Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 28, 2008
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
10
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
horizonbtsOct 18, 2015
Vivid and sad account of how war affects the minds and lives of young men! I thought the main three characters Ryan Phillipe, Channing Tatum, and Joseph Gordon Levitt put in stellar performances. This movie sometimes tough to watch theirVivid and sad account of how war affects the minds and lives of young men! I thought the main three characters Ryan Phillipe, Channing Tatum, and Joseph Gordon Levitt put in stellar performances. This movie sometimes tough to watch their struggles, brought me to think of my own loved ones and what they have endured during their service to our country! If you have friends or family that served, I would highly recommend you watch this movie as it may bring to light the price they paid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TylerS.Jul 23, 2008
I thought this movie was truly moving and it kept drawing me in as a viewer, i would highly recommend this movie to any and all!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PatrickCJul 12, 2008
This movie was great!!! It showed that the president is a freaking dumbass and how they send troops and soldiers back into the war. I say that because i think a troops should have the right for not going back if they don't want to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephB.Jul 8, 2008
Any movie questioning the most disastrous move made by this reckless, unthinking administration, and Bush/Cheny have made many of them, is to be commended. I get sick to my stomach every time I see Bush in a photo-op with some poor soldier Any movie questioning the most disastrous move made by this reckless, unthinking administration, and Bush/Cheny have made many of them, is to be commended. I get sick to my stomach every time I see Bush in a photo-op with some poor soldier that lost his legs fighting in Bush's personal war, and I can't help thinking how Bush didn't even show up for his National Guard duty half of the time, and how Cheny got no less than five deferments to avoid serving in Viet Nam. Bush has done more damage to this country than any terrorist could ever hope to. But soon, this nightmare will be over and this country will start the healing process to recover from what will go down as the worst administration in the history of this country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterJ.Jul 8, 2008
I served my time in the Army between 93-96. Nothing really went on their during my tour, hence no stop loss. I did get to serve months in Haiti. Anyway, my point is you signed up for a certain time, and your contract should be honored. Okay, I served my time in the Army between 93-96. Nothing really went on their during my tour, hence no stop loss. I did get to serve months in Haiti. Anyway, my point is you signed up for a certain time, and your contract should be honored. Okay, if a war is going on and your time is up I would be more than willing to keep on keeping on. But if you already got out of the Army, and they call you back. That is absolutely asinine. And I am FOR the war gentlemen. So those who give this movie a low score because you feel it is ANTI-War. Let me assure you that has nothing to do with it. The point is that you have done your time, and lived up to your end of the bargain. The Army should do the same. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomSJul 2, 2008
One of the best war movies of recent years based on soldiers' real accounts. No glorification or papering over the issues that should be faced up to more. It's the people who put young men and women into this kind of no-win One of the best war movies of recent years based on soldiers' real accounts. No glorification or papering over the issues that should be faced up to more. It's the people who put young men and women into this kind of no-win situation who are Anti-American. IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
kenzJun 19, 2008
Anti-American movie? did u not see all the flags(tattoos on soldiers,etc). Criticizing war does NOT means criticizing America. Unless you like wars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EJMay 5, 2008
Good and important movie. Little bit of a disappointing ending though, I believe if you are going to make a statement you should go all the way, and maybe the film makers thought they were doing that but it was ineffective and just showed Good and important movie. Little bit of a disappointing ending though, I believe if you are going to make a statement you should go all the way, and maybe the film makers thought they were doing that but it was ineffective and just showed that America won't back down from the mess they have gotten themselves into. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcL.Mar 31, 2008
This movie IS NOT FOR DATE NIght!! It is hard to watch in a few places but it forces a deeper look at war, relationships, choices and everything in between. I was taken (Treated) to the movie by 4 active duty Marines, 2 of whom had just This movie IS NOT FOR DATE NIght!! It is hard to watch in a few places but it forces a deeper look at war, relationships, choices and everything in between. I was taken (Treated) to the movie by 4 active duty Marines, 2 of whom had just returned from Iraq. They showed their tears, will you? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 30, 2008
A man has the right to change his mind. He can flip-flop. But sometimes when you go too far, there is no point of return. Iraqi veteran Brandon King(Ryan Phillippe) tells his commanding officer, in so many words, that the president could go A man has the right to change his mind. He can flip-flop. But sometimes when you go too far, there is no point of return. Iraqi veteran Brandon King(Ryan Phillippe) tells his commanding officer, in so many words, that the president could go f*** himself, which should tell you something about whose side "Stop-Loss" is on. But: surprise, surprise. "Stop-Loss" is far from being "In the Valley of Elah". The president is disdainful towards people who flip-flop, but this filmmaker, to my surprise, flip-flops, from a liberal to a conservative agenda, ironically enough, and supports the war, in spite of a narrative that suggests otherwise. Like her previous film "Boys Don't Cry", this filmmaker captures the local culture of a community with objectivity. She doesn't leer. She's not judgemental about rural folks who ski-surf on dirt roads(from "Boys Don't Cry"), or in this case, Texas denizens who get drunk and shoot their guns in the woods. And also like this director's previous film, "Stop-Loss" has a protagonist named Brandon. Coincidence? There's no such thing as coincidences. In "Boys Don't Cry", Brandon Teena was a girl who thought she was a boy. Brandon King is a soldier who thought he was a conscientious objector. "Stop-Loss" respects the men who serve our country. But does it respect our president, too? No upside-down flag in tatters, here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KaseyS.Mar 29, 2008
Exceeds expectations (for something that says MTV on it). Powerful and provactive storytelling. However, there was absolutely no need for the Abbie Cornish character. She added nothing (not her fault) and served as a major distraction. Exceeds expectations (for something that says MTV on it). Powerful and provactive storytelling. However, there was absolutely no need for the Abbie Cornish character. She added nothing (not her fault) and served as a major distraction. Gordon-Leavitt continues to impress. Some things were melodramatic and I did not feel that the transition from proud soldier to betrayed civilian was effective enough. Suprisingly fair and balanced and not another Clooney/Moore "Impeach Bush" movie. The director accomplishes this by makeing the story personal not universal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JesseT.Mar 26, 2008
OUTSTANDING. Brilliant movie for everyone old and teen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful