User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 140
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MacM.
    Oct 26, 2004
    2
    Inspired casting with Snoop Dogg but everything about this movie is forgettable and poorly executed. And I regard myself a fan of the Stiller/Wilson tag-team! I totally fell asleep.
  2. gNARly161
    Mar 31, 2004
    4
    A rip off of a classic show.
  3. RahulB.
    Mar 4, 2004
    4
    I found this movie to be mildly entertaining. Members of the audience felt like they were forced to laugh at every single joke on screen. The sad part was, most jokes fell flat. Completely. The best scenes weren't even exploited to their fullest extent. Very disappointing indeed. And one of the funniest scenes, with Ben Stiller and the pony, was SHOWN in the trailers. Urgh. I found this movie to be mildly entertaining. Members of the audience felt like they were forced to laugh at every single joke on screen. The sad part was, most jokes fell flat. Completely. The best scenes weren't even exploited to their fullest extent. Very disappointing indeed. And one of the funniest scenes, with Ben Stiller and the pony, was SHOWN in the trailers. Urgh. Could've been good. I'm giving it a 4 for having Snoop Dogg, Vince Vaughn, and Will Ferrell in the cast. Expand
  4. ZekeF.
    Mar 7, 2004
    0
    This was one very bad movie ... so bad, in fact, it probably should've gone straight to video. At least, in that life, it might've had a chance. Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson appear to have a working comic charisma; it's too bad it's so shockingly wasted on Grade F material.
  5. SamG.
    Mar 11, 2004
    3
    I walked out about an hour in. That sums up how I felt about S&H. What a disappointment. I love Owens and Stiller, but didn't find anything funny about this movie. Most of the time when I don't enjoy a comedy it is because I don't find the gags funny (see "Stuck on You"), but I didn't see where this movie was even TRYING to be funny... Very puzzling. All in all I walked out about an hour in. That sums up how I felt about S&H. What a disappointment. I love Owens and Stiller, but didn't find anything funny about this movie. Most of the time when I don't enjoy a comedy it is because I don't find the gags funny (see "Stuck on You"), but I didn't see where this movie was even TRYING to be funny... Very puzzling. All in all it's a lazy, boring movie that doesn't excite or entertain in the least. Expand
  6. AnthonyB.
    Mar 12, 2004
    3
    You know, it wasn't a bad moving insomuch as it was a total letdown, given the talents behind it. The kind of movie you watch and -- even though it's lame -- you're sure that, at any moment, something hilarious might happen and you want to be there to see it. Follows my PG-13 Theory of Comedies: The best parts of a PG-13 film are always in the trailer. For an R-Rated film, You know, it wasn't a bad moving insomuch as it was a total letdown, given the talents behind it. The kind of movie you watch and -- even though it's lame -- you're sure that, at any moment, something hilarious might happen and you want to be there to see it. Follows my PG-13 Theory of Comedies: The best parts of a PG-13 film are always in the trailer. For an R-Rated film, you can count on some great stuff you hadn't yet seen. For this movie, all the best gags were definitely in the trailer. Rent it on video, folks. Expand
  7. AndrewL.
    Mar 25, 2004
    1
    About halfway through the movie, I was sure at some point someone other than the 2 kids in the front of the crowded theater would laugh. I almost cracked a smile once. Does that mean I got my money's worth? What a LAME movie. You have been warned.
  8. MikaelP.
    Mar 8, 2004
    3
    I was sort of hoping to be the first to put this movie in the red. Oh well. S&H looked bad from the start, especially when they tacked the director of ROAD TRIP onto the project. There were some instances of potential hilarity in the previews, but that is about where the movie amounted to. The finished product is, in my opinion, not fair to blame the actors for, except for that they chose I was sort of hoping to be the first to put this movie in the red. Oh well. S&H looked bad from the start, especially when they tacked the director of ROAD TRIP onto the project. There were some instances of potential hilarity in the previews, but that is about where the movie amounted to. The finished product is, in my opinion, not fair to blame the actors for, except for that they chose to stick with it despite its awful nature. The problem with S&H is that it's gimmicky as all hell. This might now have been a problem, as movies like Adaptation pull the stunt off wisely. However, there were so many gimmicks in S&H that it did not take long to realize that the movie was never supposed to stand on its own two feet, but to just be a decent show for braindead fanboys. What's worse, the directing, as suspected, is terrible! The editing is unforgivably sloppy, and you spend half the time wondering if the movie is trying to be serious or just funny. In the end, it seems that it was just trying to suck. If not, well... don't tell anybody. Expand
  9. PaulW.
    Jul 31, 2004
    2
    Don't bother watching this rubbish....I actually started to surf the net about two thirds through as it was so bad. I love the tv series and wish they just left the classic series alone. The only bright spots in the film are the legend that is Fred Williamson as the captain and Snoop dog who plays a great Huggy Bear so for that the films gets two out of 10.
  10. MarkB.
    Jun 21, 2004
    4
    Unimaginative, half-hearted, would-be spoof that doesn't really try to re-enact the series (admittedly a forgettable one to begin with) but simply allows Wilson and Stiller to recycle their tired old paces as The Stoner Dude and The Uptight Neurotic. The only performances that work are Frec Williamson's and Will Farrell's; again, the Old School Elf adds energy and danger to Unimaginative, half-hearted, would-be spoof that doesn't really try to re-enact the series (admittedly a forgettable one to begin with) but simply allows Wilson and Stiller to recycle their tired old paces as The Stoner Dude and The Uptight Neurotic. The only performances that work are Frec Williamson's and Will Farrell's; again, the Old School Elf adds energy and danger to a project sorely lacking in both. The only gag that halfway scores is a nasty one reminiscent of a famous bit in Animal House, except in that classic the human victim was a sadistic ROTC instructor and here it's a sweet, innocent little girl. The central premise is as problematic as the execution: I'm as anxious to see Farrell's Anchorman as anyone, but isn't it time we recognized the 1970s as a watershed decade in which everything from the women's movement to the US military, to the relationship between the White House and the press to the reinvention of the Hollywood studio system was permanently and irrevocably altered in ways that are still affecting us---and not just as an endless source of lame disco-ball jokes? All in all, after the utterly routine SWAT, the flashy-but-trashy Charlie's Angels movies and this, perhaps it's time we declared a moratorium on movie adaptations of Aaaron Spelling-produced TV shows...unless, of course, someone wants to redo Dynasty and let Heather Locklear pick up where she left off! Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. 60
    S&H's chief pleasure is the spontaneous, sometimes quite touching rapport between the two stars.
  2. 70
    A textbook example of how a remade '70s show can feel like an enjoyable lark rather than cultural recycling run amok.
  3. Cruises along agreeably on the easy chemistry between Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, who step in where Paul Michael Glaser and David Soul left off.