User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1347 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    The Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,VThe Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,V & VI at any time 2) The storyline is tailored together by a George Lucas who clearly care more about the visual effects than basic dialogues or monologues - they are in fact horrible at times. 3) Enough is said about Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker - but once more I have to say that that may one of the biggest casting-failures ever. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    4
    While not as bad as Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith is still dire because of Lucasâ
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    All of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, badAll of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, bad pacing, piss-poor acting, and some of the worst dialogue of the entire prequel trilogy. It can be so disastrous at times its laughable "NOOOOOO!". For the people who liked the previous films you'll like this, however the only positive aspect of the film that comes to mind is the fact that it finally ends the prequel trilogy. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    As a fan of the first trilogy, I'm still forced to call this episode the 'best' of the second trilogy. Which doesn't help it much. A feeble attempt to 'bring things full circle ("The circle is now complete."???). Even the special effects seem hokey compared to the original 3 films. The only good thing I can say about this is that it's the last film in this set.
  5. JonW.
    May 20, 2005
    4
    Terrible. Chalkly dialogue; uninpsired acting; cartoonish special effects; fails to invoke any feeling. As a movie Episode III stands as a failure. As a series, the prequels succeed in nothing save some over the top effects. Why fight on a lava planet, with explosions, on friggin hoverboards with robots flying everywhere and rocky lava pouring down and imminent danger at every step...why Terrible. Chalkly dialogue; uninpsired acting; cartoonish special effects; fails to invoke any feeling. As a movie Episode III stands as a failure. As a series, the prequels succeed in nothing save some over the top effects. Why fight on a lava planet, with explosions, on friggin hoverboards with robots flying everywhere and rocky lava pouring down and imminent danger at every step...why not just fight a lightsaber duel in a simple room? WHY! Why the stupid, cartoonish chase scenes, great we know what CGI is capable of and frankly I dont care...The chase with Obi-wan and general greivous is freakin terrible. No suspense, I feel like I am watching the opening to a video game. Anakin - so he betrayed the republic, his friends, massacred children and comrades, and embraced a sketchy evil guy all because he THOUGHT that his wife might die? This guy is an idiot - and all he does is whine. I am sorry as a movie lover I am disapPointed as this is a poor film in every repect of the word (and I like cheese too if its done right - Judge Dredd is great) as a star wars fan this is a disgrace. D Expand
  6. DavidT
    Nov 2, 2005
    4
    Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive over Warp Speed - in other words, these films just take themselves way to seriously to be taken seriously. High Camp Performances all round. Sith Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive over Warp Speed - in other words, these films just take themselves way to seriously to be taken seriously. High Camp Performances all round. Sith reminds me of another 4 letter word with using the same four letters - in other words, its CRAP. Expand
  7. Chuckm76
    May 20, 2005
    5
    It's a shame that after all the critic talk surrounding episode 3 that it actually turns out to be only slightly better than the other 2 prequels. Other people will want to take this movie apart more than me, so i'll be quick. The direction and the script are terrible, the action scenes seems to happen without taking you along with them and some of the actors don't seem It's a shame that after all the critic talk surrounding episode 3 that it actually turns out to be only slightly better than the other 2 prequels. Other people will want to take this movie apart more than me, so i'll be quick. The direction and the script are terrible, the action scenes seems to happen without taking you along with them and some of the actors don't seem that interested. The space battle sucks and it really shouldn't, the special effects are great but everything moves so quick that it loses some of it's impact. It does contain one of the funniest lines I've ever heard in a film "Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!" it really is hilarious though completely unintentional. One more thing, where's Boba Fett? Expand
  8. PaulR.
    May 20, 2005
    6
    The opening scenes are rubbish. I was about to give up on it, but then it got a little better.The story of skywalkers downfall began and I really started to enjoy it. Hayden is cr*p and has about as much acting skills / presence as a t*rd. Yoda is excellent! I'd also like to know where lava doesn't burn you when its splashing around all over the place? Some of the scenes are The opening scenes are rubbish. I was about to give up on it, but then it got a little better.The story of skywalkers downfall began and I really started to enjoy it. Hayden is cr*p and has about as much acting skills / presence as a t*rd. Yoda is excellent! I'd also like to know where lava doesn't burn you when its splashing around all over the place? Some of the scenes are just ridiculous. For all you fanboys/girls out there. I too am a child of the 70's and was brought up with Star Wars. This and ep 1/2 are no match for the originals. Expand
  9. NatS.
    Jul 25, 2006
    5
    By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the spot. I was in disbelief after I saw the first scene, with Obi-Wan and Anakin chatting back and forth during their ten minute ride through an By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the spot. I was in disbelief after I saw the first scene, with Obi-Wan and Anakin chatting back and forth during their ten minute ride through an otherwise awesome battle. It's so stupid and cheesy it's laughable, and just like with Harry Potter 4, the only thing that will really get the critics votes is cheesy gloom and doom acting, and nothing else. Despite that, it's still Star Wars. Expand
  10. JoshuaM.
    May 21, 2005
    4
    As everyone now knows, George Lucas is a terrible screenwriter and director, which may be why people are so symmpathetic to this last movie. More action and less awful dialog is a good thing, so is more fighting and less monotone line reading. But let's face it, if Star Wars didn't have street cred this movie would be straight to video.
  11. JB
    Aug 12, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually makes clowns of both Palpatine and Yoda (during their duel, which was a shameful mockery of both characters) and thereby reduces the forces of good and evil in Lucas' universe (via their closest representatives) to clowns whose comedic sparring just happens to cost people millions of lives. The only good thing about this film is Anakin's duel with Obi-Wan, a duel that was brought about by circumstances wholly unconvincing to anyone with some degree of common sense. Just pretend that the prequels never happened. You'll be better off for it. Expand
  12. bill
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting was thin. The only thing that I really didn't like was that I thought some thing was missing from Vader's charactor at the end . I mean when This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting was thin. The only thing that I really didn't like was that I thought some thing was missing from Vader's charactor at the end . I mean when Anakin is put into the black suite and becomes the vader we all know, he is crying about the death of his wife, so we have a sense that there is still good in him, a sense that we don't get again until 'return of the jedi'. So what made him the epitome of evil that we see in episode 4 and 5? Expand
  13. Amy
    Nov 4, 2005
    5
    Darth Vader's 'Nooooooo!' at the end. Classic.
  14. Feb 22, 2011
    4
    Good god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable to handle and with no-one to reign him in he went at it with so much reckless abandon that all three movies have all the charm of a computer game intro. ThisGood god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable to handle and with no-one to reign him in he went at it with so much reckless abandon that all three movies have all the charm of a computer game intro. This however is the most infuriating of the 3, Anakins turn to the darkside was the most hamfisted fall of a charachter that has ever been devoted to film. "What have I done?" is a repentent statement, not one that immediately proceeds a lifelong devotion to evil. The worst of it though is that Anakin still remains a petulant whiny teen that no-one likes, not even the audience, so when Vader appears on screen it's not as a all encompassing bad-ass but as a **** weepy pinhead in a black suit. Noooooooo indeed. Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Everyone says this movie got better. Wrong. The acting is still at an all time low, the events unfold in the most messy way possible, and did I mention how terrible the acting was. Anikan had no expression what so freakin ever and still talks like a pathetic three year old. Samuel L. Jackson also surprised me with his terrible performance. He basically proved to us of how bored he was whenEveryone says this movie got better. Wrong. The acting is still at an all time low, the events unfold in the most messy way possible, and did I mention how terrible the acting was. Anikan had no expression what so freakin ever and still talks like a pathetic three year old. Samuel L. Jackson also surprised me with his terrible performance. He basically proved to us of how bored he was when he did this judging by his actions in the movie. Ewan McGregor was just a smart-a**. The best thing about this film was the awesome visualk effects but it's not much better other than that. Expand
  16. Mar 30, 2013
    4
    I know that a lot of people love this, and it is the best of the prequels, but the dialogue, acting, and plot is terrible. This is the best prequel, but that's not saying much.
  17. Dart
    May 18, 2005
    6
    I'll quote Dan R.: Very good movie. Only problems were the acting and the script. :-
  18. Kris
    May 19, 2005
    5
    Good. Not great. During the opening space fight I found myself wondering how anyone could put so much obvious work into creating a bit of film that was so dull? But once Anikin really got down to the business of being evil, I actually felt something--some tension, excitement, dread. Christensen gave an uninspired performance, but I still liked almost all of the Anakin scenes, probably Good. Not great. During the opening space fight I found myself wondering how anyone could put so much obvious work into creating a bit of film that was so dull? But once Anikin really got down to the business of being evil, I actually felt something--some tension, excitement, dread. Christensen gave an uninspired performance, but I still liked almost all of the Anakin scenes, probably because he was generally acting opposite someone who could give the scene a bit of punch (McDiarmid, McGregor). Notable exceptions include his love scenes with Portman, which is a shame, since Anakin's love of Padme is supposed to be a major catalyst for his downfall. I'm also saddened by what happened to Padme in this film, and I don't mean her death. The virtues of the previous two movies were gossamer thin, but at least in them Padme did a few interesting things. In the final instalment she can do nothing better than gaze out windows, looking worried. She's little better than a tearful incubator. Still, there's plenty for the fans, lots of references to the original trilogy. Some of my favorite bits were the touches in costume and set design that recall (anticipate?) the look of episode IV (yes, we do see the side-bun hairdo.) This film does not redeam the fiascoes that came before it, but it stands on its own well enough. Mind you, it doesn't soar, but it certainly does stand. Expand
  19. J.H.
    May 21, 2005
    6
    It lacked life. It was hard to get into the characters. I think many of the people that are voting this highly are remembering the action-packed ending and forgetting how poorly made the rest of it was.
  20. AndyC.
    May 20, 2005
    5
    The opening half hour is quite poor - badly paced, with confused action and misfiring attempts at comedy. The movie then gets a lot better, and at times threatens to become very good - until the ending. Lucas shoehorns-in story elements at breakneck speed just to tie this film in with the original trilogy, an as a result it feels rushed. As mentioned here, Darth Vader's "Nooooooooo!" The opening half hour is quite poor - badly paced, with confused action and misfiring attempts at comedy. The movie then gets a lot better, and at times threatens to become very good - until the ending. Lucas shoehorns-in story elements at breakneck speed just to tie this film in with the original trilogy, an as a result it feels rushed. As mentioned here, Darth Vader's "Nooooooooo!" is so bad that it reminded me of Arnie's performance as Mr Freeze in that awful Batman movie. Very disappointing! Expand
  21. EricH.
    May 23, 2005
    4
    Something about watching Revenge of the Sith was one of the most acutely frustrating experiences I have ever had. At what point did George Lucas decide that it was all right to use the dialogue worse than that in High School Plays and Freddie Prinze Jr. movies? It was definitely better than the Clones and Menace, but the terrible cheese and overall misery of every scene with Padme (sp?) Something about watching Revenge of the Sith was one of the most acutely frustrating experiences I have ever had. At what point did George Lucas decide that it was all right to use the dialogue worse than that in High School Plays and Freddie Prinze Jr. movies? It was definitely better than the Clones and Menace, but the terrible cheese and overall misery of every scene with Padme (sp?) and most of those with Yoda make you wonder why he just couldn't hire a few mediocre writers to make the language a BIT more palatable. Expand
  22. DavidM.
    May 20, 2005
    6
    [***SPOILERS***] While Episode III is the best of the three prequels, that is a dubious honor considering the first two are worse than an IRS tax audit. Lucas commits the same "grevious" errors in spending all his time going wild with the CGI and spending no time on the atrocious dialogue or inspiring what is a solid cast to nothing more than wooden, stilted acting. Ewan McGregor's[***SPOILERS***] While Episode III is the best of the three prequels, that is a dubious honor considering the first two are worse than an IRS tax audit. Lucas commits the same "grevious" errors in spending all his time going wild with the CGI and spending no time on the atrocious dialogue or inspiring what is a solid cast to nothing more than wooden, stilted acting. Ewan McGregor's Obi-Wan is one of two passable performances as we see the slightly mirthful and bemused roots of the old mentor from the original series. Ian McDermid's sleazy and seductive Papaltine/Darth Siddious/Emperor is so oily and comical it harkens back to the campiness of Episodes IV-VI. The rest of the cast seem either bored or embarassed with their roles, especially Hayden Christansen. This time he has traded a perpetual, petulant pout for a perpetual scowl, as if the road to Sith-dom is simply a galatic temper tantrum. Anakin's road to hell is paved with good intentions, but the sum of their whole doesn't seem enough to push the whiny Jedi over the line into the Dark Side. His panic over dark premonitions of Padmé's future are too vague, and he rejects Master Yoda's sage advice without even listening to it When he is granted a seat on the council as Palpatine's advisor, he snaps that he should be fast-tracked to Jedi Master instead of leaping at the honor the rest of the Council agrees to bestow. Halfway through the film Anakin whines to his wife that he "..isn't the Jedi he's supposed to be" which begs the question, what the heck is that supposed to mean? Lucas sloppily throws out the idea that Anakin thinks Obi-Wan and Padmé are fooling around behind his back, but it is such a throwaway line it has to be a result of the nascent Sith Lord's newfound paranoia. The only believable torment is the split in devotion Anakin feels towards Obi-Wan and the rest of the Jedi, and the father-figure role Palpatine manuevers himself into. The space battles and lightsaber duels are, as always, exciting moments in the film. Anakin's duel with his former mentor on the volcanic planet of Mustafar is very climatic, and I got shivers down my spine seeing the full extent of Anakin's defeat and his subsequent reconstruction as the black-suited head henchman of the Empire. His first filtered breaths are probably the best dialogue in the whole movie, and his clumsy first steps in the suit and mechanicaly-voiced rage at the full circle of Padmé's fate are chilling. 'Revenge of the Sith' is a decent movie, fun to watch as an action film, but hard on the ears and lacking in the campy attitude and well-constructed mythos of the original trilogy. I'll stick to the orginals, even with the unforgivable doctored Lucas resorted to for their release on DVD. Expand
  23. Ric
    May 27, 2005
    5
    Dialogue was still awful (particularly between Padme and Anakin) and it only really picked up any of the Star Wars magic for the last 30 minutes. The great characters and interesting locations of the first three films were sadly missing. The effects were great though, and it had a few good moments.
  24. AbdurM.
    Jul 4, 2005
    6
    Disappointing and unbelievable. Lucas doesn't have it in him to tell a good story anymore.
  25. JimG
    Jan 7, 2006
    6
    I remember being amazed at the original Star Wars movie (Episode IV: A New Hope). The special effects were well beyond anything people had seen before, which was by itself enough to be excited, but it also offered a comforting mythological good vs. evil feel-good in a whole new context, with good humor to boot. And it offered all of that with a dose of realism I hadn't focused on I remember being amazed at the original Star Wars movie (Episode IV: A New Hope). The special effects were well beyond anything people had seen before, which was by itself enough to be excited, but it also offered a comforting mythological good vs. evil feel-good in a whole new context, with good humor to boot. And it offered all of that with a dose of realism I hadn't focused on before in science fiction -- Luke's "car" was dusty and scratched rather than shiny and new like so many things in the fictional futures of the past; the characters get stuck in a garbage-disposal hell; robots run from new to well outdated models past their prime. In total, it was an exciting and fun, but certainly not profound, experience. Then something happened. What had seemed a simple story line with few enough characters to keep tabs on became a Tolkeinesk world of unmemorizable names and places and histories and the mood turned serious (read boring). I totally gave up and tuned out, until deciding to watch Revenge of the Sith. What a pleasant surpise to be excited again about the characters, and to see a new wave of delightful effects. I gave up worrying about all the ins and outs of the storyline, and looked for the lighter-hearted moments, ultimately enjoying the prequel. And, even though our now-trained eyes see the matting and other blatantly obvious special effects in the 1977 sequel, the one I'll always thing of as simply "Star Wars" is still the best of the series, reflecting the energies and passion of the younger George Lucas. Expand
  26. ChrisP
    Nov 1, 2005
    6
    Good action.
  27. Matt
    Nov 30, 2005
    6
    Like reading your girlfriend's diary, it's weird seeing events unfolding as you knew they would yet mangled just enough to make it all slightly unsavoury. Anakin gets bad at last, we get to see him put in the suit, yet the acting is terrible all round as we've come to expect and McDiarmid's ham-fest takes some stomaching. So while Sith is enjoyable and undoubtedly the Like reading your girlfriend's diary, it's weird seeing events unfolding as you knew they would yet mangled just enough to make it all slightly unsavoury. Anakin gets bad at last, we get to see him put in the suit, yet the acting is terrible all round as we've come to expect and McDiarmid's ham-fest takes some stomaching. So while Sith is enjoyable and undoubtedly the best of the prequels, it still never reaches the heights you hope it will. The kids will love it though, which is the main thing. Expand
  28. Rocket
    Dec 2, 2005
    6
    All i wanna know is when Anakin was little, like 5 or so,he fell for Padme, who was more than twice his age and runnin the space gov't or something, and then by the 3rd film( ROTS), Anakin was grown and Padne hadnt aged a bit ( must be that space gell she uses) but i guess she wasnt so old she still couldnt have sex and have babys( twins at that! ), hmm, if thats the future then i cant wait.
  29. MissyK.
    May 18, 2005
    4
    Just saw this with a bunch of friends, I probably liked it best out of the four of us, but even I thought it was a little 'weak' overall. I guess it was okayish, but I don't think I'd want to see it again. :)
  30. Gaz
    May 19, 2005
    4
    The fanatics and the blind faithful are sure to embrace it and forgive it it's many flaws, everyone else is just likely to come away kind of let down by the whole thing, as was I. Not terrible, but not really all that notable either.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 88
    Only now can we truly step back and admire the full tapestry that it has taken George Lucas and his ILM wizards nearly three decades to weave.
  2. The final episode of George Lucas' cinematic epic "Star Wars" ends the six-movie series on such a high note that one feels like yelling out, "Rewind!" Yes, rewind through more than 13 hours of bravery, treachery, new worlds, odd creatures and human frailty.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Emerges as the best in the overall series since "The Empire Strikes Back."