Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 30, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 602 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
453
Mixed:
85
Negative:
64
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TonyCFeb 17, 2010
Taken is "slow" at the beginning FOR A REASON. It must make you CARE about the man's daughter and the relationship with the father. Otherwise you won't be invested in the outcome. How can these critics not realize this? Taken is Taken is "slow" at the beginning FOR A REASON. It must make you CARE about the man's daughter and the relationship with the father. Otherwise you won't be invested in the outcome. How can these critics not realize this? Taken is NOT about a former CIA agent rescuing his daughter. That's the location. It's really about an estranged parent and the lost love of a child and not giving up no matter how hard it is to repair that. Saving your bond with your child is tough but worth it. C'mon movie critics should know that! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
8
BathtubTomFeb 16, 2011
Surprisingly well done, and very intense. Liam Neesen does and excellent job playing the role of the action hero. The James Bond franchise should look at this movie and take some pointers.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
IainFJan 30, 2009
Are these "critics" out of their minds? I'm not really in the mood of writing a review after metacritic turned down my last review saying the film wasn't out yet when it had already been out in the UK, so I'm not going into Are these "critics" out of their minds? I'm not really in the mood of writing a review after metacritic turned down my last review saying the film wasn't out yet when it had already been out in the UK, so I'm not going into detail, but Taken was just as good as, if not better, than any of the Bourne films. Neeson was absolutely awesome as always, and it provided some of the best action (non-stop) of 2008. Brilliantly shot, and the story actually stayed quite unteresting, but the film stayed true to it's roots, a hard as nails action flick in which Liam Neeson tares apart anything with legs. I LOVED this film, please watch it. Unless you're a stuck up snob who tries to pride himself among watching independent films and only agreeing with metacritic's review scores, and not taking the time to sit back, relax, and enjoy a film, then watch this and you wont regret doing so. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
6
MonsieurEamesJan 24, 2013
Could have been a lot better. The first half is really engaging but the movie loses steam going into the second half. The ending could have been more rewarding, too.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
RobertT.Jan 31, 2009
Screw the critics - I loved it. Get's into the story quick and doesn't let up. Give me this over and over rated James Bond movie any day.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TomB.Jan 30, 2009
Great action - not for the bleeding hearts who mostly review movies.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PaulSJan 31, 2009
Fun flick. Just what you would expect. 1 and 1/2 hours of *ss-kicking.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
Keymaster1Sep 22, 2010
Liam Neeson displayed a very deep, very dangerous man in this intense thriller directed by Pierre Morel (From Paris With Love, District B13). The story takes you in from the first scene. Hence the title: Taken. Liam Neeson plays Bryan Mills,Liam Neeson displayed a very deep, very dangerous man in this intense thriller directed by Pierre Morel (From Paris With Love, District B13). The story takes you in from the first scene. Hence the title: Taken. Liam Neeson plays Bryan Mills, a former spy with very deadly, very stealth, and very deadly skills that make him a straight up nightmare to people involved in dirt, scum, kidnapping rings, drugs etc. When his daughter and her best friend take a trip to Paris to follow rock group U2 on their Europe tour, things go terribly wrong and the two young girls are kidnapped and taken into a seedy underworld of prostitution and drugs. Mills knew that it was a bad idea the whole time, but his ex-wife played by Famke Janssen encourages the trip to let her daughter be free and see the world. Neeson engages in a personal mission to get his daughter back, a process that he is willing to stop at nothing for.
-Taken was directed really well and has some pretty good acting. The super-glue of the film was in fact the tense story. Overall 'Taken' was a very original and interesting story, and it ultimately proves that you do not want to **** around with Liam Neeson, especially if it involves his daughter! Very good movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
DustinFeb 2, 2009
Don't believe these morons (critics), Taken is an overall great movie. The pacing is perfect, with never a dull moment or long, drawn out dialogue scene. Neeson is entirely believable, especially if you are familiar with the problems of Don't believe these morons (critics), Taken is an overall great movie. The pacing is perfect, with never a dull moment or long, drawn out dialogue scene. Neeson is entirely believable, especially if you are familiar with the problems of human trafficking. Can't wait to get this on Blu-ray. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobCFeb 2, 2009
The problem is people are comparing this to other revenge movies. When simply this movie is all about an endless sacrifice and the power and emotion behind this makes you realise that family is the most important thing of all. I related to The problem is people are comparing this to other revenge movies. When simply this movie is all about an endless sacrifice and the power and emotion behind this makes you realise that family is the most important thing of all. I related to this movie so much as I have a daughter and felt the real emotion. Amazingly acted and one of the best character relationships I've seen in a movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JeremyB.Jan 31, 2009
Very good movie. Worth the money. It has a very good story line and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The movie starts off great and continually moves up the ladder.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DrewRJan 31, 2009
I highly recomend this movie, especialy if you were disipointed by the last James Bond film. I find Neeson's character more comelling than Bond because he's not in it for the beautiful women, he's in it to save his family.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CAEntJan 30, 2009
Solid action all the way through. Neeson does a great job in this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MartinS.Feb 2, 2009
A good action film, worth the watch. Liam's Neeson puts in a decent performance throughout but I was let down by the weak ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BDrewMar 3, 2009
I read the critics' reviews for Taken before heading to the theater, and they almost dissuaded me. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Sure, it lacked the psychological pins and needles that every movie these days must walk uponI read the critics' reviews for Taken before heading to the theater, and they almost dissuaded me. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Sure, it lacked the psychological pins and needles that every movie these days must walk upon before being branded as "watchable", but I liked that. It was elegantly simple. It didn't try to be too complicated.
Generally speaking, movies of that nature really are a bore, but Taken pulled it off very well. It wasn't a plot involving Russian conspiracy, or aliens, or betrayal by the American government. It was about a retired CIA field agent who, with all of his skills, can't seem to manage a successful life. But he puts those skills to use to get his daughter back, simply because he's a dedicated father. That's it. Why do movies have to be taken so seriously these days?
See Taken if you like Liam Neeson, and you enjoy just having a good time watching a movie. Avoid it if you prefer to have to unravel a large puzzle to get to your coq au vin.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RayG.Jan 31, 2009
You get what you expect. Liam is an awesome action hero. I don't expect high review scores by the newspapers but people will like it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnbJan 31, 2009
It is absolutely, positively absurd that critics are not giving Taken much better reviews. (48). It a really good story, well acted and directed and the viewer cares about the characters-which is rare in a film. Dark Knight an 82, Gran It is absolutely, positively absurd that critics are not giving Taken much better reviews. (48). It a really good story, well acted and directed and the viewer cares about the characters-which is rare in a film. Dark Knight an 82, Gran Torino a 72 and Taken a 48? I don't think so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
keithwJan 31, 2009
Could only have been better if instead of Albanian bad guys it was Wall Street Bankers! Gets your mind off everything!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
WilliamJ.Jan 31, 2009
Great movie although a little too short, leaving one longing for more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClaudioCMar 11, 2009
Fantastic movie. I will start reading more of the users review and much less the of the critics review. I was not expecting much as the critics score 50. But the movie was quite a suspense and I shook from the beginning to the end. The Fantastic movie. I will start reading more of the users review and much less the of the critics review. I was not expecting much as the critics score 50. But the movie was quite a suspense and I shook from the beginning to the end. The actors were convincing in their role with the only exception of the daughter. Liam Neeson is superb. hopping theaked qued on my seat from the beginning to the end. comments. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BKMJan 13, 2013
Liam Neesen makes a convincing action hero with a "particular set of skills" in this wisp on an action film. Things move along at a rapid pace and the outcome is never in doubt which makes for a tidy movie going experience. Still, a littleLiam Neesen makes a convincing action hero with a "particular set of skills" in this wisp on an action film. Things move along at a rapid pace and the outcome is never in doubt which makes for a tidy movie going experience. Still, a little bit of complexity and a touch of emotional depth would have helped to keep this meager revenge fantasy from fading almost instantaneously from memory. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
duckypwnsJun 27, 2012
This movie is great. Liam Neeson did an awesome job, but there were a few cheesy parts / parts with poor dialogue that could have been done better. It was not a fault of the actors and I feel like they all played it out very well. Also thisThis movie is great. Liam Neeson did an awesome job, but there were a few cheesy parts / parts with poor dialogue that could have been done better. It was not a fault of the actors and I feel like they all played it out very well. Also this is partially due to it being a new series. They had to start somewhere, even if it meant a very simplistic concept / plot. If you're looking for some interesting action scenes you will probably enjoy the movie overall. Sort of an underdog to the 007 movies, but I am excited for Taken 2 and I feel like if they play their cards right they can make Taken a bit more distinguished. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
EssenceOfSugarMar 4, 2012
First of all, the drawbacks. I know I hate to do this, but there was a few things wrong with the film. For one thing, it was slightly predictable because I didn't think this film would end with something bad happening. Everything's good untilFirst of all, the drawbacks. I know I hate to do this, but there was a few things wrong with the film. For one thing, it was slightly predictable because I didn't think this film would end with something bad happening. Everything's good until the ending, it just sort of fizzles out. Next, it would be pretty exaggerated that someone would be able to rescue someone from a human trafficking group in only a few days. The pacing was a bit thin on the ground, and I also think the girls were portrayed as screechy, weepy, able to believe anything anyone says and blab everything to someone they've just met. Now that's over and done with, there's a few good points I'd like to say. It tackled a very important issue, and, even if it were over exaggerated, that does happen in the world, so it was quite brave to tackle this kind of issue. I think the violence was the least of my problems, and it was thrilling to see Liam Neeson do a bit of ****-kicking because he definitely looked suited for the role. I loved the relationship of his daughter and him, which made me hate the step-father and mother more (what an **** hole and a **** Generally it was a entertaining film, it just needs a bit more work to fix the predictable and confusingly paced storyline, although I think the critics have been a little harsh on what I call an OK film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
It's got all the attributes of a guilty pleasure - excitement, some undeniably enjoyable scenes and the absence of what it needs to be more memorable and more substantial.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
Taken doesn't bring much to the table.
The movie is paced well, the story if fine, and the action is lackluster. It mainly is plagued with an extremely simple plot combined with a very predictable outcome. An okay action flick.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MadMaxFuryRoadMay 18, 2015
Pretty fun and thrilling movie is violent. Liam Neeson is great in the film and the movie is very fun. The plot is pretty stupid but Liam Neeson doing his bad-ass job is always entertaining.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
The movie is surprisingly good if you look at decent standards. However if you think harder, you would suspect that the movie's a kinda bit... shallow?
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
MichaeliDec 3, 2009
Thought it was excellent! Especially 'i will find you scene'. Maybe you got to be a parent to understand it!
4 of 6 users found this helpful
2
DomoFeb 16, 2009
I like Liam Neeson. I like Luc Besson. I even like Pierre Morel and thought his District B13 was great fun. But this? No, not so much. "I'll tear down the Eiffel Tower if I have to" and such dialogue was worse than any fingernails on I like Liam Neeson. I like Luc Besson. I even like Pierre Morel and thought his District B13 was great fun. But this? No, not so much. "I'll tear down the Eiffel Tower if I have to" and such dialogue was worse than any fingernails on the chalkboard and the ignorant xenophobia that's framed as paternal love is so ridiculous it hurt. Had they played up the camp aspect of all this crap it might have been more enjoyable. As it is, it just plays to the myopic Middle American mindset that equates "foreign" with "evil", shows an older actor pathetically attempting Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
BobK.Feb 9, 2009
"Taken" is an insult to the intelligence of the viewers and the star of the movie. The action sequences are just as unbelievable as the other events in the script.
1 of 2 users found this helpful