User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1197 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    Finally Lucas manages to create the final epic conclusion to his SF saga with a dark morale and splendid acting from Mcgregor with high tech CGI.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Episode III is the best of the Star Wars prequel trilogy, which reveals the story behind Anakin Skywalker's transformation into Darth Vader and a couple other surprises.
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    Albeit flawed, Revenge of the Sith brings Star Wars to a satisfying close, is able to rectify George Lucas into a good film maker and draw many lost fans back into the universe. Don't expect another Empire, but also don't get into the mindset of it being as bad as the previous. All things considered, Revenge of the Sith is well filmed, well thought out and with a fantastic performance by Ewan McGregor and a substantially improved performance from Hayden Christensen, Revenge is a pretty great film and worthy conclusion. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    This movie is my favourite in the prequel trilogy. It reaches the emotional level the others fail to get near and the added dark 12 Rating element is exactly what was needed. Every base is covered to lead into Episode 4 and this is sure to give satisfaction to Star Wars fanatics.
  5. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    Even with the cheesy lines it still makes it as one of the best movies ever.
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    All of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, bad pacing, piss-poor acting, and some of the worst dialogue of the entire prequel trilogy. It can be so disastrous at times its laughable "NOOOOOO!". For the people who liked the previous films you'll like this, however the only positive aspect of the film that comes to mind is the fact that it finally ends the prequel trilogy. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    The Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,V & VI at any time 2) The storyline is tailored together by a George Lucas who clearly care more about the visual effects than basic dialogues or monologues - they are in fact horrible at times. 3) Enough is said about Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker - but once more I have to say that that may one of the biggest casting-failures ever. Expand
  8. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, a very good movie. A huge improvement over Attack of the Clones. This movie succeeds visually, as have all Star Wars, but this one also succeeds dramatically. Hayden Christensen was still bad, but Natalie Portman began to shine. Although having a very short appearance, Christopher Lee stole the show, with his villainous Count Dooku. Ian McDiarmind is graceful as Palpatine, showing how truly evil that character is. The writing marked an improvement over Attack, as there were less romantic scenes. You even started to feel bad for the Jedi, something unheard of in Attack. Portman makes Padme a tragic character, something very crucial to the film. The constant allegory to events such as Hitler's rise to power mirroring Palpatine's was unexpected, but great. And of course, the final battle on Mustafar was magnificent. Light saber battling has never looked so very real. Overall, a good film that marks an improvement over the past 3 installments. Revenge of the Sith is for all those who want to see a good movie, not just Star Wars fans. Expand
  9. Oct 21, 2011
    4
    While not as bad as Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith is still dire because of Lucasâ
  10. Oct 7, 2013
    2
    Starts off good but ends pathetically. Terrible acting really hurts the film and it's not helped by the weak plot and the even weaker dialogue. The special effects look great but that's about it.
  11. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Lucas logra con el Episodio III mejorar grandemente el desastre cometido en The Phantom Menace. Tiene esa escencia de las anteriores y es satisfactoria. La verdad es que es digna la mejoria que ha hecho, pero ni siquiera se puede explicar que le paso por la cabeza cuando escribio The Phantom Menace. Revenge of the Sith tiene grandes momentos de accion, un mejor guion y mejor conclusion que la anterior y es se puede comparar con la trilogia anterior. Expand
  12. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    The best of the trilogy. The def. of epic. One of the saddest conflicted endings ever that provokes some of the strongest emotion felt in a movie ever.
  13. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    As a fan of the first trilogy, I'm still forced to call this episode the 'best' of the second trilogy. Which doesn't help it much. A feeble attempt to 'bring things full circle ("The circle is now complete."???). Even the special effects seem hokey compared to the original 3 films. The only good thing I can say about this is that it's the last film in this set.
  14. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    The very best Episode from the prequels with a lot of revelations and stunning moments.
    An epic conclusion with splendid acting performances of Ewan Mcgregor and Hayden Christensen.
  15. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    What's wrong haters. Angry that Darth Vader was shown to be a tragic character all along instead of a typical one-dimensional bad guy? Sometimes I think you haters aren't even human to understand the point of the prequels. Oh well, haters will be haters.
  16. Oct 4, 2010
    8
    A well made and visually impressive finish to one of the greatest sagas of all time. 'Revenge of the Sith' finishes off the story perfectly and blends into the original trilogy quite well. There are plenty of thrills in this movie and the birth of Darth Vader is explored thoroughly and precisely.
  17. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    While it has seen some improvement, Episode 3 isnt all that better then the previous film. The acting still sucks, The story is a little better this time around but not by much, and it ended rather anti-climactic.
  18. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Anakin Skywalker One of the greatest characters ever made!

    This entire trilogy culminates in the EPIC finale which ties all loose ends and gives a satisfying conclusion to Darth Vader's character arc. Everything from the outstanding themes, story, amazing visuals and majestic soundtrack makes this one of my favourite films of all time.
  19. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    Finally the movie fans were waiting for. The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones could have easily been left out, or been used to explore other parts of Star Wars. Not the best movie, but not bad.
  20. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    This may not be the best movie in the Star Wars series, but it is better than Episode II and to my surprise Hayden Christensen actually gave (his only) a pretty good performance, my only complaints are that the droids sound retarded, and some characters (like General Greivous) weren't enjoyable, and there is one or two plot holes, but other then that this is a good entry in the series, and definitely makes up for the mistakes they made in Attack of the Clones. Expand
  21. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    After a couple of middling efforts, Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith finally delivers the goods. There's a lot of pay-off in this film, with all the threads tied off to satisfying ends. The actions scenes are plentiful and exciting (except the climactic duel lasting a bit longer than it should've), and the drama runs high. Despite one monumental, unforgivable fail ("Noooooooooo"), Revenge of the Sith makes for a great conclusion to the prequel trilogy. Expand
  22. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    Yeah, oh yeah! Very good story and link between the films and I must say fabulous actors and actresses! This is one of the greats but I think not my favorite but very high up there!
  23. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    'Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith' is certainly the best film in the prequel trilogy, and this time, George Lucas has created a film with plenty of dark ideas and substance. It is a satisfying end to the prequel trilogy, which connects adequately with Episode 4. The mutiny within the republic is portrayed brilliantly and despite a boring prolonged light-saber battle at the end, (the music for which is excellent), the film is generally very good. Expand
  24. Feb 16, 2011
    0
    I feel somewhat in the minority when I say that this is BY FAR the worst of the new trilogy, but it just plain is. Anakin's turn to the darkside is what makes it the worst. His turn was handled with all the delicacy of a monster truck rally. I will split this review up into parts. 1) Anakin turns to the darkside in about the time it takes you to scratch your ass. Nevermind all of the horrible oddly specific speeches given to him by Palpatine throughout the movie. The scene where Anakin stumbles upon Sideous and Mace dueling and decides to side with Sideous is so awfully done. Basically Anakin is forced to rashly decide where his allegiance lies, with the people who have trained him and raised him since the age of 9, or with some creepy looking old dude who basically does the equivalent of luring a little kid into their van with the false promise of giving them candy. There is really no drama, intense thought or reasoning, or even any visible struggle in Anakin's decision. Then after its all over its like "well I guess I'll just do whatever you ask now". Really? Thats how he turns? He acts like a little **** the whole movie because his elder's don't think he is mature enough. More like teen angst than "turning to the darkside". 2) The dialogue is SO poor and pathetic that even Republicans were like "well we probably shouldn't exploit that one". I'm pretty sure a 7 year old with down syndrome could write better dialogue. Each line delivered with the stiffness of morning wood. I can only imagine the actors doing a table read of the script "Uh George.... should we REALLY say that? Like really?" 3) The characters are so flat and boring. Grevious? C'mon just call him generic bad guy with sinister voice. All of the Jedi Knights are clearly retarded for not seeing anything wrong with Anakin or Palpatine. Are they not supposed to be the most mindful creatures in the galaxy? Can they not move **** with their minds? Apparently they can't see anything thats happening right in front of them. Padme is pretty much rendered to random sobbing and crying. 4) The end where Vader screams NOOOOOOOO... self explanatory. Theres a whole bunch more, but this is clearly the worst of the new three. At least Phantom Menace had Liam Neeson, and Clones had a cool battle/war sequence. But pretty much every aspect of this movie is garbage I can't imagine anyone, from the director, to the actors, all the way down to the guy who sets up the sandwich spreads in between takes, had their heart in it at all. Expand
  25. Feb 22, 2011
    4
    Good god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable to handle and with no-one to reign him in he went at it with so much reckless abandon that all three movies have all the charm of a computer game intro. This however is the most infuriating of the 3, Anakins turn to the darkside was the most hamfisted fall of a charachter that has ever been devoted to film. "What have I done?" is a repentent statement, not one that immediately proceeds a lifelong devotion to evil. The worst of it though is that Anakin still remains a petulant whiny teen that no-one likes, not even the audience, so when Vader appears on screen it's not as a all encompassing bad-ass but as a **** weepy pinhead in a black suit. Noooooooo indeed. Expand
  26. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    There is not one moment that I dislike in this film. Although Natalie Portman can be a bit annoying at times, the other actors make up for it. The fight scenes are amazing, and the cg is stunning. But the storyline of the corruption of the republic is what is truely amazing. It's great to see everything that was planned from the 2 prequels fall into place for Darth Sidius. And how there are hints for what is yet to come. This film is absolutely amazing, and it truly shows the maturity of star wars from good side - bad side to no one really being a hero Expand
  27. May 10, 2011
    10
    GREATEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!

    Sith, oh man, Sith. What can be said about Sith besides BRILLIANT! I left the theater speechless. I was moved. I was blown away. Not only was it arguably the best film, it made all the others better as well.

    Revenge of the Sith: The most emotionally powerful, dramatic and visually stunning. In my opinion, best acted, written and directed of the Saga. I love
    every moment. The first 25min. is such a rush. R2-D2 rocked, the three way fight with Dooku, Star Wars at it's finest. Grievous is just awesome! 9 times , I've seen this film, the most I've ever seen one film at the movies, 9 times my heart shot up my throat hearing that painful cry when Anakin realizes he lost everything he loved, by his own hand at that. That cry sent a shiver up my spine every single time I heard it. Order 66. The Anakin/Obi-Wan duel, exciting, heart wrenching. This film is, for lack of a better word, BRILLIANT! It was everything I could have hoped for in a Star Wars movie, hell any movie. Expand
  28. Oct 10, 2011
    6
    Unlike The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, which both have a damp squib of an opening sequence, Revenge of the Sith glues you to the screen right from the off, with a jaw-dropping scope of a huge battle raging in space above the glittering planet Coruscant. There are plenty of other moments that will etch themselves into your brain, from the fan-boy-pleasing (if a little brief) trip to the Wookie homeworld of Kashyyyk, to the beautifully executed, yet heartbreaking "Order 66" sequence, and of course the climactic lightsabre battle between Anakin and Obi-Wan on the volcanic planet Mustafar. George Lucas still can't do dialogue, and forces his poor actors to utter some of the most unintentionally hilarious lines in movie history (I'd have to say Obi-Wan's "younglings" line is the most offensive). The actors do their best with the material they have been given, but there is only so much verbal hamminess one can take. Hayden Christiansen is still awful, and Natalie Portman isn't much better. At least Ewan MacGregor attempts to channel a bit of Alec Guinness into his performance, but still has the tendency to fall back on generic "camp" when the script lets him down. The only actor who really impresses is the always excellent Ian McDiarmid, who takes his portrayal of Emperor Palpatine to Shakespearean villain extremes, and is an absolute joy to watch. The main thing that frustrates me about Revenge of the Sith, and about the Star Wars prequels in general though, is not that they aren't as good as the original trilogy. What really annoys me is the extent to which Lucas involved himself. I understand that Star Wars is his baby, and he'll never quite be able to let it go out into the real world without holding its hand. The thing is, Lucas isn't a great director. He doesn't have the charisma or the technical brilliance to be one. He's an ideas man. He really should have done what he did with Empire and Jedi - jotted down the story and left the front-of-house stuff to a more accomplished filmmaker. While i can still get some sort of enjoyment out of all the Star Wars prequels (even the very-nearly awful Attack of the Clones), I'm left annoyed that they could be so much better if Lucas had taken a step back from his baby and hired a script writer and a director. But when all's said and done, it may not be in the same league as any of the original trilogy, but Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequels by quite a margin, and provides just what you want from a Star Wars film - fantastic entertainment. Expand
  29. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    Although Revenge of the Sith is the best of the Star Wars prequels, it's story is still muddled, the acting is either overdone or wooden, the characters were lacking, and the special effects were over used to make up for the lack of everything else. These movies had so much more potential but they are what they are - mediocre but watchable.
  30. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    Finally, the day has arrived. The final star wars film is upon us. So is it any good? Well...kind of. The film begins with war, it continues with war, and ends with war. That's all there is too it, there really isn't any story to Revenge of the Sith other than Anakin Skywalker's transformation, and the revenge of the sith (who knew?). The whole movie consists of mindless action, but the action is good. This time it's all about the action and nothing else, whereas Phantom Menace focused on being child accessible, Attack of the Clones tried to focus on story but failed, RotS focuses all its strengths on action, and the action is pretty awesome, but the story, and acting is subpar at best. While it may be the final Star Wars flick, it leaves you with a very sour taste in your mouth, like you wanted more, or wanted less. The ending leaves you thinking the movie easily could have added 20 extra minutes and tied things up nicer. Top all of that off with some very campy and cheesy dialogue and RotS ends up being mediocre but the Star Wars film we had hoped for in the end, while it might not contain the narrative the old films did, the action will marvel your mind, and that's good enough for me. Expand
  31. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    This is a surprisingly good movie. After the underwhelming first two prequels, this came out and toppled those two. It's epic, heartbreaking, and incredibly entertaining. The whole war sequences throughout the film then the awesome final battles were the best of the whole franchise, making this film on the same level as the originals.
  32. Aug 15, 2011
    7
    I watched all Star Wars movies. I like SF movie. I like Yoda. Yoda is very strong. I want to be a je dai.
    This movie is great and strong. æ
  33. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequel trilogy. At least, Lucas fulfills his promise of making a film that 'replicates' the spark of the original trilogy. Nevertheless, something is always missing. The problem lies with Lucas himself. He is more of a great businessman / producer than a director. He pays more attention to his CGI creations than his actors. That's why 'younger' directors such as James Cameron and Peter Jackson have exceeded him at this point. They always bring the 'best' from their actors, making their blockbusters more emotionally resonant. AVATAR has a very simple storyline for instance, but it works because of its actors (and golly gee, they're not even A listers). Revenge of the Sith works in some way because of the nostalgia factor. But it never, ever reach the same heights achieved by the original three. Game over man! Game over!! Expand
  34. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Yeah, so what if the Jedi were betrayed by Clone Troopers, what if Anakin became Darth Vader and murdered other Jedi and his wife (Padme), and what if The Emperor overthrew the Republic as the Empire? Those events helped conclude the Star Wars saga and make room for a New Hope. Besides, even The Empire Strikes Back had a cliffhanging ending that left room for a sequel and George Lucas finally regained his touch with intelligent writing to conclude the saga that has suspenseful moments, the acting is less flawed, and the visual effects are less overrated. It also has the best lightsaber-dueling action out of all six movies. This movie rules! Stop hating this movie you Revenge of the Sith Haters, it got the job well done to conclude the saga and it was intelligently written and featured great action compared to the originals. And for the record, It's not a bad comparison to The Empire Strikes Back since they share some of the same themes. It also shares a small number of themes with Return of the Jedi and it left room for A New Hope which was the original Star Wars. Expand
  35. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    I dont see what people hated about the prequels, yes they wernt as exciting as the originals, or as funny, but they where visually spectacular and where full of drama. I loved them, but Im a star wars freak. The third one had it all, bland acting included. How does avatar get all the credits while these movies dont?
  36. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    While it is still lacking in the charm, charisma, or characters that made the originals so great, Revenge of the Sith is refreshing, yet brief return to form for the Star Wars franchise.
  37. Jan 29, 2012
    8
    I enjoy this one it's right up there with Empire Strikes back, the effects are great, the Acting has gotten better and it ended with a satisfying ending also it's 95% action so I highly recommend it. If you don't Like it then I recommend you search up "Star War The Third Gathers BackStroke of the West".
  38. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I grew up with the prequal's and like them better than the original because more action and I have always liked Anakin a lot i don't know what it is but he is just awesome. Hayden Christensen is one of the reason's I liked it so much he portrayed the character better than I could thought of been done. Not just Hayden was great but so was everyone else especially Ewan he showed so much love to Anakin like a father and Anakin thought he was just jealous of his power just when he was trying to get what was best for him but obviously Anakin didn't belive it he just went on a turned to the darkside which lead to the best battle I have ever seen PERIOD. Expand
  39. Jan 4, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was worth a watch, that is the only good thing I'll say about it. Even then, only watch it when it's on T.V. and you have nothing better to do. Masturbation is a better use of your time.

    The most disappointing aspect of the 3 prequels is the lack of artistic integrity. The original 3 were works of imagination, initiative, clever writing, and wonderful story telling with a hint of special effects. The 3 new Star Wars movies are only special effects mixed with bad acting and simple story telling. There were no surprise twists or turns in the story line, it was utterly predictable and uninteresting. Anakin (Hayden Christensen) seemed to be a completely week minded, morally confused, hormonal teen-age girl. Coupled with Haydens terrible acting, it was almost embarrassing to watch. I feel like he got an acting certificate from a community college, or more accurate, Lucas pulled the first semi-decent looking man off the street with no previous acting experience and threw him in as the man who turned into Darth Vader. The Jedi were laughably powerful in some aspects and the actual power of the force was laughably feeble. Light saber duels were overly complicated and literally just a dance with pretty lights. So many questions that this movie doesn't answer and so many questions it raises. Why can Yoda move amazingly dextrous when fighting, yet so crotchety anywhere else? Why, with a council of 10 or so JEDI MASTERS not see this coming when I, a simple watcher of events, knew what was coming, even had I not watched the first films? Why, devoting his ENTIRE life to the Jedi order, did Anakin decide to turn against it with little more than 2 conversations with the emperor? Why was master Windu able to defeat Darth Citius(?) so easily yet Yoda, seemingly the Jedi leader, fall so easily to him? Why would you move to a lava filled, dangerous mining facility with magma splashing around to sword fight? Why is it that NOT ONE person said 'Hey, killing all the Jedi seems wrong.'? Why would the Jedi council put Anakin in charge of watching the emperor if he was obviously close and friendly with him, knowing that he was wildly impressionable? These are just a few of the questions that either needed to not be asked or could have been answered with some basic story telling. The Emperor has been working for YEARS building his power, planning out his take over, conserving his power, yet the plan was laughably feeble and relied far too heavily on events that were, in all realistically, EXTREMELY unlikely to happen. So many holes in the plot and unrealistic events. Bottom line, this movie seemed to be written by 14 year old boys saying "You know what would be cool? um... um... um... if they had a sword fight on lava! Or if um... all the clones were actually really mean instead of the valiant army of level headed clones!" The acting... oh the acting. Natalie Portman, with her disturbing attempt at loving and crying. Hayden was overly dramatic and switched from a dark, twisted lord to a lovey dovey husband and future father, both grossly different emotions for one character. There should have been come carry over but it was a terrible switch in roles. The only decent actor Ewan McGregor. Even Samuel L. Jacksons acting seemed forced. Its as if they did one take for every scene and said "Good enough!" and left it at that.

    All in all, doesn't deserve the title of Star Wars by any means, but its still a watchable moving if all you're expecting is flashy special effects.
    Expand
  40. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    This movie was a vast improvement upon the two preceding films, but it is still not quite up to snuff. Anikan is still a problematic character. I don't see Vader in him. Vader is cold and calculating. Anikan is emotional and reckless. The action sequences are a lot of fun to watch, and as the final loose strings of the series are tied off there is some sense of completion and satisfaction. I somehow still felt robbed of what might have been had Lucas just set his ego aside and hired some writers to improve upon his script. The original trilogy will always have a place in my heart, but this second trilogy only has a place on my shelf, where it will gather dust for years to come. Expand
  41. May 21, 2012
    8
    Star wars: episode III: revenge of the sith is a great action/sci-fi movie, it's a big improvement on attack of the clones and an even bigger improvement on the phantom menace. Its got epic and exciting action sequences, only a bit of boring politics, a great and thought out well plot, awesome music, almost no jar jar binks, and great special effects. Well done, George Lucas, you've made a good film again (after 28 whole years!) Expand
  42. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Better than it's predecessor, but not by much. The story works fine, but more work could have been done on the transformation of Anakin into Vader. It felt as though he walked through a door and immediately switched the direction on his moral compass. Also, what is with the editing in this movie? It's like it was done in powerpoint, what with the blind-cuts and fade-aways. I could easily produce the same effects in a home movie with no effort. Expand
  43. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, this would be a 9.5 out of 10. Acting was great. Some of the best of the series. Score was epic. Epic and powerful music is just great. The story is great. A great way to end an amazing successful sic-fi series. Visuals are mind-blowing. The action, set pieces, giant battlegrounds, its just phenomenal how amazing it is. Overall, this is one of the best star wars movies. They really went out on a bang. They really did good with this movie. You really should go see this movie. Expand
  44. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    The best out of the new trilogy but also one of the most boring. Episode III is all about the clone wars, where the Jedi and the Sith come together to start a war. Anakin has got Padme pregnant and his love has been revealed to the order, in light of his past actions they are questioning if he is turning to the Sith. The Emperor offers him eternal life and control over the galaxy to finally push him over the edge and turn on the Jedi. Obi-Wan must stop him before the Jedi fall to the ever growing power of the Sith. Great CGI but too much politics made me bored for most of the film. Expand
  45. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    "Revenge of the Sith" is a big step up from its dreary predecessors. It's easily the best film in the trilogy with some brilliant CGI combined with intense action sequences. Even at almost the same runtime length as the second one, it feels a lot shorter. Well, we still have some wooden acting and bad dialogues at times, but we should not complain, as major improvements have been adjusted this time around. Expand
  46. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    The greatest of the Star Wars prequels. The opening sequence is lame but after that it becomes a dark, depressing and often sad movie, exactly as it should be. The special effects are once again impressive.
  47. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    The acting was also improved due to the well-scripted dialogue that brings the plotlines in the right places to conclude the saga and physical and emotional features are very much improved. But what\'s flawed is the script was a bit thin. Thanks to Hayden Christensen\'s improved physical and emotional features, he\'s very strong at his script when he becomes Darth Vader and he is very good at his Dark-Sided anger and rage which elements his emotions with the Dark Side of the Force and in my opinion, it also gives him a flawless performance to reveal his inner Dark Side. If your in for something thrilling from Star Wars, you could watch this over and over again. So people, Revenge of the Sith is not horrible or whatever you say it is, the battle sequences and the angry lightsaber duels and are all emphasized by it\'s dark themes, raging tension, the dangers of the Clone Wars, and what villainous people the Sith TRULY are. In fact, the scenes of Jedi being betrayed and killed by Clone Troopers and the angry lightsaber duels is an emphasis of it\'s raging tension. Anakin being surrounded by the dark side of the force until he becomes Darth Vader emphasizes the dark themes and shows he is truly the Dark Lord of the Sith (As Darth Vader of course). The explosive and very intense battle sequences and lightsabers emphasize the raging tension of the Clone Wars. As soon as Emperor Palpatine overthrows the Republic and turns it into the Empire along with turning Clones against Jedi after he manipulates Anakin into the Dark Side as Darth Sidious, that emphasizes what villainous people the Sith truly are and it eventually emphasizes what an evil Sith Lord Anakin is as Darth Vader. Now that\'s well-written character development. Powerful storytelling of a conclusion to the saga, it was. Revenge of the Sith reminds us what made The Empire Strikes Back so good: The great dark themes and Jedi-vs-Sith suspense that developed the characters. It serves greatly as a prequel to the originals. The intelligent writing also gave it some suspenseful entertainment. Revenge of the Sith shows how "great" the conclusion to the saga was. And by great, I mean like World War II was one of the greatest wars that ever occurred. It also shows why Darth Vader is one of the greatest Sith Lords ever. It was all powerful storytelling! To all you Revenge of the Sith haters, this movie is not horrible, it's a well done prequel that completes the saga's character development of Anakin/Darth Vader, Obi-Wan, Padme, and the Emperor, so here is some advice: See it as a piece of Star Wars history that teaches what ended the Clone Wars and started A New Hope, like watching a piece of mythology about good and evil because the Jedi and Sith were inspired from mythology so it is very similar to that. As watching it as a piece of Star Wars history, it engaged me, but if you hate this, well I am sorry to admit that is just sad because I mean come on, George Lucas finally succeeded in regaining his touch and it helped this prequel recapture elements and themes of the originals that made the originals classics along with the intelligent writing. Besides, now he has finally taken a Star Wars prequel seriously and Jar Jar Binks isn't such an annoying hindrance anymore. Being a prequel, and the best of the three, Revenge of the Sith absolutely succeeds. Expand
  48. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely the best of the prequels. Still not quite as good as any in the original trilogy mainly due to the dialog not being as good as those, but this one has a good story. It is very dark and exciting watching how Senator Palpatine becomes the Emporer and how Anakin Skywalker is slowly transformed into the Darth Vader we know from the original trilogy. Expand
  49. Jan 1, 2014
    3
    The best of the prequel trilogy undoubtedly but still in the disappointment zone when compared to the original trilogy. It has a good ending though I'll give it that.
  50. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    The final showdown between Obi-Wan and Anakin parallels Luke and Vader in the original trilogy. It's that good.
  51. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Everyone says this movie got better. Wrong. The acting is still at an all time low, the events unfold in the most messy way possible, and did I mention how terrible the acting was. Anikan had no expression what so freakin ever and still talks like a pathetic three year old. Samuel L. Jackson also surprised me with his terrible performance. He basically proved to us of how bored he was when he did this judging by his actions in the movie. Ewan McGregor was just a smart-a**. The best thing about this film was the awesome visualk effects but it's not much better other than that. Expand
  52. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    The start of the film was awful however it did get better. I hate the prequels but this is easily the best out of all of them. At times i was really gripped by the story and it reminded of what was good about the original trilogy and other times i was bored and was losing the will to live.
  53. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Easily the best of the prequel trilogy by consensus, which isn't saying much, but the praise is well deserved. Most fans of the lore knew where this film was going to lead, but it didn't stop the drama from being a gripping ride. To finally see this story play out after reading about it for years was nothing short of amazing.
  54. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Best Movie, I have got to say that this has got to be my favorite, it contains humor, action, love, suspense, and so much more. Awesome prequel to the series, a must watch for anyone.
  55. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    Best Star Wars film of the prequel trilogy. The lightsaber fights between Obi Wan and Anakin are awesome. The plot is really good as well, the film does not get boring but Anakin's dreams and dialogue with Padme are very annoying. Awesome special effects too.
  56. Feb 26, 2013
    2
    This film exhibits poor writing, acting, storytelling, just name any feature and it will most likely be a disappointment. Anakin's fall to the dark side was a story with a huge amount of potential and it has been thoroughly wasted. In that way, it is the worst of the three films and is not considered so only because it is as close as we get to the original trilogy in terms of story.
  57. Mar 30, 2013
    4
    I know that a lot of people love this, and it is the best of the prequels, but the dialogue, acting, and plot is terrible. This is the best prequel, but that's not saying much.
  58. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    Easily makes the top 2 best movies in the franchise. This movie is very emotional and riveting from the very beginning to the extremely dramatic and intense climax. Lucas really does make the connection between this and the original Episode 4: A New Hope that you can really feel. I really enjoyed Episode 3. I'm also very excited about the new Star Wars trilogy that's coming up since Lucas sold the rights to Disney. Can't wait to see Episode 7 in 2015! Expand
  59. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Utapau is rocky and barren, like Tatooine and Geonosis, but the sinkholes make it distinguishable from the other planets that are of arid climate. Mustafar is one of the most unique planets in the saga, being a volcanic hotbed of fire, not only setting the stage of the final battle, but representing the psychological state of one of the main characters. The opening sequence is amazing; I felt like I was being whisked through a massive space battle-this was an amazing feeling. The additional CGI action sequences also look very good. Complimenting these battles are 5 lightsaber duels-the most in an individual Star Wars episode. Each features its own intriguing and interesting aspects, but, of course, the most iconic is the duel between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader on Mustafar. The duel's combatants are both lightning fast-in fact, the duelists are the fastest in lightsaber use than any other duel in the saga-not only that, but the duel takes place in the most hazardous environment, which increases the tension. The emotional impact of the duel cannot be overstated; best friends/brothers fighting each other is undeniably a tragedy. Speaking of which, Anakin is the tragic/fallen hero in the film, while Palpatine is a devious mastermind who acts as a twisted father figure to Anakin. Obi-Wan, meanwhile, completes his transition from a High Jedi General-a commander in the Grand Army of the Republic, and a Jedi Master-to a hermit on Tatooine. Finally, the children of Anakin and Padmé are born, symbolizing the birth of hope. George Lucas' writing is still very good; the scene where Palpatine declares himself Galactic Emperor is one of the most chilling moments ever in a non-horror movie. The interactions between characters are well-done, and the dialogue makes sense, in those scenes. Episode III is the most tragic film of the saga-that is undeniable. The feeling of impending doom during the first half of the film is nearly palpable. When the second half begins, so does all the tragedy. I really felt for the 3 main characters as their worlds came undone around them, especially Anakin-during the entire prequel trilogy, he endures so much hardship and loss; he, in my opinion, is one of the most tragic protagonists in film history. Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is an immensely satisfying conclusion to the prequel trilogy-the first half of the Star Wars saga-and perfectly sets up the original trilogy. What more could a Star Wars fan ask for? Expand
  60. May 3, 2013
    8
    It's a decent movie, with a pretty good story and some very impressive visuals. It's the only one out of the prequels that I would give such a high score too. I give it an eight because of not only do I find the way to wrapped up the Clone Wars Era to be pretty awesome, but the soundtrack and visuals are very impressive.

    One thing I feel I have to address: It's completely unacceptable
    that Darth Vader would say "NOOOOOOO!" when finding out that his lover is dead, but yet it perfectly acceptable when Luke says "NOOOOOOOOO!" after finding out Darth Vader is his father in the original trilogy? You people are hypocritical morons, and it's not surprising since you people already have biased opinions on the prequel trilogy in the first place. Please, go back to pretending that the original trilogy was perfect and the prequels did nothing at all. The more you say it, the more I know who's worthless opinions to ignore. Expand
  61. May 22, 2013
    1
    What's missing about new Star Wars movie is there are no X-Y-A-B wings, Snowspeeder, TIE fighter, Star Destroyer, space battle. I wanted to see many space battle scenes. New Star Wars starfighters were very unattractive. I hate Battle droids, horrible, I wouldn't even like Stormtroopers, they are old.
    I didn't like the idea Yoda fighting by lightsaber, it was odd. I wasn't interesting in
    lightsaber battles, they are old and looks like kids playing each other with sword. I wanted to see more tough characters, fight by sword, knife, do hand to hand combat. do dangerous stunts, Expand
  62. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    整个星战系列的最强特效,终于出现了史诗级的星空战斗场面的同时消除了之前的动画片质感,故事是所有星战电影里最好的一部,对安纳金的黑暗面刻画出色,结尾的双重光剑决斗激赞。
  63. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    It's resonance works well, and is the best "Star Wars" prequel film. "Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith"'s storyline is still okay, but better than the first and second, and it still could have been handled with a bit more care, but it's still is done quite well. The film thrives at its action, as the scene between Obi Wan and Anakin Skywalker is good enough to be called epic, and the film does okay when transferring to the next. Overall, it's well done, and is as good as the finale with "Return of the Jedi", but it still could have done better. Expand
  64. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This film is the best of the new trilogy and it is also so emotionally complex and dark (which makes it fresh and new for Star Wars and I really enjoyed the darker and emotional tone). The film boasts of AMAZING visual effects, some pretty decent acting (improving greatly over the poorly acted previous film), direction and tone were set perfectly and the music was stunning (John Williams again delivers). I love the way this film leads us into the original trilogy and really gets everything right answering all questions. This is an epic that really delivers. Expand
  65. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith is a huge improvement in comparison to the previous movie, because the amount of action and science fiction is so much higher, and the movie never felt boring. The best things with this movie is the great music, the fabulous opening scene and ending, the spectacular amount of action and of course the connection between the original and the prequel trilogy. There might be some scenes that I find slow and a bit boring and the CGI is a bit vague at some spots, but it's still a great movie from Lucas.

    This is one of the greatest movies from George Lucas, because he successfully combined the original with the prequel trilogy.

    Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith get a 8.5/10
    Expand
  66. Nov 29, 2013
    3
    This film was garbage, and carries on with the same mistakes made in the first two films. It has awful direction, awful scripting and dialogs, awful CGI- which itself is done to death, and has the inability to set a tone for the film.
  67. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    Revenge of the Sith is a great conclusion to the series, but also works as an independent movie. Lucas is a genius here, and it shows. A thing of admiration it is.
  68. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    Thankfully Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is the saving grace for the prequel trilogy of the Star Wars franchise - offering more depth, better action, and an improved script on its far inferior predecessors.
  69. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    A great movie. It has a great story and great lore, and now it comes with improved dialogue. This movie easily ranks up there with the original trilogy in good-movieness.
  70. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    this is my favorite star wars movie because it shows how a anakin becomes darth vader. also great special effects and 5 different light saber battles. Epic!
  71. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    Revenge of the sith took the inevitable story and made it heart wrenchingly sad. By far not a flawless film, but not an insult to the standard of the original trilogy. Although reliant on special effects, the characters emotional journeys and the performance of the actors really bring the tragedy of Anakin Skywalker to life. A film that does justice to just how sad it ought to be. 8/10
  72. Dec 24, 2013
    1
    Lightsabers, thats the only thing this movie brings to the table. I mean seriously I have to write a 150 character review on a movie that consists of lightsabers
  73. Mar 14, 2014
    3
    Oh my god, 3 was sooooooo bad. It was so boring, I could not bring myself to watch all of it. It isn't even bad enough for it's **** to be funny, its just bad and boring.
  74. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    Entertainment Monthly-85% 8.6This sixth and final installment of George Lucas' epic space opera will please die-hard fanatics and non-believers alike -- largely due to awesome digital effects and the sheer power of the mythology.
  75. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    Absolute trash and a disgrace to the fans who made Lucas popular. Poor acting, poor story telling, entirely CGI and some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard in a movie.
  76. May 3, 2014
    8
    FINALLY a worthy addition to the Star Wars saga. This movie brings the mediocre prequel trilogy out on a high note. If you wanna watch the saga from start to finish...do yourself a favor....start here
  77. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    My favourite of the trilogy behind Phantom Menace, full of action and a good story. Unlike Episode 2 which i dont rate that highly, it is full of action and keeps you entertained every minute of the way
  78. Jul 30, 2014
    4
    As the conclusion to the "Star Wars" saga, the finale of the film is known from the beginning of the prequel trilogy. It is usually enjoyable to know what happened and try to figure out how it happened, but Lucas' poor inspiration made even this dull. This third film is much better than its two prequel predecessors. CGI is at last rewarding, there are great fight and battle sequences, and the plot is somehow more thrilling, even with its holes and trashy dialogue. "Revenge of the Sith" comes nowhere near close to the promise its plot initially shows, but does not generally tire as much as "The Phantom Menace" and "Attack of the Clones" did. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 88
    Only now can we truly step back and admire the full tapestry that it has taken George Lucas and his ILM wizards nearly three decades to weave.
  2. The final episode of George Lucas' cinematic epic "Star Wars" ends the six-movie series on such a high note that one feels like yelling out, "Rewind!" Yes, rewind through more than 13 hours of bravery, treachery, new worlds, odd creatures and human frailty.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Emerges as the best in the overall series since "The Empire Strikes Back."