Stevie

Stevie Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This documentary speaks about the complex realities of growing up, family history, and how the system has - despite good intentions - failed to rescue certain kids. (Lions Gate Films)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. It's no accident that this movie is named after both the filmmaker and his subject. It stands with the most thoughtful releases of recent months, and will linger in memory.
  2. The tragic tale that emerges is full of powerful lessons and impenetrable mysteries
  3. 88
    Stevie seems destined to end the way it does, and is the more courageous and powerful for it. A satisfying ending would have been a lie.
  4. A heart-stirrer at times. More often, it's a heartbreaker.
  5. Without excusing Stevie's behavior, the film makes a compelling case for how a child molester can grow from the bitter seeds of neglect and abuse.
  6. A painful documentary film, partly because of its subject, partly because of the troubling questions raised by the filmmaker's approach.
  7. Despite good reviews at this year's Sundance Film Festival, this is the kind of squishy lost cause that gives liberal guilt a bad name.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. AngelaW.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    I have never seen a film so close to the reality that many deny exists. A story that had to be told.
  2. DM
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen. I would love to see a Stevie Part II. I want to know what happens to him after prison.
  3. C.A.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    This a very well done, brutally honest documentary on what it's like to be a mentor, the struggle to make the world a better place, and This a very well done, brutally honest documentary on what it's like to be a mentor, the struggle to make the world a better place, and the reality of poverty, diminished capacity, and someone who can't top himself from making bad decisions. Expand
  4. Lionel
    Feb 9, 2006
    9
    i don't know how there were critics who rated this movie poorly. it's an incredibly honest film which actually shows the i don't know how there were critics who rated this movie poorly. it's an incredibly honest film which actually shows the documentary maker (steve) in as a critical a light as the subject (stevie). as a viewer, we feel that this subject-matter in many ways is too honest and brutal and thus that the documentary filmaker is exploiting his subject. the very fact that the steve was 'big brother' to stevie, and this is a story about an adult's wayward and tragic turn due to the results of childhood neglect, indeed says something profound about the documentary filmmaker himself.. where lies his true compassion for his subject? Expand
  5. Pinky
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    An intriguing film and I wondered a lot about why Steve James returned to Stevie in the first place. Whatever the reason it took a certain An intriguing film and I wondered a lot about why Steve James returned to Stevie in the first place. Whatever the reason it took a certain amount of courage and perhaps feelings of guilt. [***SPOILERS***] I have some personal experience with the setting that Stevie grew up in. There were several points when I had to mute the sound because the round and round bickering and tearing each other down was so disturbingly reminiscient. Yet, when Stevie or his family members are asked why they put up with the heartbreak, harshness and abuse they have received from relatives, they consistently say "because they are the only family (sister, mother, son) that I have. I felt a lot of anguish for them. I also sensed another unamed relative looming in the background...an unspoken tension that I can only attribute to a suspicision that Stevie may have been fathered by a close blood relative. I couldn't help but think some of his problems were coming from a sort of biological base...perhaps something related to an abusive event from literally the earliest moment. It is too easy to say, though, that Stevie is living as he is because of his background of abuse and poverty. There are plenty of resilient children who have lived the same or worse but somehow carve out a different and more satisfying life. Some say it must be the experience of love in infancy, even if it is later lost. I don't know, but I sure feel for Stevie. I was also very touched by Tonya. A good and dignified person, and not someone I would likely come to know without Steve James' movie. Thank you Steve James. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2014
    9
    I'm a huge documentary fan, and this has to be in my top 20 of all time. Its honest and doesn't pontificate, it presents grueling scenariosI'm a huge documentary fan, and this has to be in my top 20 of all time. Its honest and doesn't pontificate, it presents grueling scenarios with enough force to sicken you, but never revels in the pain it presents. The careful balance of the films production is even more striking when you realize the depth of the filmmakers personal involvement in the story. Finally, with all the dysfunction and harrowing scenes, it still steers clear of the simple option of painting those onscreen as simple 'victims' or 'bad people'. An unflinching, heartbreaking and deeply moving film. Highly recommended. Expand
  7. TracyL.
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    Working in foster care and once living in the same area as this young man I was particularly drawn to watching this documentary. When will Working in foster care and once living in the same area as this young man I was particularly drawn to watching this documentary. When will adults realize that their actions will forever effect the decisions their children will make for their future?...Whether they be good OR bad. I hope the families involved find the peace that they so deserve and avoid the drama that engulfs their lives. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Music Monday (8/11): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (8/11): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: August 11, 2014
    Our guide to this week's album releases also features streams of upcoming albums and tracks from Kimbra, Cymbals Eat Guitars, Stevie Nicks, Wu-Tang Clan, and more. Plus, catch up on the week's music news, and watch new music videos from artists like Alt-J, Lil Wayne, Azealia Banks, and Bishop Allen.
  2. The Comeback: Artists With Decade-Long Gaps Between Albums

    The Comeback: Artists With Decade-Long Gaps Between Albums Image
    Published: April 12, 2011
    In the next few weeks, both The Feelies and The Cars will release albums for the first time in over 20 years. We survey over 50 recent comeback albums to see if it is ever possible to succeed after such a long time away from the studio.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.

Awards & Rankings