DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 21, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 549 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
418
Mixed:
76
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
bmaster4616Jan 5, 2015
It's a horror movie musical with singing throughout the movie. The story isn't good on it's own. With troupes and characters that are out of every horror movie. The story is unique and the settings are great, but Tim Burton is one the mostIt's a horror movie musical with singing throughout the movie. The story isn't good on it's own. With troupes and characters that are out of every horror movie. The story is unique and the settings are great, but Tim Burton is one the most overrated director of all time. This is one of the most overrated horror movies of all time. Nothing special or unique. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
DemonDan13Dec 28, 2016
This movie was a cornerstone in film for me. Not because it was good, but because it shown me that both Tim Burton and Johnny Depp were one trick ponies. Depp especially. He cannot survive as an actor without some strange, quirkyThis movie was a cornerstone in film for me. Not because it was good, but because it shown me that both Tim Burton and Johnny Depp were one trick ponies. Depp especially. He cannot survive as an actor without some strange, quirky character. Burton seems to be making the same movie over and over. I don't know how either still get work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MrPresidentAug 27, 2012
It was dreadful, to be honest. None of the leads can sing and the music is horribly repetitive while still being forgettable. I would no doubt rank it higher if it had actual decent singers (as I know the musical has its fans) but thisIt was dreadful, to be honest. None of the leads can sing and the music is horribly repetitive while still being forgettable. I would no doubt rank it higher if it had actual decent singers (as I know the musical has its fans) but this rendition just made me dislike the musical as a whole. You don't forgo talent to hire your friends if you want artistic integrity and this film is a prime example why. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
IanK.Jan 2, 2008
Musicals suck this is sooooo over rated crap.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
HenryJJan 2, 2008
Boo. Truly terrible. The problem mainly lies in the music, which is trite both melodically and lyrically.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
3
PhilDFeb 23, 2008
Someone has to say it: Tim Burton is a hasbeen. There, I said it, and I'm glad it's out there. Quell your outrage for a moment and just entertain the idea. You know I'm right. His 'unique visual style' is totally Someone has to say it: Tim Burton is a hasbeen. There, I said it, and I'm glad it's out there. Quell your outrage for a moment and just entertain the idea. You know I'm right. His 'unique visual style' is totally stagnant, he really hasn't got much feeling for pace or character or timing. He's just 'quirky', and his quirks are getting old really fast. I've seen more captivating insights into the nature of man during my little brothers christmas pageants. I can put up with one or two godawful pieces of trash, but Sweeny Todd has confirmed my suspicions that Burton is clueless. The less said about the singing the better. Depp, frankly, is embarrassing. The songs themselves are totally forgettable, and not at all funny. The plot is predictable. Remarkably, the minor characters are the only redeeming feature in this disaster. Old what's-his-name, the short fat guy with the top hat - I liked him. Also, young so-and-so, the one who rescued what's-her-name from wherever. He was intriguing. Carter, too, was excellent as usual. Throw in the towel Burton. Your time is up! ps If anyone starts oozing about what a genius Burton is I want to point out that you are probably still delirious from the poisonous garbage he's been shoveling down your throat and are incapable of judgment. Later. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful
2
DJDannyApr 6, 2008
This is bad. Critics gave this an 83? WTF. Metacritic needs to readjust the critic calculation. [Ed: Sure thing, DJ....]
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
NavdeepS.Aug 8, 2009
To say the least this movie would be the last on the list i would like to watch(even if its a Johny Depp movie).The reason i didn't like this movie was was not made for normal people.....i mean how can a person serve burgers having To say the least this movie would be the last on the list i would like to watch(even if its a Johny Depp movie).The reason i didn't like this movie was was not made for normal people.....i mean how can a person serve burgers having human organs.......and to add to the woes ending of the movie was ridiculous. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ArthurXJan 21, 2008
Before the first half of the movie was over, I found myself praying that someone would come along and kill Johnny Depp's character. The songs ranged from mediocre, to banal and extremely trying. I use the "songs" loosely because a Before the first half of the movie was over, I found myself praying that someone would come along and kill Johnny Depp's character. The songs ranged from mediocre, to banal and extremely trying. I use the "songs" loosely because a couple "songs" consisted of the endless repetition of the same two word refrains. The mood is consistently inappropriate, either being too dreary or too lighthearted. I just can't say enough negative things about this movie. The characters were dull and the conclusion was predictable. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
FM.Jan 3, 2008
I've enjoyed cinema for years ... and even like 'dark' cinema (e.g. Naked Lunch, Tideland). I found this to be barely watchable and unintelligent drivel. I think I'll stay at home and play the BluRay release of I've enjoyed cinema for years ... and even like 'dark' cinema (e.g. Naked Lunch, Tideland). I found this to be barely watchable and unintelligent drivel. I think I'll stay at home and play the BluRay release of BladeRunner again to review art. I really wish that Tim Burton would find his Emo muse and would end up in a meat pie. Nightmare before Christmas was solid and a classic with a wonderful Elfman score ... what happened Mr. Burton? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
JamesV.Jan 4, 2008
Do not see this movie, it's terrible. Be warned it's a musical, a tongue in check one at that and very bad. I have liked all of the other Burton/ Depp collaborations but this one feels like they are trying to just mess with the Do not see this movie, it's terrible. Be warned it's a musical, a tongue in check one at that and very bad. I have liked all of the other Burton/ Depp collaborations but this one feels like they are trying to just mess with the studios and put out a purposefully bad dud. I have never written a review before and felt compelled to do so because I feel they ripped me off by putting out this "from Dusk Till Dawn" type trash. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
RickyQJan 7, 2008
Overall, this is the most over hyped film I have ever seen. If the music was memorable I would understand all the great reviews, but really I don
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
WhitneyTJan 9, 2008
What happened to the Burton charm of Edward Scissorhands? This movie was over-marketed, over-produced, over-musical. Nothing memorable, except the stupidity that the characters in this dark tale break into ridiculous, unappealing songs every What happened to the Burton charm of Edward Scissorhands? This movie was over-marketed, over-produced, over-musical. Nothing memorable, except the stupidity that the characters in this dark tale break into ridiculous, unappealing songs every five minutes. It made me groan every time I heard the score starting up. Maybe it would've worked better if it weren't a musical. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
AlessandroC.Feb 25, 2008
Truly terrible. Boring, boring and... boring!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
DBDec 28, 2007
Wow. It's amazing how easily people are impressed. This film was not scary, it was not interesting, and while I have not seen the musical on which the film is based, I cannot imagine this tossed-off piece of tripe could have done it Wow. It's amazing how easily people are impressed. This film was not scary, it was not interesting, and while I have not seen the musical on which the film is based, I cannot imagine this tossed-off piece of tripe could have done it justice. It is poorly directed and shot, and plods along like a utilitarian summary of its source material. Helena Bonham Carter is pretty good, and Johnny isn't bad either, but they are chained to one or two grim sets for the whole film, forced to rattle off with straight blank faces music that is obviously meant to underscore a spiral into whirling insanity. And shocking? If this movie made some chilling point about humanity, it must have been hidden at the end of the closing credits. If this movie was somehow disturbing, I guess I'm sort of zombie, cause I am not a watcher of horror movies at all and this didn't even make me squirm. All in all, if you want to see something grim, go see a Todd Solondz movie or something. In any case, a movie with structure, characters, creativity and competence might have been appreciated. As for me? I'm now regretting I wasted more of my time on this tepid Dickensian knockoff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MichaelMJan 18, 2008
I've been the kind of person that reads movie reviews and NEVER says anything myself, but I can't let this one go. This movie had to be one of the most overrated, overhyped two hours of musical boredom. I have been a fan of a lot I've been the kind of person that reads movie reviews and NEVER says anything myself, but I can't let this one go. This movie had to be one of the most overrated, overhyped two hours of musical boredom. I have been a fan of a lot of Depp and Burton's movies, but this one was one of the least entertaining movies I've seen in awhile. The general activity in the theatre seemed to be divided between checking watches and just trying to stay awake. The dreary, lifeless sets and characters were obviously all well crafted to create a dreary and lifeless tale this time. This film was not unsettling, hardly scary and above all else just not interesting. If had to choose one word to sum up this movie it would be "boring," if had two it would be VERY BORING. If you are a lover of musicals, or tim burton just watch one of your own favorites instead of damaging those feelings by watching this tripe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KennethM.Jan 2, 2008
About 20 minutes worth of dark chuckles mixed in with an hour and a half of eye glazing boredom. Honestly, have you had the wool pulled over your eyes by Burton? This film was awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
L.F.Jan 2, 2008
Two stars for the great costumes and for getting to see Helena Bonham Carter (we see far too much of Johnny Depp already, thanks). The film is vile, bloody, and utterly pointless. The gore serves no point other than gross-out. The songs will Two stars for the great costumes and for getting to see Helena Bonham Carter (we see far too much of Johnny Depp already, thanks). The film is vile, bloody, and utterly pointless. The gore serves no point other than gross-out. The songs will stick in your head, but only in way that annoying jingles do as they are repetitive and grating. It will make you sigh for the happier days of "Beetlejuice". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TariqP.Jan 24, 2008
I completely agree with so many of you. Style over substance. I found this painfully hard to watch as it was so boring
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShabahoJ.Jan 6, 2008
I was thouroughly browned throughout, therefore it is safe to say that i was in the best mindset to view the film, and so i enjoyed it immensely. But it was pretty lackluster besides being stoned on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FrederickM.Apr 10, 2008
just shoot me, thats what i said heading out of the theatre, I absolutely hated this musical/slasher flick, the two should never meet again, except for Jason Voorhies meets the Brady bunch, then...maybe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CBoyApr 11, 2008
I'll admit it is full of blood and Johnny was brilliant in it but thats just circumstantial compared to the sheer rubbishness of the story!!!
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PeterC.Dec 20, 2007
Depp cannot have any spirit until he shows us that he has one, don't anyone let us get past these high reviews, Depp is as much of a dull name as Johnny. John Depp, the perfect name for a bore, as Tim Burton's skill proceeds to be Depp cannot have any spirit until he shows us that he has one, don't anyone let us get past these high reviews, Depp is as much of a dull name as Johnny. John Depp, the perfect name for a bore, as Tim Burton's skill proceeds to be very dark and bloodily violent, all we get to see the actor's place their off-beat singing voices that toon off the strength of the song. There is no magic in this thats for sure, no pressence of taste, and nothing but quirky unexcellency. They should have gotten rid of the dead bodies, because they are stinking up the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EvanA.Dec 20, 2007
This will be the next Oscar contending, golden globe award winning masterpiece of the year, although the story basic's are uncompelled, boring, hard to watch being performed, weak, and corny status. They make this movie weird and This will be the next Oscar contending, golden globe award winning masterpiece of the year, although the story basic's are uncompelled, boring, hard to watch being performed, weak, and corny status. They make this movie weird and awkward in taste, it is hard to get used to, and once it reaches initial incodent, things just get worse, it seems as though Tim Burton wants us to go home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TommyC.Dec 20, 2007
Wow!!! 88? For critics? Huh? I'm lost? Is this a joke? Like seriously, i think i was watching the wrong movie. So, can we for now on count on trust critics? no! And if National Treasure was an amusing good movie then why do they say 39? Wow!!! 88? For critics? Huh? I'm lost? Is this a joke? Like seriously, i think i was watching the wrong movie. So, can we for now on count on trust critics? no! And if National Treasure was an amusing good movie then why do they say 39? Because it is not us that are watching the wrong movie!!!! It is just our opinions! I confess myself, dissapointed, not one of the concepts grabbed me in entertainment, Tim burton fools around with history and make it weird and twisted into dark times of crap, so be it. This movie sucks, and it looks cool, and they try to entertain you with so much, but truly I was bored from opening logos to the end of the credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WalterH.Dec 23, 2007
What should have been bloody FUN (Todd is supposed to be a dark comedy, equal parts horror and humor) is instead bloody boring. The best one-liners from the stage production have been axed, and the scant humor that remains is downplayed. The What should have been bloody FUN (Todd is supposed to be a dark comedy, equal parts horror and humor) is instead bloody boring. The best one-liners from the stage production have been axed, and the scant humor that remains is downplayed. The dueling love stories (Todd and Lovett, the sailor and Joanna) are giving only surface treatment to make room for more brooding by Depp. And while Depp at least manages a few captivating gestures and glances, Bonham Carter is a breathy, clueless disaster. Deepens one's respect for the amazing achievement of John Doyle, Patti LuPone and Michael Cerveris in the Broadway revival. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
UncleDouglasB.Dec 23, 2007
A powerful blunder of epic proportions. Like a horrendous train wreck, this smoldering pile drags on for eternity. Viewing this movie will cause boredom, nausea and increased blood pressure. Loss of self worth/respect is inevitable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JenniferR.Dec 25, 2007
It is not a good sign for a film when you see other audience members beside yourself checking your watch. I have to wonder if I'm missing something; or perhaps I'm simply not as cultured as others, but my God, this movie was It is not a good sign for a film when you see other audience members beside yourself checking your watch. I have to wonder if I'm missing something; or perhaps I'm simply not as cultured as others, but my God, this movie was boring. Tim Burton didn't even have to decency to use brighter colors (besides for the blood) in an effort to keep his audience awake. The music, story, and acting were all such a disappointment, especially after reading so many glowing reviews. And I'm very tired of Johnny Depp brooding in every Tim Burton film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimK.Dec 31, 2007
Predictable and boring. The music is tedious. Between a song here and there I got lost in the movie a bit, so I can't give it a one or a two, but jeeze, other than for maybe 5 minutes in total, I never once lost sight of the fact that I Predictable and boring. The music is tedious. Between a song here and there I got lost in the movie a bit, so I can't give it a one or a two, but jeeze, other than for maybe 5 minutes in total, I never once lost sight of the fact that I was in a theatre watching a movie difficult to get through. And I like Johnny Dep. This just isn't a very good movie, little is original in the idea of slashing and serving the victims for dinner. In a word, trite. It just is not a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RonaldG.Jan 22, 2008
Johnny Depp is always good and Sasha Cohen is wonderful in his short appearance, but how often can you watch Depp slit someone's throat? Can't wait for the copycat crimes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MCDec 22, 2007
I am a film fanatic and a HUGE Tim Burton film. Im not sure what movie everyone was watching when they voted and the critics reviewed. The acting was great and I may be alone on this as well, but Sacha Baron Cohen stole the movie. However, I I am a film fanatic and a HUGE Tim Burton film. Im not sure what movie everyone was watching when they voted and the critics reviewed. The acting was great and I may be alone on this as well, but Sacha Baron Cohen stole the movie. However, I thought it was one of the least entertaining movies I've seen. I dont mind dark, I dont mind blood, but give us something that doesnt make us feel completely uneasy. The funniest part was at the end of the movie when 1 single person started clapping and everyone laughed. I dont think I was alone with how I felt. Completely disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArmondW.Dec 25, 2007
This isn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanaM.Dec 31, 2007
Run, don't walk from this movie. If I could give this a minus rating I would. Can't say I've sat through a more dark gruesome morbid movie in many years. If your idea of a good movie is to view at least a dozen graphic throat Run, don't walk from this movie. If I could give this a minus rating I would. Can't say I've sat through a more dark gruesome morbid movie in many years. If your idea of a good movie is to view at least a dozen graphic throat slashings with spurting blood, then this is the movie for you. Contemptable at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful