User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 58
  2. Negative: 14 out of 58

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Check his docket and pray for a romantic comedy, a sci-fier, a western, anything, really, even a porno. That's because Matt Dillon has a weakness for armored car heist scripts. Should the former Flamingo Kid make one more of these routine genre movies, he'll have himself a trilogy. Just last year, he played a "taker", a guard, in Nimrod Antal's "Armored"; this time, he's blue, a good guy who stops the "Takers", a detective named Jack Welles. Maybe next time he'll play the truck. Maybe next time Dillon will star in a movie that's worthy of his talent. While "Armored" was by no means a brilliant piece of moviemaking, at least the actual robbery was halfway plausible; far-fetched, perhaps, but plausible enough to stave off laughter from the moviegoer. Unlike "Takers", where Detective Jack Welles faces criminals who are practically performance artists when it comes to hijacking armored cars. After the bravura bank robbery that opens the film(featuring an escape plan that is flat-out ludicrous), the thieves(featuring Hayden Christensen reimagined as Jason Bourne; a born-again Christensen) up the stakes with an even more daring caper. In broad daylight, the thieves steal the trucks on a busy street during rush hour, where a whole bunch of hypotheticals come into play which would prevent the job from being successfully pulled off. These armed robbers have a David Blaine-mentality when it comes to armed robbery, an exhibitionist streak, as there are just too many people who are watching them steal the loot. Although "Armored" had its share of credibility issues(in particular, no GPS system on the truck), "Takers" expects the moviegoer to believe that the police wouldn't be able to ferret out a fake road construction crew during the interim leading up to the implosion, and that there's not a cop around during the shootout between the guards and the thieves. When Ghost(T.I.) had explained the job to his "boyz", the crew's initial hesitation was due to the expediency of the job, which posed an affront to their professionalism. This would seem downright laughable, since there's nothing professional looking about the set-up. In a good heist pic, the more painstakingly intricate the preparations are, the better. Needless to say, "Takers" is no "Ocean's Eleven". The group sorely lacks a charismatic ringleader. They need somebody like, say, Matt Dillon. As the straight and arrow detective, Detective Welles, however, isn't going to garner any votes for "father of the year"; his impromptu take-your-daughter-to-work day could have gone horribly wrong. When "Takers" introduces the detective's daughter, it doesn't spend the time needed to portray Jack as a caring father like how the filmmaker probably had intended. Since "Takers" wastes time on an extended foot race between Dillon and a perp(Chris Brown, in an impressive feat of...running), the filmmaker compresses Jack's personal and professional life in one scene without realizing how it makes the detective look. He looks like a jackass. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2010
    3
    Black Ocean's Eleven targeted towards a hip-hop audience. No, I didn't see this movie. Atleast two of the actors commited felonies in real life, so I guess I was disappointed that they couldn't even convince me they were criminals in the trailer.
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    "Takers" is a teenage crime thriller (or is it drama?). It's so crappy and terrible you can say its the "Twilight" of the crime genre.
  4. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    This movie was ok. The movie goes too fast and it doesn't let the story and characters build up. It also introduces things or people and doesn't say what they are or who they are until later in the movie. Chis Brown's sequence where he's being chased by the cops was a great scene. T.I's character was too predictable but the last 30 minutes of the movie are really good. But it could of been better.
  5. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    This film was awesome! Just seeing all of these FINE men in one movie was enough to get me and my girls going. But hands down, CHRIS BROWN'S action sequence was superb. You have got to see this movie just for that! The movie was so kick-ass, I'm seeing it again this weekend.
  6. Tia
    Aug 27, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year so far. Not only was the eye candy on point, but the action scenes were exciting to watch. Chris Brown's chase scene was the best part of the movie. I was very pleased that the audience enjoyed it as much as I did and was also happy that Idris got to keep his accent. I'm most likely seeing this movie another four or five times.
  7. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    "Takers" is an action flick centered around a few robberies that manages to keep you on your toes for most of 2 hours. There are a few story lines afoot, but none too distracting, and all meaningfully advance the plot . For the subject matter, the acting was solid all the way around; nothing seemed forced or trite. The scenes were action-packed, but not over-the-top Michael Bay type stuff. Moreover, when there was violence, it seemed necessary to the story and not gratuitous. I can't believe the Metacritic User Score on this one currently is below 6. I talked to others who liked this movie as much as I did, some even better. I'd give this movie a 7.5/10. Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2010
    5
    I must have yawned atleast 10 times during this film. This is one of those movies that has a lot going on without really having "a lot" going on. Its one dimensional, I felt like they were just trying to glamorize that criminal life style. I felt like I was watching Chris Brown, T.I, & Idris Elba instead of watching the characters they were playing. Nothing is new, & nothing is impressive. This movie just rest on pretty the whole time where is the Depth? Expand
  9. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    Everyone in this movie does a great job of acting...except Chris Brown. The story was somewhat intriguing at first but eventually left me unsatisfied. The story was a little to simple for me and it could have used some better character development of crew of bandits. I was annoyed by the classic shaky camera during action scenes but other than that most of the action scenes were entertaining.

    If it wasnt for the great acting of Idris Elba, Paul Walker, Jay Hernandez and even T.I. this movie would have sucked. They saved it, and so I can say this movie was "good"... for an action movie.
    Expand
  10. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    I'm glad it wasn't a straight to DVD movie. Why though? I can't pinpoint the reason exactly. Maybe it was the way the audience (and myself occasionally) cheered or bemoaned at some of the movie's key moments, or just that it's been a long time coming for a heist movie. I'd say see it, but only if you can identify most of the main actors in real life (Hayden Christensen, Chris Brown, T.I., Michael Ealy, Idris Elba, Matt Dillon). Otherwise, you probably won't think that this movie is anything special. Expand
  11. Apr 17, 2011
    0
    It usually takes about five minutes to judge if a movie is watchable or not. With this one, it took me only six seconds to judge that it is pure crap. Come on guys...this is so ridiculous, with everybody forcefully trying to act cool, like teenagers in a bar, delivering cool onliners which really never actually are cool.
    Incredible that these kind of movies still get made...
  12. Jan 14, 2011
    4
    i watched the whole movie and i was begging god to end, but it lasted almost a nice two hours. hmm, the characters are the biggest miss in this movie. the actors, i mean t.i. was terrible. chris brown gave me some surprises like the running scene, but, honestly, nobody was good. matt d, paul w..i don't know. but t.i. should just stick with the rapping. the plot was similar to the plot from the 'the town' but, it makes 'the town' look like 'l.a. confidential'. i don't know. please, don't make movies like this. never ever. Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2011
    6
    Although TAKERS can be potentially one-dimensional with it's main cast of characters and clichéd in it's own story, climatic actions scenes and decent acting help bring some some momentum to the table. TAKERS stars a whole list of popular hip-hop artists, a few talented actors, and Hayden Christensen, blends them all into one film in hopes of producing a movie that will attract the modern film audience. While it eventually does just that, other types of individuals may be able to discover it's flaws without much trouble. The buildup in TAKERS is like any typical heist movie. It opens with a bank heist, the robbers make out with the money, and then they decide to perform another heist soon thereafter. The main group of five is approached by an older comrade of theirs named 'Ghost' (T.I.) who was released on probation for good behavior on a sentence from robbery 5 years previously. He suggests the 5 perform a heist differently this time; steal $20 million from a pair of armored vans via 'Italian Job' style. What follows is the usual build-up of the heist and the problems of the people involved, which is the real problem. The term 'forced character buildup' comes in clearly at this point. I really never cared for any of the main central characters due to their single dimensional personalities. While there is the drug stricken sister of Elba and the awkward father-daughter relationship of Dillon, that pair of backstories is really the only ones the audience is presented to throughout the film. In a film so titled 'TAKERS', the audience isn't taken it, persay, by the characters. You really don't get to know them, and its hard to find sympathy when negative things happen to each of them. TAKERS does house some great action scenes at times, and climatic shootouts that kept me suspended on who was going to get out alive. I was also fond of the Chris Brown chase later on in the film, and his broad range of acrobatic skills kept me entertained until it's end. The acting, at least from a few actors, is decent. Dillon is great as always, and Walker and Ealy prove to show that they have decent acting skills. Chris Brown was decent as well as T.I. Hayden Christensen still needs some more time in acting school. Although TAKERS is a clichéd and unoriginal heist film, it's many action scenes held my attention throughout, and the acting from the more veteran actors was a relieve. TAKERS never brings anything new to the table in any means, but it does bring some variety and excitement for the more modern viewers. Collapse
  14. Feb 19, 2011
    5
    This movie had a lot going for it except for one thing: the acting. If you are looking for a movie like "The Usual Suspects" or even "Ocean's Eleven" then you are wasting your time. This movie was #1 in theaters when it came out (Chris Brown should be thanking God for that considering his acting was on par with pornography on this one). TI could really use some acting lessons (perhaps while he does his second 11 month bid). Idris Elba, Hayden Christensen, and whomever else was in the movie should file this one on their taxes as charity work for the careers of the first two mentioned. Those other actors could have chosen better scripts and I personally suspect they felt sorry for Chris and TI and that is why they took their respective roles. Finally, Idris Elba needs to quit doing these sorry movies (like Obsessed; we know Beyonce can't act but did they have to tie the anchor around Elba's legs on that one?). I think he deserves better parts than what he is taking. Expand
  15. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    Great pace and a sense of urgency, though it never really lives up to those conditions. The cast is strong with a few semi-big names......Christiansen oddly enough gives one of his better performances here though he doesn't appear that much. After the first half hour, I could start to see the film swirling down the toilet but it never quite makes a complete flush. We are then left with a soggy piece of paper that we don't know what to do with. Is it good or bad? Who cares? Expand
  16. Nov 7, 2011
    4
    "An exciting action which is great for wasting time."
    Some scenes are interesting and excising but the whole movie is in a weak story-line. It could be better if had some better actors specially for the cop guy is almost terrible and his reacts are very weak. But I think the most important problem is with the script.
  17. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Takers is a great story, with lots of great action and chase scenes. Matt Dillon, who I usually can't stand is actually very good. I was thoroughly entertained, however there some big holes in the story and at many points, It felt familiar. It was as thou I was watching a PG-13 rated version of The Fast The Furious without Vin Diesel. Still, overall it was a pretty good movie and I'd recommend it, especially to my fellow action junkies! Expand
  18. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    great action movie> One of the greatests action movies of all time (in my opinion) great storyline great ending & beginning. I could watch this movie 90 times without getting bored
  19. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    I was greatly surprised when I watched this movie. I am a girl, and I totally love it! It is not a 10, but I don't think it deserves such a bad score. For its genre, works fantastically! It is engaging...things happen quickly, so it is good if you are good at thinking ;) There is no chance to get bored...at least not if what you like is lots of clever action. I don't think the acting was bad either. It was fine. The movie was not outstanding, but being honest....it is more than just a plain 5 or 6...especially considering that sooo many bad movies get better score than this one! Forget the critics, try it yourself...at the end the answer will be your experience! Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2012
    4
    Heist movies shouldn't require absolute brilliance to be good, but they should at least have a brain in their head. 'Takers' is sadly not a smart heist movie. Now, you CAN have fun with a dumb movie, but there's really not much fun to be had with 'Takers'. It takes itself so seriously, but comes off as unintentionally hilarious at times thanks to some weird choices of music in scenes that are supposed to come off as dramatic. Rappers and R&B singer also do not make for good actors in a film of this type. Period. Expand
  21. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    Takers has many flaws, but the fun never stops. This is a movie made to excite and entertain; do not expect any sort of enlightenment or thought provocation.
  22. Mar 2, 2014
    2
    Takers is a choppy, badly executed thriller, with a few logical action scenes. The story is about a team of robbers (Idris Elba, Paul Walker, Hayden Christensen, Micheal Ealy, Chris Brown) who get reunited with Ghost (T.I) who convinces them into doing a multi million dollar heist, with a hard boiled detective (Matt Dillon) and his partner (Jay Hernedez) hot on their trail. Takers has a very intresting plot and most of the characters play out well, till the very very bad second half. Director John Lussenhop struggles to find the genre of his flick, part musical, part romantic drama, part action, part adventure and part drug therapy movie. The movie is 70's high octane trash, and is a very dissapointing crime thriller. The main thrill is very dissapointing and the movie still manages to get the action altogether. Because, Takers is about the win of the bad guys, not the good guys. Takers is a huge disappointment and a bad use of such a greatly assembled cast. Ignore this one. Expand
  23. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love this film, it is possibly one of my favourite films of all time, good action scenes along with the actors being on point. A overall good film and even some scenes that make your eyes tear up. LOVE it.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. 75
    A crackling crime drama assembled from a scrap heap of hoary cliches, Takers proves that everything old can sometimes really be new again.
  2. It runs the stopwatch on a chase sequence to a comical extreme and takes way, way too long to take its final bow, in the process burning off any residual goodwill.
  3. 63
    You could make a worse choice for a late- summer popcorn movie than Takers, a Michael Mann-ish heist thriller with a pulse-pounding foot chase and some terrific stunt work offsetting its hackneyed plot and dialogue.