New Line Cinema | Release Date: November 22, 2006
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 161 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
112
Mixed:
19
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
ScoA.Apr 2, 2007
The worst movie of the year. If Jack Black didn't use the F bomb, he would have no lines.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JohnR.Nov 27, 2006
Not funny at all - from the sophomoric cartoon farting at the beginning - to the lame parody of bad rockers going nowhere - a "This is Spinal Tap" it is not.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
2
KyriakosV.Jul 12, 2007
This movie was a bad idea.Very boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KyleRJun 30, 2009
I didn't really find it that funny... i actually kind of felt bad for jack black and kyle gass' characters, more than finding them funny. also, the ending was awful. really, i can use only one word to describe it: meh.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SkuggeSep 14, 2010
Man this movie sucked. There story could have been written by a 10 year old. Dough i love both Jack Black and Dave Grohl, there is no excuse for this movie. I think turned it off 3 times. I would have called Jack and asked for my money backMan this movie sucked. There story could have been written by a 10 year old. Dough i love both Jack Black and Dave Grohl, there is no excuse for this movie. I think turned it off 3 times. I would have called Jack and asked for my money back if it didnt borrow it for free from a friend. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
It was pretty terrible. Poor acting, Poor music as well and I thought it made for a terrible musical, and the entire film is just so stupid you cant believe that you are actually watching this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
BillS.Nov 26, 2006
Horribly unfunny. Jack Black shouldn't have a career after this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattR.Nov 26, 2006
A lame joke that lasts 90 minutes. Jack Black puts in the same performance he's been doing for 10 years, and at this point it's about as funny as watching Saved By The Bell reruns.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PennyS.Nov 27, 2006
I did not laugh once while watching this movie. This is very juvenile humor and is devoid of anything redeming whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Mar 20, 2007
Jack Black is so overrated. And is he serious about the "Tenacious D" band thing? I saw them play on SNL. Really, its an overplayed joke, right?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BlisterfishCafeMar 30, 2007
I am a true, hardcore fan of JB. I admire his talent, attitude, and his body of excellent, quite original work. The word "horror" fails to touch the emotion I felt when I watched this film. Didn't make it to the end...this movie is I am a true, hardcore fan of JB. I admire his talent, attitude, and his body of excellent, quite original work. The word "horror" fails to touch the emotion I felt when I watched this film. Didn't make it to the end...this movie is unwatchable. *hangs head in sorrow*. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JordanL.Nov 27, 2006
Gimme a break. There is nothing remotely funny in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TeriG.Nov 27, 2006
Unquethe worst movie of the year. What a waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RayB.Nov 27, 2006
Jack Black is a mediocre actor at best. However, when he appears in a badly written movie (which he co-wrote) he blows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianR.Nov 27, 2006
A couple of stoners that are wannabe legends in their own minds. Not original. Not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamieP.Nov 27, 2006
I went into the movie with serious expectations of being entertained by Jack Black. It didn't work. Bad script and bad acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LauraB.Nov 27, 2006
Lame, lame, lame. Don't bother. I walked out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobShouldiceNov 27, 2006
My 13 year old could write better material than this drivel. Very disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ElizabethP.Nov 27, 2006
Tenacious D is destined to be a bad movie disaster. There was not one LOL in the movie theater. Blows big time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful