Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A chainsaw-yielding killer known as Leatherface terrorizes a group of young teens.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 4, 2013
    60
    Helmer John Luessenhop ("Takers") and a small army of scripters go back to the bloody roots of the long-running franchise to concoct a better-than-average horror-thriller that relies more on potent suspense than graphic savagery or stereoscopic tricks.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jan 4, 2013
    50
    Ms. Daddario is adequate, while Mr. Eastwood, as a lawman, strikes sinister notes. It's nice to see briefly Marilyn Burns, the record-holder in long-distance screaming in Tobe Hooper's original 1974 "Texas Chain Saw Massacre," and Gunnar Hansen, who played Leatherface in the same.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 4, 2013
    40
    Unlike the restrained 1974 film which cleverly relied mainly on suggestion, this version piles on the graphic, often CGI-enhanced gore.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    Stick around through the credits for an extra closing scene that leaves the door of Heather's new home wide open for a sequel.
  5. 25
    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    Time to fire up the critical Black & Decker: Somebody-there are six credited screenwriters-really wasn't clear on the concept.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 4, 2013
    12
    There's no deliberate Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2-style comedy to the film, just dim-witted gruesomeness retrofitted with gimmicky contemporary trappings.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 49
  2. Negative: 17 out of 49
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I hate that i am gonna say this but it was stupidly-comedic and hilarious. It's a fun movie actually, and as a fan, i find it very interestingI hate that i am gonna say this but it was stupidly-comedic and hilarious. It's a fun movie actually, and as a fan, i find it very interesting to see if a 2012 type Texas Chainsaw will work and it did. No scare at all but i don't care, do you? 2 THUMBS UP! Expand
  2. May 11, 2013
    8
    A decent addition to the TCM films, but it unforntuatley had its flaws. Good setting with a good range of characters and storyline, but someA decent addition to the TCM films, but it unforntuatley had its flaws. Good setting with a good range of characters and storyline, but some of the deaths were a little disappointing and predictable, as were some of the twists also. It had it's ups and downs as far as the excitement and entertainment went, but I certainly wasn't bored at anytime while watching it. I think the two more recent TCM films from the 2000's that came out were better than this one, but Horror fans should still enjoy it. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    This reboot picks up where the original left off: The only survivor is a baby, who returns as an adult to claim her heritage. After too muchThis reboot picks up where the original left off: The only survivor is a baby, who returns as an adult to claim her heritage. After too much dialogue the killings finally begin: bloody, blunt-force-trauma butcherings. Of course, they're more explicit than the 1974 versions, but they still have the same grungy, low-budget brutality. If you liked the original (which is one of my faves) you won't be disappointed. That being said, in striving to maintain the style of the original, they've abandoned any hope of freshness. NOTES: Saw it in 2D and didn't miss anything. STAY THRU THE CREDITS for a final surprise. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    I think the directors recorem this kind of movie because they think it is something simple to do, but even something simple to play has to beI think the directors recorem this kind of movie because they think it is something simple to do, but even something simple to play has to be done in a dignified manner, which in most cases here, does not happen. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2014
    4
    Interstesting movie just wished they hadn't called it Texas chainsaw massacre. Its comical because it classic big boobed lots of sex clicheInterstesting movie just wished they hadn't called it Texas chainsaw massacre. Its comical because it classic big boobed lots of sex cliche movie not Texas chainsaw Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    3
    Its funny, I usually like these kind of movies. But usually the one's that I like have some sort of charm about it such as..(Camera angles,Its funny, I usually like these kind of movies. But usually the one's that I like have some sort of charm about it such as..(Camera angles, character development, gore effects, and good music) This film hardly had any of that. Actually I wouldn't even call this a true film at all. There's nothing cinematic about it. Honestly I felt like I needed an hour long shower after I watched this. Although the carnival scene is neat. THAT is pretty much it. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    The worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movieThe worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movie was so much worse. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers