Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 366 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A princess stolen from her parents' castle as a baby, Rapunzel is locked in a hidden tower longing for adventure Now an imaginative and determined teenager, she takes off on a hilarious, hair-raising escapade with the help of a dashing bandit. With the secret of her royal heritage hanging in the balance and her captor in pursuit, Rapunzel and her cohort find adventure, heart, humor, and hair... lots of hair. (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    They really pulled out all the stops on this one.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    The film is picture-book pretty and fairly conventional, except for the 3-D, which is emerging as a convention in its own right. Still, the prettiness comes with brains, and the whole production, like those newly eye-catching models of American-made cars, bespeaks resurgent confidence.
  3. Reviewed by: Helen O\'Hara
    Jan 24, 2011
    80
    Not just a pretty face; there's meat on its bones and a song in its heart besides. This deserves a place up there with the best of Disney's previous fairy tales.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    The updated version of the familiar tale strikes a nice balance between humor, adventure and romance, making it a movie that will appeal to the whole family.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    A passably entertaining hodgepodge of old and new animation techniques, mixed sensibilities and hedged commercial calculations.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    Tangled is snappily paced and easy enough to get wrapped up in, propelled by a set of jaunty, serviceable songs from venerable composer Alan Menken and lyricist Glenn Slater.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Tangled is a serviceable kids' picture and marks a milestone in the history of Disney animation, but it's splitting hairs to characterize it beyond that.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 115
  1. May 31, 2014
    10
    Great music, Singing and acting! Other Disney Masterpiece by the creators! A Comedy and a musical that works very very very very very very very very very very very awesome! Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie, I always have a good feelling when disney release a new princess. I lo ve the way is focus the "Rapunzel" story, I liked this "new perspective" about the princess wants to go oue and took the iniciative, not wating for prince who rescue her. I love the concept. Excellent movie for me. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Took my kid sister to see Tangled the day it came out, because I had nothing better to do. I was expecting to bored out of my mind. The commercials made it look like just another standard Disney princess movie a la Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Mermaid: movies I didn't particularly like even as a kid. And, in part, it was a standard princess movie. It had an animal sidekick, an evil "step-mother", random outbursts of singing, and, of course, a princess who doesn't know she is one. What makes Tangled special, though, is the fact that it goes above and beyond the standard. Its dark parts are darker, its humor is lighter, its singing is better, its voice acting superb. There were only a few "problems", which I only noticed because I was looking for them. In the scene where Rapunzel and Flynn are wet, for instance, the normally flawless character animation seems a bit fake. Also, the songs seem a little forced into the story, and are almost copied from The Lion King, Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Mulan 2 (By the way, if you haven't seen Mulan 2, I envy you). However, the singing in all these songs (particularly "Mother Knows Best") is enough to overcome any contrivity. I absolutely loved the voice acting, particularly by whoever plays Flynn Rider (I can't quite remember his name). It was completely believable, and his character comes off perfectly. Another thing that I didn't quite like was the ending (THESE NEXT 9 WORDS ARE THE ONLY PART WITH SPOILERS): but that's only because I like my girls blonde. There was really no other way to pull off the story, and the story was better for it anyway. The best of the animation was in the eyes. Through the characters' eyes, you can see every thought, every emotion, every plan forming. The eyes in Tangled are possibly the best I've seen ever in a non-Pixar film. Overall, this movie is astounding, and the best Disney, non-Pixar film since the Lion King, and should give TS3 a run for its money at the Oscars. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    I went in thinking that this would be another kids movie that puts you to sleep. I can say I was wrong I really enjoyed it. It was well done, funny and kept me on my seat the whole time. animation is awesome the actors had me laughing the whole time. It was really nice to an "old school" movie with all the singing. I almost forgot that all movies used to be like that. I recommend this for a family movie night. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Divertido na dose certa Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    Great movie! Usually I tend to not watch animation movies in the theatres, but according to friends, Tangled was really quite good. And I thought exactly that. What separates the movie is the fact that it toys with the stereotypical plot line of a fairytale and that it ends with a satisfying ending that lacks the corniness that too many movies now feature. The amount of detail gone into facial expressions is brilliant and conveys that of the feelings and emotions of the characters. Perhaps my only flaw with the movie are the lack of memorable Disney-esque songs, and a somewhat forced entry of the songs that were featured. Also, the plot is incredibly predictable, though I suppose it's a kid movie and happy things have to happen. Having said that, it's a great movie to lift up spirits though unfortunately I found myself yawning more than once throughout. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely, searingly horrible. I'm never going to get that time back. This movie attempts to be funny and made viewers laugh but utterly and horribly fail at it. Also it's extremely unrealistic besides the magic hair and what not. In a life time someone couldn't grow 70ft of hair, it's impossible and even if they did there would be a lot of dead ends to it and it wouldn't be so pretty. My older sisters adores this movie but the plot is lame, rushed, and stupid. Hair couldn't make someone come back to life and everything moves much to fast. One moment Finn meets Rapunzel the next he's in love with her and doesn't want the damn crown back. The characters are pathetic because they have no personality and what little they do have is always changing and swinging back and forth. One moment Finn is the bad, the next he's the awesome, amazing prince for Rapunzel. Where is this movie leading I asked myself as I watched it. No where was the answer. The music is lame and the whole theme is overdone. Especially the part in the tavern when all these mean, rough tough guys turn into soft marshmallows. It's very unrealistic. Don't be stupid and waste your time watching this. Expand

See all 115 User Reviews

Trailers