Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: December 10, 1999
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 130 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
122
Mixed:
5
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
RegOzApr 4, 2012
A 9 in its genre! The producers were somehow unlucky for, as many people have already observed, this movie was released a few weeks after Sixth Sense, which was unfortunate... because people were still talking about the latter. Quite frankly,A 9 in its genre! The producers were somehow unlucky for, as many people have already observed, this movie was released a few weeks after Sixth Sense, which was unfortunate... because people were still talking about the latter. Quite frankly, I think this film is better than The Sixth Sense. It is definitely more frightening, more intense, and much more enjoyable than the other latter one...and Kevin Bacon is of course much, much better actor than Bruce Willis...Kevin is an A and Willis oh well a... B-? Anyway...my purpose is not criticising Willis, there I am going off track, but I merely wanted to share my views about the movie. In a few words: It is a classic! Eerie atmosphere, smart plot, good performances, gripping, believable...and well...you may have a situation like that just next door! ;) If you haven't watch it before, you should definitely do it. Think about this: This movie has no negative reviews, isn't that a great sign? Expand
15 of 15 users found this helpful150
All this user's reviews
10
Propensity862May 18, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stir of Echoes is an intense atmospheric thriller with Kevin Bacon's best performance. He plays Tom Witzky, a regular guy with a wife and one underage son. He works as a lineman in Chicago, he is a day to day toiler earning his wages and supporting his family. One night at a social with his wife, her sister and his closest friend the unthinkable happens. He goes from being an ordinary man to having extraordinary visions he can't explain or comprehend. His wife's sister Lisa discusses hypnosis at the social. She describes how a person under hypnosis can't feel anything or realize what is going on because they're in another state of mind. Apparently she knows how to hypnotize someone, so Tom's best friend suggests to her that she hypnotize someone there. Tom suggests himself to her and she denies his request at first. He convinces her and then the audience sees what Tom sees as she guides him through the trance. He sees something during the trance but he doesn't know what it is. She opens a portal in his mind, and then his mind starts receiving supernatural visions. A girl is missing and she wants him to assist her in finding her body. Then she can be freed from being a ghost and rest in peace. She wants him to expose and punish the ones culpable for her demise. A man who is into some kind of witchcraft or supernatural activities tells his wife that she'll never leave him alone until he helps her with her predicament. The movie is ultra spooky and unpredictable. The mystery is tough to unravel and I'm sure most people didn't put the pieces together until the movie clarified what happened to the girl and who the culprits are. Stir of Echoes is one of my favourite horror thrillers by far. It was very underrated in 1999 and it deserved and deserves the kind of attention that The Sixth Sense garnered that year from audiences. It is a one of a kind movie that is a magnificent cinematic experience. The other movie that deals with hypnosis is Danny Boyle's Trance. However Trance isn't dark like Stir of Echoes is because it is an action thriller and not a horror thriller, Trance is great as well. These movies have similarities by sharing hypnosis plots but that is all they have in common. Expand
14 of 14 users found this helpful140
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleFeb 20, 2016
Stir of Echoes is a deeply unsettling film that is a master class effort in mood setting and atmosphere creation from director David Koepp. Kevin Bacon is fantastic here and the film willingly messes with your mind, creates scares, andStir of Echoes is a deeply unsettling film that is a master class effort in mood setting and atmosphere creation from director David Koepp. Kevin Bacon is fantastic here and the film willingly messes with your mind, creates scares, and delivers tension. While the premise is not overly original, it is so incredibly well done that it makes this one impossible to truly ignore. Even more, the film is quite tight. Everything it introduces has a purpose and everything has a point, which I love. There is simply no clutter here and every line means something more for the plot than it may initially seem. On the whole, Stir of Echoes may be a typical psychological horror film, but it is so well written and so effective at eliciting fear that it makes it impossible to ignore at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
[Anonymous]Dec 8, 2001
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorS.Dec 9, 2001
Awesome movie, definitely worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeB.Jun 1, 2001
This movie was very enjoyable. It had plenty of chills and suspense, and an intelligent and believeable script. Kevin Bacon does a fine job, as does everyone else. I thought it was far superior and much more believeable than "The Sixth Sense".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackJul 11, 2003
Much better than the Sixth Sense, creepy, funny, believable, great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristenJun 13, 2004
I loved this movie! I saw it on tv so there, of course, were cover-ups of the "bad" words but even then it was awesome! The ending was sort of predictable but hey so are a lot of movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliotB.Nov 6, 2001
Absolutely brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanM.Aug 8, 2003
I loved the story and found it very suspenseful. I think that Lucia Struss was excellant and needs some recognition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnmarB.May 31, 2004
I've really got scared, And I liked the connected complexity, I really LOVE this movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillS.Aug 18, 2005
Great acting by all four main characters, and a spooky story. Claims this is a derivative of The Shining have it backwards, as this is from a book written well before Steven King's work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Tss5078Jun 23, 2016
In recent years, supernatural horror has become about gore and jump scares, these movies aren't scary anymore! Paranormal Activity, The Grudge, The Ring, are you kidding me?! Those movies were terrible! They don't make movies like Stir ofIn recent years, supernatural horror has become about gore and jump scares, these movies aren't scary anymore! Paranormal Activity, The Grudge, The Ring, are you kidding me?! Those movies were terrible! They don't make movies like Stir of Echoes anymore, this is a supernatural thriller, that was truly unsettling and creepy, the kind of film that defines what supernatural horror should be. Tom & Maggie are celebrating moving into a new house, and as the party is winding down, Maggie's sister claims to know something about the supernatural. Tom (Kevin Bacon) is a complete skeptic, so she offers to hypnotize him and see what happens. Reluctantly Tom agrees and after seeing some strange flashes, Tom wakes up unsettled but still a non-believer. Over the next few weeks, Tom continues to see strange images of a girl asking for his help and believes his sister in-law messed with his mind somehow. Once convinced that she had nothing to do with it, Tom decides to investigate and try to find out, who this girl is and why she's asking for help. This movie is truly scary because depending on what you believe in, this could be 100% real. Kevin Bacon is one of those actors who when he is in the right role is better than anyone, and this role is perfect for him. Bacon had me on the edge of my seat and it seemed as thou this movie just flew by. I wanted to know who this girl was and what happened to her just as much as he did. As for the paranormal stuff, it wasn't bloody, gory, and out of nowhere but it was just as creepy. This is the kind of film that left you jittery and uneasy for hours afterwards, the definitive horror movie. Bad reviews had me skeptical, but I am a skeptic no longer, Stir of Echoes will most definitely be included in my next Halloween movie marathon! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tethysdustDec 1, 2016
A conventional kind of ghost story, but executed in a very entertaining way. The story was suspenseful, and the excess of Kevin Bacon's enthusiasm was funny in a way that did not detract from the seriousness of the ghost mystery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avamiller21May 17, 2016
This is a good horror film. Not what I expected, it doesn't scare much, but deals with a more human approach of horror.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1872-Stir-of-Echoes-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews