User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 56
  2. Negative: 39 out of 56
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    1
    "Suspect Zero" is really as bad as thrillers come - it looks and feels like it took its inspiration from daytime television and bad serials. The movie builds tension and suspense, but at no time did I wonder what's going to happen next - I just kept wondering why the movie was going through so much effort to get there. Ben Kingsley could be considered a saving grace, but to me the fact"Suspect Zero" is really as bad as thrillers come - it looks and feels like it took its inspiration from daytime television and bad serials. The movie builds tension and suspense, but at no time did I wonder what's going to happen next - I just kept wondering why the movie was going through so much effort to get there. Ben Kingsley could be considered a saving grace, but to me the fact that he is in here at all is more an indicator of how badly his career has fallen this decade (just look at his recent filmography). Expand
  2. RonaldT
    May 3, 2005
    8
    Not a total waste of time. More like an independently written episode of the X-files, complete with government conspiracy and a sci-fi twist.
  3. RickM
    May 22, 2005
    8
    Good movie. Well filmed. Intriguing story line.
  4. Greg
    May 24, 2005
    6
    Ben Kingsley - yes. This movie - no.
  5. richardm.
    Jun 11, 2005
    7
    Wife and I had read other user reviews as well as the critics before viewing and expected to be disappointed. No way! It was slow to grab us but it did and then some. Unusual, spooky and definitely worth watching.
  6. AmarT
    Aug 13, 2005
    8
    I dunno abt all the -ve reviews, but i thought this was an interesting flick.
  7. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    5
    Hard to follow thriller, that barely keeps you awake through the entirety of the film. Aaron Eckhard does an okay job as the smart police detective, but Carrie-Anne Moss does the same character she played in The Matrix. The real highlight is Ben Kingsley's extraordinary performance (as usual) -- but he isn't featured throughout the movie. The feature tries to be too much like Hard to follow thriller, that barely keeps you awake through the entirety of the film. Aaron Eckhard does an okay job as the smart police detective, but Carrie-Anne Moss does the same character she played in The Matrix. The real highlight is Ben Kingsley's extraordinary performance (as usual) -- but he isn't featured throughout the movie. The feature tries to be too much like 1995's masterpiece "Se7en". But it's not. The only eye-opening scene in the whole movie, is the ending showdown between Kingsley's crazed serial killer and Eckhart's haunted detective, that surprisingly packs a pretty strong emotional punch. When all is said in down, it's safe to skip it in the theaters and wait for DVD. Expand
  8. KathleenG.
    Aug 27, 2004
    1
    I LOVE serial killer movies, but this was so wretched and boring I would have left 30 minutes into it to get my money back.....if comps hadn't already been offered to the audience since the sound wasn't sycned the first ten minutes. Slow, plot holes, laughingly bad direction all ruined what could have been a fun romp with Aaron Eckert and Ghandi. It was so bad that I almost want I LOVE serial killer movies, but this was so wretched and boring I would have left 30 minutes into it to get my money back.....if comps hadn't already been offered to the audience since the sound wasn't sycned the first ten minutes. Slow, plot holes, laughingly bad direction all ruined what could have been a fun romp with Aaron Eckert and Ghandi. It was so bad that I almost want to see Brown Bunny. Expand
  9. Wildguy
    Aug 28, 2004
    2
    This movie was BAD. The script struggled from the beginning. The directing was fragmented. The music seemed oddly-placed. Even the editing was flawed in a couple of places where the effect was jarring. Now, Kingsley is good in just about everything I've seen him in. This is no exception. He was the one part of this project that I enjoyed watching. Eckhart is a great actor but his This movie was BAD. The script struggled from the beginning. The directing was fragmented. The music seemed oddly-placed. Even the editing was flawed in a couple of places where the effect was jarring. Now, Kingsley is good in just about everything I've seen him in. This is no exception. He was the one part of this project that I enjoyed watching. Eckhart is a great actor but his performance here was inconsistent. Moss offers nothing special. I really enjoy this kind of movie. But, this was made poorly. Collapse
  10. FreddyJ.
    Aug 27, 2004
    9
    Screw the critics! This is a terrific movie!
  11. ChadS.
    Aug 29, 2004
    3
    "Suspect Zero" loses its mediocre status when the story stops making sense. Thomas (Aaron Eckhart) spots an ice cream rig and calls Fran (Carrie-Ann Moss) if the victims had freezer burn. Thomas follows the truck to an amusement park and has a run-in with Benjamin (Ben Kingsley). What's not made clear is if that rig was disguised from its original black color, or if Benjamin foresaw "Suspect Zero" loses its mediocre status when the story stops making sense. Thomas (Aaron Eckhart) spots an ice cream rig and calls Fran (Carrie-Ann Moss) if the victims had freezer burn. Thomas follows the truck to an amusement park and has a run-in with Benjamin (Ben Kingsley). What's not made clear is if that rig was disguised from its original black color, or if Benjamin foresaw Thomas following a vehicle that's not the killer's wheels to a carnival for their encounter. We're also not sure how Benjamin drugged Thomas in broad daylight. "Suspect Zero" refers to a serial killer who evades capture because he's invisible unlike the celebrity seeking murderer who leaves behind a calling card at his crime scenes. But the killer drives a big black truck! That's not the right vehicle for a killer who wants to remain anonymous. "Suspect Zero" is like the meeting place of cancelled supernatural Fox dramas. Benjamin is Frank Black from "Millennium", while Fran and Thomas are Scully and Mulder from "The X-Files". Expand
  12. RichardG.
    Aug 30, 2004
    3
    Thank god for Ben Kingsley. He saved this movie man. This movie has atrocious direction. The camera work tries to scare the viewers with all the flashing and jumping, but then nothing happens, so the viewer isnt scared anymore. Kingsley needs to get better work than this. He cant be wasting his talent on this type of work. all the other actors were poor. But kingsley was able to pull it Thank god for Ben Kingsley. He saved this movie man. This movie has atrocious direction. The camera work tries to scare the viewers with all the flashing and jumping, but then nothing happens, so the viewer isnt scared anymore. Kingsley needs to get better work than this. He cant be wasting his talent on this type of work. all the other actors were poor. But kingsley was able to pull it off, even with a bad script!! Expand
  13. LesB.
    Apr 22, 2005
    8
    Actually I thought it was pretty good.
  14. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    Movies like this absolutely kill me! The story they have to work with is top notch, the cast is terrific, and the movie sucked. The movie is all about tracking down this infamous serial killer with a horrible and gruesome reputation. They don't show what led to this reputation, any of his crimes, or what got them to that point. It's like jumping into a crappy direct to video sequel, afterMovies like this absolutely kill me! The story they have to work with is top notch, the cast is terrific, and the movie sucked. The movie is all about tracking down this infamous serial killer with a horrible and gruesome reputation. They don't show what led to this reputation, any of his crimes, or what got them to that point. It's like jumping into a crappy direct to video sequel, after missing the blockbuster film that led to it. Nothing significant ever happens in this movie! Which then begs the question, what's the point in even making it? Expand
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    A plodding and familiar "cop sees what the killer sees" riff that plays like a poorly inflated "The X-Files" episode.
  2. Suspect Zero has enough going for it to eventually develop a cult following. But compared to "Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven," it's still the minor leagues.
  3. 40
    Given nothing to do, Carrie-Anne Moss looks on from the sidelines as the film halfheartedly toys with the tired old notion that only a thin line separates the dogged investigator and the compulsive killer. She looks bored, and she should.