Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: While still in his teens, Donny fathered a son, Todd, and raised him as a single parent up until Todd's 18th birthday. Now, after not seeing each other for years, Todd’s world comes crashing down on the eve of his wedding when an uninvited Donny suddenly shows up. Trying desperately to reconnect with his son, Donny is now forced to deal with the repercussions of his bad parenting skills. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 14 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jun 16, 2012
    80
    The results are soul-corrodingly funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt
    Sep 3, 2012
    60
    Not nearly as terrible as burped-out Sandler disasters of recent years, there's enough funny stuff here to remind us of his talent. Still, it's not for everyone.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 14, 2012
    50
    I did laugh. The movie is so disgusting it is worthy of the Farrelly brothers.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 15, 2012
    38
    In matters of personal taste, there is no right or wrong, so if erasing brain cells is your idea of a good time, That's My Boy could be your cup of turpentine.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 14, 2012
    30
    This is one of those movies you feel stupider just for having sat through. I think I'm already worse at math.
  6. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 14, 2012
    25
    Will be construed by the faithful as an embarrassment of riches and by the rest of us as cruel and unusual punishment.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Even with 87.5 years to go, the 21st century may never see a stupider comedy than That's My Boy.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 61
  2. Negative: 18 out of 61
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    Imagine if the director of "The Hangover" never said, "Okay, that's too far." The resulting movie would be very close to this. If you loved that movie and you're willing to further degrade yourself as a human being, this will be the funniest movie, ever. It has just the right amount of funny moments, mixed with a decent storyline and character development to make it great to watch over and over. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    That's My Boy
  3. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    It's Adam Sandler doing what he does best. "That's My Boy" is low brow and very raunchy (don't take the kids), but we laughed most of the way through, If you're up for a guilty pleasure like this or need an 80's flashback, check it out. The all star (and has beens) cast was a nice surprise too. Collapse
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    I'm a huge Adam Sandler fan and I absolutely love his comedies. I always look forward to the next Sandler film and this one was no different. I couldn't wait to see it. Now that I've finally seen it I can say that the movie, while having some funny moments, was actually a big disappointment for me. I was expecting it to be his funniest movies yet. It's a lot different from the rest of Sandler's films, it's his raunchiest yet and he drops the f-bombs for the first time in a long time, probably more times than he ever has before. Despite these differences they don't make the movie any funnier. Most of the jokes are predictable and I could see them coming WAY before they were made. Other times it's just not funny, only manages to get a little chuckle, or is just too gross. There were a few moments that did bring some genuine laugh out loud moments, but they were few and far between. It's a decent Sandler flick with some great cameos, and worth a rental for Sandler fans just to see him try something new, but don't expect anything that great. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    Esta pelicula no me gusto tanto, tuvo comedia."That's My Boy" es la clasica comedia de Adam Sandler, una comedia exagerada con algunas escenas comicas, pero esta fue un poco diferente. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2014
    3
    Another unfunny comedy by Happy Madison and Adam Sandler proves to be another Sandler film with dying and repetitive humor the bores in more ways than just one. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    This movie was just terrible. While I laughed a few times, it wasn't worth my time. The language was offensive and the lingo was overused and not necessary. The sexual theme was overdone and over the top. I will never see another Adam Sandler movie. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers