Takers

Takers Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Takers takes you into the world of a notorious group of criminals who continue to baffle police by pulling off perfectly executed bank robberies. They are in and out like clockwork, leaving no evidence behind and laying low between heists. But when they attempt to pull off one last job withTakers takes you into the world of a notorious group of criminals who continue to baffle police by pulling off perfectly executed bank robberies. They are in and out like clockwork, leaving no evidence behind and laying low between heists. But when they attempt to pull off one last job with more money at stake than ever before, the crew may find their plans interrupted by a hardened detective (Matt Dillon) who is hell-bent on solving the case. (Sony Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. 75
    A crackling crime drama assembled from a scrap heap of hoary cliches, Takers proves that everything old can sometimes really be new again.
  2. The stunt work is amazing, and the pace is breathless enough to keep one watching right up to the somewhat ambiguous conclusion.
  3. 63
    You could make a worse choice for a late- summer popcorn movie than Takers, a Michael Mann-ish heist thriller with a pulse-pounding foot chase and some terrific stunt work offsetting its hackneyed plot and dialogue.
  4. The new heist movie Takers is surprisingly okay.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    The dialogue is clich├ęd and laughable. It's a film far more concerned with style - architectural, vehicular and wardrobe-related - than substance.
  6. 45
    It comes to the party overdressed and still fails to make an impression.
  7. What helps salvage the film (much to the surprise of director and co-writer Lussenhop and his fellow writers Peter Allen, Gabriel Casseus and Avery Duff) are the unintentional laughs generated by the film's outrageous gun battles, childish dialogue and an action chase featuring Brown that seems to go on forever.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Tia
    Aug 27, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year so far. Not only was the eye candy on point, but the action scenes were exciting to watch. Chris Brown'sOne of my favorite movies of the year so far. Not only was the eye candy on point, but the action scenes were exciting to watch. Chris Brown's chase scene was the best part of the movie. I was very pleased that the audience enjoyed it as much as I did and was also happy that Idris got to keep his accent. I'm most likely seeing this movie another four or five times. Expand
  2. May 16, 2015
    9
    This movie is basically like The Italian Job, only with more gun fights and a parkour-inspired chase scene. I don't know what people don'tThis movie is basically like The Italian Job, only with more gun fights and a parkour-inspired chase scene. I don't know what people don't like about this one. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Takers is a great story, with lots of great action and chase scenes. Matt Dillon, who I usually can't stand is actually very good. I wasTakers is a great story, with lots of great action and chase scenes. Matt Dillon, who I usually can't stand is actually very good. I was thoroughly entertained, however there some big holes in the story and at many points, It felt familiar. It was as thou I was watching a PG-13 rated version of The Fast The Furious without Vin Diesel. Still, overall it was a pretty good movie and I'd recommend it, especially to my fellow action junkies! Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    Everyone in this movie does a great job of acting...except Chris Brown. The story was somewhat intriguing at first but eventually left meEveryone in this movie does a great job of acting...except Chris Brown. The story was somewhat intriguing at first but eventually left me unsatisfied. The story was a little to simple for me and it could have used some better character development of crew of bandits. I was annoyed by the classic shaky camera during action scenes but other than that most of the action scenes were entertaining.

    If it wasnt for the great acting of Idris Elba, Paul Walker, Jay Hernandez and even T.I. this movie would have sucked. They saved it, and so I can say this movie was "good"... for an action movie.
    Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    Great pace and a sense of urgency, though it never really lives up to those conditions. The cast is strong with a few semi-bigGreat pace and a sense of urgency, though it never really lives up to those conditions. The cast is strong with a few semi-big names......Christiansen oddly enough gives one of his better performances here though he doesn't appear that much. After the first half hour, I could start to see the film swirling down the toilet but it never quite makes a complete flush. We are then left with a soggy piece of paper that we don't know what to do with. Is it good or bad? Who cares? Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Check his docket and pray for a romantic comedy, a sci-fier, a western, anything, really, even a porno. That's because Matt Dillon has a weakness for armored car heist scripts. Should the former Flamingo Kid make one more of these routine genre movies, he'll have himself a trilogy. Just last year, he played a "taker", a guard, in Nimrod Antal's "Armored"; this time, he's blue, a good guy who stops the "Takers", a detective named Jack Welles. Maybe next time he'll play the truck. Maybe next time Dillon will star in a movie that's worthy of his talent. While "Armored" was by no means a brilliant piece of moviemaking, at least the actual robbery was halfway plausible; far-fetched, perhaps, but plausible enough to stave off laughter from the moviegoer. Unlike "Takers", where Detective Jack Welles faces criminals who are practically performance artists when it comes to hijacking armored cars. After the bravura bank robbery that opens the film(featuring an escape plan that is flat-out ludicrous), the thieves(featuring Hayden Christensen reimagined as Jason Bourne; a born-again Christensen) up the stakes with an even more daring caper. In broad daylight, the thieves steal the trucks on a busy street during rush hour, where a whole bunch of hypotheticals come into play which would prevent the job from being successfully pulled off. These armed robbers have a David Blaine-mentality when it comes to armed robbery, an exhibitionist streak, as there are just too many people who are watching them steal the loot. Although "Armored" had its share of credibility issues(in particular, no GPS system on the truck), "Takers" expects the moviegoer to believe that the police wouldn't be able to ferret out a fake road construction crew during the interim leading up to the implosion, and that there's not a cop around during the shootout between the guards and the thieves. When Ghost(T.I.) had explained the job to his "boyz", the crew's initial hesitation was due to the expediency of the job, which posed an affront to their professionalism. This would seem downright laughable, since there's nothing professional looking about the set-up. In a good heist pic, the more painstakingly intricate the preparations are, the better. Needless to say, "Takers" is no "Ocean's Eleven". The group sorely lacks a charismatic ringleader. They need somebody like, say, Matt Dillon. As the straight and arrow detective, Detective Welles, however, isn't going to garner any votes for "father of the year"; his impromptu take-your-daughter-to-work day could have gone horribly wrong. When "Takers" introduces the detective's daughter, it doesn't spend the time needed to portray Jack as a caring father like how the filmmaker probably had intended. Since "Takers" wastes time on an extended foot race between Dillon and a perp(Chris Brown, in an impressive feat of...running), the filmmaker compresses Jack's personal and professional life in one scene without realizing how it makes the detective look. He looks like a jackass. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2011
    0
    It usually takes about five minutes to judge if a movie is watchable or not. With this one, it took me only six seconds to judge that it isIt usually takes about five minutes to judge if a movie is watchable or not. With this one, it took me only six seconds to judge that it is pure crap. Come on guys...this is so ridiculous, with everybody forcefully trying to act cool, like teenagers in a bar, delivering cool onliners which really never actually are cool.
    Incredible that these kind of movies still get made...
    Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.