User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 363
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZenoM.
    Aug 7, 2006
    3
    The most unimaginative movie in years. Boring action in spite of an enormous budget. Special effects are dull and tiresome. It is simply unbelievable how they managed to clone the previous movie, in the worst manner possible. I didn't expect a masterpiece, but still this exceeded my worst pessimistic anticipation.
  2. Thorn
    Mar 27, 2006
    4
    There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no cells and no power. Yet somehow, unbelievably, he keeps operating as though he has power and the light in his eye only goes out *after* the .. um... There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no cells and no power. Yet somehow, unbelievably, he keeps operating as though he has power and the light in his eye only goes out *after* the .. um... "grand finale". Where is this mysterious battery power coming from? The repeating scenes from the other T-films was absurd. Quotes were being repeated.. whole action sequences seemed to have been copy-pasted over.. I can't see this film having much rewatchability. Expand
  3. KyleA.
    Sep 17, 2005
    0
    I can't believe this film is actually getting good reviews at all, it's extremly awful. Remember in T2 where they destroy all the evidence in the cyberdyne building and the arm and chip from the old terminator from the 1st movie, well in this film it's showing you that it was all pointless and a waste of time. T2 ended perfectly with the emotion of the terminator having to I can't believe this film is actually getting good reviews at all, it's extremly awful. Remember in T2 where they destroy all the evidence in the cyberdyne building and the arm and chip from the old terminator from the 1st movie, well in this film it's showing you that it was all pointless and a waste of time. T2 ended perfectly with the emotion of the terminator having to destroy itself to destroy all evidence of skynet but now he comes back and he says that it has been delayed for no reason at all. There wasn't any music to the film until the end, john conner acts like a complete wimp compared to what he was like when he was 10, how the TX can just zap a car and make the pedals and steering rack move i do not know (seeing that there are no electronic parts in the pedals or steering wheel. This really is a bad film to the terminator franchise, if anyone out there thinks this is a good film to add to your terminator collection then they obviously don't know and care about the terminator story! Expand
  4. MatthewB.
    Jul 4, 2003
    4
    Lot's of interesting touches and novelties, but T3 has no punch, and had no sense of how to build tension or use timing in scenes, and only did a lukewarm job of building connection with the characters. I loved T1 and T2. But I am afraid the series is over.
  5. Umpeik.
    Jul 6, 2003
    3
    The movie tried too hard to be emotional and serious - and it just wasn't. The humorus scenes in the movie made T3 more like a parody than a sequel (like when Arnold walks into a bar stark naked in the beggining of the movie). The dialogues were incredibly stupid, especially when the characters made blantaly obvious references to the plot (the heroin actually says, "I hate machines" The movie tried too hard to be emotional and serious - and it just wasn't. The humorus scenes in the movie made T3 more like a parody than a sequel (like when Arnold walks into a bar stark naked in the beggining of the movie). The dialogues were incredibly stupid, especially when the characters made blantaly obvious references to the plot (the heroin actually says, "I hate machines" when operating a bar code reader in a store). The action, which is what the movie is about, was O.K. Nothing that hasn't been done, and the Matrix: reloaded had a lot cooler sequences. The fight scene and the chase scene pales in comparison to what's been done in the Matrix. Special Effect was especially well done, but it didn't make up for how bad the movie was. Overall, just a bad movie. Expand
  6. LelandM.
    Jul 7, 2003
    2
    I am probably one of the biggest Terminator fans in the world. I have been waiting for this movie since 1991. Honestly I have to say I was greatly, greatly disappoined. It was too humorous and I am tired of seeing the battle fought in the present day. Show the future battle, show the Terminators being built in automated factories, show the technology behind skynet. The better idea for I am probably one of the biggest Terminator fans in the world. I have been waiting for this movie since 1991. Honestly I have to say I was greatly, greatly disappoined. It was too humorous and I am tired of seeing the battle fought in the present day. Show the future battle, show the Terminators being built in automated factories, show the technology behind skynet. The better idea for this franchise would have been to do like the Star Wars saga and take us back to before the first movie. Show us the aftermath of the holocaust and the real rise of the machines out of the ashes. Show us the early model t-700's with rubber skin and the evolution to what we know as Arnold (the T-800 series.) Show us how the skin is grated onto the endos. A great illustration of what I am saying is the teaser trailer where the T-800 model is actually being built and it ends with Arnold saying " I'll be back." That is what we want to see. The future for crying out loud. Humans running from HK's and living underground base camps. The actuall Skynet base where it all began. The come back to the past theme is totally worn out. I completely solute Arnold for his reprise on the role. He is in great shape and is convincing as usual. He just did not have anything to work with. The script had some interesting points but lacked so, so much. I am more intrigued looking at websites on the internet. To the directors, please make another final movie, but this time do it right. And please make the movie longer, do it some justice. Make the last one for the Terminator fans. Don't just patch together a few special effects, blow up some stuff and call it a day.God bless the Terminator franchise. Expand
  7. ChazG.
    Jul 7, 2003
    3
    This movie left me dissapointed. The original story was negativly impacted. There was stupid humor inserted to fill in the gaps. The acting was weak. Half way through, I had a feeling it was going nowhere. Two thumbs down... Note: I have always been a hardcore fan of Terminator 1&2.
  8. HasanA.
    Jul 1, 2003
    0
    Re-hash.
  9. MikeC.
    Mar 22, 2007
    0
    Sorry, but this is the worst movie of the trilogy. Casting is awful and actors don't look too well directed in this movie. 0/10 (BAD)
  10. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    A unneeded sequel that does nothing but butcher a once great series. Terrible acting and poor action/special effects makes this a disapointing end to the original trilogy.
  11. Sep 9, 2012
    0
    I'd like to pretend this movie never happened.....i mean, it makes sense :p T3 pretty much contradicts everything the first two terminators did, and made the events of T2 for nothing! Skynet was blocked from ever existing, therefore could NOT send another terminator (a third one...really?! wtf) to kill john connor. Terminator Salvation is the prequel to T1, as in T1 they had already WONI'd like to pretend this movie never happened.....i mean, it makes sense :p T3 pretty much contradicts everything the first two terminators did, and made the events of T2 for nothing! Skynet was blocked from ever existing, therefore could NOT send another terminator (a third one...really?! wtf) to kill john connor. Terminator Salvation is the prequel to T1, as in T1 they had already WON the war! I believe the chronological order of the series is TSalvation, T1, and then they rid the world of skynet forever in T2. T3 is a movie that never should have seen the light of day. Expand
  12. Feb 23, 2014
    3
    Terrible follow-up to the first two movies, which were masterpieces, this is just stupid, there is nothing worth about this crappy movie, so you can easily just stop at T2, well at least it is not Terminator Salvation.
  13. Jan 5, 2011
    2
    Terminator 3 is just one of those sequels that just don't need 2 b made. At the end of T2 they had stopped Judgement Day from occurring, but in this, it's said that Judgement Day is inevitable. The Terminatrix was a horrible successor to Arnold from T1 and Robert Patrick as the T1000 in T2. John Connor was very annoying in this film. It really annoyed me that Sara Connor wasn't in thisTerminator 3 is just one of those sequels that just don't need 2 b made. At the end of T2 they had stopped Judgement Day from occurring, but in this, it's said that Judgement Day is inevitable. The Terminatrix was a horrible successor to Arnold from T1 and Robert Patrick as the T1000 in T2. John Connor was very annoying in this film. It really annoyed me that Sara Connor wasn't in this film. The pacing is abysmal, the acting is bad at best. The plot was beyond retarded. By far, the worst Terminator film 2 date. Expand
  14. May 9, 2011
    3
    Even though i think the first two Terminator films are outstanding,i wasnt expecting much from this one when i went into the cinema,& i got what i expected.This is not a good Terminator movie,or movie in general.It took a while to put my finger on it,but i realised that it didnt have the gritty feel & look of the first two movies,being way to bright & colourful.It just didnt feel right..Even though i think the first two Terminator films are outstanding,i wasnt expecting much from this one when i went into the cinema,& i got what i expected.This is not a good Terminator movie,or movie in general.It took a while to put my finger on it,but i realised that it didnt have the gritty feel & look of the first two movies,being way to bright & colourful.It just didnt feel right.. The music just seemed a little random & not stiring at all,The actor that played John Connor was ok,but he reminded me constantly of Dr Bashir in Deep Space 9(for tht longest time,i thought it was the same actor)!,& Claire wasnt particulally likeable or interesting.Another BIG critisism to this film,is casting a woman as the other Terminator.I'm sorry if this sounds sexist,but no matter how much she kept a straight face,i just couldnt take her seriously as a threatening Terminator.. Making her Boobs grow,to get positive treatment from a police officer didnt exactly help this either.. Even though the story explains how the war with the machines started,most of the film seemed pointless & unessasary.There was also too much humour,& silly bits,for example when the TX gets hit in her head,her head spins round,the afforementioned growing boobs,& the stripper he gets his clothes & 'Star shaped Sunglasses'? from. this movie seemed kind of a joke to me,& that the joke was on me.. Thank goodness Salvation was much better & more serious,though i'm not sure if Arnold Coming back for No 5 is a good thing or not,after No 3.Time will tell.. Expand
  15. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Fantastic beginning of a series ruined by feminist lunacy. Nothing fits in this movie, not even her ugly dress. Disastrous casting, except Arnold, and utterly bad script and directing.
  16. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    This bu-ll-sh-it have more valoration than other movies I liked, (Spiderman 3 for example) what a shame. Metacritic, you lost my credibility in the movies, no longer serve me.. you can kiss my ass.
  17. JeffreyS.
    Jul 4, 2003
    4
    (**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be nominated for visuals & especially in a yr. that has: Both "Matrix," flix/ "The Hulk" which I rate stronger then this actually!? & then of course final (**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be nominated for visuals & especially in a yr. that has: Both "Matrix," flix/ "The Hulk" which I rate stronger then this actually!? & then of course final in the trilogy for "LOR-ROTK!" I per. think "Matrix: Reloaded," has that gold already sewed-up. But back to the big guys film & he needs a hit also! His last to go-over $100m. was 7yrs. ago & "Eraser" He should follow the lead of fellow action-stars, like Willis, Stallone & attempt vocals for animated features-(They at this point, seem to be the better pix being made?) Arnold though is actually quite compelling in this & It's much smaller a role then other 2. & the girl, villianous "Terminatrix?" Not much to do 4 her, but she is 1 gorgeous & hot lookin' lady! Hope she has a better future then poor Robert Patrick??? & I've always & yes, before "Romeo & Juliet," liked Danes! Good & very attractive actress! 1994's "Little Women" she was 2nd only to the OSCAR nominated Winona Ryder in that wonderful re-make. Of, IRONY A *Kate Hepburn film from 1933! Anyway, this will make "smashed-machinery" of the other new flix released this weekend! Mediocre or not! But I somehow feel Pixar's gorgeous creation will still conqour all this summer? Expand
  18. RickM.
    Jul 7, 2003
    3
    D U M B dumb. A few spectacular special effects do not make a good (or even viewable) movie. The "plot" and action is so unbelievably stupid, that I cannot imagine anyone wanting to see this thing again -- much less buying it on DVD. What a waste!
  19. VeezerE.
    Jul 9, 2003
    4
    Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur and vision of the previous movies missing in this one; this could have been a great movie with a livelier and visionary script, and a more capable director. I walked out thinking "That was it?". Expand
  20. KenK.
    Aug 1, 2003
    3
    3 for special effects & action 0 for plot 0 for acting = almost a waste of time.
  21. PatC.
    Jan 5, 2004
    2
    It's a replicant of Terminator II, except there are no surprises.
  22. AlistairD.
    Jul 10, 2005
    0
    Not only was the film rubish and it was rubbish. It almost goes as far as too ruin the first film (a important sci-fi film and a classic altoghter). I thought the camp Arnie in T2 was bad but this was worse in that he doesn't have to be told to be camp by having his memory altered or whatever. Even the woman terminator has some crappy puns.
  23. RDalvi
    Mar 14, 2006
    2
    Good to watch once. But only for Kristina, Arnold and the action sequences. Otherwise there is no no tender moment just pointless action.
  24. RajS.
    Jul 10, 2003
    3
    Wouldn't have been good if I hadn't seen T2.
  25. EdMovieMan
    Jul 14, 2003
    1
    T3 is a dissapointment in every way I can imagine. The characters are bad with very little true acting, the feel is off from the last 2, this one has a feel of a cheap movie with very little extras to make a scene work, dialog that is weak and little spoofs that try to hint at humor. Everything about this one is unrealistic, from the new Terminator that steals a cops gun [even thought she T3 is a dissapointment in every way I can imagine. The characters are bad with very little true acting, the feel is off from the last 2, this one has a feel of a cheap movie with very little extras to make a scene work, dialog that is weak and little spoofs that try to hint at humor. Everything about this one is unrealistic, from the new Terminator that steals a cops gun [even thought she has her own built in beam cannon] to her remote control capabilities of machines [even though they dont have remote devices in them] this means she is telepathic. The whole point of this film is to wow an audience with chase scenes, shooting and destruction...which takes away from the original concept. Imagine going to a resturant and liking to food so you go back for a second time and the food is even better, so you go back one more time and the chef strips down the meat boosts up the flavor and puts your meal on a flashing red plate. That is what this movie is, stripped down of substance and full of cheap thrills that leaves you feeling totally unsatisfied and cheated. Needless to say I will never go back to a Terminator again. Expand
  26. HarrisA.
    Jul 2, 2003
    0
    That was the worst movie i have ever seen, destroy the Terminator franchise.
  27. DamianP.
    Jul 21, 2003
    4
    Where was the plot? Why did they use actors who belong only on tv? I was worried at the beginning when JC had the dream about the machines - the FX weren't terribly good. The action scenes turned out very well, though.
  28. TitoY.
    Jul 31, 2003
    2
    If Arnold and the T1000 model couldn't destroy Sarah and John Connor, how a beauty girl will win this time?
  29. T-800Fan
    Jul 7, 2003
    2
    I am a huge Terminator fan. I honestly was very disappointed. The battle between good and evil being fought in the present day theme is worn completely out. Show us a movie set in the aftermath of the war. The better franchise move would have been to take us before T1 similar to the way star wars did it. Show us the evolution of the machines and technology. Show us the underground human I am a huge Terminator fan. I honestly was very disappointed. The battle between good and evil being fought in the present day theme is worn completely out. Show us a movie set in the aftermath of the war. The better franchise move would have been to take us before T1 similar to the way star wars did it. Show us the evolution of the machines and technology. Show us the underground human base camps. Show us Terminator infiltration units with and without skin. Show us how the skin is grown for the T-800 units. Show us the T-800 units being built in automated factories. Don't just throw some special effects together, blow up some buildings and call it a day. I was very disappointed and for those of you that thought the movie was good, go to www.users.zetnet.co.uk/s.billen/t800_series.htm on the internet. This site gets into the history and depth of the Terminators. Early model HK units, skynet, etc... This is what we need to see, not another present day battle. Expand
  30. FredW.
    Jul 7, 2003
    4
    This movie was awful. I only give it a 4 for some good action and chase scenes. The plot was contradictory and the content was inconsistent. The deleted scenes screamed betrayed the vacuum they created. I?ve seen better editing in amateur cinema works. This movie was not worthy of the ?Terminator? name, a point well emphasized by the obvious absence of James Cameron.
  31. Dante
    Jul 7, 2003
    1
    I didn't even pay to see this movie, and I feel cheated. I'm not even comparing it to the first two films, because they were great movies and I never expected T3 to live up to them, but I wasn't expecting it to completely ruin the story and take it in a direction that James Cameron would never have wanted it to go. What a crock of crap.
  32. DaveC.
    Aug 18, 2003
    3
    So flat and contrived, I just didn't care about anything that was happening in this film.
  33. DavidF.
    Apr 22, 2006
    2
    I'll set the tone of this review right away, this movie is terrible! What was Jonathan Mostow thinking when he made this mess. There is no explanation of what the hell is going on, Arnie seems like he's playing a parody of the Terminator from the earlier films, it has no heart and the story line is laughably poor. I waited over 10 years to see this film and they give no I'll set the tone of this review right away, this movie is terrible! What was Jonathan Mostow thinking when he made this mess. There is no explanation of what the hell is going on, Arnie seems like he's playing a parody of the Terminator from the earlier films, it has no heart and the story line is laughably poor. I waited over 10 years to see this film and they give no explanation as to why any of this is happenening, only that it is 'inevitable'. T3 is basically a really poor version of T2, its dumbed down and badly written, the directing also sucked. I gave it a 2 out of 10 simply because some of the special effects are quite impressive. They should have set it all in the future and had an aliens-esque story about marines instead of basically remaking T2 and soiling the franchise. Expand
  34. YoonMinC.
    Nov 13, 2003
    3
    Terminator 3 clarifies the importance of the director. While Cameron can be pompous and excessive, he understands someting about narrative shape and building of suspense. While Terminator 2 isn't worth repeated viewing it kept the audience on the edge of the seats first time around. Terminator 3, however, crumbles as it putters along, coming nowhere near the momumental height it Terminator 3 clarifies the importance of the director. While Cameron can be pompous and excessive, he understands someting about narrative shape and building of suspense. While Terminator 2 isn't worth repeated viewing it kept the audience on the edge of the seats first time around. Terminator 3, however, crumbles as it putters along, coming nowhere near the momumental height it strives for. As the grand finale culminating in the awakening of sentient machines and apocalypse of the world, the most dramatic emotional response it may elicit is a yawn. Schwarzenegger sleepwalks thru his mechanical role this time around, and his devasting one-liners have lost their fizz, not least because scenes lack structure, an essential element for any punchline to work. The villain here is simply a female rehashing of T-1000. Unfortunately, unlike the previous killer androids she lacks personality, she's less femme fatale than femme metale, a mannequin as killer robot, lacking both the commanding presence of Schwarz in part 1 and the menacing intensity of T-1000 in part 2. The human characters are lackluster, the action set pieces are mindnumbingly repetitious. Most crucial of all, a pervasive panic-stricken sense of doom is never felt throughout the entire movie; well, okay, there was one chilling scene with a mountain of skulls and bones beneath water but one cool image doesn't make a movie. Expand
  35. SamL.
    Jul 11, 2003
    2
    Well, this was yet another crappy film which SHOULD have been better. Boo!
  36. Kong
    Jul 11, 2003
    3
    It didn't even try to be scary. They didn't develop Arnold enough in this movie, like they did in T2. John Conner looked like they plucked him from a future "C actors" bin. Sarah Conner wasn?t even in the movie... Oh yeah, lets not forget blatant advertising. And to top it all off they shot the majority of the movie in the bright day light ... thus leaving out the eeriness that It didn't even try to be scary. They didn't develop Arnold enough in this movie, like they did in T2. John Conner looked like they plucked him from a future "C actors" bin. Sarah Conner wasn?t even in the movie... Oh yeah, lets not forget blatant advertising. And to top it all off they shot the majority of the movie in the bright day light ... thus leaving out the eeriness that was T2. Special effects can not mask how horribly written and acted out this movie was. Expand
  37. Mike
    Jul 16, 2003
    2
    This movie was absolutely terrible. I was so disappointed after being a huge fan of the series to see what they have done to the last movie. Went into the movie not expecting to see another T2 but hoping that it would be exciting and entertaining. Well my friends, it seemed like they ran out of original ideas so lets play off of T2 and rehash things. The comedy in this movie is terrible. This movie was absolutely terrible. I was so disappointed after being a huge fan of the series to see what they have done to the last movie. Went into the movie not expecting to see another T2 but hoping that it would be exciting and entertaining. Well my friends, it seemed like they ran out of original ideas so lets play off of T2 and rehash things. The comedy in this movie is terrible. The other actors are uninspiring and add little to the movie. The new female terminator is nothing more then eyecandy and it was a huge stretch to even be mildly intimidated by her. Can't say enough about how disappointed i was and wouldn't even recommend it as a rental. Sorry guys. Expand
  38. MichaelC.
    Aug 19, 2003
    3
    We live in a day and age where you can do anything on screen with the right amount of cash. Anything. Needless to say, this movie has great action scenes, but unfortunately that can't make up for the rest of the movie. The dialogue was piss-poor, the acting was mediocre at best, and the storyline definitely took a turn for the worse. Plus Nick Stahl makes "the great John Connor" look We live in a day and age where you can do anything on screen with the right amount of cash. Anything. Needless to say, this movie has great action scenes, but unfortunately that can't make up for the rest of the movie. The dialogue was piss-poor, the acting was mediocre at best, and the storyline definitely took a turn for the worse. Plus Nick Stahl makes "the great John Connor" look like the biggest pussy on the planet. They are really digging this franchise right into the ground (by the way, don't buy Terminator: Dawn of Fate either). Expand
  39. JohnathanR.
    Nov 14, 2005
    1
    I couldn't believe how dissapointing this film was - I really think that it was the biggest let down of all time in regards to movie sequels / trilogy. How could they get it so wrong?
  40. MichaelR.
    Nov 12, 2003
    0
    It wasn't really "0" bad, more like a four or five, but I really feel that this movie shouldn't have been made, so yeah.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. If none of this seems particularly fresh, you're right. "T3" is strikingly similar to "T2" and "T," reflecting Hollywood's reluctance to tamper with a hit series.
  2. 75
    It puts almost everything it has into its explosive set pieces, but manages to instill the audience with just enough emotional involvement. If, Ah-nold decides to come bach again, this installment should ensure he has an audience.
  3. Though this film doesn't have the novelty value of the first or the complex plotting of the second, it boasts the most spectacular single sequence.