Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 29, 2005
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 49 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
8
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Jotto999Feb 28, 2012
This movie reminds me of why you should check the ratings before you watch some random movie. It's not just unworthy of paying money to see it, it's not even worth the time to watch it. I literally would have preferred to do chores thanThis movie reminds me of why you should check the ratings before you watch some random movie. It's not just unworthy of paying money to see it, it's not even worth the time to watch it. I literally would have preferred to do chores than watch this, and I'm lazy. This was so stupid, so cliché, it's just worthless. The action wasn't even thrilling, and everything else about it was cliché or stupid. Stealth is a movie you shouldn't even bother watching. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MarkB.Jan 21, 2006
Besides being the Year of the Penguin, 2005 will be remembered as the movie year in which moviegoers re-embraced the R-rated movie comedy (Yay!) and rejected the Big, Expensive Action Movie Without A Brain In Its Head (YAY!!) Michael Bay and Besides being the Year of the Penguin, 2005 will be remembered as the movie year in which moviegoers re-embraced the R-rated movie comedy (Yay!) and rejected the Big, Expensive Action Movie Without A Brain In Its Head (YAY!!) Michael Bay and Rob Cohen (The Fast and the Furious, xXx) are two of the more recent auteurs of this genre; of the two, Cohen is far less offensive because of his sheer unpretentiousness; he's a bubblegum moviemaker who's secure in the knowledge that he IS one, and embraces his essential inner Bazooka Joe-ness. Just as well that Cohen's latest, about a military superplane that defies orders when it (he?) feels it (he?) has the right to or knows more than its (his?) human operators bombed in theaters, because it's actually fairly effective on DVD as a "six-pack movie": the more of the six-pack you drink the better (or at least less idiotic) it is, and it helps even more if you can get through TWO six-packs while watching it! You don't expect such offbeat talents as screenwriter W. D. Richter (The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai, Home for the Holidays) and playwright/actor Sam Shepard to be anywhere near this (or any other Cohen film) although Shepard is actually quite good as the well-meaning but corrupt force behind the project; otherwise, Stealth comes off as an amiable cross between Blue Thunder and Top Gun without the hysterical semi-alarmism of the former or the obnoxious jingoism of the latter. Stealth's greatest strength and greatest weakness are actually one and the same: it's smart enough to ask the question of whether war should be waged as a video game or up close and personal (an issue that, in a way, got Bill Maher and Politically Incorrect thrown off ABC) but dumb enough to include so many candy-colored visuals, and take such delight in blowing stuff up real good that it undercuts its own very real, intelligent questions and becomes exactly the same thing it's criticizing. I'm sure that it's no coincidence that Cohen voice-casts the superplane to sound just like HAL the computer in 2001: A Space Odyssey; in fact, I was mildly disappointed that the stealth bomber didn't get around to treating us to a chorus of "A Bicycle Built For Two". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonydannieJan 11, 2006
Is this movie Perfect? No. Is it horrible? NO! This movie was fun. Jamie Foxx a bit of a show off. The man staeling the Show is none other then Josh Lucas. This guy is going places folks. And The AI sounding like Hal from 2001, though some Is this movie Perfect? No. Is it horrible? NO! This movie was fun. Jamie Foxx a bit of a show off. The man staeling the Show is none other then Josh Lucas. This guy is going places folks. And The AI sounding like Hal from 2001, though some people hated the cliche. I enjoyed it. Give it a chance. And what is the deal with Jessica Biel's arms.? You are a chick!! Not a dude!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpankTheChickenJan 5, 2006
This film gets 10/10 if simply for Jessica Biel. Where do women as beautiful as this hide? I never see them come into the McDonalds I work at. Anyway, back on topic, the film is an average action film but she completes the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
PDaddyDec 31, 2005
Stealth is your average mindless male action film; stupid storyline, stupid plot twists, lots of eye-candy, lots of crap being blown up. It's great. But the REAL SURPRISE of the film was Jessica Biel.... my god... or should I say "oh my Stealth is your average mindless male action film; stupid storyline, stupid plot twists, lots of eye-candy, lots of crap being blown up. It's great. But the REAL SURPRISE of the film was Jessica Biel.... my god... or should I say "oh my godess"?!?! I had to rewind the scenes of her in that blue bikini. 8-o SMOKIN! Jessica if you're reading this, contact me ... I will wipe away your every tear, and teach you how to REALLY fly. ;-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joesomebodyDec 4, 2005
I thought the movie was OUTSTANDING... went and saw it twice. The effects COMPLETELY blew me away from the opening scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
she'stheoneNov 20, 2005
This movie was mindless fun, especially as a rental. The effects were mind-blowing. The war propaganda was revealling. And Jessica Biel is the sexiest woman alive and I would gladly be the tarmac to her landing gear.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Nov 18, 2005
It's no masterpiece, but it certainly isn'tas bad as the critics say it is. The visuals blow you away, and EDI is an interesting concept. THe movie soars whenever it's in airspace, but clunky on the ground, where drivel sitcom It's no masterpiece, but it certainly isn'tas bad as the critics say it is. The visuals blow you away, and EDI is an interesting concept. THe movie soars whenever it's in airspace, but clunky on the ground, where drivel sitcom dialogue takes over. It also fails to emphasize the more intriguing ideas brought up, like war feeling like a videogame when robotics take over, or EDI's learning capability, and goes with run-of-the-mill stuff instead. Plane design is cool, though, and it's good to see mud thown in North Korea's face. Overall, Stealth is decent high-tech entertainment, and better than a disasterous 35, but b/c it fails to take advantage of its premise properly, it won't leave much of an impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MalcomM.Oct 27, 2005
To quote M.E.Russell of Portland Oregonian, "While you're in the theater, it's actually -- heaven help me -- pretty fun to watch." He should have added also: "And while you're at home watching Stealth on DVD, it's really To quote M.E.Russell of Portland Oregonian, "While you're in the theater, it's actually -- heaven help me -- pretty fun to watch." He should have added also: "And while you're at home watching Stealth on DVD, it's really -- heaven forbid -- more fun watching yourself jerk-off while watching the movie!" It's war porn special effects on speed! Other than that, a one hell of a nincompoop dumbdumb flight to nonsensical oblivion! Better off watching Captain Kangaroo cartoons. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SamOct 14, 2005
The thing that I hated most about stealth, not to say that I hated the movie, it really was decent, but the worst thing about it was it looked like a fantastic epic full great plot twists with some of the best special effects ever, basically The thing that I hated most about stealth, not to say that I hated the movie, it really was decent, but the worst thing about it was it looked like a fantastic epic full great plot twists with some of the best special effects ever, basically it had so much promise, and it wasted it. comPLETELY wasted it. Through it down the toilet, gone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Philter137Sep 16, 2005
Well... I wasn't expecting a great movie, so I wasn't disappointed, I left feeling vaugely satisfied. A good variety of locations and settings, good explosions, some nice action concepts and I really liked the look of the Talon Well... I wasn't expecting a great movie, so I wasn't disappointed, I left feeling vaugely satisfied. A good variety of locations and settings, good explosions, some nice action concepts and I really liked the look of the Talon aircraft. I'm a big fan of Jet aircraft and carriers, so I really *wanted* to like this movie, but it just didn't fly. There were a load of problems with Stealth, I had a problem with the blimp-shaped floating refueling station - in the real world that thing would be a tactical nightmare to defend and one of the screens in the command centre seemed to imply that there were loads of these expensive, highly explosive, easy-to-shoot sitting ducks dotted around the globe. Can you see a government approving a station like that? I was able to stomach the cliches for the most part, the problem that ruined "stealth" most in my view was the "overdone" feel of the cgi during the battle scenes - The 'camera' panning and pitching wildly, the overuse of tight close ups on the jets as they streak by. It was too 'furious' from the start of each battle - This kind of visual feel needed to be at the climax of each battle scene, not in every in every single shot! The makers of this flick need to watch Top Gun again, drop as many cliches as possible and make a different movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WizzAug 29, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] This film was a 117 minute long cliche. (Computer goes haywire because it got struck by lightning, Black guy dies first, white guy and women live happily ever after, and so on, and so on). It was a waste of my time. The only [***SPOILERS***] This film was a 117 minute long cliche. (Computer goes haywire because it got struck by lightning, Black guy dies first, white guy and women live happily ever after, and so on, and so on). It was a waste of my time. The only thing that was good about this movie were the special effects. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DaltonD.Aug 27, 2005
Apparently users of this site as well as professional critics went to this movie with a view to finding the Shakespeare of our age. This a great, dumb popcorn movie with terrific action scenes and visual effects. If you're in that kind Apparently users of this site as well as professional critics went to this movie with a view to finding the Shakespeare of our age. This a great, dumb popcorn movie with terrific action scenes and visual effects. If you're in that kind of mood, go see it. If you want Jarmusch, drink a lot of coffee and get thee to an art theater, holding your pinky in the air at all times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful