User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 443 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 443
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    I didn't like it at all; too much violence; not a simple story; no poetry; no swearing from Captain Haddock; some names have been changed (to adapt to the US market?)
  2. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    The Adventures of Tintin is an A when it comes to visuals probably the best since Avatar but the story and how the movie was made was not very good to say the least. It went way to fast and the ending came to sudden halt with me saying at the end that's it.
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    5
    Don't let the all star production and director fool you... it was a struggle staying awake towards the end. I read the comics growing up and was really excited to watch it. maybe its not for me #notthatexciting
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    The best special effects I've seen in an animated film.
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    I was expecting a bit of a turkey tbh before I sat to watch this, sure I read all the books as a kid but figured it too hard to make a decent movie from due to its old fashioned views of the world. I was extremely proven wrong... this is a top notch CGI action movie at it shining best. Forget turkies like Indy Jones... TinTin and Cpt Haddock would kick his ass.
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Despite using state-of-the art motion capture technology, at its core The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is a good old-fashioned family adventure film. It's extremely good-looking, funny and entertaining throughout, and has plenty of references to Herge's original books to keep fans happy. The motion-captured cast are on top form: Jamie Bell makes a compelling Tintin, AndyDespite using state-of-the art motion capture technology, at its core The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is a good old-fashioned family adventure film. It's extremely good-looking, funny and entertaining throughout, and has plenty of references to Herge's original books to keep fans happy. The motion-captured cast are on top form: Jamie Bell makes a compelling Tintin, Andy Serkis is perfect as the good-natured but permanently drunk Captain Haddock, Daniel Craig makes a serviceable villain as the scheming Sakharine and Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are quite simply a comic joy as the incompetent pair of detectives Tomson and Tompson. The real star of the film though, is Tintin's hyper-intelligent dog Snowy, who manages to out-perform every other actor, and appears to be the most full of life, despite being the only character to be computer animated without the use of motion capture. The film also boasts another classic John Williams score and some top-notch writing from Steven Moffat, Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish. I must admit, I do question the need for the film to be made using motion capture animation - it does seem like more trouble than it's worth. The amount of effort everyone involved has put in, the complexity involved with shooting the simplest sequence with this technology all in the name of bringing Herge's work to life on the big screen, but surely it could have been done in live-action or in traditional animation, or even in modern computer animation a-la Pixar? It does at times feel a little like an exercise in what is possible rather than what is necessary. I'm also very very tired of 3D films, and found the film much easier to watch in 2D at home. Also the story itself does loose a little energy in the final act, but luckily not enough to have a particularly negative impact on the film as a whole. Tintin looks and sounds fantastic, is very funny, is full of heart and energy and is surprisingly intelligent for an animated blockbuster. It is an exercise in spectacle, and sometimes this focus on spectacle does get in the way of story, and the mystery elements of the film are a bit predictable, but it remains a pretty decent film thanks to the passion that went into making it. I'll be intrigued to find out where Peter Jackson takes the story next... Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    Animation and modelling were amazing in this film. The production was great and the actors did a good job. HOWEVER. I found myself often looking at my watch wondering when this was going to finish. There were so many pointless things that they kept in the film which made it drag. 6/10
  8. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    This has to be one of the best animated films. The animation is incredible. Outside of this, it is a great adventure romp, with plenty of humour. However, it is important to make parents aware that this is Tin Tin. So there is heaps of shooting and violence and use of alcohol. It is great though. I took my 11 and 9 year old and I think they were the right age to see it. Any younger and itThis has to be one of the best animated films. The animation is incredible. Outside of this, it is a great adventure romp, with plenty of humour. However, it is important to make parents aware that this is Tin Tin. So there is heaps of shooting and violence and use of alcohol. It is great though. I took my 11 and 9 year old and I think they were the right age to see it. Any younger and it would probably not be appropriate. This is a great, enjoyable, classic animation. Well done to all involved in bringing this movie in to existence. Expand
  9. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Not spectacularly amazing, just Tintin. I read all the books as a child (our local library had the lot) and have to admit, a good job was done bringing them to life, I suppose the highest praise that can be given to the film is it isn't insulting to anyone who remembers the source material. Well done, Spielberg. You didn't f*ck it up.
  10. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    This film is Spielberg's first animated film, and it's a great and epic thrill ride. Andy Serkis is great in the film, but really, he's great in any film as long as his real face isn't shown (he's not ugly, though). The pirate ship scenes are the best, which have you holding on to your seat for a long time. My beef is that it could have had a better script, though it's supposedly faithfulThis film is Spielberg's first animated film, and it's a great and epic thrill ride. Andy Serkis is great in the film, but really, he's great in any film as long as his real face isn't shown (he's not ugly, though). The pirate ship scenes are the best, which have you holding on to your seat for a long time. My beef is that it could have had a better script, though it's supposedly faithful to the original comic book. It's great, but it feels like a Spielberg movie not directed by Spielberg himself. But every three years, he releases two films, one that's good, and one that's bad or not as good. So you know what I'm reviewing next... Expand
  11. Mar 2, 2012
    8
    Tintin is extremely lifelike, but with physics like the Polar Express. It is consistently funny and full of action, even if the story is absolute random.
  12. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    Hmm amazing movie and picture from this movie..
    Altough more extended story and not folowing the comic story Im unpatiently wait the next sequel,,
    Im curius with the map in thend of sory
  13. Apr 25, 2012
    6
    Being the FIRST-EVER animated film for both Steven Spielberg and John Williams you would think this film (although pretty good) would have been classic perfection due to the immense build-up over time it's taken these two men to make a picture of this scope and scale. I was expecting the 3D motion capture computer-animation to be much more lifelike, much like how Avatar when it wasBeing the FIRST-EVER animated film for both Steven Spielberg and John Williams you would think this film (although pretty good) would have been classic perfection due to the immense build-up over time it's taken these two men to make a picture of this scope and scale. I was expecting the 3D motion capture computer-animation to be much more lifelike, much like how Avatar when it was released. Instead this movie felt too 'cartoony' for my taste buds despite the fact that the content is marketed to the late teen/early adult demographic. Expand
  14. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    We were all waiting for this collaboration to happen..the great Spielberg with the similarly great Jackson. This animation got a boy's heart to the screen. This movie is a constant play of opposites and that's just perfectly sets the mood. Weta out did itself this time, this movie is beautiful to look at. A perfect example of what animation can do is the sea battle scene its breath takingWe were all waiting for this collaboration to happen..the great Spielberg with the similarly great Jackson. This animation got a boy's heart to the screen. This movie is a constant play of opposites and that's just perfectly sets the mood. Weta out did itself this time, this movie is beautiful to look at. A perfect example of what animation can do is the sea battle scene its breath taking to say the least. Its also very faithful to the source material that it also presents the feel that the comics presented. Jamie bell is a good tintin but is a bit over the top but we'll let it pass. But adventure is always round the corner and there isn't a space to take a breath. Although tintin is a bit abstract his costars are lovable even tough sometimes over the top. But without a doubt serkis is the man of honor haddock is the star and platform of the whole movie, he provides laughter and humanity beyond any other. Besides from haddock the slapstick does become a bit too much and a bit off. Another small flaw is its fast pace, the plot does get dragged along sometimes. Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    I did have doubts and fears about this film but thankfully, those fears were put to rest, Though it wasn't exactly a 100% faithful adaptation it still delivered enough excitement and joy to keep you at the edge of your seat for an hour and a half.
  16. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    You should know that there is expected to be two more Tintin films, and that is a good thing. I had the pleasure of reading the many Tintin comic books when I was younger, something that I recommend doing before you see this film. After hearing there was a movie planned, I was thrilled, to say the least. Like a geek, I researched everything and anything that had to do with the film,You should know that there is expected to be two more Tintin films, and that is a good thing. I had the pleasure of reading the many Tintin comic books when I was younger, something that I recommend doing before you see this film. After hearing there was a movie planned, I was thrilled, to say the least. Like a geek, I researched everything and anything that had to do with the film, becoming more excited with every new discovery. Then, I finally got to see the film. Was the film going to be awful? Amazing? Mediocre? I'll put it simply: I loved it. But to say I loved this film, is not enough. I simply must gush on about this film, that was everything I could have wanted it to be, with few complaints. You might know that this film is based off of the following three Tintin books; "The Crab With The Golden Claws," "The Secret Of The Unicorn," and "Red Rackham's Treasure." However, a much more accurate term would be "inspired" from these books, rather than based off of. The film only borrows scenes, locations, and characters rather than the stories and plots of each. This isn't really a bad thing though, because it's nice to get to experience a new, if familiar, adventure. When the film opens, the audience is treated to a 3 minute title sequence, portraying scenes from Tintin books, as well as showing off a fine musical theme by John Williams, whose musical talent is consistent throughout the film. In fact, it's one of my favorite film scores. Once the actual film starts, we see Tintin in a flea market-like surrounding. This scene not only sets up the film, but does a fine job of displaying some of the greatest animation I've ever seen. It looks absolutely gorgeous, and quite life-like. The style choice is ingenious; putting cartoonish characters in a life-like setting. It's not unlike what other animation studios have done, but it's much more exaggerated in this film, and much more detailed. The characters are portrayed faithfully. All the characters look like they do in the book, and the voice actors have been selected excellently. Tintin is exactly as I imagined him to be, the Thompson twins are hilarious, and all the other characters have been given a fine treatment as well. Even Bianca Castifore has a short scene. I do have a few complaints regarding the character of Captain Haddock, however. In the book, he is portrayed as cranky, and usually drunk. In the film, he's portrayed as sad, stupid, occasionaly cheerful, and usually drunk. This portrayal is not a bad one, it's just not very faithful to the books. Also, Professor Calculus is omitted from the film, but he doesn't really belong in this film anyway. However, based on what I've heard the sequel is going to be about, Calculus will probably be added to the cast. Also, for those who are curious, Snowy does not "think" as he does in the books, he's no different than any normal dog. Me and the friends that I saw the film with, have all read the books, and it was very rewarding when watching the film. There are literally DOZENS of references, cameos, and easter eggs from the Tintin books. From characters walking in the background, to props, to posters, to names, to buildings, it doesn't end! There is actually a reference to almost EVERY book in the series. There are some excellent chase scenes, some exciting fight scenes, and some thrilling escape scenes. I can't remember I had so much fun at the theater. The film was also, quite hilarious, though there was some juvenile humor that I didn't appreciate. Out of a lot of praise, I do have some complaints. I have already expressed my feelings toward the change of Captian Haddock, but I do have some other things to point out as well. For one, the movie didn't have much of a plot. It felt more like the characters were trying to get from point A to point B, without much thought about what to do when they get there. Also, the film felt somewhat non-conclusive, but I feel that this was done intentionally for the sequels. There was some cheesy dialogue (the last two lines spoken by Tintin and Haddock are ridiculously hammy), and Tintin just cannot say "Great Snakes!" without sounding forced. I do love this film, I didn't want it to end. I am looking forward to the sequels, more so than any other film, and I have great anticipations for what Peter Jackson and Steven Spielberg plan to do with the next Tintin. Expand
  17. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Best TECHNICALLY LOOKING animated film ever made (but what does that mean with technology always evolving) The film kind of goes on super auto-pilot in the 3rd act but this is a very entertaining film. I love the lighting in this film (it is design as if a 35mm camera shot the film) and the way the camera travels in the action scenes would have been impossible in live action, i also likeBest TECHNICALLY LOOKING animated film ever made (but what does that mean with technology always evolving) The film kind of goes on super auto-pilot in the 3rd act but this is a very entertaining film. I love the lighting in this film (it is design as if a 35mm camera shot the film) and the way the camera travels in the action scenes would have been impossible in live action, i also like the transition edits. OH! POINTLESS IN 3D, lacks character development( not a huge flaw in a "tintin" adaptation) and the 3rd of the film is on the flawed side but, with all that said it really is a masterpiece in animation and a really good action film. For the record I generally enjoy motion capture animation (besides mars needs mom) Expand
  18. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    Loads of fun. Probably the best CGI and use of motion capture I have ever seen. I went with my five year old daughter and it was a little long and complex for her. Probably best for seven and up, but she still liked it too. Note, it was a little violent for young kids. In one scene, somebody was shot with a machine gun through a door. Overall, well made and enjoyable.
  19. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Adventures Of Tintin is an absolute joy to watch. For the first time since 'Raiders of the Lost Ark' has Steven Spielberg managed to make an action adventure film on an equally enjoyable level. So trade the fedora hat for a spiky patch of red hair, the snakes for a faithful dog companion, the boulders for tanks and you have The Adventures Of Tintin. The film follows a winding narrative that puts the young Belgian detective on a worldwide hunt for the lost treasure of the unicorn ship. With the Unicorn, Spielberg has found the perfect MacGuffin which is guaranteed to maintain the audiences interest throughout. Jamie Bell possesses an innocence and an ingenuity that makes Tintin a well rounded, likeable character but the REAL treat is about a 1/3rd into the film when Andy Serkis appears as Tintin's 'side-kick'(?), Captain Haddock. The different sides to his character provide great moments of levity; the perfect antidote to the mostly straight faced but kind hearted, Tintin. Other notable actors lend their voices to the film; Daniel Craig sinks his teeth into the role of the antagonist (Playing against type has never been so much fun!), and the double team of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are well cast but possibly under used as the hapless Thompson twins.

    Spielberg will impress his audience with the inventive plot and a fantastic cast delivering great performances but does the technology suit the structure of a Tintin story? The answer is a definite YES! Motion capture has moved on since films like 'The Polar Express' and at times during this movie, you will find yourself forgetting you're watching a cartoon. The element of 3D that is offered as opposed to the two-dimensional format (well worth the extra money) compliments the motion capture and has some of the most impressive use of this new format you will ever see. Notice how you can see dust floating in the air and can almost feel the blast of explosions. Their are several action scenes that make best use of the 3D involving an edge of your seat, riveting, rollercoaster ride of a chase between all major characters towards the end of the film (But I don't want to give too much away).

    The direction of the film is superb with Spielberg masterfully crafting an engrossing 2 hour old school action adventure movie, with heart, for audiences of every age by including enough stunning use of 3D/motion capture, sticking a few self-referential jokes here and there and most important of all, making it a fun, enjoyable film that will bring a smile to anybody watching. It is not an overlong film and ends just as it may begin to outstay it's welcome by leaving the door open for an inevitable sequel. Peter Jackson... Take the director's chair and try to beat this. Spielberg is back!
    Expand
  20. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    Steven Spielburg (Jaws, Jurassic Park, E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial, Men in Black, Men in Black 2, Schindler's List, The Terminal, The Color Purple), Kathleen Kennedy (Ponyo, The Indian in the Cupboard, The Bourne), Peter Jackson (The Lord of the Rings, The Lovely Bones) and Nickelodeon team up to create a 3D graphic film based on Herge's Tintin comics and TV series. And it works. TheSteven Spielburg (Jaws, Jurassic Park, E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial, Men in Black, Men in Black 2, Schindler's List, The Terminal, The Color Purple), Kathleen Kennedy (Ponyo, The Indian in the Cupboard, The Bourne), Peter Jackson (The Lord of the Rings, The Lovely Bones) and Nickelodeon team up to create a 3D graphic film based on Herge's Tintin comics and TV series. And it works. The Adventures of Tintin is fun that will be enjoyed by Tintin fans, young and old, new fans and all time fans. Expand
  21. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    The Adventures of Tintin is an exhilarating movie, awesome, I say, awesome. Snowy, the little dog is so cutely and funnily animated that you can't help but love him, the attention to detail in this movie is staggering. I say that Tintin is a must-see for anyone, even people who haven't read the comic strip.
  22. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    The story has great depth and pace. Greatest chase scene of all time. Movie feels very authentically 'Tintin'. Somewhat predictable but definitely still a good film.
  23. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    This is a movie for everyone of age! the scenes, motion capturing and storyline was nicely done and thoroughly enjoyable making me begging for the next one to come out!
  24. Jan 9, 2012
    6
    In many ways well done, it just seemed kind of hollow to me. It was fairly engaging, with lots of action scenes and some humor, so if that's what you want, this might be just fine for you. Personally, I like a movie that gives me something to take back into my life with me. Tin Tin left me with very little.

    Comparing this to another movie in its class, Toy Story is far and away better.
    In many ways well done, it just seemed kind of hollow to me. It was fairly engaging, with lots of action scenes and some humor, so if that's what you want, this might be just fine for you. Personally, I like a movie that gives me something to take back into my life with me. Tin Tin left me with very little.

    Comparing this to another movie in its class, Toy Story is far and away better. You CAN make animated characters (more) believable and have a plot that works better, and actually leaves people at the end feeling like they are just a little bit better than when they walked in.
    Expand
  25. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    One of the most expected stories I was so looking forward to see it. My curiosity drag me to the cinema in England, near this Christmas with a few members of my family. The theater was absolutely full kids with their parents and I was ready to jump into the world of Tin-tin, the great inspector of my childhood. About the movie, I can say that it has a brilliant graphics, amazing sound andOne of the most expected stories I was so looking forward to see it. My curiosity drag me to the cinema in England, near this Christmas with a few members of my family. The theater was absolutely full kids with their parents and I was ready to jump into the world of Tin-tin, the great inspector of my childhood. About the movie, I can say that it has a brilliant graphics, amazing sound and image quality. Should I add something about the director and producers? No, because it`s Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson. There isn`t nothing to add about these outstanding directors. iI also would like to say about the the fantastic way that they crossed from a action to another and I am glad that they respected the entire story and making it better then the one I saw when I was a kid. But, aren`t we sometimes kids? :) Expand
  26. Jan 12, 2012
    7
    This was one of those movies where I leave the theater slightly disappointed, but couldnt quite put my finger on why. Tintin was reminiscent of the Indiana Jones films in terms of spirit and fun. It was by far the prettiest animated movie I've ever seen. It had some fantastic action sequences - namely the motorcycle chase scene towards the films end. It had comedy - Captain Haddock is aThis was one of those movies where I leave the theater slightly disappointed, but couldnt quite put my finger on why. Tintin was reminiscent of the Indiana Jones films in terms of spirit and fun. It was by far the prettiest animated movie I've ever seen. It had some fantastic action sequences - namely the motorcycle chase scene towards the films end. It had comedy - Captain Haddock is a marvelous drunken mess of a character and provided many laughs throughout the adventure. Despite these pro's, I felt unsatisfied. Why? Foremost, the movies' plot felt convoluted and boring. Also, Tintin, as a character, seemed very one-dimensional; he seemed, as the Brits would say, a bit of a 'wanker.' It just goes to show that a good story and interesting characters will always be more important than the most incredible visual extravaganza. Expand
  27. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    What a great movie. Not even best animated movie of year, but also one of the best films of year. Great sceens, adventure. We haven not seen anything like that.
  28. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I am honestly suprised that the critics didn't give this film better reviews. It's great. Good acting by the cast, It's funny, The plot is interesting, Even the sub-plot with the thief is good. It looks amazing as well, Great use of motion capture. I loved it and I will definently be seeing the sequel in theaters.
  29. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    Very few movies in recent years have launched a journey more vast and monumental than the one in â
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Dec 26, 2011
    50
    Feels particularly mechanical. The movie isn't a complete waste: it adequately re-creates the comics' Dickensian characterization, and every frame brims with clever details. But once the action begins, Spielberg's incessant, force-fed "fun" quickly gets exhausting.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 26, 2011
    100
    In a movie year of more than two dozen animated films, this and "Rango" tower over all others. Welcome to America, Tintin. It's great getting to know you.