Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 30, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 604 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
454
Mixed:
85
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ElijahH.Jan 30, 2009
10 minutes of set up for 80 minutes of intense, non-stop action. I saw this movie last year in Australia and loved every minute of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ricosalsaFeb 1, 2009
Influenced by the Bourne films, but unlike those, fails to make sense of the way a professional would handle himself in the given situation. Neesons character dives suicidally head-first into problems which would require thinking and Influenced by the Bourne films, but unlike those, fails to make sense of the way a professional would handle himself in the given situation. Neesons character dives suicidally head-first into problems which would require thinking and calculation, and instant gratification follows. You would expect more from such quality actors and writers. (The personal issue at hand can't excuse the total lack of sensible behavior. If that were the case, the movie would negate itself). If you replace Neeson with Steven Seagal, it would accentuate what this movie really is: A mediocre action-flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DustinFeb 2, 2009
Don't believe these morons (critics), Taken is an overall great movie. The pacing is perfect, with never a dull moment or long, drawn out dialogue scene. Neeson is entirely believable, especially if you are familiar with the problems of Don't believe these morons (critics), Taken is an overall great movie. The pacing is perfect, with never a dull moment or long, drawn out dialogue scene. Neeson is entirely believable, especially if you are familiar with the problems of human trafficking. Can't wait to get this on Blu-ray. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SasoKFeb 4, 2009
Best action thriller in 2008 by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidHFeb 17, 2009
It's always entertaining to watch scumbags have justice served on them in an abrupt fashion, rather than have them surf through a dysfunctional legal system. Liam Neeson is a good choice for this part and plays it well. Sadly, this It's always entertaining to watch scumbags have justice served on them in an abrupt fashion, rather than have them surf through a dysfunctional legal system. Liam Neeson is a good choice for this part and plays it well. Sadly, this movie starts out strong but dwindles to a shoddy plot finish. It's as though the writers had a great idea to start but ran out of time and scratched out the ending in the wee hours of one morning on a napkin. The low point is when Neeson's somewhat estranged and clueless daughter, after watching her father risk life, limb and everything to get her back, basically just gives him a hug and then goes back to her even more clueless mother and stepfather. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kevinfFeb 21, 2009
A hugely entertaining rollercoaster ride as Neeson cuts a swathe through the Albanian criminal diaspora on the hunt for his abducted daughter. Wildly un-PC but Bourne fans will love this one too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpectrekFeb 2, 2009
Very good story, great action, Liam Neeson did a very good job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobCFeb 2, 2009
The problem is people are comparing this to other revenge movies. When simply this movie is all about an endless sacrifice and the power and emotion behind this makes you realise that family is the most important thing of all. I related to The problem is people are comparing this to other revenge movies. When simply this movie is all about an endless sacrifice and the power and emotion behind this makes you realise that family is the most important thing of all. I related to this movie so much as I have a daughter and felt the real emotion. Amazingly acted and one of the best character relationships I've seen in a movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
someonewatchingFeb 25, 2009
Liam is a cheater he set it to god-mode , killed them all, and got his daughter back.. well just another crap and wasted time watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArtGFeb 3, 2009
Purely viseral. Belivable for the most part, no super human abilities. I do wish however hollywood would learn how actual gunfights occure rather than the taking turns shooting around corners at each other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
YInksMerlynFeb 4, 2009
This movie is utter garbage, now i knw why d name "liam neeson" rang no bells..."Taken" definitli topped mi list of crappiest movies of 2008.i mean seriosly,i was nt d list bit thrilled...nd d 1 liners "this is nt a threat,wen i get u it willThis movie is utter garbage, now i knw why d name "liam neeson" rang no bells..."Taken" definitli topped mi list of crappiest movies of 2008.i mean seriosly,i was nt d list bit thrilled...nd d 1 liners "this is nt a threat,wen i get u it will b very slow nd it will hurt".(wit unbelievable sarcasm)..oh no plzz,im so scared,im literally shaken in my boots....wat a joke.HORRIBLE ACTING,Avoid dis movie Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
larryk.Feb 6, 2009
Saso, Dave, the Captain, Art, the Spectre, Martin, and Dustin have got it right. "Don't believe these morons (critics)"! Taken is not the kind of movie you over-analyze like critics are compelled to do. It's the kind of movie to Saso, Dave, the Captain, Art, the Spectre, Martin, and Dustin have got it right. "Don't believe these morons (critics)"! Taken is not the kind of movie you over-analyze like critics are compelled to do. It's the kind of movie to just be enjoyed. It's good fiction and a very entertaining thriller. Liam Neeson makes a wonderful kick-ass daddy who gives the bad guys exactly what they deserve and you enjoy every minute of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JodySFeb 6, 2009
Don't listen to these ridiculous low scores from the critics. The movie was very well shot and edited and is great for what it is... a non stop action movie. Neeson is great, the fight scenes are well done and the movie keeps you on the Don't listen to these ridiculous low scores from the critics. The movie was very well shot and edited and is great for what it is... a non stop action movie. Neeson is great, the fight scenes are well done and the movie keeps you on the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimT.Feb 6, 2009
Pure adrenaline. Anyone who expected anything else thinks too much and will be disappointed. A fun getaway film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michaelv.Feb 7, 2009
What do we need critics for ? They gave this movie 50 out of 100 and now the movie maybe wont come to Denmark. By accident i saw it at hotel Room in England and its one of the most exciting ive ever seen. So thumbs down to critics and thumbs What do we need critics for ? They gave this movie 50 out of 100 and now the movie maybe wont come to Denmark. By accident i saw it at hotel Room in England and its one of the most exciting ive ever seen. So thumbs down to critics and thumbs up to movie and look at user average before my vote. 8,2 out of 10 ? Do we have a gap ? I believe so. Watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaFeb 9, 2009
I thought this movie was excellent! I am still thinking about it and all the parts that really had me jump!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StanMMar 30, 2009
Some would say taken is a ridiculous far fetched thriller, their very wrong compare it to say hitman or the transporter series, now those get far fetched this is more like the bourne series better realism in its action, and yes perhaps the Some would say taken is a ridiculous far fetched thriller, their very wrong compare it to say hitman or the transporter series, now those get far fetched this is more like the bourne series better realism in its action, and yes perhaps the villains arnt original but its really well done i wouldnt recommend it like i would with the bourne ultimatum, but its right a floor below that, if you like thrillers watch taken also nice acting well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelS.Mar 4, 2009
This movie was the right way to start of 2009- with a bang!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DerekSMay 10, 2009
A very good action flick with a believable story and a great star in Neeson. Thought the movie was well paced to where when the action started, it was unexpected and thrilling. Yes there are some scenes that are over the top, but still A very good action flick with a believable story and a great star in Neeson. Thought the movie was well paced to where when the action started, it was unexpected and thrilling. Yes there are some scenes that are over the top, but still passable because this is an action flick first and foremost. I did not feel a xenophobic vibe at all, other than you have to always be careful, even in the country you live in and to never trust strangers. Overall the movie did it's job, it was entertaining and gave my family room to discuss the whole drive home from the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TonyB.Jul 27, 2009
You won't be bored for a minute, but you won't believe a minute of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
averycNov 22, 2009
This is an action film. This is a thrilling action film. Neeson is very good. This is not a great film. However, it's a great, great action film. It goes by in what seems like twenty minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertT.Jan 31, 2009
Screw the critics - I loved it. Get's into the story quick and doesn't let up. Give me this over and over rated James Bond movie any day.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JeremyB.Jan 31, 2009
Very good movie. Worth the money. It has a very good story line and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The movie starts off great and continually moves up the ladder.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SebHOct 30, 2009
I've always appreciated cringeworthy kitsch so long as it's self-consciously so. Taken is the kind of horribly over-acted, ridiculous, self-indulgent thriller that sort of defines cringeworthy kitsch, particularly Liam I've always appreciated cringeworthy kitsch so long as it's self-consciously so. Taken is the kind of horribly over-acted, ridiculous, self-indulgent thriller that sort of defines cringeworthy kitsch, particularly Liam Neeson's frankly awful script and delivery thereof. We all know he's a talented actor, so why did he stoop to this low? Easy money? That said I love the insipidness of the plot, and the fact that it knows that it's awful. The dramatic tone change, however, makes me think that the overall mood of this one is more than a little confused - the impending doom hangs over the considerably lighter first half hour, but was it really necessary to beat the life out of it with the dispassionate performances? The characters are cartoony and unbelievable. As a b-movie, it suffices as a nice little kitschy distraction, but sometimes I wondered how serious it was really trying to be, and that's what stagnated it. Not a disaster, but pretty damn average and confused with lots of cliché heaped atop the lowest-common-denominator nature of its inception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
decrdeckardJan 30, 2009
What's wrong with the critics giving such scores for this? This movie was just what it tried to be, an action movie with a lead character being a real badass killing machine with the know how and moves. His girl gets taken away from What's wrong with the critics giving such scores for this? This movie was just what it tried to be, an action movie with a lead character being a real badass killing machine with the know how and moves. His girl gets taken away from him, he goes to get her back. Simple and nothing else needed, I felt entertained thro the whole movie. Also I miss these "feel good" action movies from time to time where the lead really kicks ass and gets the job done without too much hassle. I mean take Arnold's Commando for example, if you want to see paypack delivered with no questions asked, these are the movies you'd want to see. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomB.Jan 30, 2009
Great action - not for the bleeding hearts who mostly review movies.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
NathanielJ.Feb 1, 2009
It was a good enjoyable movie that had great realistic action and suspense. Liam Neeson was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DQSlotkinsFeb 1, 2009
It's one of those. And a mediocre one at that. The genre wears thin. Maybe 2 or 3 surprises, but if that's all it has to offer beside Liam Neeson then it's not enough for me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Feb 11, 2009
I like to rate films on there content and knowing what I film I am going to see. This of course is an action film so I went in with no high expectations of plot but I found accebtable and could happen. But what made me so excited and loving I like to rate films on there content and knowing what I film I am going to see. This of course is an action film so I went in with no high expectations of plot but I found accebtable and could happen. But what made me so excited and loving every scene was the fast pace, you sit there and beg for the action scene and they do not disappoint. Only reason I did'nt give this film a ten is the ending and the sometimes corny dialogue between Liam and his daughter. Liam is a legend in this film and has got my full respect as an action hero! Excellent and fast paced film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickyS.Feb 1, 2009
This movie was amazing. Like most critics say, its a little slow at first, but once Neeson starts his hunt, it sky rockets.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChuckMFeb 1, 2009
I have no idea why the (so-called) critics have panned this movie so much, it really isn't anywhere near as bad as they're making out. You've seen it all before in various other revenge movies, but it has enough new ideas to I have no idea why the (so-called) critics have panned this movie so much, it really isn't anywhere near as bad as they're making out. You've seen it all before in various other revenge movies, but it has enough new ideas to hold interest and enough of it's own style to keep things fresh. It's a slowish start but barely worth a mention as once the action starts it's non-stop, but this is possibly also the films weakest point. Everything just seems to happen with little regard for pacing, plot direction or character building. Every move Liam Neeson takes seems to work out and give him yet another lead, you never get the feeling that the film will have anything other Hollywood ending. Along with a few cheesy moments and a bit of bad acting the main body of the film feels rushed. That said though, it's a good watch, with the girlfriend or a group of friends everyone will enjoy this. Neeson gets you behind him and you find yourself egging him on to add to the growing tally of corpses left in his wake. More deep than say Transporter, not by much though but it feels less aimed at teens. Definite one to watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackBFeb 10, 2009
Great film, saw it months ago, what happened Meatcritic? Very late reviews. Fantastic action, as good as Bourne, far better than Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DomoFeb 16, 2009
I like Liam Neeson. I like Luc Besson. I even like Pierre Morel and thought his District B13 was great fun. But this? No, not so much. "I'll tear down the Eiffel Tower if I have to" and such dialogue was worse than any fingernails on I like Liam Neeson. I like Luc Besson. I even like Pierre Morel and thought his District B13 was great fun. But this? No, not so much. "I'll tear down the Eiffel Tower if I have to" and such dialogue was worse than any fingernails on the chalkboard and the ignorant xenophobia that's framed as paternal love is so ridiculous it hurt. Had they played up the camp aspect of all this crap it might have been more enjoyable. As it is, it just plays to the myopic Middle American mindset that equates "foreign" with "evil", shows an older actor pathetically attempting Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MattH.Feb 1, 2009
Delivered in every respect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceFeb 19, 2009
I thought this movie was fantastic. It didn't pretend to be something it wasn't, it didn't try to make a point... it was simply a flim about an incredible badass that goes on a f***** rampage to try and get his daughter back. I thought this movie was fantastic. It didn't pretend to be something it wasn't, it didn't try to make a point... it was simply a flim about an incredible badass that goes on a f***** rampage to try and get his daughter back. Highly entertaining the whole way through, and that's what a movie should be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobPFeb 20, 2009
Good and fun flick. I didn't like some of the action, but the movie's quirkiness made up for it. Will watch again. The critics didn't like it because it portrayed Albanians badly? Well yeah, they were the bad guys -- some Good and fun flick. I didn't like some of the action, but the movie's quirkiness made up for it. Will watch again. The critics didn't like it because it portrayed Albanians badly? Well yeah, they were the bad guys -- some movies have bad guys you know. Because it protrayed foreign travel as dangerous? Yeah, this is not a foreign college road trip movie. It's an action flick, not a insightful psychological drama. I don't know why they expect it to be something that it isn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonDeatherageFeb 23, 2009
I thought that this was a great movie. I loved the action and the overall pacing of the film. It felt like an older version of Jason Bourne. Liam was a bada**.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewFFeb 27, 2009
Proof that critics really don't understand what the general populace are looking for in a film, during these down-economic times. "Taken" really seems to connect with father's, in particular. Great revenge flick. Possibly the best Proof that critics really don't understand what the general populace are looking for in a film, during these down-economic times. "Taken" really seems to connect with father's, in particular. Great revenge flick. Possibly the best since the days of "Death Wish".....? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BibliotechaS.Feb 5, 2009
Best action movie of 2000s. Better than bond, better than stupid giggly camera boy hero Bourne. This is just a pissed off father taking his daughter back from illegal immigrants. Rocks! I love when he personally electrocutes criminals. Liam Best action movie of 2000s. Better than bond, better than stupid giggly camera boy hero Bourne. This is just a pissed off father taking his daughter back from illegal immigrants. Rocks! I love when he personally electrocutes criminals. Liam rocks! doesn't get much better than a pissed off seal. Focused. Driven. Screw the critics. This one's a keeper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PhilE.Feb 5, 2009
A lot of action, but not much for excitement. Can't hold a candle to any of the "Bourne" movies, although it's shot in that style. Neeson is good, his character is invincible, and he tracks down the bad guys in unbelievable A lot of action, but not much for excitement. Can't hold a candle to any of the "Bourne" movies, although it's shot in that style. Neeson is good, his character is invincible, and he tracks down the bad guys in unbelievable fashion. That is all to easy to be believed. A dismal movie, with plenty of action... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyLFeb 7, 2009
This is one of the best action movies I've seen in a long time. Every once in a while you see a movie preview and know that the critics will hate it but you will love it. This was that movie. I just got home and I want to see it again already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobK.Feb 9, 2009
"Taken" is an insult to the intelligence of the viewers and the star of the movie. The action sequences are just as unbelievable as the other events in the script.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
rashadsFeb 9, 2009
This was an excellent movie. This proves that reviewers dont know what they are talking about. Once it picked you up it didnt let you down. Great story, action, and pacing. Loved how you could see Liam's desparation as the movie This was an excellent movie. This proves that reviewers dont know what they are talking about. Once it picked you up it didnt let you down. Great story, action, and pacing. Loved how you could see Liam's desparation as the movie progressed. Movie reviewers suck so bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesO.Mar 9, 2009
This was a very good movie that everyone should go see and watch. I don't understand why critics rated it badly but then rated other junky films good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rapzehMar 9, 2009
Very good movie, much better that I would of expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MannyCApr 5, 2009
Action packed, fast paced film, kept me at the edge of my seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JesseHMay 23, 2009
Once more I wonder what the critics were smoking when they rated this movie. This movie is great in every way, and had me immersed the whole way. Definitely worth anyone's time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MustafaAJun 24, 2009
Excellent movie..lots of action and good story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RussPJun 24, 2009
The chase is intelligent and intriguing. The action is gripping. The movie's fine script is well-performed by fine actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeJun 8, 2009
Laughable action sequences, laughable story. avoid at all costs!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
danielbJul 30, 2009
This film is superb. The plot is outrageous and occasionally indulges it's self but its just so so so satisfying to watch a retired Jason Bourne go on a truly brutal rampage of heroic revenge. Its Bourne Supremacy + history of violence This film is superb. The plot is outrageous and occasionally indulges it's self but its just so so so satisfying to watch a retired Jason Bourne go on a truly brutal rampage of heroic revenge. Its Bourne Supremacy + history of violence - the boring aspects of reality. what more could you want!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelMAug 31, 2009
I must admit stories with little depth don't really attract me, but this story reminds me of the good ole shoot em ups (Story point is of little importance). The destination, or in this case the rescue, is the focal point, but the I must admit stories with little depth don't really attract me, but this story reminds me of the good ole shoot em ups (Story point is of little importance). The destination, or in this case the rescue, is the focal point, but the journey itself is intense and keeps you flinching on your seat. I actually found myself muttering under my breath: "Kill them", "No mercy", "kill the sons of..." etc I'm giving it a 9/10 because the last time I remember muttering all that, was when I saw Charles Bronson in Death Wish 3 mow down all the gang members with his M1919 Browning machine gun out in the street. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ImanMAug 6, 2009
He is like Max Payne face to face with Mafia just with one pistol in the end his ex-wife said just thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadAJan 21, 2010
A typical basic action movie Basic plot(predictable) and basic scenes(car chases, gun fights) The action scenes are too weak and boring This film is just typical and will suit the typical person and the typical action junkie Too bad my A typical basic action movie Basic plot(predictable) and basic scenes(car chases, gun fights) The action scenes are too weak and boring This film is just typical and will suit the typical person and the typical action junkie Too bad my tastes are too high Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobbyZ.Apr 6, 2010
A unique plot without realism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaeliDec 3, 2009
Thought it was excellent! Especially 'i will find you scene'. Maybe you got to be a parent to understand it!
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
DrewRJan 31, 2009
I highly recomend this movie, especialy if you were disipointed by the last James Bond film. I find Neeson's character more comelling than Bond because he's not in it for the beautiful women, he's in it to save his family.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulSJan 31, 2009
Fun flick. Just what you would expect. 1 and 1/2 hours of *ss-kicking.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
R.L.Jan 30, 2009
Exceptional!! Taken is the most adrenaline pumping, action packed thriller I've seen in awhile. Taken stars Liam Neeson as Brian Mills an ex-black op's agent who while trying to reconnect with his estranged daughter allows her to Exceptional!! Taken is the most adrenaline pumping, action packed thriller I've seen in awhile. Taken stars Liam Neeson as Brian Mills an ex-black op's agent who while trying to reconnect with his estranged daughter allows her to go to Paris for some fun and relaxation away from home. But as soon as they get there she is kidnapped by a group of men who are involved in human trafficking. Now Brian has less than 48 hours to find her or she's gone forever. Taken is one of the most well made movies to come out this year, it's an amazing thrill ride that you cant miss. I very highly recommend this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JakeK.Jan 30, 2009
Attention 24 Fans: SEE THIS MOVIE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IainFJan 30, 2009
Are these "critics" out of their minds? I'm not really in the mood of writing a review after metacritic turned down my last review saying the film wasn't out yet when it had already been out in the UK, so I'm not going into Are these "critics" out of their minds? I'm not really in the mood of writing a review after metacritic turned down my last review saying the film wasn't out yet when it had already been out in the UK, so I'm not going into detail, but Taken was just as good as, if not better, than any of the Bourne films. Neeson was absolutely awesome as always, and it provided some of the best action (non-stop) of 2008. Brilliantly shot, and the story actually stayed quite unteresting, but the film stayed true to it's roots, a hard as nails action flick in which Liam Neeson tares apart anything with legs. I LOVED this film, please watch it. Unless you're a stuck up snob who tries to pride himself among watching independent films and only agreeing with metacritic's review scores, and not taking the time to sit back, relax, and enjoy a film, then watch this and you wont regret doing so. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
8
CAEntJan 30, 2009
Solid action all the way through. Neeson does a great job in this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JonB.Feb 11, 2009
I don't see why the critics are hating on the movie so much. It is an action flick, but without a lot of the ridiculous action scenes like you would see in a Bond movie. I thought Neeson's character was similar to a Jason Bourne in I don't see why the critics are hating on the movie so much. It is an action flick, but without a lot of the ridiculous action scenes like you would see in a Bond movie. I thought Neeson's character was similar to a Jason Bourne in his 40s with a kidnapped teenage daughter. I would recommend it for anyone who is a fan of the Bourne series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackP.Feb 1, 2009
The movie starts out slow, but once Liam Neeson starts his hunt, it never slows down, and Liam Neeson, along with the rest of the cast is excellent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JakekFeb 17, 2009
Slick production. Pretty to look at. Otherwise, illogical plot and action, terrible script [what happened to Neeson's team of pros], unbearable female lead [Maggie Grace], and cardboard actors and actresses. Final analysis: stupid movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeM.Feb 17, 2009
The critics, once again, prove they have absolutely no idea what they're talking about. If you saw the ads for Taken, thought it was going to be nothing but an action movie, then you will not be disappointed. However, if you take a The critics, once again, prove they have absolutely no idea what they're talking about. If you saw the ads for Taken, thought it was going to be nothing but an action movie, then you will not be disappointed. However, if you take a second to examine the plot, you realize that it is inherently good and isn't as impossible as some plot elements in Bourne or Bond. Neeson plays the part wonderfully, and when he actually takes the time in between car chases, torture sequences, and firefights to display his character's personality, he goes all out. I recommend this movie to anyone and everyone. Not nearly as hyped as Bourne or Bond, Taken will have you leave the theater forcibly, because you'll want to see it again and again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinS.Feb 2, 2009
A good action film, worth the watch. Liam's Neeson puts in a decent performance throughout but I was let down by the weak ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomSFeb 23, 2009
Great movie. Thrilling throughout the movie, keeps you on the edge of your seat. Not for one second will you get up after he begins looking for his daughter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaptainSFeb 3, 2009
The movie has about 10 minutes of "drag time" at the beginning and the acting of the girl that plays the kidnapped daughter (especially when her father rescues her) has a lot to be desired, but this movie kicks serious bootie and is The movie has about 10 minutes of "drag time" at the beginning and the acting of the girl that plays the kidnapped daughter (especially when her father rescues her) has a lot to be desired, but this movie kicks serious bootie and is non-stop. This needs to be a TV series. Neeson is great as usual! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFFeb 3, 2009
The critics are being way too critical. I thought it was a great movie and a pleasure to watch. The acting was great, storyline was exciting and pretty original. Neeson could easily be bond instead of Daniel Craig.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeTheDukeFeb 5, 2009
Really a 9.5, but give it the extra 1/2 point for the pure fun of watching this guy work. Sure, it has its weaknesses: Famke plays an unattractive gold-digging, irrational shrew; Neeson is not aging well; Maggie Grace is unspectacular; but Really a 9.5, but give it the extra 1/2 point for the pure fun of watching this guy work. Sure, it has its weaknesses: Famke plays an unattractive gold-digging, irrational shrew; Neeson is not aging well; Maggie Grace is unspectacular; but the bad guys are all well-cast and it is delightful to watch Neeson work is way through one scumbag after another. What fun to watch him take on all the Eastern European mob trash, and the misogynists on the vulgar sheik's payroll. Do shiksas and other innocent young ladies really get collected and turned out by thugs?? Probably. Do construction sites really have brothel trailers supplied by the underworld in cahoots with crooked cops?? Who knows, maybe so. Can one man turn that slave trade upside down?? Probably not. But TAKEN is clear about who the good and innocent folks are, and who the evil exploiters are, and allows the hero to clean up the entire underbelly of Paris in the process. Other than a few problems with plot, weak dialog, and poor casting, TAKEN is a fun ride. Any reviewers who have a problem with this film are not worthy of being heard, they are from some implausible PC planet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanFeb 6, 2009
There's been so many TERRIBLE action movies released in the last year (Eagle Eye, Bangkok Dangerous, etc.). Finally there's one worth seeing. Took a simple formula, and executed it to near perfection. I've seen it 3 times There's been so many TERRIBLE action movies released in the last year (Eagle Eye, Bangkok Dangerous, etc.). Finally there's one worth seeing. Took a simple formula, and executed it to near perfection. I've seen it 3 times already, and am willing to watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeGFeb 6, 2009
I can sum this movie up in one word: BAMFtastic. Neeson even had a BAMF card near the end of the movie. So much action and stuff... Oh, it was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakesFeb 7, 2009
Best movie I've seen in a long time. The critics don't have very good taste to be giving a movie like this bad ratings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterPFeb 7, 2009
Exciting fast paced movie. The critics clearly panned it because they didn't approve of the politically incorrect content. Thankfully, the users are more authentic observers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GreenStreetFeb 7, 2009
This is one of those rare instances where the critics got it all wrong. The users here nailed it - this is one of the best action movies of the year. At the screening we saw, the audience clapped at then end - how often does that happen? The This is one of those rare instances where the critics got it all wrong. The users here nailed it - this is one of the best action movies of the year. At the screening we saw, the audience clapped at then end - how often does that happen? The critics blew it. Taken is non stop action after the sappy first 10 min (only reason for the 9 score). Better than the 2nd Bond and as good as the Bourne movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FomRatFeb 7, 2009
It's all they said and more. Liam Neeson is amazing -- is there anything he can't do?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnB.Feb 7, 2009
Thought it was very fun, very interesting for an action movie. I would recommend it to those who like the Bourne movies to be sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bfeFeb 8, 2009
A 50? Come on. This was an entertaining movie. Sure it's not perfect, but it's good. The action sequences were better than what we've got from the last Bourne/Bond films--simpler, easier to follow, not excessively cutting A 50? Come on. This was an entertaining movie. Sure it's not perfect, but it's good. The action sequences were better than what we've got from the last Bourne/Bond films--simpler, easier to follow, not excessively cutting between cameras. While it eventually winds up with the inevitable happy/corny ending, the portions dealing with the drug addicited sex slaves were utterly repulsive and really set the tone. It didn't drag things out, it didn't overdo it with excessive dialog, and it wasn't perfect, but it wasn't bad either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
syzygyFeb 8, 2009
This is a tired formula but with a few high points towards the middle when Liam Neeson is working his instincts and his old CIA network to recover his daughter. Once he gets through the core baddies and is forced to literally run to catch up This is a tired formula but with a few high points towards the middle when Liam Neeson is working his instincts and his old CIA network to recover his daughter. Once he gets through the core baddies and is forced to literally run to catch up to his kid, the audience will more tired than him and desperate for mercifully quick ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamAFeb 9, 2009
I don't know how this film got such a low score amongst critics - it's very enjoyable! Great action, a passable script and some nice set pieces (apart from the green screen in the driving sequences - it was terrible!) made this as I don't know how this film got such a low score amongst critics - it's very enjoyable! Great action, a passable script and some nice set pieces (apart from the green screen in the driving sequences - it was terrible!) made this as fun as Bourne for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisWMar 17, 2009
Utterly and completely awful. Taken trips along, fueled only by Liam Neeson's passable performance. To say Neeomson's performance is anything but aweful is to say a lot though seeing as the script was like that of a D grade Utterly and completely awful. Taken trips along, fueled only by Liam Neeson's passable performance. To say Neeomson's performance is anything but aweful is to say a lot though seeing as the script was like that of a D grade straight to DVD thriller. More disturbing still was the definite xenophobic vibe that oozes from this peice of tripe. If the Bourne movies (which I actually quite admire) and Hostel were to meet and produce an ungodly bastard child, he would resemble this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DaleSMar 17, 2009
Taken is a realistic thriller, with plenty of chills and turns it glides far smoother than the media proclaimed - easily on par with Casino Royale! dont miss out sometimes the "professionals" are wrong go see it I can guarantee most will be Taken is a realistic thriller, with plenty of chills and turns it glides far smoother than the media proclaimed - easily on par with Casino Royale! dont miss out sometimes the "professionals" are wrong go see it I can guarantee most will be plenty pleased its a fun thrill ride don't be fooled by the media! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayHMar 28, 2009
A fast paced thriller that starts out excellent, but as it develops it becomes and too far fetched. It seems there is nothing Liam Neeson's character can't do! His cleverness is unconvincing. Exciting but shallow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BDrewMar 3, 2009
I read the critics' reviews for Taken before heading to the theater, and they almost dissuaded me. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Sure, it lacked the psychological pins and needles that every movie these days must walk uponI read the critics' reviews for Taken before heading to the theater, and they almost dissuaded me. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Sure, it lacked the psychological pins and needles that every movie these days must walk upon before being branded as "watchable", but I liked that. It was elegantly simple. It didn't try to be too complicated.
Generally speaking, movies of that nature really are a bore, but Taken pulled it off very well. It wasn't a plot involving Russian conspiracy, or aliens, or betrayal by the American government. It was about a retired CIA field agent who, with all of his skills, can't seem to manage a successful life. But he puts those skills to use to get his daughter back, simply because he's a dedicated father. That's it. Why do movies have to be taken so seriously these days?
See Taken if you like Liam Neeson, and you enjoy just having a good time watching a movie. Avoid it if you prefer to have to unravel a large puzzle to get to your coq au vin.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Mr.AnonMar 3, 2009
The most xenophobic movie I've ever had the misfortune to see. There is one part where he shoots a person for being French, how does this get released?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KevinMMar 7, 2009
I honestly don't know why this movie got low blows from crtics and users alike. This movie was fun to watch. Sure it's similar to a lot of thriller, suspense movies (Bourne series comes to mind), but it's a rewatchable nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jackdApr 25, 2009
Okay. I'm usually a very harsh critic and even wasted 2 years studying media at college. I'd give this film 10. It's amazing. I don't understand why some people don't think it's that good... I guess they Okay. I'm usually a very harsh critic and even wasted 2 years studying media at college. I'd give this film 10. It's amazing. I don't understand why some people don't think it's that good... I guess they weren't in the right mood. I watched this movie, not reading up about it or anything. I didn't know what to expect and I was totally blown away. Great to see such a good movie that didn't come from Hollywood too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredBMay 12, 2009
This movie was incredible. For almost the whole movie, I was on the edge of my seat, dangerously close to falling off. This movie contained four things I haven't seen in a while, but was very glad they showed up here: Liam Neeson This movie was incredible. For almost the whole movie, I was on the edge of my seat, dangerously close to falling off. This movie contained four things I haven't seen in a while, but was very glad they showed up here: Liam Neeson kicking serious butt, truly despicable bad guys, some great action scenes, and a plot I could actually follow. My advice: Don't miss this absolutely AWESOME movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
markrMay 12, 2009
It's passable. You know the movies where 10 bad guys are shooting at the hero and nobody hits him? That's this one. Repeatedly. How bout the movie where everyone tries to kill the hero, then just when they got him, they tie him up, It's passable. You know the movies where 10 bad guys are shooting at the hero and nobody hits him? That's this one. Repeatedly. How bout the movie where everyone tries to kill the hero, then just when they got him, they tie him up, wait till he wakes up, says some fancy words, and then say "kill him!". Yep. Got that too. Watch one of the Bourne movies again instead. They're much better. Collapse
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMMay 15, 2009
I've always been a fan of Liam Neeson so upon seeing the previews for this...it quickly became something on my "to watch" list...sadly I never got around to seeing it in theaters, but watching it at home on Blu-Ray was a treat. First of I've always been a fan of Liam Neeson so upon seeing the previews for this...it quickly became something on my "to watch" list...sadly I never got around to seeing it in theaters, but watching it at home on Blu-Ray was a treat. First of all...this film embodies what a "action film" is all about, which is a short run-time, proper "not too much not too little" introduction of the characters, and bone crunching action...and this film delivers JUST that. Liam Neeson's plays a retired government agent, whose skills involve espionage and (apparently) combat of all types...his daughter, who needs to take a chill pill, wants to take a trip to France with a friend and at her father disapproval as he worries she isn't ready to "on her own" anywhere, including Europe...he bends and lets her go at the constant nagging of his ex-wife only to have the worst happen, she gets kidnapped and now he makes it his personal mission to get her back, no matter what the cost. Neeson's character is intelligent, lethal, and most of all determined...and that determination comes from his obvious, heart-felt love for his daughter...he adores her so much that killing, torture, and potentially putting the innocent at risk are mere child's play to him...he just wants her back and will plow through anyone standing in the way. The fighting/ action in this film is brutal...bones break, faces get beat in, and bad guys get diced up...and thats just the hand-to-hand combat...the gunplay is just as deadly and unforgiving and Neeson's character is more than capable of handing this out like candy. There is fighting, gunplay, foot chases, and car chases...there is use of gadgetry, interrogation, and other things spy-related and they even through in some drama for good measure...all of this rolled up into a film JUST above the 90min. mark...impressive, and HIGHLY entertaining. This film comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...its easily one of the more entertaining, less bloated action films ive seen in some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbMay 15, 2009
Preposterous, but entertaining. Neeson is excellent in the lead role. This movie will appeal primarily to young women with 'daddy issues', I think!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BCMay 30, 2009
I don't even know where to begin...this movie is such a complete paint-by-numbers formula movie. Vacuous teen daughter played by a mid-twenties actress - CHECK; phony family situation where Dad has had life pass him by to only now I don't even know where to begin...this movie is such a complete paint-by-numbers formula movie. Vacuous teen daughter played by a mid-twenties actress - CHECK; phony family situation where Dad has had life pass him by to only now realize it - CHECK; Director that uses shifty camera work to conceal poor chase and fight scenes - CHECK ; How sad and pathetic and what a complete waste of time. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME...run for your life..save yourselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackFJun 18, 2009
Starts a little slow, but a very fun action movie in all. Fast paste! Liam Neeson plays a great angry father. The torture and phone call scenes gave me goosebumps!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ClayTJun 23, 2009
Sure it's formulaic and farfetched, but it's so much fun who really gives a damn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Jun 24, 2009
Fantastic plot, action, acting, etc. This movie is fantastic. Neeson has always been a great actor. Also, see The Chindler's List. See this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FarKJun 6, 2009
I thought it was great kept me at the edge of my seat i was really into the story, just overall one the best movies i have seen this month. It was very realistic at times and very unrealistic at others, that's the only weak point i saw.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SummerT.Jun 8, 2009
I thought this movie was full of suspense and drama. Was on the edge of the couch the entire movie. Plus, some great torture scenes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonJul 10, 2009
Movie is great! Story line is easy to follow, lots of action, great acting and dialogue. The people who don't like this movie are the one's who can't follow the story or doesn't like it because its not realistic. Not ALL Movie is great! Story line is easy to follow, lots of action, great acting and dialogue. The people who don't like this movie are the one's who can't follow the story or doesn't like it because its not realistic. Not ALL movies have to be realistic. Otherwise we'd have some boring movies. anyway, I would suggest this movie to anyone who likes action/thriller movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Jul 26, 2009
I am disappointed that the "esteemed film critics" could only generate a 50% overall average score having reviewed this film. Frankly this film appealed to me on many levels. The action was superb. The acting was topnotch. Liam Neeson made I am disappointed that the "esteemed film critics" could only generate a 50% overall average score having reviewed this film. Frankly this film appealed to me on many levels. The action was superb. The acting was topnotch. Liam Neeson made me believe the sense of urgency any father would feel knowing his daughter was kidnapped.The white slave market is an international concern and quidos to all the actors and director Pierre Morel for revealing just how dangerous a place the world is for young women. One of the top 5 films in my video library along with Saving Private Ryan and Gladiators. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful