Music Box Films | Release Date: July 2, 2008
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 64 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
13
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SteveJul 26, 2008
Tell Everyone...who enjoys a good mystery thriller film. Guillaume Canet has made a well-directed, atmospheric, slightly edgy translation of Harlan Coben's novel into a French setting, assisted by the most evocative soundtrack. Tell Everyone...who enjoys a good mystery thriller film. Guillaume Canet has made a well-directed, atmospheric, slightly edgy translation of Harlan Coben's novel into a French setting, assisted by the most evocative soundtrack. Coben's novels take sometimes incredulous turns, and Tell No One is not one of his best. Still, the production's skill makes Tell No One worth watching. The star, Francois Cluzet, is brilliant, perfect as the confused, hopeful, desperate and despondent husband who does not know with what dangerous entanglements he is involved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertE.Sep 29, 2008
A deep film; deeply plotted and deeply felt, brilliantly acted and intensely memorable: I thought about half a sleepless night. It reminded me of that best of noir films, Out of the Past
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AddisonSNov 21, 2008
Incredibly well crafted film that leaves you absolutely breathless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JefferyS.Jul 11, 2008
A first rate French thriller based on one of the most entertaining American novels I've ever picked up. Packs an emotional wallop and some big Bourne-esque action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanA.Jul 21, 2008
If you went in looking for a thriller and weren't completely satisfied, there's something wrong with you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
richardbAug 29, 2008
Good start, great chase scenes, decent music...but the all-powerful Dick Cheney as the explanation for everyone's crazy behavior (why doesnt the 'dead' wife ever phone her husband in 8 years???) makes Chinatown seem like a Good start, great chase scenes, decent music...but the all-powerful Dick Cheney as the explanation for everyone's crazy behavior (why doesnt the 'dead' wife ever phone her husband in 8 years???) makes Chinatown seem like a sitcom. Hell, it makes The Usual Suspects a model of thrifty exposition. Hard not to giggle as the policeman/father's explanation twists & turns & gets more & more knotted up; and BE WARNED: this will only get worse when they remake it in Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 29, 2009
Solid mystery thriller from French, and the French excel at that genre. Well acted, suspenseful and most always interesting. It does go on a bit long, but otherwise it's a fine film. Good score and cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricMendezApr 13, 2009
Are we all watching this movie? Someone gave this a bad review because they changed the name of the characters? for real? and as for the reviewer that asked about the baby....if you wondering about he baby in the park they were talking aboutAre we all watching this movie? Someone gave this a bad review because they changed the name of the characters? for real? and as for the reviewer that asked about the baby....if you wondering about he baby in the park they were talking about the womans baby that was sitting next to Alexandre. The movie is perfect for a thriller. They dont make them this good, they really dont, go watch you will love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexDec 10, 2008
Excellent picture. Very compelling and wonderfully crafted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpencerF.Jul 14, 2008
no one can make American noir like the French - this is an excellent movie with a killer soundtrack....."lost myself on a cool dark night".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardV.Jul 14, 2008
Complex and exciting, even if not completely plausible. Certainly sets your heart to racing. You really need to pay attention and even then, hard to grasp. Not a boring moment. Nice musical score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveSep 11, 2008
Don't understand some of the low scores for this film. I thought it was one of the better ones I saw this summer. I never felt it was too long, and I was captivated through the entire film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewMay 16, 2009
Eric L. is a bit harsh. I'm not a lifelong left-winger and so didn't find the smug, pretentious leftist cant that annoying. It comes with the territory in French cinema. I did, however, find my jaw hitting the floor that a movieEric L. is a bit harsh. I'm not a lifelong left-winger and so didn't find the smug, pretentious leftist cant that annoying. It comes with the territory in French cinema. I did, however, find my jaw hitting the floor that a movie can be so engaging and fun for 1:45 and then spend its final 15 minutes staggering me with how it has transformed into a third-rate miniseries or a Lifetime Original soap opera. I liked nearly all of it; however, be forewarned about the climax and denouement. If you have a brain you will feel completely insulted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful