Starsky & Hutch

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 250

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 22, 2011
    10
    A cult classic..Owen and Ben make a good team.I just wish they would make a sequel.Its funny from beginning to end and I've watched it several times now.
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson and even more style as Starsky and Hutch than the other movies they have been in together. Style, Humor, and Teamwork are the keys of this fancy 1970s-styled cop comedy.
  3. JoshL.
    Mar 7, 2004
    9
    Few recent, more modern movies have made me laugh so hard the entire length of a film. Starsky and Hutch, a hilarious movie spoof of the classic TV cop drama, achieved that high status of hilarity. Having read all the negetive reviews of the moive, i feel the reviewers were far off the mark. S&H was great, full of inspired acting and many great lines, and actually drew applause from teh Few recent, more modern movies have made me laugh so hard the entire length of a film. Starsky and Hutch, a hilarious movie spoof of the classic TV cop drama, achieved that high status of hilarity. Having read all the negetive reviews of the moive, i feel the reviewers were far off the mark. S&H was great, full of inspired acting and many great lines, and actually drew applause from teh audience at one point (the Grand Turismo off the pier sequence). Its only equal in its genre is Undercover Brother, as they both capture the true humor of the era. And in addition, stiller and wilson are a great duo, and i can hardly wait for their next venture together. Expand
  4. MacM.
    Oct 26, 2004
    2
    Inspired casting with Snoop Dogg but everything about this movie is forgettable and poorly executed. And I regard myself a fan of the Stiller/Wilson tag-team! I totally fell asleep.
  5. JasonK
    Mar 10, 2004
    8
    This movie was pretty funny.
  6. BonehoC.
    Mar 5, 2004
    9
    The movie was wild and funny every second. It was impossible for the audience not to laugh at least twice. Maybe at least three. Not wait, at least four.
  7. JamesG.
    Mar 6, 2004
    6
    I really hoped this movie would have been better. Owen is enjoyable to watch along with the rest. Ben Stiller was a weak link to me in this movie. He does try to make the best out of his role, but still falls short. With a couple changes, this movie could have been a 7.
  8. ChaninderB.
    Mar 7, 2004
    10
    The most fun I have had watching a movie.
  9. SpencerS.
    Mar 9, 2004
    6
    (**1/2-out of four stars) This is a lil' nice time killer & especially for those whom watched & even more-over liked the tv-series of the 1970's. Ben Stiller & 0wn Wilson-(I am a fan of the former, but not generally the latter) are a good team here. & the original guys David Soul & Paul Michael Glaser even as per expected have a cameo in the comedy as well. It's certainly (**1/2-out of four stars) This is a lil' nice time killer & especially for those whom watched & even more-over liked the tv-series of the 1970's. Ben Stiller & 0wn Wilson-(I am a fan of the former, but not generally the latter) are a good team here. & the original guys David Soul & Paul Michael Glaser even as per expected have a cameo in the comedy as well. It's certainly not "Passion of Christ!" Quite the opposite, but for a fun lil' time at the movies this is worth a look. Thank You Expand
  10. MarcW.
    May 3, 2004
    6
    It's a wild goofy ride and not too deep. But sometimes, that isn't a bad thing.
  11. ChadS.
    Jun 1, 2004
    6
    Some laughs, and they might be big ones, in the right theater with the right people, although one sight gag, which elicited the loudest response at my site, borrows from the big screen version of "Dragnet". Is Ben Stiller's Starsky supposed to have multiple personalities? He's supposed to be by-the-book and straight-laced, and yet he drives likes a demon. But "Starsky and Hutch" Some laughs, and they might be big ones, in the right theater with the right people, although one sight gag, which elicited the loudest response at my site, borrows from the big screen version of "Dragnet". Is Ben Stiller's Starsky supposed to have multiple personalities? He's supposed to be by-the-book and straight-laced, and yet he drives likes a demon. But "Starsky and Hutch" works, kinda, because the violence isn't graphic; it's benign like a television cop show from the seventies. Expand
  12. CameronS.
    Jun 4, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] I?ve never seen an episode of the 70?s television series ?Starsky & Hutch?. After seeing this film, I think I would rather enjoy it. Todd Phillips last two films were Road Trip and Old School. I liked the former and was lukewarm about the latter. In Starksy and Hutch, Todd Phillips has expertly crafted a brilliant ode to the seventies buddy cop genre. Right from the[***SPOILERS***] I?ve never seen an episode of the 70?s television series ?Starsky & Hutch?. After seeing this film, I think I would rather enjoy it. Todd Phillips last two films were Road Trip and Old School. I liked the former and was lukewarm about the latter. In Starksy and Hutch, Todd Phillips has expertly crafted a brilliant ode to the seventies buddy cop genre. Right from the beginning, you get a perfect 70?s vibe. The bass-driven soundtrack, the character ?zoom n? pause?, the sunglasses, the hair, and beginning the movie with a foot chase. The film takes place in Bay City, which must have been a less-homosexual San Francisco permanently stuck in the 1970?s. San Francisco locals would loathe the outfits and the hairstyles of our characters. The plot involves Reese Feldman, a Jewish family man smuggling cocaine into the country. The coke is chemically altered so that drug dogs can?t detect it. There is a marvelously wonderful scene where Starsky and Hutch are mimes at his daughters bat mitzvah. Then there is Snoop Dog as Huggy Bear, who steals every scene he?s in with his intellectual thug guards. I?ve generally liked the pairing of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson; the funny Jew and the funny Aryan. They are especially funny in this film, one extremely genius moment is when Ben Stiller seems to be channeling his father as an oil-tycoon reminiscent to Johnny Two-Times. The two have never paired so well. This is always true about Wilson; he was the brightest part of Shanghai Noon, Shanghai Knights, I Spy, and other buddy movies. He has a keen sense of comic delivery. While Stiller has never awed me, he is often funny in movies of absurdity (Zoolander) or smart screwball comedies. (There?s Something About Mary) but often lame in romantic-charged films (Along Came Polly), here he is wonderfully inspired, as the two spark tons of laughs. Starsky and Hutch are complete opposites. Starsky is a hard-worker, always wanting to get the job done. He starts work precisely at 8 a.m. and has a wig man for when he goes undercover. Hutch on the left hand had been undercover for quite some time with a gang who had robbed seven bookies in six months and none of the money had been turned in. Hutch is kind of disgraceful and laid-back. This film could have had a lot more clichés than it actually does. Many times the filmmakers are sidestepping, like how Starsky isn?t as good a cop as his mother was. One great example of where a cliché is dodged: (SPOILER AHEAD) near the climax when the Gran Turino misses its landing spot. Recent seventies TV show adaptations have been pretty weak. I hate the Charlie?s Angels films and SWAT fell short for me. But Starsky & Hutch gets it right; it is both substantially stylistic and stylishly substantial. Expand
  13. BrandonB.
    Mar 27, 2004
    7
    It's funny how some of you try to come off as ebert & roeper but have no idea what your talking about. I found it worth my $8. so did the 40-so people in the theater that night. How do you like them apples?!
  14. gNARly161
    Mar 31, 2004
    4
    A rip off of a classic show.
  15. RahulB.
    Mar 4, 2004
    4
    I found this movie to be mildly entertaining. Members of the audience felt like they were forced to laugh at every single joke on screen. The sad part was, most jokes fell flat. Completely. The best scenes weren't even exploited to their fullest extent. Very disappointing indeed. And one of the funniest scenes, with Ben Stiller and the pony, was SHOWN in the trailers. Urgh. I found this movie to be mildly entertaining. Members of the audience felt like they were forced to laugh at every single joke on screen. The sad part was, most jokes fell flat. Completely. The best scenes weren't even exploited to their fullest extent. Very disappointing indeed. And one of the funniest scenes, with Ben Stiller and the pony, was SHOWN in the trailers. Urgh. Could've been good. I'm giving it a 4 for having Snoop Dogg, Vince Vaughn, and Will Ferrell in the cast. Expand
  16. PeteM.
    Mar 6, 2004
    6
    eh... it was alright. Will Ferrell was great as always. I think he alone was worth the money to see it. Then again, there were a lot of hot girls in this movie....
  17. MatthieuR.
    Mar 6, 2004
    9
    Great fun!
  18. MovieFan
    Mar 7, 2004
    9
    I haven't laughed so much since Old School. If that's your type of flick, you'll love this. Funny throughout, hilarious in many spots. Great casting.
  19. ZekeF.
    Mar 7, 2004
    0
    This was one very bad movie ... so bad, in fact, it probably should've gone straight to video. At least, in that life, it might've had a chance. Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson appear to have a working comic charisma; it's too bad it's so shockingly wasted on Grade F material.
  20. PrestonF.
    Mar 7, 2004
    8
    A surprisiningly entertaining take on the nort so classic TV series.
  21. LiamS.
    Mar 8, 2004
    7
    Do not be fooled: this movie is not for the people looking for a serious, thought-provoking film. If, however, you are the type of person who is looking for frivolous fun, this is the movie for you. Owen Wilson and Ben Stiller do an excellent job, and the storyline is entertaining, if not stellar. I was admittedly surprised by how good this movie was. I think it deserves slightly better Do not be fooled: this movie is not for the people looking for a serious, thought-provoking film. If, however, you are the type of person who is looking for frivolous fun, this is the movie for you. Owen Wilson and Ben Stiller do an excellent job, and the storyline is entertaining, if not stellar. I was admittedly surprised by how good this movie was. I think it deserves slightly better than the Metacritic rating it is receiving. Expand
  22. Tom
    Mar 8, 2004
    5
    The quintessential 5 out of 10. For every good thing, one bad thing. For every time I laughed at Owen Wilson, I cringed at yet ANOTHER Ben Stiller "hard luck guy shtick" joke. That guy needs a new routine, and FAST. This is a rental for sure.
  23. GregA.
    Apr 13, 2004
    5
    Disappointing. I enjoy watching both Stiller and Owen but they didn't pull it off this time. I must say there were a few hilarious moments in the movie but I would wait for the DVD. It is no competition for "Meet the Parents" and I only hope "Meet the Fockers" can equal it.
  24. JerriB.
    Apr 11, 2005
    7
    I believe this i a good film as it manages to bring out the hummor in all situations that can relate to the viewer on many levels no matter what the age group.
  25. JoeM.
    Mar 11, 2004
    6
    It was a funny movie at parts but it's on the boarderline of going to see it in theaters and not.
  26. SamG.
    Mar 11, 2004
    3
    I walked out about an hour in. That sums up how I felt about S&H. What a disappointment. I love Owens and Stiller, but didn't find anything funny about this movie. Most of the time when I don't enjoy a comedy it is because I don't find the gags funny (see "Stuck on You"), but I didn't see where this movie was even TRYING to be funny... Very puzzling. All in all I walked out about an hour in. That sums up how I felt about S&H. What a disappointment. I love Owens and Stiller, but didn't find anything funny about this movie. Most of the time when I don't enjoy a comedy it is because I don't find the gags funny (see "Stuck on You"), but I didn't see where this movie was even TRYING to be funny... Very puzzling. All in all it's a lazy, boring movie that doesn't excite or entertain in the least. Expand
  27. Ab76
    Mar 11, 2004
    7
    Boy, a lot of you really seemed to miss the boat here. Hell yes it's supposed to be funny! It's a spoof, and at times, very clever. Starsky's MOM was a cop, the whitewashed TV 70s are replaced with a very multi-culti one here replete with Indians and Koreans, the show's latent homosexuality was overtly and explicitly laid bare etc. Sure, the Stiller schtick is tired Boy, a lot of you really seemed to miss the boat here. Hell yes it's supposed to be funny! It's a spoof, and at times, very clever. Starsky's MOM was a cop, the whitewashed TV 70s are replaced with a very multi-culti one here replete with Indians and Koreans, the show's latent homosexuality was overtly and explicitly laid bare etc. Sure, the Stiller schtick is tired and weak, Wilson is way funnier and not every gag delivered, but Vaughn, Harmar and Jason Bateman should be enough to merit a 7. And by the way, don't knock Road Trip. Phillips brought his same sun of freewheeling fun to that flick too. Expand
  28. NortyNick
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    This film has split the vote more than I thought it would. Wilson / Stiller's humour isn't for all, but fans turning on it? Zoolander & Old School fans will be wetting themselves. Maybe if you haven't seen those two you won't but I haven't laughed as much at a film since I was a kid. There are many nods & winks to both the tv series & Philips, Wilson & This film has split the vote more than I thought it would. Wilson / Stiller's humour isn't for all, but fans turning on it? Zoolander & Old School fans will be wetting themselves. Maybe if you haven't seen those two you won't but I haven't laughed as much at a film since I was a kid. There are many nods & winks to both the tv series & Philips, Wilson & stiller's earlier work that keep you chuckling between the full-on gags. Out of the top drawer. Expand
  29. AnthonyB.
    Mar 12, 2004
    3
    You know, it wasn't a bad moving insomuch as it was a total letdown, given the talents behind it. The kind of movie you watch and -- even though it's lame -- you're sure that, at any moment, something hilarious might happen and you want to be there to see it. Follows my PG-13 Theory of Comedies: The best parts of a PG-13 film are always in the trailer. For an R-Rated film, You know, it wasn't a bad moving insomuch as it was a total letdown, given the talents behind it. The kind of movie you watch and -- even though it's lame -- you're sure that, at any moment, something hilarious might happen and you want to be there to see it. Follows my PG-13 Theory of Comedies: The best parts of a PG-13 film are always in the trailer. For an R-Rated film, you can count on some great stuff you hadn't yet seen. For this movie, all the best gags were definitely in the trailer. Rent it on video, folks. Expand
  30. LorrenceM.
    Mar 17, 2004
    9
    Hilarious! Owens an Stiller are hilarious together as usual and snoop dog fits in perfectly as "Huggy bear."
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. 60
    S&H's chief pleasure is the spontaneous, sometimes quite touching rapport between the two stars.
  2. 70
    A textbook example of how a remade '70s show can feel like an enjoyable lark rather than cultural recycling run amok.
  3. Cruises along agreeably on the easy chemistry between Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, who step in where Paul Michael Glaser and David Soul left off.