Stay

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 158
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Great storyline, superb cast, splendid director's work and filming, stylish picture. I'd recommend this to all people who loves movies which stimulate you to think them over. One of the best movies I've ever seen.
  2. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This movie is a piece of art, It's like a dream. I have watched it several times and each time I've enjoyed it more. The acting is remarkable, especially Ryan Gosling who plays Henry. The directing is super artistic! I felt like I was in a dream when the scenes blurred into each other. The story was brilliant! The ending was so breathtaking and made me stay with the film after it wasThis movie is a piece of art, It's like a dream. I have watched it several times and each time I've enjoyed it more. The acting is remarkable, especially Ryan Gosling who plays Henry. The directing is super artistic! I felt like I was in a dream when the scenes blurred into each other. The story was brilliant! The ending was so breathtaking and made me stay with the film after it was finished. This movie is so deep and some people may not enjoy or understand it completely, but for me 'Stay' is the greatest movie of all time! Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stay is a strange movie. It has its good things but it also has some bad points. It starts really good and it has too much suspense in the beginning but after a while you get lost in that film. You don't know what is happening and why and it is a bit of strange. However, it has a really good cast and a great cinematography as well as a great direction. The end is really weird and actually the whole movie is pointless as we can see in the end. I was expecting a better thriler with that cast and not such a no-smart ending or as someone may call it ''twist'' Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    ""Sam Foster(Ewan McGregor): If this is a dream, the whole world is inside it.""

    If you're looking for an amazing movie that's here:STAY It's a complex but complete movie.I think that the best example for Near Death Experience(NDE) is shown in this movie and it represents us the perspicacity of both director and writer. Every dialog and scene in STAY is important and not only you must
    ""Sam Foster(Ewan McGregor): If this is a dream, the whole world is inside it.""

    If you're looking for an amazing movie that's here:STAY It's a complex but complete movie.I think that the best example for Near Death Experience(NDE) is shown in this movie and it represents us the perspicacity of both director and writer. Every dialog and scene in STAY is important and not only you must listen and watch it but also you should memorize all the details such as background sounds,visages,sentences,names and so on!

    Paying attention to what happens could help everyone enjoy the film.

    I believe there are some similarities between Orson Welles's TOUCH OF EVIL and STAY in the ways of cinematography.

    Ryan Gosling plays appreciable and is the best for his role.His glance makes him and the movie so mysterious.The character of Henry Letham can show us both innocence and guilty in his eyes.Guilty;that he thinks about his personality that made him to say and write "forgive me" again and again.And innocence;that Dr.Sam Foster could find in Henrie's conscience and wanna show to Henry.

    The golden globe nominee director Marc Forster has shown that could make such laudable films in different genres like FINDING NEVERLAND,STRANGER THAN FICTION,MONSTER's BALL and KITE RUNNER. It was the first accompaniment between David Benioff and Marc Forster that repeated again in The Kite Runner. I say:what do you want of a complete movie;suspension,good directing,good playing,good music and.... STAY could gather them all. It's not my best 'cause it is always SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION as a respectable one but i've watched STAY about 13times,i think! and every time i've found something new.STAY keeps you in a suspension situation.

    STAY, a film that must be watched not just once but twice!
    Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Superb, non-typical and breathtakingly beautiful dream-like movie. One of a kind movie and movies like this is hard to find. The story line did not make any sense, only because everything was imagined in Henry's head when he was about to die. It didn't need to, and that makes this movie so special. It really felt like it was in a dream. I thought the casts, script, effects and story lineSuperb, non-typical and breathtakingly beautiful dream-like movie. One of a kind movie and movies like this is hard to find. The story line did not make any sense, only because everything was imagined in Henry's head when he was about to die. It didn't need to, and that makes this movie so special. It really felt like it was in a dream. I thought the casts, script, effects and story line was brilliant. Kudos to director Marc Forster for thinking outside the box. Expand
  6. PavelR
    Mar 28, 2009
    8
    The directing, the script, the editing, the clothes, the colors...all add up to a means that makes the films more transcending than your average thriller.
  7. LindaN
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    Even if you get confused, you should be able to appreciate this movie. Just enjoy the beauty and mystery of it. Relax and enjoy it--don't get all wrapped up in the fact that it "doesn't make sense" (yet). The ending reveals its secrets, and yet It holds up to multiple viewings. I think I loved it more the fourth time I saw it than the first.
  8. blatkakakakack
    Sep 16, 2007
    3
    Boooooo. I'm not smart enough to understand this genius film.
  9. AndréF.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    It can be quite confusing but don't wait the end to reveal it all.
  10. VitorV.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    This is an intelligent film. See it if you know how to think.
  11. AnonymousMC
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    I can see why many did not like this movie as it requires a bit of thought while watching. We have become so used to being "entertained" and not challenged while watching movies today. There are clues throughout the entire movie. Throughout the entire movie, you see all those standing around Henry after the accident. You hear Henry say to him that he did nothing wrong, that he tire blew I can see why many did not like this movie as it requires a bit of thought while watching. We have become so used to being "entertained" and not challenged while watching movies today. There are clues throughout the entire movie. Throughout the entire movie, you see all those standing around Henry after the accident. You hear Henry say to him that he did nothing wrong, that he tire blew because he was right behind him. You see the car swerve and roll on the bridge. All accidents that occur like that on bridges are usually multi-car accidents. My opinion: They are all dead, but don't realize it yet so they "stay" and function as if they were still alive. Henry was the only one that figured it out. He stated, "I have to wake up now." When the emergency crews arrived you didn't see them talk to Lila or Sam or any of the characters standing around him. You then see Sam meeting Lila and asking her to coffee while visions (actual memories) of them together ran through his mind. A brilliant film of how we hold on to life, even when it's gone. Expand
  12. KateV.
    Jun 30, 2007
    8
    It's a movie I probably would have given a 5 right after watching it, but it had a way of working on me and revealing its depth in the days afterwards. Stay really stayed with me, and I suspect it's a movie that will be even better on the second viewing.
  13. JannL.
    May 17, 2007
    2
    A very confusing movie that was not worth the concentration it would take to figure it out.
  14. NathanB.
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    Excellent artistic and cinematographic work. The ending is convoluted and requires a lot of thinking but if you're willing to think, you should be satisfied. On the other hand, they worked too hard to throw you off and it kind of impedes their message.
  15. p.p.
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    i actually never heard of it and then it was on. i was sucked in pretty good. the directing was beautiful and the clothing was better than in almost every film. a pleasure to watch as it was entertaining and intense. it could have been a little better but the focus was spread in a lot of places. a nice suprise.
  16. ms
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    This was as close to a video game that a movie could get. Not in the sense of it being playable or linear but in the sense that it made you participate. It made you emerge yourself with the strange happenings occuring. To figure things out you had to try to work it all in your head but while the movie kept moving at an unpredictable pace. This movie kepot me both guessing and figuring This was as close to a video game that a movie could get. Not in the sense of it being playable or linear but in the sense that it made you participate. It made you emerge yourself with the strange happenings occuring. To figure things out you had to try to work it all in your head but while the movie kept moving at an unpredictable pace. This movie kepot me both guessing and figuring until the conclusion shed light onto the events that had occured. It was almost interactive for me. The direction was nothing short of artowkr in itself and the acting was mostly well done (Major Props to Ryan Gosling). It sort of reminded me of a suicidal Wicker Park only with more artsy production (yet just as pretty) and a darker and more convoluted plot. I felt deeply touched by Ryan's acting and the character that he portrayed, while I was a tad less interested in the performances by Naomi And Ewan. I found it fascinating and interpretive..like a painting you have ot be able to make your own assumptions about what happened...that's why I feel this is art. But at the same time you were forced to use some mental skills to try and figure things out, which is why I believe it is also as much of a game. I can't wait to play again. Expand
  17. R.G.
    Aug 8, 2006
    9
    Great movie, certainly amongst the best last year. very surprised to see critics and everyone else pan it. it does not work as a thriller, as advertised by fox. it throws you into a maze and works over time like a installation piece, i read that somewhere and i made perfect sense. the movies stays with you for days, to try and figure out how memories and dreams interact with each other.Great movie, certainly amongst the best last year. very surprised to see critics and everyone else pan it. it does not work as a thriller, as advertised by fox. it throws you into a maze and works over time like a installation piece, i read that somewhere and i made perfect sense. the movies stays with you for days, to try and figure out how memories and dreams interact with each other. the beginning is the perfect setup and the ending is another beginning to work what you have seen...so i guess in a way its interactive. Expand
  18. RitB.
    May 16, 2006
    2
    Great camera work, but the story itself is as obtuse and confusing as the lyrics to a Stevie Nicks song. Don't waste your time with this one.
  19. StephenC.
    May 15, 2006
    1
    I have no idea what this movie was about? I am so confused.
  20. GiovanniC.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    I was surprised to find such bad ratings for a film that is well crafted both on the visuals and on a plot that surely is not the type mainstream movie critics or your average viewer are used to see. This is a movie that makes you think even if not everything is explained. Its a good movie.
  21. MelanieE.
    Apr 24, 2006
    1
    I the waisted 98 minutes of my life back. Even understanding the movie's meaning, doesn't help how awful it was.
  22. Sam
    Apr 12, 2006
    3
    A bloated, unfun, and unfascinating drek.
  23. AdamW.
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    I'm offended by the critical rating of this movie, and thus, my two cents. Stay is a wonderfully written, acted, edited and directed psychlogical horror. Don't listen to naysayers, go see it. Just remember to bring your brain.
  24. MariosP.
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    Like Judd N i've never rated a film here and our reasons for making this our first contribution to the site is exactly the same: most critics just "dropped the ball" with this one. David Lynch and Jacob's Ladder came to mind while watching this. If you have any questions after watching this just watch the extra features on the DVD. I can't say i "loved" it, but i definitely Like Judd N i've never rated a film here and our reasons for making this our first contribution to the site is exactly the same: most critics just "dropped the ball" with this one. David Lynch and Jacob's Ladder came to mind while watching this. If you have any questions after watching this just watch the extra features on the DVD. I can't say i "loved" it, but i definitely thought it was a solid 8/10 for the kind of film it wants to be. The directing was great (although i'm not a fan of Forster's previous work) and the photography/music give the film a haunting quality. A film that stays with you long after the end credits roll. But i can see how some people might hate it. I'm the same with most films by Gus Van Sant (especially Gerry and Last Days). Some people can find things to love in those film, but i just don't get them i guess. Expand
  25. JackM.
    Apr 1, 2006
    2
    What a bunch of pretentious gibberish. It's like an over-designed episode of "The Twilight Zone" that lasts endlessly. This one-trick pony is vastly overpraised. It's The Emperor's New Movie.
  26. [Anonymous]
    Dec 24, 2005
    8
    Very good. Haunting and gut-wrenchingly sad story. Will leave you thinking about the film for days and weeks to come. Great if you like to discuss a movie in depth afterwards with a friend and try to understand what just happened! Allow this film to affect you emotionally as it is very powerful.
  27. JuddN
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    I've never rated a movie before because I usually agree with the critics. However, they completely dropped the ball on this one. It is a beautiful film that keeps you thinking for days after you leave the theatre. To all you critics, didn't you hate Donnie Darko the first time around? Don't worry, the bandwagon will be back when Stay is released on DVD. You can hop on it then.
  28. bill
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    This is the second worst film I have ever seen (the worst being xxx). It leaves the interpretation of 90% of the story line totally up to the viewer. It is little more than a collection of random scenes that the view is expected to reconstruct into a coherent storyline. Almost any part of the film can be interpreted as having some deep meaning or, equally validly, as being This is the second worst film I have ever seen (the worst being xxx). It leaves the interpretation of 90% of the story line totally up to the viewer. It is little more than a collection of random scenes that the view is expected to reconstruct into a coherent storyline. Almost any part of the film can be interpreted as having some deep meaning or, equally validly, as being inconsequential. There appears to be no definite story other than Expand
  29. SusanJ
    Nov 2, 2005
    5
    This movie is just average. It attempts to be artsy, and although it has great cinematography, it fails in everyway to carry on a substantial and effective story line. The movie pretty much tries too hard and doesn't quite cut it.
  30. HoB.
    Oct 30, 2005
    8
    I didnt think I would like this movie and I'm not quite sure why I went to see it. However, after seeing it, I was very impressed. I havent seen many good movies lately, but this one is a very entertaining film that I will highly recommend to my friends. Go to this movie with an open mind, watch it, dont try to analyze it until the end of the movie. Then, and only then, will it make sense.
  31. JacobD.
    Oct 29, 2005
    2
    I thought this movie was quite terrible. I saw with a girl who loves ryan gosling and she even said it was terrible. The payoff for 2 hours of suspense was not worth the movie. it was beyond disapointing for what was a poorly done 6th sense knockoff.
  32. geofd.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    If you understand what you see. You will love this film. Well Done.
  33. ElsaB.
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    This movie was indeed an experience--Hitchcock to the 10th power! I suspect that the unimpressed viewers (some of whom are critics) simply aren't comfortable viewing this world as an illusion and having 2 plus 2 make 5. They dismiss the movie out of hand--instead of admitting they don't understand it. I also do not "get it" after the first viewing--but will be happy to view it This movie was indeed an experience--Hitchcock to the 10th power! I suspect that the unimpressed viewers (some of whom are critics) simply aren't comfortable viewing this world as an illusion and having 2 plus 2 make 5. They dismiss the movie out of hand--instead of admitting they don't understand it. I also do not "get it" after the first viewing--but will be happy to view it over and over until the onscreen meditation pays off. Expand
  34. LindseyH.
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    The only thing about this movie that I find confusing is the abundance of poor reviews it has been getting. Stay is a beautiful film, with a superb cast, and an excellent storyline. There is no trickery involved, as it is quite apparent throughout the film that it is NOT taking place in reality. I found nothing pretentious about it. It was definitely arty, as are all of Marc The only thing about this movie that I find confusing is the abundance of poor reviews it has been getting. Stay is a beautiful film, with a superb cast, and an excellent storyline. There is no trickery involved, as it is quite apparent throughout the film that it is NOT taking place in reality. I found nothing pretentious about it. It was definitely arty, as are all of Marc Forster's films - he is attempting to impress the importance and influence of art in everyday life. I've seen a lot of films in my short lifetime, and in my honest opinion Stay is one of the best. Expand
  35. DWilly
    Oct 23, 2005
    3
    It's amazing that the same guy who directed "Monster's Ball" and "Finding Neverland" could direct this toad; just as it is that Ryan Gosling, who showed such initial promise, could prove here (and with "The Notebook") such a wash out as an actor; Ewon McGregor just keeps digging his same wan hole with every new performance; and while I'm not ready to give up on Naimi Watts, It's amazing that the same guy who directed "Monster's Ball" and "Finding Neverland" could direct this toad; just as it is that Ryan Gosling, who showed such initial promise, could prove here (and with "The Notebook") such a wash out as an actor; Ewon McGregor just keeps digging his same wan hole with every new performance; and while I'm not ready to give up on Naimi Watts, enough general anguish, Honey. Oh, it's a slickly made movie, but a sketchy idea badly written. Expand
  36. KrisannM
    Oct 23, 2005
    9
    I thought the movie was awesome, but what do I know, I'm not a "professional" movie rater. I never agree with them anyways. I was still quite confused at the ending, but the movie was incredible as far as artistic goes. Would see it again in a heart beat!
  37. TylerM
    Oct 23, 2005
    7
    Definately a treat for fans of artsy-directing. Most will be disappointed with the ending and the movie's overall lack of substance, but if you can suspend your desire for a neat little package, you'll enjoy the craziness of the journey. Few films are as visually interesting.
  38. KevinP.
    Oct 20, 2005
    1
    Bad movie. Fine acting from Ryan Gosling and Ewen Mcgregor. Naomi Watts would do better to go back to B grade horror movie like The Ring Two.
  39. MalcomM.
    Oct 20, 2005
    1
    A pretentious piece of film trying desperately to find some sense from itself, which come to think of it, should commit suicide in itself (in the real world). Heck, after watching the movie, i can barely even make sense of what I'm saying here!
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 29
  2. Negative: 8 out of 29
  1. 40
    It's become a tired cliché for characters in "serious" science-fiction movies not to realize they're dead or dying, but Stay as a film doesn't seem to realize that it's dead from the outset, an unconvincing automaton grimly going through the motions.
  2. Eventually I gave up on meaning and began instead to study the profuse imagery -- and also the flat characters and anchorless performances.
  3. 30
    A steaming compost heap of high-art pretense and half-cocked psychoanalysis that almost makes you sorry Nicolas Roeg isn't making pictures anymore.