Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 19, 2005
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 434 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
355
Mixed:
51
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
LuccaSSCAug 20, 2017
Not very funny nor clever, The 40 Year Old Virgin is the definition of OK. The acting is OK (with the exception of Steve Carell, he's great), the jokes are OK, the script is OK, the direction is OK. There's nothing particularly bad about theNot very funny nor clever, The 40 Year Old Virgin is the definition of OK. The acting is OK (with the exception of Steve Carell, he's great), the jokes are OK, the script is OK, the direction is OK. There's nothing particularly bad about the movie, but there's nothing particularly good about it either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MuffinManDruryJul 25, 2017
A formidable, experienced cast converge in this hilariously crude - yet surprisingly charming - tale. While the characters are largely uninspired stereotypes, Carell's awkward neuroticism and the group's organic chemistry are the highlightsA formidable, experienced cast converge in this hilariously crude - yet surprisingly charming - tale. While the characters are largely uninspired stereotypes, Carell's awkward neuroticism and the group's organic chemistry are the highlights of Apatow's raunchy, occasionally forced, script. It's not particularly inventive, nor is it heart-rending, but its deft simplicity and frequent quips realise a wholly satisfying and enjoyable two hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
Hollywood's comedic stars align for a shamelessly outrageous, suprisingly touching, and infinitely rewatchable rom-com that I can say with confidence is one of the funniest movies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
zahabitahaAug 26, 2015
good but i think that was not very funny and it was long..............................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMar 8, 2015
I went in with very low expectations, so to say they were exceeded would be an understatement. Shockingly funny and entertaining, The 40 Year Old Virgin is rife with dirty/immature jokes, but they were handled so maturely (makes sense if youI went in with very low expectations, so to say they were exceeded would be an understatement. Shockingly funny and entertaining, The 40 Year Old Virgin is rife with dirty/immature jokes, but they were handled so maturely (makes sense if you don't think about it), that they were actually funny. Steve Carell, Catherine Keener, Paul Rudd, Romany Malco, and Seth Rogen, were all great and really worked well together comedically. The writing and direction from Judd Apatow were both very good. While extremely awkward at times, The 40 Year Old Virgin is a shockingly good romantic comedy that manages to, yes, actually be oddly romantic at times. I typically hate movies like this, but it is so well-written and handled that it is impossible to hate. Plus, Steve Carell is absolutely stellar, so that helps as well. Overall, while far off from being my favorite comedy ever, The 40 Year Old Virgin kept me laughing throughout and blended the romance perfectly with the comedic elements. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeFeb 15, 2015
The movie had his laughs and the acting was really good.Steve Carrell was amazing and the co-cast was good too.The scenario was original but the movie was too long so it was a little boring in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
The 40 Year Old Virgin is one of the better comedies of modern times. Steve Carell is great in what is probably his most notable role. Paul Rudd was great as well and this is the movie that really put Seth Rogen on the map. I love Seth RogenThe 40 Year Old Virgin is one of the better comedies of modern times. Steve Carell is great in what is probably his most notable role. Paul Rudd was great as well and this is the movie that really put Seth Rogen on the map. I love Seth Rogen in this film wearing his classic album tshirts. This movie is the first in a slew of perfect Judd Apatow comedy films followed by Knocked Up and This is 40. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesJul 23, 2014
Hahahaha! This is absolutely hilarious! Thanks to Steve Carrel for being an asset to this comedy film. The story is funny and the characters are amusing. Recommendable for adults!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticMay 27, 2014
More pleasant than 'Knocked Up', which is contributed by the improvisation and raunchy dialogue and atmosphere. The whole ensemble is the real gem of the movie, although it is great social commentary as it explains the thought of men almostMore pleasant than 'Knocked Up', which is contributed by the improvisation and raunchy dialogue and atmosphere. The whole ensemble is the real gem of the movie, although it is great social commentary as it explains the thought of men almost 24/7. Women. It is no surprise to me they are offended by the provocative outlook men have. But who cares? It''s funny, nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscApr 2, 2014
Judd Apatows comedy is worth watching this one is okay . Steve carell is a gay **** thats a fact . and his role was sad in this film but Apatow's comedy is something to enjoy . Grade C+
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Sep 10, 2013
Pretty decent comedy. Carrel is in top form and there allot of great jokes and scenes. However, I find that it dragged a little when it was trying to be serious.

Overall: A decent comedy, that is flawed and may not be for everyone, but I
Pretty decent comedy. Carrel is in top form and there allot of great jokes and scenes. However, I find that it dragged a little when it was trying to be serious.

Overall:
A decent comedy, that is flawed and may not be for everyone, but I enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a light chuckle (primarily anyone in their 30s.)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989May 7, 2013
Has taken me a while to actually see this film as I'm not a huge Steve Carrell fan, but I surprisingly really enjoyed it. Clever little film that can probably relate to a lot of people in a lot of ways (not just the obvious 'virgin' tag).Has taken me a while to actually see this film as I'm not a huge Steve Carrell fan, but I surprisingly really enjoyed it. Clever little film that can probably relate to a lot of people in a lot of ways (not just the obvious 'virgin' tag). Steve does a great job as Andy, but the cast as a whole are all very funny and entertaining. It's probably up there as my favourite film from Apatow's films he has released. Overall a solid comedy flick that I would be surprised if you haven't seen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ExKingMar 31, 2013
this is the 2nd most favorite comedy movie after the hangover 1 the story is so down to earth that anyone can relate to it and i loved the fact that it's a low budget movie with no visual effect just a simple home edition movie with anthis is the 2nd most favorite comedy movie after the hangover 1 the story is so down to earth that anyone can relate to it and i loved the fact that it's a low budget movie with no visual effect just a simple home edition movie with an awesome story and awesome details and steve carrell was perfect for this role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFMar 18, 2013
Does exactly what it says on the tin and delivers a story about a man who has yet to lose his virginity at 40 years old. Steve Carell puts in a hilarious performance as Andy, a single man living alone, who works at an electronics store, quiteDoes exactly what it says on the tin and delivers a story about a man who has yet to lose his virginity at 40 years old. Steve Carell puts in a hilarious performance as Andy, a single man living alone, who works at an electronics store, quite content with living his care-free, routine ridden life, riding his bike to work, routine morning ritual and so on, and this is disturbed after a small poker game involving his co- workers where Andy's little secret comes out.
He initially panics and fears his life may be on the downside when David (Paul Rudd), Cal (Seth Rogan) and Jay (Romany Malco), his co-workers, decide to help him in his attempt to pop the cherry.
Cue a hysterical two hours of attempts to find not necessarily a one night stand, but somebody who Andy can potentially spend the rest of his life with.
The funniest parts of the film are definitely the interactions and chemistry between Andy and his colleagues, the dialogue in the film was quite improvised, adding much more laughter and various set ups that are just hilarious.
Carell's character is the most grounded yet most interesting of the bunch, he perhaps thinks too much on a situation which leads to hysterical scenes (trading masturbation for an episode of Everybody Loves Raymond is a true standout) that gels the movie into a sense of realism of people's perception of virginity and sex in general.
Jane Lynch has a small yet unforgettable part as the manager of the store, Paula, Lynch expertly utilises her deadpan humour to cut down her cast mates and sort of drift into any conversation and make it her own.
The film has plenty of heart and sweet nature with Carell's character being at the centre of this along with his love interest, Trish (Catherine Keener), who owns the most pointless store imaginable. The big cast with all their parts to play can sometimes be overwhelming and at times dragged out, each character to tries to teach Andy their way of picking up women seems like it is starting a new story and therefore at times feels repetitive, but this certainly doesn't deter from the general story of the film, though you may see that it was perhaps too long.
The film is well written, by Carell himself and director Judd Apatow, with plenty of improvised laugh and well timed scenarios that is sure to please the best of us.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A very competently written, utterly hilarious comedy, with just the right dose of humanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Sep 3, 2012
Very funny. Not sure I would recommend it to young viewers, but it brings everything a comedy should. it was great because it went where no one else would go. It took chances and that payed off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 28, 2012
The 40 year old Vrigin is the funniest movie of the decade. If you don't laugh in this movie your are deprerssed. The movie was smart, witty and hilarious. Steve Carell was excellent. One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RSKMar 8, 2012
One of the funniest movies ever. It's in the upper-echelon of comedies, if you will. Steve Carell is a genius, and the rest of the guys are hilarious. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Solid movie with some laughs, but not really much more. It's all about his virginaty and that's funny for some time but does not last until the end of the movie... Steve Carrell did a good job. I think without him this movie would be evenSolid movie with some laughs, but not really much more. It's all about his virginaty and that's funny for some time but does not last until the end of the movie... Steve Carrell did a good job. I think without him this movie would be even more boring by time. Co-Cast was good as well only the storyline was to weak to stand the 90 minutes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxJan 16, 2012
It was ok. A few funny scenes and a solid cast through out. However it never really rises above that generic comedy that you expect to be funny because it features actors from other comedies that you enjoyed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NazguleroMar 31, 2011
The movie skillfully depicts the only thing that is on a man's mind, from birth to death. I can see that women find that offensive. As a matter of fact, if women could be men just for one day, they would be shocked. That is how dull theThe movie skillfully depicts the only thing that is on a man's mind, from birth to death. I can see that women find that offensive. As a matter of fact, if women could be men just for one day, they would be shocked. That is how dull the average man's life is. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
TubieNov 2, 2010
Awesome movie, one of the funniest in recent years. Not only is it funny but it's interesting and you won't notice the 2 hours that this movie runs. The entire cast was amazing and it's great that they all have gonne to make many more filmsAwesome movie, one of the funniest in recent years. Not only is it funny but it's interesting and you won't notice the 2 hours that this movie runs. The entire cast was amazing and it's great that they all have gonne to make many more films and I think it's partly thanks to their performance in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
As to be expected by Judd Apatow, it's crude, quirky and funny.
Steve Carrell is brilliant in the lead & although the story is very predictable, it's still quite sweet.
Gets an extra mark for the song at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanielVJul 1, 2008
A movie that at the same time warms my heart and makes me laugh out loud. My favorite Steve Carrell movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyRDec 22, 2007
Instant Comedy Classic. Filled with dynamic and lovable characters, unforgettable scenes and a plethora of one-liners you and your friends will be quoting for years to come. The excellent dialouge entertains you through the whole 2 hrs and Instant Comedy Classic. Filled with dynamic and lovable characters, unforgettable scenes and a plethora of one-liners you and your friends will be quoting for years to come. The excellent dialouge entertains you through the whole 2 hrs and 13 mins. This is one of the few movies that I can think of where each and every character is equally likeable and actaully funny. This film should be in anyone's DVD collection, along with Caddyshack, Animal House and Blazzing Saddles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonJ.Nov 16, 2007
Great movie it was a very well written comedy and the cast just worked perfectly together. This movies has a lot of repeat value.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinJAug 2, 2007
I really could have enjoyed this movie if I hadn't watched it with my parents. It was too sexually profane to watch with parents. I got that i-shouldn't-be-doing-this feeling the whole way through this movie...until the ending of I really could have enjoyed this movie if I hadn't watched it with my parents. It was too sexually profane to watch with parents. I got that i-shouldn't-be-doing-this feeling the whole way through this movie...until the ending of course. My parents never gave me the "birds and bees" talk. I had to find that stuff out through porn (the best way to learn). It was a funny movie that does, in fact, express a good point: today's society pressures people so much to lose their virginity. You see this in movies and t.v. shows constantly. Life isn't all about sex: the creating of it is, but the living of it isn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FredG.Jun 2, 2007
