Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 19, 2013
    63
    See Steve McQueen’s “Shame” (2011) if you want a sense of how destructive this sickness can be to the soul. See Thanks for Sharing if you want to know what people can do about it.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 19, 2013
    75
    It’s a tribute to the script by Stuart Blumberg and Matt Winston, the directorial aplomb of Blumberg and the genuine performances of the cast that most of the time, we care about these people, we believe their problems are real and we want them to get the help they so desperately need.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 20, 2013
    75
    It’s a major performance (Ruffalo) in a minor movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Jason Anderson
    Jun 28, 2013
    75
    Though Blumberg treats the topic with admirable frankness, the film’s insights would’ve had more impact if he wasn’t so quick to hop to the next storyline whenever matters get especially thorny.
  5. 63
    Thanks for Sharing is a bit of a head-snapper in its tone changes, stumbling into flippancy. The light moments are appreciated, but they do tend to undercut the sobriety of it all.
  6. 70
    Thanks for Sharing is never quite crazy or funny enough to transcend its “disease-of-month” template. The title turns out to not be ironic — a mixed blessing.
  7. Reviewed by: Trey Graham
    Sep 20, 2013
    72
    And yet: Thanks for Sharing is such a relaxed, good-humored movie that it's tough to complain about its tendency to ... well, overshare.
  8. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 19, 2013
    63
    Ultimately, it's the romance that feels forced and phony, not the group meetings, the confessions, the anguished moments alone.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 19, 2013
    63
    Thanks for Sharing is all over the place trying to find a tone, but it knows where its heart is.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 19, 2013
    63
    Although the characters are three-dimensional, the simultaneous crises and last-act resolutions are a little too neat for a movie about the messiness of life.
  11. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Sep 18, 2013
    75
    The movie has its heart and humor in the right place, and there's no "Shame" in that.
  12. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Sep 17, 2013
    80
    What makes things different is the way Blumberg strikes an assured balance between dour downward spirals and “work the program” uplift, gifting these flawed people with both a sense of hope and the knowledge that it will never be enough.
  13. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Sep 17, 2013
    80
    A winsome mix of funny, harrowing, and smart, it's most commendable for making characters who are addicted to bad behavior—and who refuse to blame themselves for it—somehow exceedingly sympathetic.
  14. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Sep 19, 2013
    88
    It’s surprisingly wise, funny and affecting, thanks in part to a sensitive script, and in part to a strong ensemble cast.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    It's not Apocalypse Now but it is actually a very insightful movie with great performances and every note rings true. I really loved thisIt's not Apocalypse Now but it is actually a very insightful movie with great performances and every note rings true. I really loved this movie. Give it a shot. Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    This is funny but it also depicts struggles with addiction honestly and with a strong feel of realism. The acting in this film is well doneThis is funny but it also depicts struggles with addiction honestly and with a strong feel of realism. The acting in this film is well done including a surprise performance from Pink. A- Full Review »
  3. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    I have attended Sex Addict's Anonymous and Sex and Love Addict's Anonymous meetings. As someone who has been in those rooms, as uncomfortableI have attended Sex Addict's Anonymous and Sex and Love Addict's Anonymous meetings. As someone who has been in those rooms, as uncomfortable as it is to admit and as it is to be there, I can say for sure that this movie was made for and by people who understand "the disease." People are critical of the film on grounds of things like plot progression, characterization, acting, soundtrack etc. That, to me, is a waste of review. The real questions viewers should ask is:

    -What is sex addiction? Why has our society come to believe there is a such thing?
    -Are 12 step programs helpful for people who identify as sex addicts?
    -What causes people to "act out" impulsively in sexual/romantic ways?
    -What is the relationship between addiction and free will?

    These kinds of deeper questions get touched on in the film in a funny and fun, dramatic way. I resent some of the bad reviews. I think people were mostly uncomfortable with the component of addiction and how everyone SHOULD be able to relate, as we all have our compulsions in our own ways. And we all know some creepy "sex addict" types in our lives. The film SHOULD speak to everyone on some deep level, but people are too caught up in wanting a non-formulaic, ground-breaking film that, what, breaks all the rules and offers something new and exciting to the genre of dramatic comedy. What boring expectations for film watching. Why not be more introspective and see how you can relate and what you can learn from it. You'll never get a film anything like this. They're not going to keep making films about 12 step programs for people with sexual compulsion problems.
    Full Review »