Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Takers takes you into the world of a notorious group of criminals who continue to baffle police by pulling off perfectly executed bank robberies. They are in and out like clockwork, leaving no evidence behind and laying low between heists. But when they attempt to pull off one last job withTakers takes you into the world of a notorious group of criminals who continue to baffle police by pulling off perfectly executed bank robberies. They are in and out like clockwork, leaving no evidence behind and laying low between heists. But when they attempt to pull off one last job with more money at stake than ever before, the crew may find their plans interrupted by a hardened detective (Matt Dillon) who is hell-bent on solving the case. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. 75
    A crackling crime drama assembled from a scrap heap of hoary cliches, Takers proves that everything old can sometimes really be new again.
  2. The stunt work is amazing, and the pace is breathless enough to keep one watching right up to the somewhat ambiguous conclusion.
  3. 63
    You could make a worse choice for a late- summer popcorn movie than Takers, a Michael Mann-ish heist thriller with a pulse-pounding foot chase and some terrific stunt work offsetting its hackneyed plot and dialogue.
  4. The new heist movie Takers is surprisingly okay.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    The dialogue is clich├ęd and laughable. It's a film far more concerned with style - architectural, vehicular and wardrobe-related - than substance.
  6. 45
    It comes to the party overdressed and still fails to make an impression.
  7. What helps salvage the film (much to the surprise of director and co-writer Lussenhop and his fellow writers Peter Allen, Gabriel Casseus and Avery Duff) are the unintentional laughs generated by the film's outrageous gun battles, childish dialogue and an action chase featuring Brown that seems to go on forever.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Tia
    Aug 27, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year so far. Not only was the eye candy on point, but the action scenes were exciting to watch. Chris Brown'sOne of my favorite movies of the year so far. Not only was the eye candy on point, but the action scenes were exciting to watch. Chris Brown's chase scene was the best part of the movie. I was very pleased that the audience enjoyed it as much as I did and was also happy that Idris got to keep his accent. I'm most likely seeing this movie another four or five times. Collapse
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    great action movie> One of the greatests action movies of all time (in my opinion) great storyline great ending & beginning. I could watchgreat action movie> One of the greatests action movies of all time (in my opinion) great storyline great ending & beginning. I could watch this movie 90 times without getting bored Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    "Takers" is an action flick centered around a few robberies that manages to keep you on your toes for most of 2 hours. There are a few story"Takers" is an action flick centered around a few robberies that manages to keep you on your toes for most of 2 hours. There are a few story lines afoot, but none too distracting, and all meaningfully advance the plot . For the subject matter, the acting was solid all the way around; nothing seemed forced or trite. The scenes were action-packed, but not over-the-top Michael Bay type stuff. Moreover, when there was violence, it seemed necessary to the story and not gratuitous. I can't believe the Metacritic User Score on this one currently is below 6. I talked to others who liked this movie as much as I did, some even better. I'd give this movie a 7.5/10. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    Everyone in this movie does a great job of acting...except Chris Brown. The story was somewhat intriguing at first but eventually left meEveryone in this movie does a great job of acting...except Chris Brown. The story was somewhat intriguing at first but eventually left me unsatisfied. The story was a little to simple for me and it could have used some better character development of crew of bandits. I was annoyed by the classic shaky camera during action scenes but other than that most of the action scenes were entertaining.

    If it wasnt for the great acting of Idris Elba, Paul Walker, Jay Hernandez and even T.I. this movie would have sucked. They saved it, and so I can say this movie was "good"... for an action movie.
    Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2010
    5
    I must have yawned atleast 10 times during this film. This is one of those movies that has a lot going on without really having "a lot" goingI must have yawned atleast 10 times during this film. This is one of those movies that has a lot going on without really having "a lot" going on. Its one dimensional, I felt like they were just trying to glamorize that criminal life style. I felt like I was watching Chris Brown, T.I, & Idris Elba instead of watching the characters they were playing. Nothing is new, & nothing is impressive. This movie just rest on pretty the whole time where is the Depth? Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    4
    "An exciting action which is great for wasting time."
    Some scenes are interesting and excising but the whole movie is in a weak story-line. It
    "An exciting action which is great for wasting time."
    Some scenes are interesting and excising but the whole movie is in a weak story-line. It could be better if had some better actors specially for the cop guy is almost terrible and his reacts are very weak. But I think the most important problem is with the script.
    Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2011
    0
    It usually takes about five minutes to judge if a movie is watchable or not. With this one, it took me only six seconds to judge that it isIt usually takes about five minutes to judge if a movie is watchable or not. With this one, it took me only six seconds to judge that it is pure crap. Come on guys...this is so ridiculous, with everybody forcefully trying to act cool, like teenagers in a bar, delivering cool onliners which really never actually are cool.
    Incredible that these kind of movies still get made...
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers