User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 77
  2. Negative: 9 out of 77

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not gonna bother explaining this movie to you, I'll just summarize the plot with a couple spoilers. A man has religious hallucinations and starts breaking people's skulls for crimes ranging from child molestation to cutting in line. It looks like he might get caught and learn it was crazy all along, for a little while. Then a cop is shot to death in his house, he murders his way through a ranch full of criminals to take back his wife, gets his young accomplice killed, and leaves. Then the movie ends with a saccharine sweet monologue about how he was right all along and what a beautiful life his actions created for him. With logic like that I don't even feel the need to touch on the insane shifts in tone and moral ambiguity. It was a shame, because I almost liked this movie while I thought the loose ends would get wrapped up in a healthy dose of real-world. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    I expected an indie kick-ass and it was. It was also a bad version of kick-ass. Not to say kick-ass was anything special in the first place, but this did not have any thing that was special or fun or anything else it was trying to be.
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    I would not recommend anyone I care about to see this movie. It is not at all like Kickass, and there are very few funny parts. I felt terrible after finishing the movie, as the film in its entirety had a depressing funk that viewers think will be lifted at the end, but it is not. The dialogue is awful, and the language and eapecially graphic violence are all far over the top to the point where it isn't even funny, just shocking they would allow it to be in a movie rated R. This is definitely the darkest movie I've ever seen, darker than Worlds best Dad or Donnie Darko. The conclusion left me wishing I had never started the movie in the first place. Please don't see it. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    Completely awful, calling this a bad movie is too much of a compliment, I've seen bad movies before but this is the worst movie I've ever seen, it has no redeeming features at all, none of the characters are likable, it's not funny, and just a humongous waste of every ones time, honestly I came into this movie thinking I was going to love it because I love movies like Kick-Ass and Defendor where a regular guy just says he's had enough and becomes a super hero and this one was going to be a comedy also so I really was expecting to enjoy it, but as you can see I was extremely disappointed, I literally cannot begin to describe how awful this movie is, I seriously have no words other than this is literally the worst movie ever created, so do yourself and others a favor if you see a copy of this movie anywhere snap the disc in half, I believe the Crimson Bolt said it best when he said "how can something so stupid and idiotic exist?". Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2011
    3
    You can't really call this film a "Black Comedy" as that implies that its funny. This movie is similar to the likes of "Kickass" and "Observe and Report", but as shocking as they were, they were also funny. This isn't. You'd swear was Lars Von Trier asked to help write this.
  6. May 5, 2011
    1
    Best summed up by a reviewer in Variety who said "Waiting for Super to deliver the funny is an experience as long as the film itself. " Take a pass on this one.
  7. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    This movie is a pointless immoral gory bloodbath. It's homicide porn at best. All the characters are insane losers that no sane person can relate to. DO NO WASTE YOUR TIME BY SUPPORTING this liberal garbage.
  8. Apr 7, 2011
    4
    The film is warped. It had the makings of some absurd fun, and it is fun at points, but the pacing just sucks, and the thread that pulls the whole thing together is far too kinky. The Ellen Page bits are by far the best parts of the movie. The violence, incidentally, is surprisingly graphic for a movie like this. Why so many big name actors signed on to this sucker is beyond me - maybe they're all friends of the creative team. I wouldn't bother. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 28, 2011
    20
    There are kernels here of a thoughtful and provocative picture, but they never pop – or POP!, for that matter.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    Take "Kick-Ass." Strip it of most of its wit and charm, amp up the violence, the sadism. Make it more crude and coarse and gory. And what you're left with is Super.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 15, 2011
    75
    The libido and bloodlust flowing from the pint-size Page is the funniest thing in the movie, but elsewhere, the mix of the goofy and ghastly is hard to digest.