User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 544 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 544
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Domo
    Feb 16, 2009
    2
    I like Liam Neeson. I like Luc Besson. I even like Pierre Morel and thought his District B13 was great fun. But this? No, not so much. "I'll tear down the Eiffel Tower if I have to" and such dialogue was worse than any fingernails on the chalkboard and the ignorant xenophobia that's framed as paternal love is so ridiculous it hurt. Had they played up the camp aspect of all this I like Liam Neeson. I like Luc Besson. I even like Pierre Morel and thought his District B13 was great fun. But this? No, not so much. "I'll tear down the Eiffel Tower if I have to" and such dialogue was worse than any fingernails on the chalkboard and the ignorant xenophobia that's framed as paternal love is so ridiculous it hurt. Had they played up the camp aspect of all this crap it might have been more enjoyable. As it is, it just plays to the myopic Middle American mindset that equates "foreign" with "evil", shows an older actor pathetically attempting Expand
  2. BobK.
    Feb 9, 2009
    2
    "Taken" is an insult to the intelligence of the viewers and the star of the movie. The action sequences are just as unbelievable as the other events in the script.
  3. ChrisW
    Mar 17, 2009
    1
    Utterly and completely awful. Taken trips along, fueled only by Liam Neeson's passable performance. To say Neeomson's performance is anything but aweful is to say a lot though seeing as the script was like that of a D grade straight to DVD thriller. More disturbing still was the definite xenophobic vibe that oozes from this peice of tripe. If the Bourne movies (which I actually Utterly and completely awful. Taken trips along, fueled only by Liam Neeson's passable performance. To say Neeomson's performance is anything but aweful is to say a lot though seeing as the script was like that of a D grade straight to DVD thriller. More disturbing still was the definite xenophobic vibe that oozes from this peice of tripe. If the Bourne movies (which I actually quite admire) and Hostel were to meet and produce an ungodly bastard child, he would resemble this. Expand
  4. Mr.Anon
    Mar 3, 2009
    0
    The most xenophobic movie I've ever had the misfortune to see. There is one part where he shoots a person for being French, how does this get released?
  5. markr
    May 12, 2009
    3
    It's passable. You know the movies where 10 bad guys are shooting at the hero and nobody hits him? That's this one. Repeatedly. How bout the movie where everyone tries to kill the hero, then just when they got him, they tie him up, wait till he wakes up, says some fancy words, and then say "kill him!". Yep. Got that too. Watch one of the Bourne movies again instead. They're It's passable. You know the movies where 10 bad guys are shooting at the hero and nobody hits him? That's this one. Repeatedly. How bout the movie where everyone tries to kill the hero, then just when they got him, they tie him up, wait till he wakes up, says some fancy words, and then say "kill him!". Yep. Got that too. Watch one of the Bourne movies again instead. They're much better. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    1
    Taken represents a wierd oblique encouragement for western authorities to 'take the gloves off' when dealing with middle eastern threats, represented here by Albanian slave traders with a crescent moon tattoos. The other enemies, of course are the corrupt, and decadent French, who for some sin or other are characterised as ammoral devils who would turn a blind eye on western girls beingTaken represents a wierd oblique encouragement for western authorities to 'take the gloves off' when dealing with middle eastern threats, represented here by Albanian slave traders with a crescent moon tattoos. The other enemies, of course are the corrupt, and decadent French, who for some sin or other are characterised as ammoral devils who would turn a blind eye on western girls being sold into sexual servitude for just a few Euros. Somewhat wierd for a movie that cites a Frenchman in its production. Sadly fact is usually more amazing than fantasy and this movie is no exception. Something based on the real plight of Eastern European women being sold into forced prostitution could have been far more compelling. This movie soon degenerates into a sadistic tirade of the hero beating up and killing dozens of run-of-the mill bad guys. The movie has no pauses, no moments of realisation, nothing interesting or scary. No good dialogue, nothing but the celebration of the killing prowess of a professional killer. Liam Neesen dials in a very unenthusiastic performance looking very much like an actor who lost his wife in a skiing accident, with no interest in the slightest in making a movie glorifying murder, going through the motions because he will get a paycheck so that he can go back and spend quality time trying to live as happily as he can in the shadow of his loss. As far as I can see the whole thing is some kind of propaganda effort trying to reinforce negative stereotypes. The action is the same crap you see in almost every American movie these days. Fight scenes where the hero is good at ramming random household objects up the noses and into the brains of certified 100% guaranteed 'bad guys' who deserved to die. The audience is thus invited to relish and glorify a whole bunch of romantically enhanced butchery, and feel great when the good duy inevitably walks into the sunset, without even bruised knuckles. Since practically everything made in America is made to exactly the same recipe, taken is your standard contemporary American garbage with a Frenchman embarrassing himself in the credits. I'm sure Albanian slave traders are very nasty indeed. A movie that dealt into the hows and whys of that would have been much better than this crap. Don't movie makers understand that incessant violence dilutes the dramatic power of violence. The fear of death is worse than death. There are a thousand creative cliches that advice film makers on what constitutes narrative power. All yellow and red reviews indicate signs of intelligence. Green constitute the mob. Fools all. Expand
  7. Mike
    Jun 8, 2009
    0
    Laughable action sequences, laughable story. avoid at all costs!
  8. YInksMerlyn
    Feb 4, 2009
    3
    This movie is utter garbage, now i knw why d name "liam neeson" rang no bells..."Taken" definitli topped mi list of crappiest movies of 2008.i mean seriosly,i was nt d list bit thrilled...nd d 1 liners "this is nt a threat,wen i get u it will b very slow nd it will hurt".(wit unbelievable sarcasm)..oh no plzz,im so scared,im literally shaken in my boots....wat a joke.HORRIBLE ACTING,AvoidThis movie is utter garbage, now i knw why d name "liam neeson" rang no bells..."Taken" definitli topped mi list of crappiest movies of 2008.i mean seriosly,i was nt d list bit thrilled...nd d 1 liners "this is nt a threat,wen i get u it will b very slow nd it will hurt".(wit unbelievable sarcasm)..oh no plzz,im so scared,im literally shaken in my boots....wat a joke.HORRIBLE ACTING,Avoid dis movie Expand
  9. Scott
    Mar 15, 2009
    3
    There were about 3 good minutes in this otherwise awful, derivative movie. Wait until it hits cable.
  10. RayS
    Apr 18, 2009
    2
    Taken produced by same French team that made the Transporter flicks, Clueless mother lets her daughter go on a trip to Europe with only another girl who just supposedly turned 18. They get kidnapped by an Albanian ring who specialize in white slavery, etc. Liam Neeson, the father, is an ex some kind of special op's for the government. In other words, he knows how to kick ass. He goes Taken produced by same French team that made the Transporter flicks, Clueless mother lets her daughter go on a trip to Europe with only another girl who just supposedly turned 18. They get kidnapped by an Albanian ring who specialize in white slavery, etc. Liam Neeson, the father, is an ex some kind of special op's for the government. In other words, he knows how to kick ass. He goes over to Paris and proceeds to become a one man Albanian but kicking crew. I believe he kills or maims half the Albanians in Paris before he gets his daughter back! If you have ever seen Mystery Science Theater, with the wise ass robot making fun of the proceedings , then that was I watching this flick. Neeson does a great acting job keeping a straight face throughout. Lots of silly action and over the top fighting and violence. Give it a 2 for the amusement factor. Expand
  11. xLAWx
    May 27, 2009
    2
    Not a realistic movie, the old agent taking on the whole gang is impossible for me. A boring plot.
  12. Sep 26, 2012
    1
    This movie was long and drawn out, Taken's plot used several cliches and had several awkward moments. Taken was painful to watch.The movie is boring and doesn't get engaging until the end.
  13. Nov 30, 2013
    3
    I saw it last year and I still don't see the hype with this film. A father trying to find his daughter somehow turns into an action epic. Reallly???????????? Don't even get me started on 2
  14. May 20, 2013
    1
    It's horrible, too unrealistic. Weak guys are always dumb, die stupid. Protagonist always wins the battle easily. I hate it.
  15. someonewatching
    Feb 25, 2009
    1
    Liam is a cheater he set it to god-mode , killed them all, and got his daughter back.. well just another crap and wasted time watching it.
  16. BC
    May 30, 2009
    0
    I don't even know where to begin...this movie is such a complete paint-by-numbers formula movie. Vacuous teen daughter played by a mid-twenties actress - CHECK; phony family situation where Dad has had life pass him by to only now realize it - CHECK; Director that uses shifty camera work to conceal poor chase and fight scenes - CHECK ; How sad and pathetic and what a complete waste I don't even know where to begin...this movie is such a complete paint-by-numbers formula movie. Vacuous teen daughter played by a mid-twenties actress - CHECK; phony family situation where Dad has had life pass him by to only now realize it - CHECK; Director that uses shifty camera work to conceal poor chase and fight scenes - CHECK ; How sad and pathetic and what a complete waste of time. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME...run for your life..save yourselves. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Bernard Besserglik
    50
    Might do good business at home and abroad among audiences unconcerned with the finer points of characterization or psychological insight.
  2. 40
    You do wonder how this commanding actor (Neeson)--who carries so much more conviction than the plot--felt about delivering the line "I'll tear down the Eiffel Tower if I have to."
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    60
    Neeson growls his way through the functional dialogue as an unstoppable killing machine in impressive, cold-eyed style.