User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 106
  2. Negative: 71 out of 106
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CommonSense
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Ok; I actually didnt even see the movie. I just wanted to ask you users what you honestly expected going in so why even bother giving the movie a low score? before you even saw the movie, was there ever a thought that you would be giving it any more than a 5? the video game shouldnt even be mentioned just as the dbz movie shouldnt b mentioned along side the show. So i would like to give Ok; I actually didnt even see the movie. I just wanted to ask you users what you honestly expected going in so why even bother giving the movie a low score? before you even saw the movie, was there ever a thought that you would be giving it any more than a 5? the video game shouldnt even be mentioned just as the dbz movie shouldnt b mentioned along side the show. So i would like to give the movie a 10 for being able to sucker in a few ppl naive enough to spend money on it. Expand
  2. MikeD.h
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    I love this film - what's not to like? Kristen Kruek is absolutley amazing-and her acting isn't bad either.
  3. MatthewT
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    All right, let's get one thing clear. This movie is not about the street fighter tournament. This movie is not covering the overarching story of street fighter. The story is about the "legend of" Chun-Li. With that in mind, the story deals with all the events leading up to Chun-Li
  4. PhilJ.
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie i watched it on the airplane to my trip to L.A i enjoyed it so much i watched it 2 twice i even enjoyed the soundtrack.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Great film. It has ultimate action and a great supporting performance by Michael Clarke Duncan.
  6. KenK
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    So bad and inaccurate in so many ways, but that's what makes it so laughably good! If you're looking for a serious movie, you shouldn't be watching this in the first place.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    I can't believe that the score for these kind of movies is so low, I mean after i read all these comments, i wanted to give this movie a 6 or 7, because i thought maybe it was not that good as i watched it just 10 mins ago. But honestly, everyone is comparing movies against videogames here. In a game you mash all those buttons, make combo hits, fatalities to take down the enemy. The storyI can't believe that the score for these kind of movies is so low, I mean after i read all these comments, i wanted to give this movie a 6 or 7, because i thought maybe it was not that good as i watched it just 10 mins ago. But honestly, everyone is comparing movies against videogames here. In a game you mash all those buttons, make combo hits, fatalities to take down the enemy. The story is usually ignored and 4 out of 5 people doesn't care about story in a game. In movie i want to know about the characters, their origins. If you put a 90 minute long fighting scene in a movie, there will be no difference between a game and a movie. I think this movie was pretty cool and exciting and the reason that many people disliked this was that they want to see meaningless fighting scenes, 10 punches + 3 kicks per second... I am a nerd too, I like marvel, dc, mortal kombat (not so much of a Street Fighter fan actually i always find that game rather dull) but honestly i want to see a background for characters in movies; not a 90 minute full with brawling and gun shooting. The only reason that i gave 9 instead of 10 was that interpol officers kinda stood outside of movie and couldn't participate that much. They should were either totally removed or used more often in film. I strongly suggest this movie to all of you who are interestedâ Expand
  8. PaulL.
    Jun 13, 2009
    7
    This really wasn't that bad of a movie. Don't understand why people are bashing it so badly.
  9. ShawnP
    Jul 31, 2009
    7
    I thought it was pretty good and people are being harsh.
  10. AdamD.
    Mar 4, 2009
    6
    This movie turned out to be a lot better than I was expecting. Decent action scenes, interesting locations and good choreography made for an actually entertaining movie. The major thing that brought down my opinion was not the departure from the SF storyline and not the dependence on gunplay (in what should have been a martial arts movie) - but by the casting of non-actor Chris Klein as This movie turned out to be a lot better than I was expecting. Decent action scenes, interesting locations and good choreography made for an actually entertaining movie. The major thing that brought down my opinion was not the departure from the SF storyline and not the dependence on gunplay (in what should have been a martial arts movie) - but by the casting of non-actor Chris Klein as Charlie. Seriously. Whose idea was that? Expand
  11. JasonC.
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    NOT the worst movie ever. Definitely not a great movie, and just barely a 'good' movie. But not as terrible as everyone says. Chris Klein is comedic gold.
  12. JoeMamma
    Mar 1, 2009
    5
    My vote doesn't really count so i put 5 for average. I havn't seen it I just want to post to ask people who have seen it post their thoughts. My friend wants to go but i dunno now that both the critics and the only 2 people who posted said its bad.
  13. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    Not a terrible movie. It looks like they did try to stay a little loyal to the series, but unfortunately took a few too many liberties for it to be any good. Overall and OK movie that looks like it could have been more, but either due to a lack of funding or interest the studio mad a really average movie.
  14. GregoryN.
    Feb 27, 2009
    4
    Not bad! Not as bad as some might be saying and if you actually played Street Fighter, you might appreciate the movie a little bit more.
  15. RyanS.
    Jul 7, 2009
    3
    For a movie called Street Fighter this doesn't have nearly enough street fighting. It did have a boring story and uninteresting characters. I remember the Street Fighter video game as being more fun than this.
  16. DreH.
    Jun 25, 2009
    3
    Had SOOOO much potential. But failed. Had a good start, good ideas, but failed.
  17. JayH
    Jun 28, 2009
    3
    I thought this was a pretty lame movie. I am not into this genre of film anyway. This one bored me and did not find too many things about it that was exciting. The only interesting thing for me was some of the location filming.
  18. Jun 9, 2014
    3
    Why is this kind of bad not funny?

    Is just a clumsy movie, with clumsy story, clumsy cinematography, bad acting (that I wouldn't even call "acting") and bad lighting... how can you be so bad lighting a movie so you can see anything? everything is so dark in this movie even when something should be perfectly lit! is bad directing... I know that the director's background is on
    Why is this kind of bad not funny?

    Is just a clumsy movie, with clumsy story, clumsy cinematography, bad acting (that I wouldn't even call "acting") and bad lighting... how can you be so bad lighting a movie so you can see anything? everything is so dark in this movie even when something should be perfectly lit! is bad directing... I know that the director's background is on cinematography but that doesn't excuse the directing in this film, is just bad... and the characters in short: why couldn't chun-li be asian? why can't m. bison look like m. bison? the characters resemble nothing to their video game counterpart.

    Is hard to think of good things for this movie, but that's because there is hardly anything good about it except for maybe the choreography... is ok I guess, but still, this one a recommend a skip...
    Expand
  19. RogueMoviegoer
    Mar 1, 2009
    2
    "Disappointing" is being too kind. Clearly low expectations given no movie critic was allowed to review it prior to release (flag!). Kristin Kreuk couldn't save the plot and dialogue despite her physical credibility and emotional demeanor presence. Very end of any film that attempts to set up a sequel screams
  20. FarhadH
    Mar 2, 2009
    2
    I expected the movie to be a lot cooler. The director of 300 and wanted should produce this movie. There weren't a lot of special effects like slow motions, close ups, and life like energy moves. The fighting was not as good as I thought and the actors didn't match the characters of street fighter except kristin kruek as Chun-Li. Vega looked like the guy from black eyed peas for I expected the movie to be a lot cooler. The director of 300 and wanted should produce this movie. There weren't a lot of special effects like slow motions, close ups, and life like energy moves. The fighting was not as good as I thought and the actors didn't match the characters of street fighter except kristin kruek as Chun-Li. Vega looked like the guy from black eyed peas for god sake. The story needs to precise and the characters should as well. If they make a sequel with all the characters, please get a new director and take my advice into consideration. Expand
  21. ChadS.
    Feb 28, 2009
    2
    Shoot the piano player. That's the objective. How hard can it be to shoot a concert pianist? Very hard, as it turns out; like in the nightclub scene, where the piano player does a handstand and kicks the guns out of four shooters' hands by virtue of a fluid pirouetting motion. Don't mess with Hong Kong via San Francisco, with a matriculating stint in New York, somewhere in Shoot the piano player. That's the objective. How hard can it be to shoot a concert pianist? Very hard, as it turns out; like in the nightclub scene, where the piano player does a handstand and kicks the guns out of four shooters' hands by virtue of a fluid pirouetting motion. Don't mess with Hong Kong via San Francisco, with a matriculating stint in New York, somewhere in the timeline; don't mess with a Julliard grad. Some of them know Wushu. Rachmaninoff isn't just for girly girls. Concert pianist/martial arts expert: that's a pretty absurd notion of being multi-talented, but for a film like "Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li", musicianship serves as shorthand for character development. Unfortunately, the girl's piano career is subordinated as a tangent, in favor of her other, more kinetic pursuit. When Chun-li(Kristin Kreuk) goes underground in Thailand, the concert pianist explains that she has to forget her past, in order to become one with Bangkok. How convenient for the film's cross-purposes. Instead of being one of the common people(like the slumming rich girl in Pulp's "Common People": Chun-li's rich, too; she says goodbye to her servants before going "Bangkok Forgetful"), Chun-li could have stayed off the streets by playing the piano in some dive(and evoke Francois Truffaut's "Tirez sur le pianiste"). But that won't do; after all, "Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-li" has no real aspirations of being a proper movie. It's pleased as punch with its essentiality of cheesy and uninspired fight sequences under the adulterated facade of girl power. Having the accomplished girl shed her identity just makes it easier for the film to ply its patriarchial bent. Sure, Chun-li kicks ass, but she's under the tutelage of a man. How do you say "To Sir With Love" in Mandarin? So the film takes away her best asset: her fingers. For the film's target audience, a woman who supports herself by playing the piano for tip money may constitute the rumblings of a chick flick. Expand
  22. Johnb
    Mar 2, 2009
    2
    Disappointment doesn't even begin to describe this film. Fan of the game but not of this movie.
  23. Aug 11, 2011
    2
    "Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li" is a sub-par video game adaptation. The story is there, but very poorly put together and occasionally nonsensical. You'd think that that would be alright as long as the action sequences are good, right? Well, no. The action is terribly dull. McDonough is miscast - the antagonist he plays was not at all as menacing as he should have been. An utterly"Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li" is a sub-par video game adaptation. The story is there, but very poorly put together and occasionally nonsensical. You'd think that that would be alright as long as the action sequences are good, right? Well, no. The action is terribly dull. McDonough is miscast - the antagonist he plays was not at all as menacing as he should have been. An utterly forgettable action film. Expand
  24. ZachridW.
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    It works with lots of beer and if you want to "riff-trax" with your friends on it. Or in other words: I know Uwe Boll-movies that do a better performance than this piece of.
  25. useruser
    Sep 16, 2009
    1
    Boring story line / Ms Kreuk can't speak chinese and cantonese properly considering the character was able to speak chinese fluently when still young / Bison equals lame /Charlie, who? / Balrog was decent looking in this movie/ Vega, one of my favourite characters in SF, also the reason I wanted to watch this movie, really flew out of the window.. with the mask bigger than the head Boring story line / Ms Kreuk can't speak chinese and cantonese properly considering the character was able to speak chinese fluently when still young / Bison equals lame /Charlie, who? / Balrog was decent looking in this movie/ Vega, one of my favourite characters in SF, also the reason I wanted to watch this movie, really flew out of the window.. with the mask bigger than the head and two minutes fame before squashed by Chun Li, I was out of words.. that's where I've stopped watching it. Expand
  26. notmatthewtatall
    Apr 12, 2009
    1
    Matthew you are clearly a street fighter fanboy who refuses to admit how terrible this movie was. Granted I will admit a few things I think Kristin Kruek is hot as Lana I think she is quite the eyecandy (I have followed smallville from its beginning and I think her acting has somehow gotten worse over the years when she first started out it was clear she was new to it and it was kind of Matthew you are clearly a street fighter fanboy who refuses to admit how terrible this movie was. Granted I will admit a few things I think Kristin Kruek is hot as Lana I think she is quite the eyecandy (I have followed smallville from its beginning and I think her acting has somehow gotten worse over the years when she first started out it was clear she was new to it and it was kind of cute and looked like she would improve Such is not the case though the more presence she gets the worse her acting gets Why will I never see this movie? A few reasons 1. I had never heard of this movie Street Fighter 4 comes out and about a day or two later there is suddenly a preview for a new Street fighter movie...that I had never even heard of, the preview already looked awful Doing some research? the creators of the movie refused to have an advance screening for the movie AT ALL, This is yet another example of when we pleaded for years for them to make videogame and Superhero movies, now everything has changed and we are pleading for them to STOP ruining series or to at least make a solid effort in making videogame movies, you ready? THE ORIGINAL STREET FIGHTER MOVIE AS INCOHERENT AND NONCANON AS IT POSSIBLY IS? IS BETTER THEN THIS GARBAGE. Expand
  27. Dec 21, 2014
    1
    thanks Andrzej Bartkowiak and Justin Marks now no hollywood studio will ever take a chance on a street fighter movie again. after this movie i wouldn't blame them it is horrible easily up there with the worst video game adaptations. it's terribly acted, terribly shot, the action sequences are horrible and while some of the cast make some sense in theory (but not in practice) whoever castthanks Andrzej Bartkowiak and Justin Marks now no hollywood studio will ever take a chance on a street fighter movie again. after this movie i wouldn't blame them it is horrible easily up there with the worst video game adaptations. it's terribly acted, terribly shot, the action sequences are horrible and while some of the cast make some sense in theory (but not in practice) whoever cast Neal McDonough as M. Bison really needs to rethink his line of work Expand
  28. PatrickR.
    Mar 5, 2009
    0
    im not going to say too much on this because i think the fact that the person who said "not bad" still gave it a 4 speaks volumes... if you saw the previews and still went to see it, you knew what you were getting into. I was hoping it would at least be fun to laugh at the complete stupidity...but all i wanted to do is cry...
  29. ralphp
    May 8, 2009
    0
    This could be one of the worst movies I have ever seen, I started gargling blood during the movie because my body had an anti-crap movie defense put up against this film. I actually asked for a refund after the movie because it was just disgusting made, shot, and put togehter. I would of rather watched a youtube remake or something, please stop ruining good video games with these types of movies.
Metascore
17

Overwhelming dislike - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 9 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    60
    Neither the best nor the worst of movies derived from videogames, Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li at least gives action fans plenty to ogle besides the titular heroine (Kristin Kreuk), whose original incarnation, legend has it, was among the first distaff figures controllable by joystick.
  2. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    20
    Idiot plotting and dialogue are what you'd expect from a genre that typically rewards narrative development with a skip function. But the rote fight scenes are a disappointment.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeremy Wheeler
    25
    There's something special about this underwhelming mess of a Street Fighter reboot that many cinematic cheese-lovers will find very appetizing. The fact is that The Legend of Chun-Li is not at all a good flick, but it's filled with so much cornball ineptitude that one would think some rather broken mad movie genius was behind it.