User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 235

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    "Team America: World Police" is one hell of a funny puppet show that displays a surprising mix of several different genres.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you" ROFL!!! suck it micheal bay!!! im glad that matt and trey hate him as much as i do. the only thing that was alittle off to me was the whole puppet sex thing . i coulda done with out that but otherwise this is one of the few films i can wach over and over again and still laugh. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    When you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs are hysterical as usual and the characters are great, but unlike most Parker and Stone movies, The story isn't very strong. To be honest, it got really old, really fast, and by the end, I couldn't wait for it to be over. You should see it for its funny moments, but overall it's not their best work. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Picture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes and potty humour, but it is done well. A couple of scenes just start off really obscene and bad, but actually go on for much longer than they should and get much worse as they go on to shock you and gross you out even more! It is great! They basically turn Matt Daemon into a retard like Timmy from the South Park show and Kim Jong II the leader of North Korea (at the time of the original release) into Cartman, it is hilarious! There are also great satirical musical numbers in this movie too. I did not like it as much as the South Park movie, but it was still great. 10/10 Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    1
    Perhaps "Team America: World Police" just hasn't aged well, but this 'comedy' just isn't all that funny. Whereas other comedies have redeeming qualities, the slow pace and the writers' ability to take overdrawn jokes (which weren't humorous to begin with) and repeatedly smash you in the face with them, Team America is a good idea that fails in execution.
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    3
    Not what i was excepting. I hoped for an Action-Adventure genre but came a appaling movie. They use great movie actors as bad guys and bland humuor makes it bad. You like bad comedy or cheesy fails you would like this ( LIKE this movie.).
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is such a funny movie. People who don't like this movie fail to realize it's a spoof movie, a parody, making fun of America. Trey Parker and Matt Stone come out with another hilarious film.
    It has an awesome theme song, it makes fun Kim Jong Il, all involving puppets.
    Now that's funny.
  8. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Team America saves the world.
    An incredibly raunchy, extremely offensive, and in some moments a cringe worthy sickening puppet comedy; turns out to be down right hilarious. The laughs will make your jaw hurt.
  9. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    This movie was so stupid, but so funny. Definetly worth watching. NOT for kids. But if you like south park, you will like this alot. It's the same kind of humor except they didn't need to hold back like they do on comedy central.
  10. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Delivers the laughs with Parker & Stone's usual antics, but what makes this comedy fresh is the hilarious use of puppets, catchy songs and making light of a serious situation.
  11. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    A movie that heavily relies on shock value, and is designed to be offensive. It is the type of film you should get at a Charity Shop or Car Boot Sale for £3 or under. However, the music is very memorable.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Team America's strengths are in its musical numbers, especially Kim Jong Il's mournful "I'm So Ronery" (translation: "Lonely"), a heartfelt peek into the dictator's soul.
  2. There is no room for subtlety. Aiming a rude, foul-mouthed political satire everywhere -- left, right and center -- Trey Parker and Matt Stone blow up a good deal of the world, not to mention the egos of many Hollywood personalities
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Goes the extra mile to piss off everybody -- which includes gleefully destroying renowned Hollywood liberals, literally and figuratively.