no reason for any of the hate. F*** the haters. Score: 3/5.
  44. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    A very good and fantastic movie. A very good screenplay good acts and good special effect. It is the best movie from Star Wars sries. I like this movie more than the others.
  45. L.M.
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there although some disappointments hurt the movie as well (Jar Jar isn't the bane of SW but not great either). Many great new characters to see and some My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there although some disappointments hurt the movie as well (Jar Jar isn't the bane of SW but not great either). Many great new characters to see and some old ones with new faces as well. Don't let the critics smearing this movie fool you, Phantom Menace is a great spectacle to behold but it does have a few blaring faults. Expand
  46. Dec 25, 2015
    7
    The only dialogs and characters 'The Craptom Menace' successfully did manage to deliver are the droid's. The rest are awful as they are **** But this **** is what I grew up to love and still does (somewhat).

    In the end of the past millennium came several big blockbusters that eventually changed the movie industry. The CGI-era was introduced with several big blockbusters like 'Jurassic
    The only dialogs and characters 'The Craptom Menace' successfully did manage to deliver are the droid's. The rest are awful as they are **** But this **** is what I grew up to love and still does (somewhat).

    In the end of the past millennium came several big blockbusters that eventually changed the movie industry. The CGI-era was introduced with several big blockbusters like 'Jurassic Park' and 'Independence Day'. But in 1999; 'Star Wars' was back and it arrived with glamorous effects that was way ahead of its time. But was the man named George Lucas still up for the job? Fans of the original films were disappointed and still are, even though it's been more than 15 years since. But it still managed to inspire a new generation of fans, like myself, to this universe that takes place in a galaxy far away.

    Today; I'm still not sure if this is a somewhat good or a bad movie. I grew up with this space-opera and it still got a place in my heart. 'Star Wars: The Phantom Menace’ is still a movie full of stupid and hilarious flaws. The plot isn't simple, thats a big flaw right there. It's not that subtle, it keeps going, and it therefore often is very unpredictable (which is a good thing). But much of the story is vaguely written. Add a stupid amount of plot-holes and tonnes of silliness too; then you got this flick. George Lucas got a great feel for adding stupid and non-important subplots that just do more harm than good. The cool and entertaining podrace is one example. This is 'Star Wars', and I’m watching a race. Not a race to death but as in sport. Sure it’s the story of Anakin Skywalker and we see him in his younger age as a skilled and powerful pilot, but it’s still a race. Is this really a prequel to the 'Star Wars' George Lucas once invented? As mentioned; it’s a very messy and high-paced flick, which is noticeable near the third act. We see events take place on the ground, up in space and so on. The story is so spread out on different characters that no emotion nor empathy to them get’s real. Other disturbing aspects with the plot are the stupid and illogical decisions many characters keeps making over and over. It doesn't make anything better that many of the dialogs are expressed when the characters are sitting down, talking and debating; rather than during intense moments like what we saw in ’The Empire Strikes Back’.

    The center of the film isn’t on one specific character and because of that; the whole movie is more of a ’previously’ than an origin story. ’The Phantom Menace’ should have been so much better if the center of the plot was on one character and one alone, and then develop and focus a great story on that specific individual. Not to add more non-important ones like Jar Jar Binks. Our main characters are on the other hand very well presented, and a very good performance from Liam Neeson! Nathalie Portman however; is very one-dimensional and dry with her dialogs. When it comes to the characters, are there not that much depth nor backstory to them. We don't really know that much about them and they don't impress that much if you must compare to the original films. The plot is as mentioned very high-paced, which I’ve grown up to love with its space-opera and action. But it might be a ”too plot centered” movie. There's no time to get to know our characters nor get to understand them. Our main protagonist Darth Maul is another example. He’s a very cool and badass villain, but how much do we know about him? How much does he say -- he’s just a baddie.

    One aspect of these prequel-films are the incredibly forced moments where characters must show their emotion and what they see and think; through dialogs. Many dialogs are unnecessary, we know stuff, but they say it anyway. Look at the main protagonist and antagonists when they are confronting each other; how much interaction do they have on an emotional level? Do they really interact?

    This was supposed to be the origin story of legendary characters like Darth Vader and Obi-wan Kenobi, but is it? It’s definitely a movie of many flaws, but it still got some positivity. I’ve always loved all the action, space-opera, battles, sound effects, music, cinematography and of course the overall adventures of the main antagonists. The main lead from Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan are somewhat solid but of course not that deep or relatable. The CGI are on the other hand very mind-blowing for a movie that came out over 15 years ago. I’ve always loved this movie, and I still do. Yes, I'm overly entertained by a ****ty movie that shouldn't be okay to like at all. But this was my first entry to the galaxy far away, and it still got a place in my heart. But it still is a pretty awful movie from a critical viewpoint; with horrible dialogs, one-dimensional characters and a very vague story. Add childish humor with fart and poop jokes and too-many-to-mention accidental save the day-moments; welcome to ’The Craptom Menace’.

    Personal rating: 78/100
    Critical rating: 42/100
    Expand
  47. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, I had not seen any Star Wars before. Because of this, I watched every Star Wars the week after and became a great fan until... now. Fans of the firstThis one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, I had not seen any Star Wars before. Because of this, I watched every Star Wars the week after and became a great fan until... now. Fans of the first trilogy were disappointed, but I had nothing to be disppointed about. 10. Expand
  48. Aug 2, 2014
    9
    Some may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe its better than the older ones its just this is a special memory from my childhood and i really do rate this film highly.
  49. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    Let me say a few things: 1. I love this movie just as much as the other five movies. 2. I actually like Jar Jar Binks. 3. I actually find the concept of midichlorians interesting. 4. I didn't think there was too much CGI, but rather, it was just the right amount. 5. I actually took interest in the Senate scene. 6. I didn't think there was a problem with Anakin being called "Ani"Let me say a few things: 1. I love this movie just as much as the other five movies. 2. I actually like Jar Jar Binks. 3. I actually find the concept of midichlorians interesting. 4. I didn't think there was too much CGI, but rather, it was just the right amount. 5. I actually took interest in the Senate scene. 6. I didn't think there was a problem with Anakin being called "Ani" considering he was nine years old in the movie. 7. Acting was just as good as in the original trilogy.

    You haters offended? Good, because you don't deserve any respect.
    Expand
  50. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    This is just as good as the entries in the original trilogy, it has an enjoyable plot and characters, and great actors, and really gives you a feeling of excitement for the rest of the trilogy, a must see for Star Wars fans.
  51. FrozZL.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    This is a memorable movie. I liked to see the franchise in a new way. Deeper and artisticly perfect. Darth Maul is one of my favorite villain.
  52. jakeK.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    What movie did everybody else watch? I dont get how everybody on here didnt like it?? This is the best star wars yet. a lot of people really have no taste in movies.
  53. JaredC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Its the Star Wars fans will kill for, its action is exciting, the story is excellent. Its a movie at top notch.
  54. Nov 12, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is alright, it's not bad, but still it was good.

    Jar jar binks was kinda annoying but he was funny at the same time.

    The action sequences were cool and the characters were good.
    Expand
  55. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    Well written and amazing effects.
  56. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    It may not be as fun or funny as the original trilogy was (instead this new trilogy takes on the more serious tone), the film is still awesome. The action is epic, the visuals are top class and eye popping, the music is awesome (John Williams does great here again). My only criticisms would be that Jar Jar Binks needed to die. HATED HIS CHARACTER. Also Natalie Portman really needed anIt may not be as fun or funny as the original trilogy was (instead this new trilogy takes on the more serious tone), the film is still awesome. The action is epic, the visuals are top class and eye popping, the music is awesome (John Williams does great here again). My only criticisms would be that Jar Jar Binks needed to die. HATED HIS CHARACTER. Also Natalie Portman really needed an acting lesson. Other than those two things, this film is a great installment to the series. Expand
  57. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    The real score for this movie is an 8, but I score with a 10 because here are many people mad about the original trilogy of Star Wars that want to feel as the were 17 again... and that's not possible. I feel sorry for the people that see the original trilogy at the right age and the see the second trilogy been so unfairly critic with it.

    The real problem with this people is that they
    The real score for this movie is an 8, but I score with a 10 because here are many people mad about the original trilogy of Star Wars that want to feel as the were 17 again... and that's not possible. I feel sorry for the people that see the original trilogy at the right age and the see the second trilogy been so unfairly critic with it.

    The real problem with this people is that they want to feel in Disneyland as they was 17, but the reality is that you have no 17 and you will never had. If you return to Disneyland with 40 sorry, you will not feel the same, the attractions doesn't change a lot, you are the one that change, you are harden to surprise, you are not a child, you are not an adolescent.

    The film is below Star Wars and The Empire Strike Back, but is better than the Return of the Jedi for example, and the lightsaber battles are the best of all the two trilogies. The bad guy are good (valid me the contradiction), Jar Jar Binks are annoying is true, but they are kinds in the cinema that love it, I understand George Lucas position.

    I understand the demand of the people of unaltered version of the original trilogy, and I am sure George Lucas or Disney will decide to release soon or late. But that is no a reason to make a documentary exaggeratedly criticize George Lucas and his legacy. Is no so awesome than the original trilogy, but is awesome. I know persons that see the second trilogy with the right age that really love it and think that the special effects of the original trilogy are poor.
    Expand
  58. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    I feel like people are far too harsh on The Phantom Menace. Sure the movie had its flaws (especially Jar Jar Binks and the Gungans) but I feel like the film had many great moments as well and did a great job of setting up the prequels. Qui Gon Jinh and Darth Maul were both great characters who rank among my favourite of all current films. The Medichlorian thing was strange but it doesn'tI feel like people are far too harsh on The Phantom Menace. Sure the movie had its flaws (especially Jar Jar Binks and the Gungans) but I feel like the film had many great moments as well and did a great job of setting up the prequels. Qui Gon Jinh and Darth Maul were both great characters who rank among my favourite of all current films. The Medichlorian thing was strange but it doesn't bother me that much. I also believe that Episode 1 thankfully lacked the painful dialogue (except for Gunguns) that plagued the second and third films. Ultimately a great film Expand
  59. Apr 17, 2015
    8
    The Phantom Menace definitely has it's flaws, Jar Jar Binks, podracing, and the like, but it is still Star Wars. Liam Neeson is the acting stand-out of this movie. It probably is the worst (live-action) Star Wars movie, but even the worst Star Wars movie is great in my book.
  60. May 4, 2014
    8
    Though it lacks the epicness and lovable qualities of the original trilogy, The Phantom Menace still has a story to tell, as it gets through the journey against those setbacks and offers hope for improvement with the episodes that will follow it.
  61. Dec 30, 2015
    10
    I've seen this movie three times this year and, guess what? I like it even more each time. The scale of the universe Lucas showed in the Original Trilogy is expanded in this movie to incomparable scales. And the politics, since I was a teenager I came to love Star Wars because it is more than just a plain good vs bad action story. And this would not had happen without episode I. Easily, atI've seen this movie three times this year and, guess what? I like it even more each time. The scale of the universe Lucas showed in the Original Trilogy is expanded in this movie to incomparable scales. And the politics, since I was a teenager I came to love Star Wars because it is more than just a plain good vs bad action story. And this would not had happen without episode I. Easily, at leas for me, the most important movie of all 7. Expand
  62. PatC.
    Jan 16, 2004
    7
    The main problem with this film is that it leads to the better installments that preceded it. If it had actually been the first release in the series, it would have generated a lot of followers. It's benefits from being judged standing alone rather than in established context.
  63. Sep 8, 2010
    7
    As much as Jar Jar Binks is disliked I actually quite liked him. I know I'll probably be killed by most fans for saying this but I did think he was alright. I felt Liam Neeson had a good performance but McGregor needed some serious work. The Pod Race was way to long and the kid playing Anakin kind of annoyed me. A fairly good movie but no classic.
  64. Apr 7, 2016
    7
    Yes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike the recent "Force Awakens", which was just a rehash of bits of the original trilogy). For me this is a much better film than people give it credit for, andYes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike the recent "Force Awakens", which was just a rehash of bits of the original trilogy). For me this is a much better film than people give it credit for, and was unfortunately very much a victim of its own hype when it was released. Expand
  65. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    The original trilogy of Star Wars will always be classic. Nevertheless, The Phantom Menace does kick-off a compelling prequel trilogy. The visuals are better than ever--and because of our love of the original films we are easily invested in the exploration that will lead into the age of Luke and Leia.
  66. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    As a child this was always my favourite star wars film. And while now I can see that it is riddled with faults, it still has some fantastic scenes, and contains the best lightsaber duel of the entire series. I know Jar Jar Binks was a mistake, but if you put that to one side this is quite a good film.
  67. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    I love The Phantom Menace. It is one my favorite films. This is life changing film of dream, destiny, will, love, and truth. I don't care what die hard fans says, I really admire this motion picture. It may not be perfect, but I think the story is great, the acting is fine, th cg fine, and writing is fine. And what did you expect about the pod racing?
  68. Feb 1, 2016
    7
    Yes, Jar Jar is an annoying character, but he was a failed attempt at comedy relief. He was also made for the kids and if you watch carefully all of the adults in this movie are annoyed by his presence, so for that, Jar Jar still gets a pass for me. Casting Anakin Skywalker so young and with such a poor child actor was another major mistake. Aside from these 2 negatives, there is reallyYes, Jar Jar is an annoying character, but he was a failed attempt at comedy relief. He was also made for the kids and if you watch carefully all of the adults in this movie are annoyed by his presence, so for that, Jar Jar still gets a pass for me. Casting Anakin Skywalker so young and with such a poor child actor was another major mistake. Aside from these 2 negatives, there is really a lot to enjoy about this movie that people forget about.
    * Laim Neeson is great as the maverick Jedi Qui-Gon Jinn.
    * As always, Ewan McGregor is perfect as a young Obi-Wan Kenobi.
    * With this movie we got one of the best villains in Darth Maul and one of the best lightsaber fights.
    * Many great one-liners Star Wars is known for like, "There's always a bigger fish." "He's a local." "The ability to speak does not make you intelligent." "We'll take the long way."
    * The pod race was a fun scene unlike anything we've seen in a Star Wars movie.
    Unfortunately, with this movie, you see George Lucas start to lose his grasp on his movie-making abilities and his understanding of what his fans want as the next couple films get progressively worse.
    Expand
  69. Nov 28, 2015
    7
    I suppose I should start calling this "Confessions of a Star Wars Virgin"... Anyway, I've finally come to the much-maligned prequel series and a movie that gets considerable hate, The Phantom Menace. Maybe because I don't esteem the Star Wars film as the greatest films of all time, or maybe I just have lower standards than most, but I found The Phantom Menace to be the most fun Star WarsI suppose I should start calling this "Confessions of a Star Wars Virgin"... Anyway, I've finally come to the much-maligned prequel series and a movie that gets considerable hate, The Phantom Menace. Maybe because I don't esteem the Star Wars film as the greatest films of all time, or maybe I just have lower standards than most, but I found The Phantom Menace to be the most fun Star Wars movie yet. Yes, there are enormous flaws with Episode I, but like every other film in the series, the good moments don't just excuse the bad; they topple them. The Phantom Menace follows Jedi Knight Qui-God Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi as they escort Queen Amidala on her travels to the planet Coruscant, hoping to find a peaceful end to an interplanetary trade dispute. They also encounter Anakin Skywalker, before he became a Jedi, who appears to have unusually strong powers of the Force. I was definitely surprised by how much I enjoyed the movie based on how much hate it has received. Being the first movie in a trilogy, The Phantom Menace is going to feature a lot of exposition and many seemingly stock characters. I would hope many of the plotlines and character arcs are continued in the next couple of movies because, but I have to at least give it the benefit of the doubt for now. The movie's good moments made me completely forget many of the bad ones that came before it. The pod race in particular was stunning as well as the final fight with Darth Maul; showing the Jedi in their prime made the lightsaber fights more fast-paced and exciting. Even though I enjoyed the movie, I can completely understand the hatred it has accumulated over the years. If I was a big fan of the original series, and I had to wait sixteen years for this, I would be pretty disappointed as well. Maybe being a Star Wars virgin allowed me to enjoy Episode I more than I should have, but, at least for me, The Phantom Menace was the most visually impressive and maybe even the most fun Star Wars movie yet by continuing to showcase the series' creativity and imagination. Expand
  70. Oct 18, 2014
    7
    Set decades before the original "Star Wars" series, in the era of the Republic, The Phantom Menace is a prequel which introduces many of the major characters.
  71. Apr 25, 2015
    9
    -----REDONE REVIEW-----

    Despite some flaws (particularly the overly kiddy Jar Jar Binks and the distracting Neimoidians), The Phantom Menace proves to be a fun romp that I didn’t find boring at all. It definitely does its action scenes best but the moments on Tatooine and Coruscant didn’t bother me one bit. The movie provides convincing and mysterious villains like Darth Maul as well as
    -----REDONE REVIEW-----

    Despite some flaws (particularly the overly kiddy Jar Jar Binks and the distracting Neimoidians), The Phantom Menace proves to be a fun romp that I didn’t find boring at all. It definitely does its action scenes best but the moments on Tatooine and Coruscant didn’t bother me one bit. The movie provides convincing and mysterious villains like Darth Maul as well as great chemistry from heroes Qui-Gon Jinn, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Anakin Skywalker.
    9.1
    Expand
  72. Aug 10, 2015
    7
    I would say this was the best of the prequels. It caught the heart of the original films the most. And Qui Gon was one of the best characters to have come out of the prequel trilogy. A very underrated film that deserves more praise than it has gotten.
  73. Apr 20, 2015
    7
    There are two major issues with this film. Jar Jar and some excessive CGI that doesn't always look the best but other than that the plot is essential ground work to the rise of Palpatine. It may not be the best Star Wars film but it is undeserving of all the criticism. A couple of the actors are less than stellar but it's a passable movie.
  74. May 13, 2015
    7
    It was good, however, it could have been so much more. George Lucas just needed some more help with this movie, and it would have been better. If you haven't seen the original trilogy this movie is just better.
  75. May 22, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So the movie isn't as golden as the original trilogy. So Jar-Jar binks is annoying. This movie is still very enjoyable to watch and it's still a great entry to the saga, in my opinion. I don't care if Anakin is annoying, he's a little kid who will grow up to be evil! Is he supposed to be completely loveable? I think that the backstory on the original films is great and the lightsaber duel at the end (Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon vs. Darth Maul) was one of the best fihgt scenes in the saga. Ultimately, I find this movie to be rather entertaining not only as a piece of backstory to the original films but also as its own movie. The ending is massive-scale, the CGI was great at the time,a dn it's just a pretty fun movie all-around. Expand
  76. Jul 20, 2015
    10
    The story are good this movie is great I don't know why the others don't like it but this movie is good . good job.....................................
  77. Aug 17, 2015
    7
    wasn't as bad as people say it deserves a six or seven not 0 i liked it i think i have seen this movie 1000000000000000 times and each time im like cool and i say f off anakin he was the worst part of star wars but your supposed to hate him
  78. May 17, 2016
    10
    Not a bad movie. Stranded on the desert planet Tatooine after rescuing young Queen Amidala from the impending invasion of Naboo, Jedi apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi and his Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn discover nine-year-old Anakin Skywalker, a young slave unusually strong in the Force. Anakin wins a thrilling Podrace and with it his freedom as he leaves his home to be trained as a Jedi. The heroesNot a bad movie. Stranded on the desert planet Tatooine after rescuing young Queen Amidala from the impending invasion of Naboo, Jedi apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi and his Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn discover nine-year-old Anakin Skywalker, a young slave unusually strong in the Force. Anakin wins a thrilling Podrace and with it his freedom as he leaves his home to be trained as a Jedi. The heroes return to Naboo where Anakin and the Queen face massive invasion forces while the two Jedi contend with a deadly foe named Darth Maul. Only then do they realize the invasion is merely the first step in a sinister scheme by the re-emergent forces of darkness known as the Sith. Expand
  79. Dec 12, 2015
    7
    As a huge Star Wars fan I was dissapointed in this film but it does shine in certainly places like the pod race and darth maul lighsaber duel and John Williams did an amazing job with the music. There are a few terrible things though like Jar Jar Binks and Anakin yelling yippe! Overall it was a ok-good film.
  80. Jan 26, 2016
    7
    I love this movie sooo much, this movie got me into the Star Wars saga and I can't thank it enough, Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan were interesting characters, Darth Maul was just a straight up Bada** (and my new favorite Sith of all time) and the plot made sense, also fight scenes were awesome, though, the negatives are Jake Lloyd's performance as Anakin, the overuse of cgi in some places and...TheI love this movie sooo much, this movie got me into the Star Wars saga and I can't thank it enough, Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan were interesting characters, Darth Maul was just a straight up Bada** (and my new favorite Sith of all time) and the plot made sense, also fight scenes were awesome, though, the negatives are Jake Lloyd's performance as Anakin, the overuse of cgi in some places and...The unholy face of all Star Wars, Jar Jar Binks, just saying the name alone makes you want to give this movie 2 points off, but all in all its not as bad as some say they are Expand
  81. Jan 22, 2016
    10
    This is objectively the only good film ever made. Jar Jar Binks is a terrific character, and I'm excited to see how they will elaborate on this character in The Force Awakens. I'm gonna give this one a 10/10.
  82. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    STAR WARS THE PHANTOM MENACE IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE MY FAVORITE SCENE IS WHEN THEY TALK ABOUT MEDICHLORINES AND ALSO THE THE AWESOME LIGHTSABER FIGHTS THERES EVEN THAT GUY WITH THE PURBLE LIGHTSABER BUT I DONT THINK HES IN THIS ONE THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN ANAKIN AND HIS GF PANDME IS SO SAD BUT REALLY WELL WRITTEN GEORGE LUCAS IS BRILLIANT BUT HE SHOULD OF HAD MORE JAR JARB INKS THEYSTAR WARS THE PHANTOM MENACE IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE MY FAVORITE SCENE IS WHEN THEY TALK ABOUT MEDICHLORINES AND ALSO THE THE AWESOME LIGHTSABER FIGHTS THERES EVEN THAT GUY WITH THE PURBLE LIGHTSABER BUT I DONT THINK HES IN THIS ONE THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN ANAKIN AND HIS GF PANDME IS SO SAD BUT REALLY WELL WRITTEN GEORGE LUCAS IS BRILLIANT BUT HE SHOULD OF HAD MORE JAR JARB INKS THEY WERE REALLY FUNNY I LAUGHED SO HAD WHEN HE WAS SPEAKING IN HIS VOICE OMG I ALMOST FORGOTT ABOU THE POD RACING SCENE THAT WASEVEN BITTER THEN THE CHRISTMAS SPECIAL MY FAVORITE PART OF THE MOVIE WAS WHEN ALL THE GONGANS FIGHT THE ROBOTS IN THE BLUE DOME THING THIS MOVIE IS A CLASSIC AND THE HATERS ARE JUST JEALUS OF GEORGE LUCAS BECAUSE HE'S RICH AND FU NNY AND HE DISCOVERED STAR WARS AND THEY ARE JUST DUMB HATERS THIS MOVIE IS SO GOOD ITS EVEN GOOD THAN IDIANA JONES AND THE KINGDOM OF THE CRYSTAL SKULL i like all caps because it makes my words louder so ill type this in lower case so i can post it Expand
  83. Mar 21, 2016
    8
    Not the best movie out there, but has an interesting story and is a fun watch. The dialogue at times is strange and characters like jar jar feel out of place. The action is great and is fun to watch and for it's time had the best cgi i have ever seen. The movie is severely underrated and has interesting new ideas.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Feb 5, 2012
    0
    It's difficult to discern precisely where this all went wrong, and even more difficult to speculate about possible improvements.
  2. 40
    The Empire strikes out.
  3. It's up to snuff. It sustains the gee-whiz spirit of the series.