Not that funny. Very little redeeming value. I totally don't get the good ratings. Most of the people I talked to agree that this movie wasn't that good. Every episode of The Office is funnier than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Jun 2, 2007
Perfect, perfectly written, perfectly acted, everything about this movie was absolutely perfect. the jokes were clever, the story could have easily been just a teen flick to laugh at it's dirty jokes, but it turned out to be so much Perfect, perfectly written, perfectly acted, everything about this movie was absolutely perfect. the jokes were clever, the story could have easily been just a teen flick to laugh at it's dirty jokes, but it turned out to be so much more than that. Great job Judd, keep em' comin Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaJ.Mar 13, 2007
Loved this film, what a great surprise as was expecting another teen movie comedy and discovered and absolute gem!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonR.Feb 11, 2007
One of the funnier movies that I have watched in a LONG time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariJan 28, 2007
Very possibly the funniest move ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TalmadgeW.Sep 2, 2006
Mind you, I am far from a prude but I thought this movie was in very bad taste, offensive to both sexes, dull most of the way through. I don't know people who use that kind of language or who are totally sex driven. I am extremely Mind you, I am far from a prude but I thought this movie was in very bad taste, offensive to both sexes, dull most of the way through. I don't know people who use that kind of language or who are totally sex driven. I am extremely concerned that so many people raved about it. Where is our society going? What kind of person would write such trash? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Aug 29, 2006
The 40 Year Old Virgin is utterly laugh out loud hilarious. Filled with some very clever comedy and a great main character, The 40 Year Old Virgin is the comedy to beat all comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TravisC.Jul 18, 2006
I could not, for the life of me, understand how anyone thought this movie was even average, much less ABOVE average. The "jokes" were stale, the characters uninteresting and unfunny, and this one-trick pony shot its wad way too early.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Apr 21, 2006
One of the best pictures of 2005. The secret of "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" is that its title hero has a more real, better, less problematic view of sex than any of the hilarious supporting characters. We'll never know how close this film One of the best pictures of 2005. The secret of "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" is that its title hero has a more real, better, less problematic view of sex than any of the hilarious supporting characters. We'll never know how close this film came to getting Oscar nominations in all the major categories, including Best Picture. I suspect it was a close runner-up for all nominations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyM.Apr 3, 2006
this movie was awsome and very funny it kept you laughing and enjoying every minute yes i would say its not for everyone because there are some vulgar statements but I liked it and so did my family i never thought it was going to be as good this movie was awsome and very funny it kept you laughing and enjoying every minute yes i would say its not for everyone because there are some vulgar statements but I liked it and so did my family i never thought it was going to be as good as it was but i was wrong i love the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveC.Mar 28, 2006
This is a great movie. It is definitely not for everyone though. If you are at all offended by vulgar language you need to pass on this one. It's meant to be offensive, and it is. But the script embraces the offensiveness and makes the This is a great movie. It is definitely not for everyone though. If you are at all offended by vulgar language you need to pass on this one. It's meant to be offensive, and it is. But the script embraces the offensiveness and makes the viewer laugh at the absurdity. I rented this movie on the recommendation of a friend thinking I would hate it but it was a welcome surprise. Maybe going into it with low expectations is the key to really enjoying it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdS.Feb 26, 2006
Very funny, and the romance between the two leads was very real, and the ending was perfect for the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
A-BooJan 31, 2006
The 40 year old virgin was funny is some scences, it was funny.....you laughed, it was crazy like when the woman throw up that was uncalled for....the jokes were half and half, funny but it was OK, the movie got boring, when he meet the The 40 year old virgin was funny is some scences, it was funny.....you laughed, it was crazy like when the woman throw up that was uncalled for....the jokes were half and half, funny but it was OK, the movie got boring, when he meet the woman with the kids, thats when it got boring all in all it's ok....you may want to rent it, BEFORE YOU BUY IT! 10 out of 10 is taking it 2 far but it was ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RonL.Jan 30, 2006
Worth a rental on a Saturday afternoon. Good fun. Not as good as Something About Mary or The Wedding Singer but in that vien - except cruder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.GoldJan 25, 2006
The best comedy of the year (except for Pride & Prejudace), it is very believable, very funny, and had me smile the whole time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Anti-virgin40yearoldJan 25, 2006
Never trust the paid-critics. Despite huge "metascore", this is shallow vulgar primitive calculated one-joke for dorks. And Steve Carell is good only as a dumb sidekick to some real good comedians like Will Ferrel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZackL.Jan 20, 2006
This movie is ridiculous. But it is so funny and shows a tad bit of charm, that you cant help but feel a certain emotion for this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
J.S.Jan 18, 2006
I was quite disappointed after hearing so much good news about it. In reality, the jokes weren't THAT funny, and the movie seemed to drag on after some time. In addition, it really seemed like they forced too much vulgarity into the I was quite disappointed after hearing so much good news about it. In reality, the jokes weren't THAT funny, and the movie seemed to drag on after some time. In addition, it really seemed like they forced too much vulgarity into the language / script. Swear words can convey a lot, but it seemed like the writers were forcing them, making things unnatural in my eyes. I was bored, and the end didn't come fast enough. There were a few very funny parts, but overall -- disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrantN.Jan 17, 2006
Steve Carrell is absolutly hilarious in the this sex and profanity laden comedy about a man who like the title says has yet to have sex at age 40. It at times certainly is in bad taste, however Carell makes the movie just as Johnny Depp made Steve Carrell is absolutly hilarious in the this sex and profanity laden comedy about a man who like the title says has yet to have sex at age 40. It at times certainly is in bad taste, however Carell makes the movie just as Johnny Depp made Pirates of the Carabein. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AngieJan 14, 2006
The first half of this movie is hilarious... by the end tho i was worn down by the use of the f-word and nudity... do they hav a RATED version of this rather than the UNRATED? the movie makes up for everything else by the final scene tho.. The first half of this movie is hilarious... by the end tho i was worn down by the use of the f-word and nudity... do they hav a RATED version of this rather than the UNRATED? the movie makes up for everything else by the final scene tho.. completely random and unexpected. made me end the movie with a smile on my face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertB.Jan 12, 2006
I would question the intellectual level of anybody who might watch a movie titled "The 40 Year Old Virgin" and expect something other than variations on sex jokes, racial jokes and gay jokes. No, this movie is not high art. It's rather I would question the intellectual level of anybody who might watch a movie titled "The 40 Year Old Virgin" and expect something other than variations on sex jokes, racial jokes and gay jokes. No, this movie is not high art. It's rather low brow, but unlike many low brow movies, it is funny, and it does have a heart. Steve Carrell's character is depicted as the pathetic loser that often litter this genre. He's actually a real, intelligent person (if somewhat exaggerated) whose situation is not depicted as being really any worse than anybody else's in the movie, except that his issue happens to be the primary focus of the film. I enjoyed this movie a lot more than I expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
D.G.Jan 11, 2006
I hated this movie. Had I gone to the theater I would have walked out and asked for my money back. I just didn't see the humor in it. I felt that the movie degraded women, and was too long. My boyfriend rented it because he'd seen I hated this movie. Had I gone to the theater I would have walked out and asked for my money back. I just didn't see the humor in it. I felt that the movie degraded women, and was too long. My boyfriend rented it because he'd seen it and thought I'd like it. I told him during the movie that it was a guy flick. I didn't think it was a movie women would find to be a 10 or even a 6 or 7 in rating. I found this movie to be more geared for teens. I can't say enough negative things about this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveW.Jan 11, 2006
Absolute crap. Writers must have taken 10 minutes to write this plot. Lets see how many times we can use the F-word. Disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonydannieJan 11, 2006
I rented this thinking that I would be laughing my butt off. It was funny but not Laugh out loud funny. Was I Dissapointed? Maybe Little. But I think this one was Alot funnier then "Wedding Crashers."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
masoudb.Jan 9, 2006
Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikeb.Jan 9, 2006
Very well written and hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jannef.Jan 7, 2006
It´s a bizzare movie, and i love bizzare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DeWayneP.Jan 6, 2006
This is one of the worst films I have ever seen...any positive comedic value you get from this movie has more to do with your intellectual level and bad taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KennyM.Jan 6, 2006
This film, which had a great theme and amazing potentially was extremely dissapointing. The vulgarity was sickening and made me feel uncomfortable it was so bad at points. The only light in the dark was Steve Carell, in all his glory. He was This film, which had a great theme and amazing potentially was extremely dissapointing. The vulgarity was sickening and made me feel uncomfortable it was so bad at points. The only light in the dark was Steve Carell, in all his glory. He was excellent and I only wish the rest of the movie was as energentic as he was. My only other complaint was that the movie dragged on FOREVER!!! How many times were they going to delay the inevitable ending???? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
karamh.Jan 4, 2006
It is a very nice movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyW.Jan 2, 2006
A must have in anyones DVD collection that likes comedy. I was shocked on how funny this movie was. I would not pass this one up at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
mitchm.Jan 2, 2006
One laugh. Nuff said. (and that one was the already well-rehearsed chest waxing scene, which we'd all seen in trailers for month preceding) My expectations were admittedly high, and this sad flick dashed them to pieces. I could barely One laugh. Nuff said. (and that one was the already well-rehearsed chest waxing scene, which we'd all seen in trailers for month preceding) My expectations were admittedly high, and this sad flick dashed them to pieces. I could barely sit through it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
4
BobJan 1, 2006
Watched the "unrated " version. Beware. To sum it up it was repetitively vulgar, sometimes funny and overall a real disapointment since the theme could have provided so much opportunity to make a better film. Talk about over rated and over hyped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WilliamH.Jan 1, 2006
Sophomoric, 8th grade sexual humor. A movie made for sexual babies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MikeS.Dec 30, 2005
While generally humorous, the humor was brought down several notches by the never-ceasing vulgarity. It really didn't need so many F* words to be successful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
alg.Dec 30, 2005
I laughed once.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
8
robuglyDec 28, 2005
I thought it was a really funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesB.Dec 28, 2005
Excellent movie, loved every minute. A quality script, fresh cast and expert direction make this film worthy of standing side-by-side with modern masterpeices such as Old School, Ancherman, Zoolander, Dodgeball, Wedding Crashers and Starsky Excellent movie, loved every minute. A quality script, fresh cast and expert direction make this film worthy of standing side-by-side with modern masterpeices such as Old School, Ancherman, Zoolander, Dodgeball, Wedding Crashers and Starsky and Hutch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
kevins.Dec 26, 2005
Wasnt a bad movie, just one i expected to be a lot funnier. kinda went on and on...some great moments though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GeorgeD.Dec 24, 2005
This is a film that couldn't make the distance on genuine content so made it up with grossness and vulgarity. i read so many glowing reviews of this grindingly ordinary film that when I actually saw it, I wondered if there was another This is a film that couldn't make the distance on genuine content so made it up with grossness and vulgarity. i read so many glowing reviews of this grindingly ordinary film that when I actually saw it, I wondered if there was another "40 Year Old Virgin" out there somewhere that actually was funny and insightful. This certainly wasn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
bobbyDec 22, 2005
It might be possible to create a more cliched format, a flatter script, more boring characters and unimaginative cinematography-a 0- am looking forward toJud Atarow's next film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregT.Dec 19, 2005
Sort of interesting. Not as great as the critics seem to think it is. How many times can you say the "F" word and still milk a laugh out of it? This is comedy but not roll-in-the-aisle comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeDec 19, 2005
Some funny moments, but overall very bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillN.Dec 18, 2005
"This movie deserves a 10!!! I wuved it! I mean the potty jokes! Hilarious! Man, I loved LOVED LOVED THIS movie!" said Bill with sarcasim, "Actually, this movie sucked. Everyone left the theatre I was in, and I was there alone with my best "This movie deserves a 10!!! I wuved it! I mean the potty jokes! Hilarious! Man, I loved LOVED LOVED THIS movie!" said Bill with sarcasim, "Actually, this movie sucked. Everyone left the theatre I was in, and I was there alone with my best buds, then we left." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JPXDec 18, 2005
People who said they walked out because it was too ofensive and inconsiderate, see the end because everybody has a heart even when it doesn't seem like it in the beginning. This movie was hilarious. I've been a big Judd Apatow fan People who said they walked out because it was too ofensive and inconsiderate, see the end because everybody has a heart even when it doesn't seem like it in the beginning. This movie was hilarious. I've been a big Judd Apatow fan ever since The Ben Stiller Show and he didn't let me down at all. I had laughed harder in this than I had in most movies this year. It also had a great heart to it which a lot of gross out comedies miss. That makes this movie so unique. The only reason I'm giving this movie an 8 is because there were some slow moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Dec 18, 2005
Both consistently clever and laugh-out-loud funny, it's a genuinely enjoyable movie experience. It's also smart enough to be realistically crude yet genuinely humane at the same time. Like most men, the film may crave sex, but in Both consistently clever and laugh-out-loud funny, it's a genuinely enjoyable movie experience. It's also smart enough to be realistically crude yet genuinely humane at the same time. Like most men, the film may crave sex, but in the end, it's looking for love. Special bonus points for the sublimely ridiculous (in the best sense of the word) musical finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdanT.Dec 17, 2005
It's actually a very good movie, I went in thinking it would be a Wedding Crashers rip-off.Its not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LenB.Dec 16, 2005
What a disgusting movie! If this is what our young adults enjoy and think is funny, our country is in more trouble than I thought.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanDec 13, 2005
The funniest movie ever!! My wife loved it too!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcoM.Dec 10, 2005
Not as bad as I thought
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RetDec 6, 2005
Typical hollywood cliche american teens seem to love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WallyS.Dec 6, 2005
One of the years most funniest films, Steve Carrell reveals himself capable of being the next Jim Carrey, and capable enough of choosing the right script, nailed by the right director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PonR.Dec 4, 2005
Funny all the way. Maybe could have been shorter but definitely kept the laughs coming without resorting to cheap shots most of the time. A pleasant surprise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoshE.Dec 3, 2005
This is what America likes?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Dec 3, 2005
so!!! underrated this movie should get way more attention as very funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenW.Dec 3, 2005
This is a great movie. I couldn't stop laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KatrinaC.Nov 29, 2005
The best and funnyest movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeG.Nov 12, 2005
Not the funniest comedy ever, but a lot of laughs, a star-making turn by Carell, and an excellent supporting cast. The movie is winning, though, because its all heart in the end, avoiding the easy way out of using the title character as a Not the funniest comedy ever, but a lot of laughs, a star-making turn by Carell, and an excellent supporting cast. The movie is winning, though, because its all heart in the end, avoiding the easy way out of using the title character as a never ending gimmick. There are some scenes in this movie that people will be quoting and talking about for years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hootersm.Nov 10, 2005
Hoot hoot hoot hoot hoot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrentS.Nov 9, 2005
Better than the lame trailer made it out to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PierreL.Nov 8, 2005
Great performances, very well written, and funny at all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CherS.Nov 4, 2005
A hoot! And - who doesn't need a real hoot now and again? If you want to lay down the problems at hand, and just laugh and relax your mind, don't miss this funny story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarileeNov 2, 2005
What a dumb waste of time. I hoped for some broad humor, but it's so sophmoric and predictable I became bored. All the laughs were in the trailer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeteTOct 22, 2005
The funniest American movie since Team America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LuigiDKOct 21, 2005
The movie deserves a 1, but felt a higher 'fake' score would draw more attention. This is a movie for immature teens - but its overall subject theme and gutter-level humor make it inappropriate for any age group. The fact that The movie deserves a 1, but felt a higher 'fake' score would draw more attention. This is a movie for immature teens - but its overall subject theme and gutter-level humor make it inappropriate for any age group. The fact that critics provided any positive reviews is alarming to the point that where I've always taken reviews as a guidleine at best - any critic who didn't despise this film has lost all credibility. Not to mention the fact that our society could possilbe enjoy this crap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BillC.Oct 11, 2005
The jokes and gags in this got tired in a hurry for me. I've read that if you liked DodgelBall you'd love this movie? It didn't work that way for me. It played to much to the jumior high crowd...maybe that was their intent? The jokes and gags in this got tired in a hurry for me. I've read that if you liked DodgelBall you'd love this movie? It didn't work that way for me. It played to much to the jumior high crowd...maybe that was their intent? Dodgeball had some lame story line, but even that was missing from this film and all the jokes felt recycled. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Rev.RikardOct 8, 2005
The funniest movie in two years! Steve Carell is the new Steve Martin. He can just stand in place and cause one to chuckle. Though the male friends in this movie appear as adult adolescents, there is enough truth in their characters to The funniest movie in two years! Steve Carell is the new Steve Martin. He can just stand in place and cause one to chuckle. Though the male friends in this movie appear as adult adolescents, there is enough truth in their characters to reveal the sorry socialization process through which American men must pass. Sex is the most important issue in our lives because many, if not most of us were raised to believe this falllacy. As an American male I easily identified with Carell's character, If we were all gut-level honest we would admit that we desire genuine love more than anything. However, his male friends/counselors allow us to see the ridiculous perceptiions that would make being a forty year old virgin the most dispicable state in which a man can find himself. My spouse laughed as heartily as myself because she recognized that very truth pulsating from these exaggerated characters. This film is more than a comedy about a man finally trying "to get some." It is a disarming film that allows American males to laugh at our sad condition. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaneJ.Oct 8, 2005
My best friend and I (both women) went to see this last night. Let me tell you the theatre was rolling in laughter. Some parts had me crying from laughing so hard. It just really had us all laughing in the theatre. I am taking my husband next week!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DWOct 7, 2005
I feel the need to be the lone, non-prudish voice to say that I felt this movie to be a total stinker. Rankness, that's fine, stupid humor, OK; I can even go along with a movie that looks like it was shot for the most part in a I feel the need to be the lone, non-prudish voice to say that I felt this movie to be a total stinker. Rankness, that's fine, stupid humor, OK; I can even go along with a movie that looks like it was shot for the most part in a warehouse; but a lead character who switches from nebbish innocence to foul-mouthed smart-ass just to serve the joke of the moment undercuts character and wipes out the whole thing for me. Didn't it bother all the people who thought this movie was so sweet to have a scene where a strange man enters a young woman's bathroom while she's in the bathtub, and lasiviously remove his shirt in a way that could only portend to her (slutty or not) the beginning of a rape? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DamienT.Oct 5, 2005
To be completely honest I wasn't expecting much from this. While I loved Steve Carell in Bruce Almighty, he really didn't grab me in the American remake of The Office. Though, I came out of the cinema with a smile on my face. This To be completely honest I wasn't expecting much from this. While I loved Steve Carell in Bruce Almighty, he really didn't grab me in the American remake of The Office. Though, I came out of the cinema with a smile on my face. This film provides so many laughs and has such embarrassing situations which Carell seems to be perfect at in this. You feel his pain but can't help laughing. I loved this film, it's got plenty of laughs and a few lessons in life hidden there beneath the comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexOct 4, 2005
Very funny, had some very funny scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveF.Sep 28, 2005
Totally tasteless, fal-out-of-your-chair-laughing humor from start to finish.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RTSep 21, 2005
Hilarious. A must-watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful