User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1366 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    3
    The best of the prequel trilogy undoubtedly but still in the disappointment zone when compared to the original trilogy. It has a good ending though I'll give it that.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    3
    This film was garbage, and carries on with the same mistakes made in the first two films. It has awful direction, awful scripting and dialogs, awful CGI- which itself is done to death, and has the inability to set a tone for the film.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    3
    Oh my god, 3 was sooooooo bad. It was so boring, I could not bring myself to watch all of it. It isn't even bad enough for it's **** to be funny, its just bad and boring.
  4. Jan 4, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was worth a watch, that is the only good thing I'll say about it. Even then, only watch it when it's on T.V. and you have nothing better to do. Masturbation is a better use of your time.

    The most disappointing aspect of the 3 prequels is the lack of artistic integrity. The original 3 were works of imagination, initiative, clever writing, and wonderful story telling with a hint of special effects. The 3 new Star Wars movies are only special effects mixed with bad acting and simple story telling. There were no surprise twists or turns in the story line, it was utterly predictable and uninteresting. Anakin (Hayden Christensen) seemed to be a completely week minded, morally confused, hormonal teen-age girl. Coupled with Haydens terrible acting, it was almost embarrassing to watch. I feel like he got an acting certificate from a community college, or more accurate, Lucas pulled the first semi-decent looking man off the street with no previous acting experience and threw him in as the man who turned into Darth Vader. The Jedi were laughably powerful in some aspects and the actual power of the force was laughably feeble. Light saber duels were overly complicated and literally just a dance with pretty lights. So many questions that this movie doesn't answer and so many questions it raises. Why can Yoda move amazingly dextrous when fighting, yet so crotchety anywhere else? Why, with a council of 10 or so JEDI MASTERS not see this coming when I, a simple watcher of events, knew what was coming, even had I not watched the first films? Why, devoting his ENTIRE life to the Jedi order, did Anakin decide to turn against it with little more than 2 conversations with the emperor? Why was master Windu able to defeat Darth Citius(?) so easily yet Yoda, seemingly the Jedi leader, fall so easily to him? Why would you move to a lava filled, dangerous mining facility with magma splashing around to sword fight? Why is it that NOT ONE person said 'Hey, killing all the Jedi seems wrong.'? Why would the Jedi council put Anakin in charge of watching the emperor if he was obviously close and friendly with him, knowing that he was wildly impressionable? These are just a few of the questions that either needed to not be asked or could have been answered with some basic story telling. The Emperor has been working for YEARS building his power, planning out his take over, conserving his power, yet the plan was laughably feeble and relied far too heavily on events that were, in all realistically, EXTREMELY unlikely to happen. So many holes in the plot and unrealistic events. Bottom line, this movie seemed to be written by 14 year old boys saying "You know what would be cool? um... um... um... if they had a sword fight on lava! Or if um... all the clones were actually really mean instead of the valiant army of level headed clones!" The acting... oh the acting. Natalie Portman, with her disturbing attempt at loving and crying. Hayden was overly dramatic and switched from a dark, twisted lord to a lovey dovey husband and future father, both grossly different emotions for one character. There should have been come carry over but it was a terrible switch in roles. The only decent actor Ewan McGregor. Even Samuel L. Jacksons acting seemed forced. Its as if they did one take for every scene and said "Good enough!" and left it at that.

    All in all, doesn't deserve the title of Star Wars by any means, but its still a watchable moving if all you're expecting is flashy special effects.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    Absolute trash and a disgrace to the fans who made Lucas popular. Poor acting, poor story telling, entirely CGI and some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard in a movie.
  6. Senselocke
    Feb 20, 2008
    3
    Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through the revolving door of morality. No twenty minutes of psychological twisting to break him, nothing just "la-di-da, I'm good! I must uphold Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through the revolving door of morality. No twenty minutes of psychological twisting to break him, nothing just "la-di-da, I'm good! I must uphold goodness!" "la di-da, I'm evil, let's kill some kids". And that's not even an exaggeration. This is the worst Star Wars movie ever made, hands down, and one of the worst movies PERIOD. NO amount of flash can take that away. In addition, Haden has the acting talent of my left testicle. He couldn't pull off a convincing CADAVER. In my mind, there are three star wars movies, only. The last three were pathetic attempts to leach money from fanboys and the unaware, with zero effort or skill put into dialogue, plot, or character development, and Lucas should be ashamed for prostituting his own creations so completely. Expand
  7. EvIlnIcE
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious force without explanation. We enjoyed hating Darth Vaders weezing. Harrison Ford was cool. We all wanted Liea in THAT bikini. We all wanted to own a After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious force without explanation. We enjoyed hating Darth Vaders weezing. Harrison Ford was cool. We all wanted Liea in THAT bikini. We all wanted to own a light sabre. We all thought the cute fluffy things we're cute and fluffy. We watched 3 more films. We didn't care about some fandangled unexplainable force. We all hated General Grievousnesses wheezing. Harrison Ford didn't continue his decade long trend of appearing in bad films. We all wanted Padme to slap Hannakin. We all got a light sabre for christmas. We all thought the clumsy, jokey characters were clumsy and jokey. But that's not why this film is bad. It's the final fight scene of the final Star Wars film. Good vs Evil, we've watched 6 films just to see how one of our favourite film baddies turns from a whimsical, indecisive, unemotional freak into an all powerful, unforgiving yet emotional freak. And what do we get? Handbags at dawn....... "You're evil" "No! You're evil!" "Well you're eviler!" "Well you're evilererer!!!" We then realise that all along we actually know all the story and that we're watching a pointless cash-in. Still our light sabers and all that merchandise was pretty cool huh? Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    By far the worst Star Wars film. The dialogue is simply god awful and the acting is even worst. It's simply hilariously bad and very tough to watch. Simply can not stand it.
  9. Feb 16, 2011
    0
    I feel somewhat in the minority when I say that this is BY FAR the worst of the new trilogy, but it just plain is. Anakin's turn to the darkside is what makes it the worst. His turn was handled with all the delicacy of a monster truck rally. I will split this review up into parts. 1) Anakin turns to the darkside in about the time it takes you to scratch your ass. Nevermind all ofI feel somewhat in the minority when I say that this is BY FAR the worst of the new trilogy, but it just plain is. Anakin's turn to the darkside is what makes it the worst. His turn was handled with all the delicacy of a monster truck rally. I will split this review up into parts. 1) Anakin turns to the darkside in about the time it takes you to scratch your ass. Nevermind all of the horrible oddly specific speeches given to him by Palpatine throughout the movie. The scene where Anakin stumbles upon Sideous and Mace dueling and decides to side with Sideous is so awfully done. Basically Anakin is forced to rashly decide where his allegiance lies, with the people who have trained him and raised him since the age of 9, or with some creepy looking old dude who basically does the equivalent of luring a little kid into their van with the false promise of giving them candy. There is really no drama, intense thought or reasoning, or even any visible struggle in Anakin's decision. Then after its all over its like "well I guess I'll just do whatever you ask now". Really? Thats how he turns? He acts like a little **** the whole movie because his elder's don't think he is mature enough. More like teen angst than "turning to the darkside". 2) The dialogue is SO poor and pathetic that even Republicans were like "well we probably shouldn't exploit that one". I'm pretty sure a 7 year old with down syndrome could write better dialogue. Each line delivered with the stiffness of morning wood. I can only imagine the actors doing a table read of the script "Uh George.... should we REALLY say that? Like really?" 3) The characters are so flat and boring. Grevious? C'mon just call him generic bad guy with sinister voice. All of the Jedi Knights are clearly retarded for not seeing anything wrong with Anakin or Palpatine. Are they not supposed to be the most mindful creatures in the galaxy? Can they not move **** with their minds? Apparently they can't see anything thats happening right in front of them. Padme is pretty much rendered to random sobbing and crying. 4) The end where Vader screams NOOOOOOOO... self explanatory. Theres a whole bunch more, but this is clearly the worst of the new three. At least Phantom Menace had Liam Neeson, and Clones had a cool battle/war sequence. But pretty much every aspect of this movie is garbage I can't imagine anyone, from the director, to the actors, all the way down to the guy who sets up the sandwich spreads in between takes, had their heart in it at all. Expand
  10. FatulousD.
    May 10, 2005
    3
    This film sucks more than a $10 showgirl with no teeth. Obi Wan has a ridiculous beard, the actors always show slight bluescreen bewilderment, and massive space battles are about as impressive now as a playstation intro. This is less of a film than a two hour infomercial for Star Wars merchandise. Watch it on video if you really have to, and leave the cinema to the spotty goth sci-fi This film sucks more than a $10 showgirl with no teeth. Obi Wan has a ridiculous beard, the actors always show slight bluescreen bewilderment, and massive space battles are about as impressive now as a playstation intro. This is less of a film than a two hour infomercial for Star Wars merchandise. Watch it on video if you really have to, and leave the cinema to the spotty goth sci-fi obsessives who refuse to grow up. Expand
  11. JonathanC
    Jan 7, 2009
    0
    If I could spit in this text box instead of writing anything, I would.
  12. Skull
    Aug 23, 2005
    0
    I've given up even caring anymore. I've wasted too much of my time trying explain to the legions of brainwashed fans, new and old, how damaging these last three movies have been to the Star Wars mythos. I will not shed a tear when George is dead and gone.
  13. MarkM.
    May 20, 2005
    0
    When I was 7, I went to see the first Star Wars with my parents. From the moment the Imperial Cruiser came on the screen to the time when the Death Star blew up, I was engrossed in an adventure like none I'd ever seen. I cared for and liked the characters ... the story was interesting ... and everyone in the theater felt like they were passengers on a ride through the galaxy. These When I was 7, I went to see the first Star Wars with my parents. From the moment the Imperial Cruiser came on the screen to the time when the Death Star blew up, I was engrossed in an adventure like none I'd ever seen. I cared for and liked the characters ... the story was interesting ... and everyone in the theater felt like they were passengers on a ride through the galaxy. These feelings continued until the end of "Return of the Jedi," and even though the acting wasn't Oscar-quality, the actors seemed to have a chemistry together and you could relate to their characters. But now ... well, Lucas has thrown all that away to show off his love for special effects. He somehow, somewhere, lost the knowledge that it was the story, not the effects, that drew in people to the series. It was characters we cared about that made us want to see how it all ended. He has now given us a steaming pile of crap that is focused more on the look, rather than the feel, of the film. He seems more interested in merchandising opportunities than telling a great story. I ssooooooo wanted to like this movie, but felt insulted, saddened and, strangely, abandoned Expand
  14. AetonC.
    May 15, 2005
    2
    Massively disappointing. What else can I say but don't believe the hype, and walk in expected one of the best movies ever, or even one of the best Star Wars movies ever. It's just another prequel, with some flashy action sequences, but the same lack of magic and paper thin characters and crappy dialogue as the last two. Maybe this one is even worse, because this is the one that Massively disappointing. What else can I say but don't believe the hype, and walk in expected one of the best movies ever, or even one of the best Star Wars movies ever. It's just another prequel, with some flashy action sequences, but the same lack of magic and paper thin characters and crappy dialogue as the last two. Maybe this one is even worse, because this is the one that was supposed to span the gap and make the first two mediocre films suddenly worthwhile, it doesn't. In either case. Probably the emptiest film I've seen this year, and certainly the most disappointing one. And again, on the hype, don't swallow it. All that early "it's so cool, this is the best Star Wars film yet!" commentary ultimately rings just as false as the self same pre-release hype and positive early word did the last two times around. Expand
  15. HenryW
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    How did George Lucas think he could get away with this, and - more importantly - how did he get away with this?
  16. AdrianK.
    May 17, 2005
    3
    Just got back from seeing this, and, wow, don't know where all this early good word is coming from frankly because this is every bit as mediocre as the last two, and the new and unimproved SE's for that matter. It has it's moments, but they are too few and far between, and it just has no heart to it underneath all the flash. If you like the last two you'll like this as Just got back from seeing this, and, wow, don't know where all this early good word is coming from frankly because this is every bit as mediocre as the last two, and the new and unimproved SE's for that matter. It has it's moments, but they are too few and far between, and it just has no heart to it underneath all the flash. If you like the last two you'll like this as well, but me I was quite disappointed overall. Expand
  17. StandaMan
    May 18, 2005
    0
    Just got back from this, and while I'm sure the videogame A.D.D. generation will love it for all the shiny fx work and visual bells and whistles, to me this was about as emotionally involving as watching a two hour plus video game cut scene. So much effort has been made on the (very cgi looking) visual flash that it seems like they spared no time or effort at all to focus on the Just got back from this, and while I'm sure the videogame A.D.D. generation will love it for all the shiny fx work and visual bells and whistles, to me this was about as emotionally involving as watching a two hour plus video game cut scene. So much effort has been made on the (very cgi looking) visual flash that it seems like they spared no time or effort at all to focus on the story side of the film. I'm sure it'll make a great demo disc for a home theatre when it hits dvd, but as an actual film, sadly, it's a dud. Was for me anyhow. Expand
  18. ShareeseC.
    May 18, 2005
    0
    Dud dud dud dud DUD!
  19. Janos
    May 19, 2005
    3
    Star Wars Revenge Of The Sith mediocrity be thy name.
  20. Nate
    May 19, 2005
    2
    Hilariously ham fisted final installment. it'd be almost funny if it wasn't so monumentally disappointing. what a waste.
  21. B.J.
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Public Enemy once said 'Don't Believe The Hype', I just wish I had listened. You got me again George. And while old Georgie boy doesn't seem all that much of a film maker these days, you've got to give him one thing, he's a hell of a marketeer. It's just a shame about the film.
  22. HarryC.
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Not just a poor film, a poor Star Wars film.
  23. RealBored
    May 19, 2005
    0
    Like many, I remember being astonished by the complexity and grandeur of Star Wars. After seeing this film, though, all I can wonder is how much good George Lucas could have done for humanity if he would have invested the material resources he put into these three stinkbombs in schools, medical research and poverty relief. It's said you can never go back home. Please stop trying, Mr. Lucas.
  24. ChickenGeorge
    May 19, 2005
    0
    What a turkey, gobble gobble...
  25. Jay2far
    May 19, 2005
    2
    This movie goes from embarrassed for actors, to embarrassed for Lucas, then embarrassed for self. I feel like I just had my house robbed. I swear I felt dirty when it was over. First thing I did when I came home was clean the kitchen. I grew up with this stuff and now I'm left with, "I guess I'll give it a 2 for rendering"! ... Cough, ugh... I think I'm gonna be grievous... This movie goes from embarrassed for actors, to embarrassed for Lucas, then embarrassed for self. I feel like I just had my house robbed. I swear I felt dirty when it was over. First thing I did when I came home was clean the kitchen. I grew up with this stuff and now I'm left with, "I guess I'll give it a 2 for rendering"! ... Cough, ugh... I think I'm gonna be grievous... blaaaaah. Expand
  26. Clark
    May 19, 2005
    3
    The epitome of average, empty headed almost-entertainment.
  27. kaiU.
    May 19, 2005
    3
    Just got back...*sigh*...that's really my only response. Totally JAP (Just Another Prequel).
  28. Larry
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Another empty-headed fx ride. Has moments of (visual) excellence, but little else really. And any of those defensives who keep trying to defend the prequels lack of quality in terms of story, acting and character, by attacking the originals clearly miss the point. The originals *did* have quality acting, they had character, and class, and a true sense of fun and adventure, we *cared* Another empty-headed fx ride. Has moments of (visual) excellence, but little else really. And any of those defensives who keep trying to defend the prequels lack of quality in terms of story, acting and character, by attacking the originals clearly miss the point. The originals *did* have quality acting, they had character, and class, and a true sense of fun and adventure, we *cared* about these characters, and were enraptured by their thrilling (not fake or forced) adventures. If we didn't not only would they never had been the successes that they were, but they never would have endured. These new ones won't endure, once the FX buzz wears off there's just nothing underneath in these recent efforts. The originals may not be flawless (yes there's dodgy dialogue here and there, but the actors make it work, and make us believe and go with it), but they work, they're fun, the characters work and connect with audiences, the adventure is thrilling, and everything comes together. They are classics, and deservedly so. The new ones are just empty fx fests, with lots of technical expertise, but no heart, they don't connect or truly thrill at all. The characters don't connect or mean anything, the plots drag, the fun and true sense of adventure is missing. It's hollow, it's Star Wars lite. Lucas spends so much time on the technical that the real important stuff, the character, the plot, the *fun*, is sorely lacking. I'd love to love the new films, but they have no heart, they just don't sweep me up, they're flat. Shiny, but flat. And this latest installment, which once again I really hoped against hope would break the cycle, or at least deliver one final fun ride, fell flat yet again. Back to the original trilogy to me. Expand
  29. RobertK.
    May 19, 2005
    2
    Ended, these prequels, have. And Thank God! Yet another missed opportunity and massive disappointment from Mr Lucas. Die hards will love it (of course), every one else...
  30. AngryDayton
    May 19, 2005
    0
    Makes the last two films better my a$$, doesn't even manage to make this one better. So bad I feel ripped off and like I've been lied to. In fact so bad, it actually made me angry, and I never have that kind of response to even the most disappointing of films usually.
  31. Adamd.
    May 19, 2005
    0
    Way 2 over hyped, the acting was some of the worst and most bland i have ever seen.
  32. Jamie
    May 19, 2005
    2
    What a let down.
  33. Robert
    May 21, 2005
    3
    One of the funniest films of the year. Too bad it wasn't supposed to be a comedy.
  34. JamieM.
    May 20, 2005
    3
    Honestly, if the movie wasn't a Star Wars movie there would be NO rating higher than a 5 here. It was terrible.
  35. SandyM/
    May 21, 2005
    2
    A truly boring piece of crap. Two amateurish and wooden male leads, talk, talk, talk, lousy editing, an inability to build tension. Best thing: when a monster space ship crash lands in the beginning of the film. That's about 30 seconds, so they owe $10.25!
  36. J.W
    Feb 6, 2007
    0
    I think I'd rather watch cut scenes from a video game. This was atrocious, the plot and especially acting. How bad is Anakin's final 'nooooo!' when he transforms into vader? I just pretend the whole I, II and III triology never happened.
  37. Dax
    Nov 17, 2005
    2
    It will take some mental exercises to erase this from my memory, but I think I might be able to like IV, V and VI again someday...as long as I can disassociate them from the prequels. Good...god.
  38. joeb
    Nov 9, 2005
    2
    I thought both of the lead actors were wimps. The acting over all is poor. The actors do not make you care about them or what they are doing. I was very dissappointed with this movie.
  39. F.Fletch(UK)
    May 22, 2005
    3
    [Ed: Review posted and score estimated without the author's explicit permission. I doubt he would care, though. I just dug his magic trick metaphor.- md] Episode III was even worse than expected. First time I've ever seriously thought of walking out of a movie. The only thing that kept me there was the feeling that I ought to see how it ended. And to be fair, the last half-hour [Ed: Review posted and score estimated without the author's explicit permission. I doubt he would care, though. I just dug his magic trick metaphor.- md] Episode III was even worse than expected. First time I've ever seriously thought of walking out of a movie. The only thing that kept me there was the feeling that I ought to see how it ended. And to be fair, the last half-hour was entertaining, but only because it was bluntly (spoiler-style) explaining the mythology and background that was so well hinted at in the original trilogy, and made those first films seem all the more impressive as a result. (Starting a new, expensive film franchise on Episode IV is actually pretty inspired and brave when you think about it, eh?) An analogy. The original trilogy was the magic trick and the prequels just explain how it was done: They're not as good, they devalue the trick itself, and the best they can do is give you a cheap thrill by referencing the original and crudely filling in the gaps that made it 'magical' in the first place. But at least I didn't have to pay for my ticket :) Expand
  40. KeithM.
    Jul 9, 2006
    2
    Nearly unwatchable, completely unmoving. If not for the camp villainy of Ian McDiarmid and the game attempts of Ewan McGregor, what would distinguish this movie from Battlefield Earth? The dangerous, witty and noble reality of the first two movies in the series has collapsed into a bloated mess of unconvincing technology and inane scripting. The original vision proved that adolescent Nearly unwatchable, completely unmoving. If not for the camp villainy of Ian McDiarmid and the game attempts of Ewan McGregor, what would distinguish this movie from Battlefield Earth? The dangerous, witty and noble reality of the first two movies in the series has collapsed into a bloated mess of unconvincing technology and inane scripting. The original vision proved that adolescent auteurs had both hearts and minds. After nearly 30 years, those same moviemakers seem to have been running in place, losing much of both. Hayden Christensen's inexplicable casting, ticking like a time bomb through the last three movies, finally detonated any last hope of salvaging a satisfying close to the series. Mr. Lucas, please focus on special effects, the environment, world peace, or anything else that keeps you from the director's chair. Expand
  41. BobB.
    Sep 27, 2006
    2
    The first 2 Episodes in the saga will never be better than the original trilogy, but they still remain watchable, with smooth plotlines and decent acting. However, Episode 3 sinks the Star Wars saga into a new low. As JB said, it makes a complete mockery of the characters that were depicted in the trilogy as serious and had many similarities with real life people throughout history. The first 2 Episodes in the saga will never be better than the original trilogy, but they still remain watchable, with smooth plotlines and decent acting. However, Episode 3 sinks the Star Wars saga into a new low. As JB said, it makes a complete mockery of the characters that were depicted in the trilogy as serious and had many similarities with real life people throughout history. George Lucas tried to squeeze way too much into this movie, and he also tried to succumb to the likes of little 8 year olds who hardly understand what's going on. He sacrifices the inspiration, the wonder, the heroism, and the drama which were a main element in the trilogy movies all for the sake of special effects and not wanting to confuse 8 year olds. Along with forgetting how to direct actors, Lucas has also forgotten a lot of military strategy elements which were a part of the trilogy. Instead of making the opening scene a race to stop Grievous and his fleet from retreating, he turned the scene into a "2 Jedi storm the flagship, outnumbered 5000 to 1 and still beat them" kind of battle. The movie basically goes from the opening space battle, with good visuals, but crappy military realism and bad acting, to a few other battles which were all interrupted to create even more intricate plotlines, and during all these battles, all we see of Coruscant and daily life in the Republic is the view from Padme Expand
  42. evilD
    Nov 14, 2005
    2
    This movie is what it is. Like the previous 2 prequels, the characters are paper thin, as are the plotlines. The lack of continuity between the prequels and the original three movies is striking, to say the least. I am always amazed at the HUGE technology gap between the two sets of trilogies. Just look at R2-D2. Where was all that stuff later? He can fly? What the @!#$%?! But the biggest This movie is what it is. Like the previous 2 prequels, the characters are paper thin, as are the plotlines. The lack of continuity between the prequels and the original three movies is striking, to say the least. I am always amazed at the HUGE technology gap between the two sets of trilogies. Just look at R2-D2. Where was all that stuff later? He can fly? What the @!#$%?! But the biggest continuity problem is that Anakin is such a freakin' little girl! I have a hard time believing that this whiny little girl turns into Darth Vader. C'mon! Vader is decisive, intelligent, calculating, and very, very strong. Anakin is operating on the level of a junior-high school girl. "I'm SO in love! I CAN'T lose her!" And yet he still FAILS to do ANYTHING to help her. I'm sorry, Kris B, I loved the original trilogy as much as ANYONE, but this flick DOES NOT wrap everything up in a neat little package, in fact it colors the characters we've loved for decades in a very bad light. Granted, the acting, dialogue, and writing in general were NEVER more than just adequate in ANY of the 6, but only goes to show that Lucas is a CRAPPY DIRECTOR, and an even worse writer. Like I started, with, this movie is what it is, but it could have, it SHOULD have been much, much more. Expand
  43. georgea.
    Nov 21, 2005
    1
    I am bein generous giving it a 1, it realli is a waste of ur time watchin this film, it did not live up to my expectations. Another thing that annoys me about this film and the other two is the digital enchancements on Yoda, there was no need for this the old yoda looked far more impressive. This film is based so much on digital effects and how to get every part of the story across in a I am bein generous giving it a 1, it realli is a waste of ur time watchin this film, it did not live up to my expectations. Another thing that annoys me about this film and the other two is the digital enchancements on Yoda, there was no need for this the old yoda looked far more impressive. This film is based so much on digital effects and how to get every part of the story across in a impressive way it seems they (director, producers etc) have lost sight of what makes a good movie. v. dissapointing however if u've seen the other two at least give this one a chance. Expand
  44. w00kee
    Nov 4, 2005
    2
    George Lucas can't direct or write to save his life. All of these most recent films are gobbling turkeys and this one is no exception. The acting is stiff, Obi Wan is a complete bore and kind of a goofball, Yoda has been turned into a Mexican jumping bean, the mystical aspects once so enchanting are now totally absent, every frame has to have something amazing that you've never George Lucas can't direct or write to save his life. All of these most recent films are gobbling turkeys and this one is no exception. The acting is stiff, Obi Wan is a complete bore and kind of a goofball, Yoda has been turned into a Mexican jumping bean, the mystical aspects once so enchanting are now totally absent, every frame has to have something amazing that you've never seen before, robot dialogue just doesn't work, there's a plethora of toys everywhere, the dialogue is so bad it reaches new levels of sheer banality, the love story doesn't feel at all real, how the Jedi order remains unaware of Anakin Expand
  45. MarkW
    Dec 7, 2005
    2
    Not only the worse Star Wars Episode but one the worse films I've seen. Extremely bland and elementary dialog. It just seemed to be short acts of basic information separated by computer graphics of locations. I'm sure the die hard S.W. Fans are happy but as a movie this just didn't hold up.
  46. T
    Aug 31, 2005
    0
    I've seen piles of rotting veggies that were more entertaining.
  47. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    While it has seen some improvement, Episode 3 isnt all that better then the previous film. The acting still sucks, The story is a little better this time around but not by much, and it ended rather anti-climactic.
  48. Feb 26, 2013
    2
    This film exhibits poor writing, acting, storytelling, just name any feature and it will most likely be a disappointment. Anakin's fall to the dark side was a story with a huge amount of potential and it has been thoroughly wasted. In that way, it is the worst of the three films and is not considered so only because it is as close as we get to the original trilogy in terms of story.
  49. May 22, 2013
    1
    What's missing about new Star Wars movie is there are no X-Y-A-B wings, Snowspeeder, TIE fighter, Star Destroyer, space battle. I wanted to see many space battle scenes. New Star Wars starfighters were very unattractive. I hate Battle droids, horrible, I wouldn't even like Stormtroopers, they are old.
    I didn't like the idea Yoda fighting by lightsaber, it was odd. I wasn't interesting in
    What's missing about new Star Wars movie is there are no X-Y-A-B wings, Snowspeeder, TIE fighter, Star Destroyer, space battle. I wanted to see many space battle scenes. New Star Wars starfighters were very unattractive. I hate Battle droids, horrible, I wouldn't even like Stormtroopers, they are old.
    I didn't like the idea Yoda fighting by lightsaber, it was odd. I wasn't interesting in lightsaber battles, they are old and looks like kids playing each other with sword. I wanted to see more tough characters, fight by sword, knife, do hand to hand combat. do dangerous stunts,
    Expand
  50. OptimusMime
    May 19, 2005
    2
    What film are all these lovers seeing, or are they just so Star Wars obsessed that they can't, or won't, see the painful and obvious faults in this (and previous) prequels. It's a bad film, there's no other word for it, it's just a bad film. Wish it wasn't, but it is, and unlike some fans I won't pretend otherwise or blind myself to that fact.
  51. CriticalJim
    May 19, 2005
    1
    All flash, no feeling.
  52. JustinK.
    May 19, 2005
    2
    What a piece of *&^@! I love Star Wars. I saw Star Wars at the Chinese theater in '77 with my dad on a Saturday afternoon and it was a life altering experience. This, on the other hand, is junk. Utter garbage. The story is thin, the dialog awful, the directing pitiful. Lucas needs to learn that he should neither write nor direct. Period. Empire was brilliant for the simple reason What a piece of *&^@! I love Star Wars. I saw Star Wars at the Chinese theater in '77 with my dad on a Saturday afternoon and it was a life altering experience. This, on the other hand, is junk. Utter garbage. The story is thin, the dialog awful, the directing pitiful. Lucas needs to learn that he should neither write nor direct. Period. Empire was brilliant for the simple reason that he did neither. I wanted this movie to be better than it was, honest. Unfortunately, it wasn't. Don't buy into the hype. There is ZERO depth. All flash, no substance. Expand
  53. NigelV.
    May 20, 2005
    2
    An over reliance on digital effects, poor acting and unconvincing plot leave meant this left me cold. The best thing i can say is that it's all over now - no more disappointments to endure, thanks George!
  54. JasonB.
    May 20, 2005
    3
    Mostly boring, it just drags on for about the first 75 minutes before it got interesting enough for me to wake up from my near sleep. Way too far to stretch to make much of this believable - maybe I'm above the intelligence level that this episode was aimed at. The conversion of Anikin to the Dark side was far too abrupt and lost all of its
  55. DawnW.
    May 20, 2005
    0
    [***SPOILERS***] What could have been great, will now go down in the annals of movie history as a flaming ball of half-assed crap, mainly because Lucas can not seem to write worth shit anymore, if he ever could. I swear a fifteen year-old fanficcer could write a better plot, better dialogue and more engaging action (and probably has) than anything I saw in the three playset-ready prequels [***SPOILERS***] What could have been great, will now go down in the annals of movie history as a flaming ball of half-assed crap, mainly because Lucas can not seem to write worth shit anymore, if he ever could. I swear a fifteen year-old fanficcer could write a better plot, better dialogue and more engaging action (and probably has) than anything I saw in the three playset-ready prequels Lucas shat out on the public at large. What exactly was the 'Revenge' in Revenge of the Sith? I'm not seeing it. Where is the promised revenge? Who exactly was the vengeful Sith? Anakin just came off as power-hungry(and a bit crazy), not vengeful. Palpatine was the same. So what was the revenge thing all about? And when did Padme turn into an idiot? She's supposed to be a powerful, savvy politician not a lovelorn wallflower. Anyone who has the guts to where that mini-dress she was wearing at the end while that pregnant, has got to have a little more spark to her! I just can't see her sitting back and watching all of this transpiring and accepting it. (Cry, another strong heroine destroyed.) And why did the Jedi Council completely blow off that the rediculously powerful Anakin was obviously emotionally agitated, something that no competent Jedi should be? (Not to mention boning his cookie on the side.) If I had been Yoda, I would have demoted him to paduan and spanked him with a lightsaber way before he got all snippy and glowery. And WTF with the dialogue? I mean Lucas has never been a great writer, but little to none of the lines had any of the creativity or fun or flair of the original trilogy. I guess I just wish some of these actors (who I know can do better) would have tried to deliver their spoon-fed plot blocks of spew with a little more personality. It's really bad when all the droids and aliens combined have more personality than the human actors! And dude what was with all the Spielbergian close ups? I felt like I was watching one of Stevo's 'eyes staring' vehicles. I really wonder if Lucas totally cracked in the making of this one and had to have Spielberg finish it for him. Honestly there was so much plot information in the very plain, servicable dialogue, that it made everything seem very rushed. I think Lucas could have made movies 1 and 2 about the rise of the rebellion, and Anakin's rise to power in the Republic and his need to maintain that power, not about Anakin's childhood. I read somewhere that a whole subplot about Padme helping start the rebellion behind Anakin's back was completely discarded. Now there I can see the betrayal, there I can see a need for revenge! Why did it have to turn into "Oh no she might die like my mommy, must learn special Dark Side power lost for thousands of years in a week". As far as I can tell, Anakin was already well on his way to the dark side before he learned that Padme was going to die, he just needed a little push from the Emperor to go against the Jedi Council, who were apparently living with their heads in their rectums that he was not a happy little force-wielder. Honestly, I didn't think that Hayden Christanson actually started acting as a character and not himself until the last third of the movie. But then I didn't really care about his fall from grace because I had never liked him much in the first place, except as a piece of eye-candy. This is probably what pisses me off the most. If I had been able to actually care about Anakin, I would have found this movie very moving, his transformation fascinating, but instead I didn't and when they finally put the helmet on him I just felt kind of empty and cheated and wishing Han Solo would come along and make it all better. That said the action sequences were fantastic, as expected, loved the fight against Dooku, loved the old-time horror/sci-fi homages (Frankenstein anyone?), loved the alternating lightsaber duels between Yoda and Palpatine and Obi-wan and Anakin, all the ship to ship stuff, and of course Obi-wan and his big balls taking on the universe. This movie could have been completely about Obi-wan and I would have been happy, but then again I am an Obi-wan shipper (though that lizard he was riding was obviously designed to be a toy, grrr). Anakin killing the Jedi-trainee children was a nice touch (younglings? wtf? just call them children!). Did you see some of those planets as they were killing off the Jedi on, couldn't they have gone more indepth into some of those characters? Jeez and I would have liked to see Boba Fett at some freaking point! And I definitely could have gone for more Wookie action. Vent vent vent vent... Sigh. I know writing isn't easy, but crimeny, I kept wanting to rewrite the dialogue as they were saying it thinking I (not the greatest writer in the world) could do better! Or maybe that was it, the movie seemed more like they were people reading lines off of big cards, not like they were characters who would actually say the things they said. Oh well, with any luck Serenity will be really good, and there will be a slew of well-written spin-offs from the relatively reliable Joss Whedon who actually seems to listen to his fans(although almost anything would seem fantastic set next to the crap that Lucas has put out again). Collapse
  56. MichaelL
    Jun 2, 2005
    1
    What Craig A said, but I'll give it a 1 out of pity. What a shocker, all I can say is... NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
  57. RicardoR.
    Jul 13, 2005
    0
    Where is Mel Brooks when we need him? O Plain Yogurt, save us from the revenge of this thing! It looks like Fred Sanford's cyber junk yard was set in outer space and a B movie broke out. But that's not really fair to B movies because most of them are bad in a campy sort of way. This pretext for a Burger King marketing campaign is a disaster. Do your self a favor and find a movie Where is Mel Brooks when we need him? O Plain Yogurt, save us from the revenge of this thing! It looks like Fred Sanford's cyber junk yard was set in outer space and a B movie broke out. But that's not really fair to B movies because most of them are bad in a campy sort of way. This pretext for a Burger King marketing campaign is a disaster. Do your self a favor and find a movie with laughter, drama, action, or mystery. You'll need some kind of force to thith through this dud. Expand
  58. CharlieW.
    Feb 21, 2006
    0
    Just a long string of saber fight after saber fight. Generally, I like it when movies actually have a STORY!!!! Shame on you Lucas...
  59. JamesW.
    Apr 2, 2006
    0
    I was totally let down by this movie. I've waited too long for this trash movie to be this bad. I had high expectations for this film and that's my fault. They were too high apparently, since after viewing star wars 3, I'm disgusted. First, I feel that I must add that I like the star wars story, as a whole. I got myself ready for this movie. I read all the comics & saw the I was totally let down by this movie. I've waited too long for this trash movie to be this bad. I had high expectations for this film and that's my fault. They were too high apparently, since after viewing star wars 3, I'm disgusted. First, I feel that I must add that I like the star wars story, as a whole. I got myself ready for this movie. I read all the comics & saw the clone wars cartoons. So, I was ready. The movie starts off great. Nice sound, nice visuals, lots of action. I'm feeling, "things are good". For the most part, things stay good, only if you don't notice the details. In my opinion, it's the attention to details that make star wars such a great story. Lucas is not consistent with the "big" details. I really can't explain without ruining the movie. I'm upset that other writers, people that worked on the comics & cartoons, put in a lot of work to make great stories for the build up to this movie, only for the movie to mess things up! A lot of the acting is laughable, the Grievous battle was a joke, Anakin is evil at the blink of an eye, and the "higher ground" law didn't apply in episode one. I think this movie is Hollywood trash and not good enough to give it anything near a ten. I wanted more and I'm pissed that I didn't get it. This is a mainstream movie, so the regular people will love it. But, for those of us who remember the original movies, read the comics & novels, and saw the clone wars cartoon, this movie is the third worst star wars movie. Expand
  60. LetheW.
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    If anyone thinks they should listen to a word Lucas says, I dare any fan to watch the episodes in order I through VI (as Lucas says he intended all along). The plot holes will be large enough to drive an entire deathstar through.
  61. Dee
    May 19, 2005
    3
    Well, it's watchable. I guess.
  62. KB
    May 20, 2005
    2
    Astonishingly bad. For all the attention lavished on CG backgrounds, Lucas once again neglected to show the audience a decent story. The acting was stiff, but that again goes back to Lucas' penchant for using only one take and not "wasting time" on rehearsal. The dialogue was excrutiatingly bad. "Obi Wan thinks you're under a lot of stress." ??? That kind of stuff wouldn't Astonishingly bad. For all the attention lavished on CG backgrounds, Lucas once again neglected to show the audience a decent story. The acting was stiff, but that again goes back to Lucas' penchant for using only one take and not "wasting time" on rehearsal. The dialogue was excrutiatingly bad. "Obi Wan thinks you're under a lot of stress." ??? That kind of stuff wouldn't fly in a Jimmy Neutron cartoon. Were the motivations adequate to turn Anakin into Vader? Arguably, but Lucas again goes for the grand (and not properly motivated) leap instead of building to the change with effective dramatization. The scenes with Palpatine seducing Anakin to the Dark Side were what redeemed this movie. But then the movie had him moving to close the deal much too quickly, much too obviously. There's nothing wrong here that couldn't have been fixed by a competent screenwriter crafting better scenes to communicate the emotional content, and writing dialogue that couldn't be delivered convincingly by even Laurence Olivier. Expand
  63. Zach
    May 20, 2005
    0
    Wow, that was a pile of sith.
  64. JoshoM.
    May 24, 2005
    2
    Marginally better than Episodes 1 & 2. My wife (a true SW geek) and I laughed out loud at the stiff, lame dialogue and the horrendous acting. Hayden Christensen has precisely one facial expression, used hundreds of times. The story contradicts numerous elements of the original trilogy (i.e., how could Leia have remembered her mother?), which left us furious. At least there was a bit more Marginally better than Episodes 1 & 2. My wife (a true SW geek) and I laughed out loud at the stiff, lame dialogue and the horrendous acting. Hayden Christensen has precisely one facial expression, used hundreds of times. The story contradicts numerous elements of the original trilogy (i.e., how could Leia have remembered her mother?), which left us furious. At least there was a bit more action and a bit less political gobbledygook than in the previous two movies. Expand
  65. ShaunD.
    May 26, 2005
    1
    It must be Americans who are pushing the score for this movie up, because I watched it in a UK cinema and people were actually laughing at the film at several points. Granted there are some good bits, but on the whole this is a really badly written film that relies almost totally on its CGI (which isnt all that great in parts). Its the best of the new SW films, but just has none of the It must be Americans who are pushing the score for this movie up, because I watched it in a UK cinema and people were actually laughing at the film at several points. Granted there are some good bits, but on the whole this is a really badly written film that relies almost totally on its CGI (which isnt all that great in parts). Its the best of the new SW films, but just has none of the charm or magic of the originals, and once the people who gave this film 9 or 10 ratings calm down from the CG-induced trip that they're on, they'll realise that. Expand
  66. ChristianB.
    May 29, 2005
    2
    This was a major disappointment. The number of inconsistencies within the Star Wars universe skyrockets again, as this movie is a series of artificially and forcefully strung together events. That wouldn't be so bad if the dialogues weren't even more artificial than the scenario. Some say bad acting, I say you can't deliver these terrible lines with any credibility, no This was a major disappointment. The number of inconsistencies within the Star Wars universe skyrockets again, as this movie is a series of artificially and forcefully strung together events. That wouldn't be so bad if the dialogues weren't even more artificial than the scenario. Some say bad acting, I say you can't deliver these terrible lines with any credibility, no matter what your acting skills. Expand
  67. CatGlass
    May 20, 2005
    2
    It all felt less like a movie and more like I was watching a friend playing an elaborate video game. Glad this is finally over. There's definitely a faster pace and more action than the other prequels. But nothing can save it from Lucas' wooden writing and direction. Some of the scenes play more like a parody of itself than anything else. And when Vader is 'born'. Man, It all felt less like a movie and more like I was watching a friend playing an elaborate video game. Glad this is finally over. There's definitely a faster pace and more action than the other prequels. But nothing can save it from Lucas' wooden writing and direction. Some of the scenes play more like a parody of itself than anything else. And when Vader is 'born'. Man, that was the most non-scary scene I have ever seen. There is some disturbing images while the robots attach his prosthetic legs. But the overacting is jaw dropping. I burst out laughing immediately. And Yoda? Man, if you think his backwards talk was funny back in the other prequels you're get sick of this guy in this film. Back in Empire Strikes Back, at least his dialogue made sense. And it wasn't too schmaltzy. But now, I can't believe it. Expand
  68. GregL
    May 31, 2005
    2
    Tedious. Very Important Jedi went here, then they went there, and then they talked a lot and killed things that weren't human (so that's ok). Gaaah. Special effects were good... although watching commuter traffic at 2,00ft gets a little boring after an hour or so. And listening to the music was like being trapped in a lift. The one saving grace is that it's the last in this Tedious. Very Important Jedi went here, then they went there, and then they talked a lot and killed things that weren't human (so that's ok). Gaaah. Special effects were good... although watching commuter traffic at 2,00ft gets a little boring after an hour or so. And listening to the music was like being trapped in a lift. The one saving grace is that it's the last in this grinding series. Expand
  69. Rex
    Jun 10, 2005
    1
    Unless you're a Star Wars weirdo you should see right through all of the special effects to find a truly horrible movie. The dialog should push this movie into the comedy category and out of Sci-Fi Action. I actually laughed out loud during some of the
  70. CraigA.
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    Episode III - Its bleedin' awful. I'll never be able to look Darth Vader in the face without sniggering and thinking of him stumbling about, Frankenstein-like and unconvincingly crying "NOOOOOOOOO!" at the heavens. Damn you George Lucas! Damn you to hell with all your CGI puppetry, your dialogue that sounds like its been written by a committee and your glaring plot Episode III - Its bleedin' awful. I'll never be able to look Darth Vader in the face without sniggering and thinking of him stumbling about, Frankenstein-like and unconvincingly crying "NOOOOOOOOO!" at the heavens. Damn you George Lucas! Damn you to hell with all your CGI puppetry, your dialogue that sounds like its been written by a committee and your glaring plot inconsistencies! Best of the three? Not on your life. I was bored before the opening "action" sequence had ended. The first 1.5 hours dragged interminably and i was left writhing and groaning at how hokey the script was, how annoying c-3p0 was, how appalling Yoda's grammar became as he was given longer and longer speeches to make, how r2-d2's rocket boosters have disappeared in between III and IV, how they obviously gave Darth some shoe lifts when they rebuilt him since he's gained a few inches on the emperor, at how the final battle between Obi-Wan and Anakin takes place on a volcanic planet because Lucas probably saw Return of the King and thought it looked good, at how awful the senator/emperor transformation was, and finally... at how Anakin's "fall" into the Dark Side seemed more like a running jump from a high cliff. He went from wanting to arrest the emperor for crimes against humanity to murdering Jedi children ("younglings!" Gahhhh!) within minutes. Awful, awful awful. How the hell did it get the best reviews of the three? Expand
  71. scatsd
    Jun 3, 2005
    2
    I'm not a die hard fan, but I do feel truly sorry for them. I just read through all of the bad reviews and they all superbly hit the nail on the head. It does in fact suck in every way they mention. It can be given props for being DIFFERENT visually than anything we've see, but those CGI visuals will never replace old-school filmaking for me. No matter what, I can't manage I'm not a die hard fan, but I do feel truly sorry for them. I just read through all of the bad reviews and they all superbly hit the nail on the head. It does in fact suck in every way they mention. It can be given props for being DIFFERENT visually than anything we've see, but those CGI visuals will never replace old-school filmaking for me. No matter what, I can't manage to suspend my disbelief in that world and forget that I'm in a theater and just get lost in the movie. For me, the very spectacle of how cool it looks at times is it's own downfall because if my brain is too bored by the dialogue/acting/yet another no dramatic tension light saber duel that I am looking out into the horizon of the "world" and thinking about the cool smoke stacks in the distance --what good is that? I can't believe that the megolithic box office money of this could mean that video games could take over our movies--because it will always be about money. If it makes money, it will be back in many incarnations. Sad. The first Star Wars saga had so much character and fun (accidentally, I guess) and now power and money have once again spoiled that beautiful thing that happens by serendipity and bonds us all. Sigh. I know it's hard to live up to something that so blew the lid off of our movie going experience...but I just wish it could have. I wish Lucas had truly understood what it was about Star Wars that people responded to the first go around-- instead of trying to up the ante on his special effects the whole time as if that's all it was ever about. The CGI is cool and all, at first, but it's like when you smell a flower. If you keep smelling it, eventually you won't be able to smell the sweetness anymore because you're nose has processed the information and is used to it. Same thing here, after the first few minutes, it just becomes a backdrop....and unfortunately the movie itself is so lacking in other areas that it all eventually falls flat. It is true that the character of Vader has been forever tarnished and ruined. I see no connection whatsoever to the character that was created in the 70's to the one on display here. I think it would be better to truly seperate the two threesomes into completely different sagas all together and pretend they have no connection--they would both seem better for it. And how can a film that was trying so hard to give answers to how it all came about that it even throws in a mind wash for 3PO to explain why he's always harping at R2d2 when he knows something 3po doesn't --how does that same movie have the many glaring plot holes like Obi not knowing about Leah later in the franchise? After obligatorily going to see Phatom and Clones in the theater (only to keep up with everyone and not be left out--just to see what happens to the franchise I did enjoy in the 70's) I have not once seen them again. I feel no need to. Once again, the same is true here. Sad. But still, thank you Lucas for the first three and for trying to make them all good movies. I know you did your best and wanted them to be everything to everybody. No one can ever take away all your props. You'll forever own you're successes-- and unfortunately, your failures, too. Expand
  72. KurtS.
    Jun 6, 2005
    2
    While I'm a fan of the original 3, I could not like this movie, even if I tried. Rather than list my reasons, I could cite the theater's audible groans and laugher--especially during the 'Darth Vaderstein' scene. It's a sad thing to witness the destruction of what was an engaging myth.
  73. AliC
    Jul 14, 2005
    2
    At last, it's over. Will George Lucas please retire from the movie industry now? However brilliant the original Star Wars (episode IV, I mean) was, it ruined cinema for ever. No longer could big hollywood numbers have ambiguous endings (or characters, or plots or anything): and the practice of 360 degree marketing/merchandising (which Lucas popularised) has irreversibly damaged the At last, it's over. Will George Lucas please retire from the movie industry now? However brilliant the original Star Wars (episode IV, I mean) was, it ruined cinema for ever. No longer could big hollywood numbers have ambiguous endings (or characters, or plots or anything): and the practice of 360 degree marketing/merchandising (which Lucas popularised) has irreversibly damaged the toy industry, and kids imaginations everwhere. So we can forgive him for this utterly worthless diversion, appallingly scripted ('they have killed all the younglings'....paleease) and acted (Ewan Macgregor should have stayed in bed: his character in Trainspotting sounded more like Alec Guiness) though it is. Expand
  74. GeoffG.
    Jul 7, 2005
    0
    A total and utter mess! what i don't understand is that anyone can say they hated episodes i & ii but LOVE episode iii...what gives? it's the same old garbage! bad acting, HORRIBLE script and video game special fx...i'm sorry but i don't get it.
  75. TheConundrum
    Aug 2, 2005
    3
    I give this movie three points just for being visually spectacular. Other than that, it sucked. Flat, boring characters that you don't care about; dialog so bad it made me cringe, hokey staged fights -- it's bad folks. The worst crime is that it had the potential to be a truly great story about real human issues. How are war and fear manipulated to stampede people into giving up I give this movie three points just for being visually spectacular. Other than that, it sucked. Flat, boring characters that you don't care about; dialog so bad it made me cringe, hokey staged fights -- it's bad folks. The worst crime is that it had the potential to be a truly great story about real human issues. How are war and fear manipulated to stampede people into giving up democracy? How does a man raised to protect the weak end up becoming a mass murderer? That potential was squandered by the over-rated pseudo-intellectual George Lucas. Well, at least there was blessedly little Jar-Jar Binks. Expand
  76. Skullchrist
    Nov 8, 2005
    0
    The rating I gave this movie represents the amount of effort Lucas actually put into the prequels.
  77. ZebC.
    May 14, 2005
    0
    One of the biggest disappointments of my movie going life. Once again, like a fool, I swallowed the hype, believed all the early "this time he got it right" reviews, and once again I walked away with a profound feeling of disappointment, only even more so as this was Lucas' last chance to really nail it, and give us all one last, great Star Wars adventure. He didn't. I take no One of the biggest disappointments of my movie going life. Once again, like a fool, I swallowed the hype, believed all the early "this time he got it right" reviews, and once again I walked away with a profound feeling of disappointment, only even more so as this was Lucas' last chance to really nail it, and give us all one last, great Star Wars adventure. He didn't. I take no joy in that fact either, and while I'm sure all those folks who love Phantom Menace will love this too, those with a little more, shall we say objectivity in their tastes, and who aren't blinded by the odd cool action set piece, will all too likely find this yet another largely soulless prequel experience. I really, really wish I could say it was great, or at least say it was better, but it's just not. There are moments, but moments mean very little if they're not connected by a good story, well told, and bound in characters we care about given genuine onscreen life by actors who give a damn, and once again for the most part it's a big miss on all counts. This is *the* prequel that I really hoped and prayed that Lucas would get right, but, alas, I hate to say it, but it's three strikes. But don't listen to me, judge for yourself, just adjust those expectations going in first, either way it'll serve you better in the long run... Expand
  78. JackH.
    May 18, 2005
    1
    I'm amazed. So many people are swallowing the hype and saying "more please", but what do you expect when people hand out ratings like 9/10, along with comments like "Only problems were the acting and the script"...well you know what? They're pretty big darn problems. And yes, they are problems. Again. Lucas just isn't a very good or capable director. Visualist, yes. I'm amazed. So many people are swallowing the hype and saying "more please", but what do you expect when people hand out ratings like 9/10, along with comments like "Only problems were the acting and the script"...well you know what? They're pretty big darn problems. And yes, they are problems. Again. Lucas just isn't a very good or capable director. Visualist, yes. Director, no. It's flashy with some decent action I guess, but without any real connection to what's going on, without that good script and qualty acting, it's just all so terribly flat if you're not taken in by the lush visuals. The reason I loved, and still love, the originals is the characters, the performances, the gold old fashioned story well told. This, like all the prequels before it, is flat and uninvolving at best, semi painful to sit through at worst. Overall about on par with Clones. A massive disappointment. Expand
  79. Pepper
    May 18, 2005
    2
    I wanted 2 luv it. I really really wanted 2 luv it bad! I didn't. It kinda sucked. :-{
  80. DarthEric
    May 18, 2005
    3
    It's just another prequel. If you liked them you'll like this one too, if not... DarthEric.
  81. NormY.
    May 19, 2005
    3
    Visually rich. Emotionally barren.
  82. JamesP.
    May 19, 2005
    2
    In the words of Yoda: "disappointing, this prequel, is..."
  83. DanielJ.
    May 19, 2005
    3
    Special effects have entered the 'dark ages'. CGI makes things look LESS real than previous techniques did. This is probably the pinacle of the playstation vista. For someone who loved the originals, this is a big letdown.Think of the ways that a movie can be great (acting, script, direction) and then think of the things that could add to a movie (special effects, Special effects have entered the 'dark ages'. CGI makes things look LESS real than previous techniques did. This is probably the pinacle of the playstation vista. For someone who loved the originals, this is a big letdown.Think of the ways that a movie can be great (acting, script, direction) and then think of the things that could add to a movie (special effects, cinematography, action, pacing, music) - in my opinion, this movie is a failure on basically every level. The one redeeming quality was that the story itself is a good one. The closer this film gets to the events of the original trilogy, the better it gets. It's a great story of which the first half has just been clumsily told. The whole prequel mess was such a letdown to me and friends of mine who grew up loving the originals. I can't believe anybody thought it was a good idea to render such a good story in video game. The things that the creators brag about, like the enormous number of fx shots, or the use of digital film, are its biggest failings. The digital film just looks BAD. Even things that you shouldn't be able to get wrong, like photographing human faces, have no depth or real color. Everything looks washed out and fuzzy. A few of the actors did a great job with the material and John Williams turned in something good and new with the music at Padme's funeral. But overall, I came away really dissapointed because the prequels were such a waste of potential. They could have been so good. Maybe someday someone else will make a good Star Wars movie. Expand
  84. SandraH.
    May 19, 2005
    0
    I'm not a die-hard star wars fan, but the story and the fans deserved better.
  85. YacketyYak
    May 19, 2005
    3
    If u want a feast 4 the eyes see it. if u want a feast 4 the mind or heart, look elsewhere. Make up ur own mind, but don't expect 2 much.
  86. TimS.
    May 19, 2005
    2
    I didn't like this movie at all because of the attrocious acting and dialoge. I decided to give it a couple of points becuase the FX are generally well done but I still miss the old days where CGI wasn't used exclusivly. Puppet Yoda > than CGI Yoda any day.
  87. WILLIAMT.
    May 19, 2005
    0
    Having read some of the reviews that Lucas had redeemed himself with this movie I took a deep breath and handed over my money.I remember as a little kid in 1977 being mesmerised and amazed by the original. "A new hope" was a life defining moment for me. Sadly Lucas lost the plot after"empire". A great movie whether its Godfather, Dr Zhivago, Star Wars what ever comes down to two mainHaving read some of the reviews that Lucas had redeemed himself with this movie I took a deep breath and handed over my money.I remember as a little kid in 1977 being mesmerised and amazed by the original. "A new hope" was a life defining moment for me. Sadly Lucas lost the plot after"empire". A great movie whether its Godfather, Dr Zhivago, Star Wars what ever comes down to two main things: great story+ great actors. Spending $150 million US on special effects when you have a crap script and no director just doesn't cut it. As I sat through revenge of the sith I kept saying "oh no not this crap again". " Sith" was so bad it made me think Phantom menace wasn't that bad. Mr Lucas: go back to stealing from Roman History/ greek myth/ Kurasawa; its what you did best. Expand
  88. LouisM.
    May 21, 2005
    2
    I truly do not understand the mind of a Star Wars fan. They boast about how their hero, George Lucas, loved and recreated practically all cinema of the past, yet they refuse to believe that Lucas
  89. BobbyK.
    May 21, 2005
    1
    All in all, its a film that just doesnt have the magic of the originals. The ingredients are there, but the Lucas of 2005 just doesnt have the twinkle in his eye and spark in his mind that he did in 1977. This is Star Wars by numbers , without any of the charm of the originals.
  90. JF.
    May 21, 2005
    3
    Very disappointing...
  91. PeterB.
    May 22, 2005
    3
    Just as poorly conceived, acted and executed as the first two prequels. No, the third time is not the charm. Thank god this is the last one. We hope.
  92. JudyT.
    May 22, 2005
    1
    Painfully boring. My fourteen year old daughter suggested that we walk out. I feel nothing but pity for Lucas, a man with great technical imagination who can't put two decent words together or a storyline. Poor Christopher Lee and Natalie Portman I feel sorry that good actors are reduced by his silly plot. I think the entire theater was glad when it was over. Too bad it will make Painfully boring. My fourteen year old daughter suggested that we walk out. I feel nothing but pity for Lucas, a man with great technical imagination who can't put two decent words together or a storyline. Poor Christopher Lee and Natalie Portman I feel sorry that good actors are reduced by his silly plot. I think the entire theater was glad when it was over. Too bad it will make lots of money before people realize how bad it really is, kind of like those other fighting sequels (I mean the Matrix ones). Expand
  93. BenB.
    May 20, 2005
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] I
  94. DanB.
    May 20, 2005
    3
    What a shame. It didn't even look that good. I mean, each little detail looked fantastic but, all together... so much razzle dazzle for so little effect... except the end lava sequence, which was pretty kickass.
  95. Thomas
    May 22, 2005
    1
    A big, loud, stupid finale to the biggest pop culture scam since milli vanilli. anyone who backs this half-assed, pedestrian excuse for an ed wood script should be absolutly ashamed. instead of making a film for the fans who have waited on line for days and bought all of the stupid action figures, Lucas makes ANOTHER lumbering, overwrought, blue-screened trainwreck that looks like it wasA big, loud, stupid finale to the biggest pop culture scam since milli vanilli. anyone who backs this half-assed, pedestrian excuse for an ed wood script should be absolutly ashamed. instead of making a film for the fans who have waited on line for days and bought all of the stupid action figures, Lucas makes ANOTHER lumbering, overwrought, blue-screened trainwreck that looks like it was written in a long weekend at his vacation house. hope all of you fanatics had an blast cause you are officially the most abused and mistreated audience in the history of cinema. and georgie's laughing all the way to the bank. Expand
  96. ScottS.
    May 23, 2005
    1
    A great movie, if you ignore the dialogue, the plot, the acting, the direction, and nearly everything else about this banal, boring and insipid piece of crap. Yup, this one "delivers". It delivers tinny dialogue spoken in front of sanitized, plastic backdrops and a plot that one would expect to see in a high school writing class. All with the emotional whallop of a Hallmark card. Lucas A great movie, if you ignore the dialogue, the plot, the acting, the direction, and nearly everything else about this banal, boring and insipid piece of crap. Yup, this one "delivers". It delivers tinny dialogue spoken in front of sanitized, plastic backdrops and a plot that one would expect to see in a high school writing class. All with the emotional whallop of a Hallmark card. Lucas should be as embarrassed in his creation as I am for having sat through the thing. Expand
  97. GuyW.
    May 23, 2005
    1
    Honestly, how can reviewers praise how satisfying it is that Episode III resolves the plotlines leading to Episode IV? All I can say is
  98. EdH.
    May 24, 2005
    2
    Action scenes where rushed, no epic battles tell the end. The rest are just long enough to say they where in the movie. The love story was just horrid. As a long time star wars nut the film was a major disapointment.
  99. JoeT.
    May 24, 2005
    3
    You might like this movie if you're either under 14 or if you're a grown man that brings plastic toys to the theater.
  100. LordGreystoke
    May 25, 2005
    3
    Fantastic CGI scenes don´t make movies, the computer is supposed to be a tool not the entire thing. This movies lacks every aspect of good storytelling. It´s just sad to see a beautiful story like the one on the original three episodes be torn apart by this one- dimensional, poorly acted, worst written computer generated mess. Maybe Lucas should think of going back to the Fantastic CGI scenes don´t make movies, the computer is supposed to be a tool not the entire thing. This movies lacks every aspect of good storytelling. It´s just sad to see a beautiful story like the one on the original three episodes be torn apart by this one- dimensional, poorly acted, worst written computer generated mess. Maybe Lucas should think of going back to the models of the first trilogy(the puppets might help too) that way he might make me believe just a little bit more that there is any substance behind his new movies. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 88
    Only now can we truly step back and admire the full tapestry that it has taken George Lucas and his ILM wizards nearly three decades to weave.
  2. The final episode of George Lucas' cinematic epic "Star Wars" ends the six-movie series on such a high note that one feels like yelling out, "Rewind!" Yes, rewind through more than 13 hours of bravery, treachery, new worlds, odd creatures and human frailty.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Emerges as the best in the overall series since "The Empire Strikes Back."