User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 80
  2. Negative: 6 out of 80
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Robert
    Oct 10, 2008
    9
    I don't think the critics are right on this one. I thought it was a verry good movie and a damn good Keanu Reeves movie.
  2. BoM.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Finally another cop movie that delivers and is king and raises the bar in the world of police corruption, I can't believe no one else gets it, and sees how great this film is. It doesn't get any better then this, I have to put this one in my pile of all time classic great dark cop films, and this is my new number one, among the greats like Training Day, Copland, Internal Finally another cop movie that delivers and is king and raises the bar in the world of police corruption, I can't believe no one else gets it, and sees how great this film is. It doesn't get any better then this, I have to put this one in my pile of all time classic great dark cop films, and this is my new number one, among the greats like Training Day, Copland, Internal Affairs, Narc, LA Confidential, The Departed, Harsh Times, The Negotiator, Expand
  3. Junior
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    This was a surprisingly good movie considering who the lead actor and what type of "professional" reviews this movie received. I left the movie with a great experience and I was entertained the whole way through. Yes, at times it was very typical and some lines were weird but it didn't take much at all away from the movie. A must see for everyone because this is as serious and This was a surprisingly good movie considering who the lead actor and what type of "professional" reviews this movie received. I left the movie with a great experience and I was entertained the whole way through. Yes, at times it was very typical and some lines were weird but it didn't take much at all away from the movie. A must see for everyone because this is as serious and realistic as you get in a movie. If you don't catch this in the theaters, its one for your DVD collection. Collapse
  4. LukeS
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Very fun movie if you weigh two hundred and twenty five pounds.
  5. ScottA
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    This was a badass movie if training day was badass this one just blows it away. There is action, suspense, mystery at every corner. I was really enjoyed watching this movie and the cast was awesome, come on Keanu Reeves ( Neo the chosen one) was badass in his role. Chris Evans was really good too. So far this is the best movie in theater, it's a must watch!!!
  6. Jandra
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    An entertaining thrill ride.
  7. ChrisH.
    Apr 21, 2008
    9
    Great Ellroy adaptation. Vastly underrated, though bears some similarity to 1997's L.A. Confidential
  8. ElisaG.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Great movie. The action is powerful.
  9. JS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    A dark and gritty look at a rogue LAPD detective that is far more plausible than most give it credit for.
  10. TayW.
    Apr 19, 2008
    10
    The movie hits a serious issue of corruption within the law enforcement. Whitaker and Reeves did a wonderful performance.
  11. JohnL.
    May 22, 2008
    9
    In my opinion, this is one of the best cop movies to come out in years. keanu reeves was the right guy to lead this flick and it was great to see Hugh Laurie take on another role, even if he did have several "House-ish" moments. even Chris Evans (who i didn't like in F4) was well placed. yeah there were some 'whatever' moments but overall, it was a good cop movie and i In my opinion, this is one of the best cop movies to come out in years. keanu reeves was the right guy to lead this flick and it was great to see Hugh Laurie take on another role, even if he did have several "House-ish" moments. even Chris Evans (who i didn't like in F4) was well placed. yeah there were some 'whatever' moments but overall, it was a good cop movie and i thoroughly enjoyed it. my last comment is that they took the graphic violence seriously but not too far and that was also very appealing, considering the tone of the movie. i'm hoping for an extended, unrated cut on DVD. Expand
  12. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    great cop movie great plot and acting. the fighting scenes are well done and has some well placed plot twistes. street kings is one of the best movies of 2009
  13. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    'Street Kings' is certainly a cut above most other gritty cop dramas, hardly surprising since it was written by James Elroy, the master of the genre. If you haven't read 'American Tabloid', go out and get it. I'd say it's genre defining, it's that good. Like many like all the big Hollywood stars, Keanu almost always plays himself, which serves him well playing edgy, emotionally spent'Street Kings' is certainly a cut above most other gritty cop dramas, hardly surprising since it was written by James Elroy, the master of the genre. If you haven't read 'American Tabloid', go out and get it. I'd say it's genre defining, it's that good. Like many like all the big Hollywood stars, Keanu almost always plays himself, which serves him well playing edgy, emotionally spent Detective Tom Ludlow. Forest Whitaker is absolutely brilliant, probably the best role he's had since 'Ghost Dog'. He's fantastic to watch in the riveting, final scene, I think there's great chemistry between Whitaker and Reeves. I loved the snappy, 'street jive' type dialogue, and much of the story is quite believable, if somewhat convoluted, but never contrived or boring. Like another reviewer said, I think it sort of comes together a bit quick at the end, I would've enjoyed another 20 mins to flesh the story out a bit more. Hey, I could watch this stuff all day, it's that good. Yet again, the critics are clueless, 'Street Kings' is a really entertaining film, highly recommended. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. "Kings" covers familiar territory but does so with ruthless efficiency, intense performances and a densely packed plot designed to highlight the moral issues that most concern Ayer and Ellroy.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    80
    A brutal look at police corruption that allows director David Ayer and "L.A. Confidential" author James Ellroy to pool their deeply cynical insights.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Grierson
    50
    Ayer's grim police thriller mostly plays as one long dick-measuring competition. You sense that an infinitely more complex drama exists within the film's grasp, but no one bothered to stop guzzling the testosterone long enough to find it.