User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 460
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    This film is by far my favorite film of 2011. "The Adventures of Tintin" brings forth a spirt of adventure and excitment that seems to have been lost in many recent films. The film is fast paced adventure that never slows down even for a second. Each frame is beauitifly rendered by weta digital and the each frame seems teeming with detail. It really does put a good foundation for what seeThis film is by far my favorite film of 2011. "The Adventures of Tintin" brings forth a spirt of adventure and excitment that seems to have been lost in many recent films. The film is fast paced adventure that never slows down even for a second. Each frame is beauitifly rendered by weta digital and the each frame seems teeming with detail. It really does put a good foundation for what see as what could be a great franchise. I just made it out of the midnight showing and it seemed that everyone in the theater enjoyed it. However, the theater contained only about six or seven people, which is a sad showing for an opening night midnight release. I hope it manages to get hold of an audience as I have would like to see a sequel. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I should really tell that this the best motion capture animated movie till now. Watch it as many times you will feel the adventure from start till end. Steven spielberg's one of the best movie to the world. This should get an oscar its mind blowing adventure with the famous boy in the world TINTIN. If you love action and adventure then you will not miss this movie.
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Oh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that i didn't movie a single second from my seat. Really full of jaw dropping adventure you can't wait for the sequel mind blowing movie hats off to the great director and producer (steven spielberg and peter jackson) two of them are the great story teller ofOh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that i didn't movie a single second from my seat. Really full of jaw dropping adventure you can't wait for the sequel mind blowing movie hats off to the great director and producer (steven spielberg and peter jackson) two of them are the great story teller of our time. Full marks to TINTIN. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    It's a fun adventure movie, we do not get bored at any time even if it lasts almost two hours because they get the players in solving the problem and when they get into bigger ones, so no time for respite. There are great references to Steven Spielberg films like "Jaws" but especially "Indiana Jones", style is very similar to the saga of the intrepid professor of archeology. As for theIt's a fun adventure movie, we do not get bored at any time even if it lasts almost two hours because they get the players in solving the problem and when they get into bigger ones, so no time for respite. There are great references to Steven Spielberg films like "Jaws" but especially "Indiana Jones", style is very similar to the saga of the intrepid professor of archeology. As for the soundtrack is very well integrated with the action but you may remember too the adventures of "Indiana Jones". The interpretation of the actors is amazing, but we will never know if a credit to the performers or animators and motion capture technique, sometimes fail to give a little face expressions or body movements. What is clear is that Andy Serkis is a master in this system of shooting, there's his work as Gollum or Cesar "The origin of the planet of the apes." The story is simple, then see who are the good guys and who the bad guys, so no surprises, so we have to settle with the graces that makes Captain Haddock and his attempt to live without alcohol. There are many action scenes, such as persecution by the city or the struggle of cranes. What stands out most is how well made ​​they are all decorated, from cities to the desert. Definitely a fun for the whole family, a visual spectacle that leaves the door open for further adventures. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    It was a while since I went to the theater but I glad I came back to see the adventures of Tintin. A times the graphics were amazing, I could of swore Tintin was walking down a real paris street. The plot was engaging just enough to keep my eyes glued to the screen. The characters each had their own essence and how they interacted with each other was great. If I had any one gripe with theIt was a while since I went to the theater but I glad I came back to see the adventures of Tintin. A times the graphics were amazing, I could of swore Tintin was walking down a real paris street. The plot was engaging just enough to keep my eyes glued to the screen. The characters each had their own essence and how they interacted with each other was great. If I had any one gripe with the film is that there was a little more mystery involved in the second half but maybe I'm just nitpicking. If you want a fantastic show along with a helping of chase scenes and a pinch of mystery see the adventures of Tintin. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yet captivating grasp until the end credits roll. The story was engaging, and the action and animation was exciting, this movie was superb. Absolute top notchI loved this movie! Best and most thrilling adventure of 2011! Spielberg and Peter Jackson have created an instant classic. The adventures of tintin will capture you from the opening minute and it wont ever let you out of its tough yet captivating grasp until the end credits roll. The story was engaging, and the action and animation was exciting, this movie was superb. Absolute top notch work from two of the best directors in the history of film making, even though jackson was a producer for this film. This is a must see film. Theres fun for the entire family, comedy for the kids, action and graphics for the adults, and of course adventure for the whole family. I promise you will not be disappointed. 10/10! Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Fantastic movie... The whole family loved it from young kids (5 and 7), dad, and even mom (who normally doesn't like animation or action movies!). I grew up in Belgium and I happen to be a fan of Tintin - I am very pleased with the result.
  8. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    First I'll admit I was a big Tintin fan as a kid. Bias out of the way that could have been a bad thing. This movie was just brilliant. Fun, exciting, no slow bits. I hope they make more. The sets were highly evocative and the characters and voices were spot on. One of the best movies I've seen for a long time. Snowy was such a cool sidekick too. My daughter is 11 and she loved this movie.First I'll admit I was a big Tintin fan as a kid. Bias out of the way that could have been a bad thing. This movie was just brilliant. Fun, exciting, no slow bits. I hope they make more. The sets were highly evocative and the characters and voices were spot on. One of the best movies I've seen for a long time. Snowy was such a cool sidekick too. My daughter is 11 and she loved this movie. I highly recommend it to parents with kids in that age group as it's rare to find movies with absolutely no references to sex and no swearing. Expand
  9. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    The Adventures of Tintin is Raiders of the Lost Ark for eight year olds, or ten year olds, or forty year olds...it really is a wonderful combination of action and humor with Spielberg clicking on all cylinders. It really is his most vibrant and enjoyable film in three decades. Tintin is a boy journalist who does things no ordinary boy would ever be allowed to do in real life, but this aThe Adventures of Tintin is Raiders of the Lost Ark for eight year olds, or ten year olds, or forty year olds...it really is a wonderful combination of action and humor with Spielberg clicking on all cylinders. It really is his most vibrant and enjoyable film in three decades. Tintin is a boy journalist who does things no ordinary boy would ever be allowed to do in real life, but this a movie based on a renowned European comic so if it's reality you want look elsewhere. He gets into adventures that conjure up memories of the aforementioned Raiders, as well as the best of the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie and first of The Mummy series. It's a helluva lot of fun. The animation allows Spielberg to do things he could never get away with using live action--even with today's cgi effects you could never suspend your disbelief during many of the action sequences, but it all works here because nothing is quite "real"--and that's a good thing. Heck, even Tintin's dog Snowy wouldn't work as effectively as a character if playing against real actors. Bottom line: If you like wonderful characters, broad humor, sly humor, cliffhanger situations, swashbuckling adventure, pirates, treasure, incredible chases, and awesome animation then go see it. If you don't, don't. Expand
  10. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    I went in with low expectations and I'm happy to report that this is clearly the best animated feature of the year as well as one of the best action/adventure movies since the original Raiders of the Lost Ark, which it reminded me of repeatedly. Absolutely AMAZING film-making featuring another great motion capture performance by Andy Serkis, fantastic cinematography and artwork,I went in with low expectations and I'm happy to report that this is clearly the best animated feature of the year as well as one of the best action/adventure movies since the original Raiders of the Lost Ark, which it reminded me of repeatedly. Absolutely AMAZING film-making featuring another great motion capture performance by Andy Serkis, fantastic cinematography and artwork, Oscar-worthy editing (the transitions will blow your mind), and more hair-pin curves and cliff hangers then Raiders and all of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies put together. Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson teamed together to bring this one to the big screen and the collaboration is first rate. Well worth the extra cash for the 3D glasses and seeing it on IMAX. Here's hoping that a new series has been born! Grade = A. Expand
  11. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Just a fantastic film. It had me on the edge of my seat with the plot and I loved the action scene and art style. The camera angles were really neat, and a great adaptation from the comic Secret of the Unicorn. Watch this film, you won't be disappointed.
  12. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    The Adventures of Tintin is an exhilarating movie, awesome, I say, awesome. Snowy, the little dog is so cutely and funnily animated that you can't help but love him, the attention to detail in this movie is staggering. I say that Tintin is a must-see for anyone, even people who haven't read the comic strip.
  13. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    This is a movie for everyone of age! the scenes, motion capturing and storyline was nicely done and thoroughly enjoyable making me begging for the next one to come out!
  14. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    What a great movie. Not even best animated movie of year, but also one of the best films of year. Great sceens, adventure. We haven not seen anything like that.
  15. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Great movie! The story was hilarious at times but also easy to follow, and the graphics in this film are absolutely amazing. At some points I completely forgot I was watching an animation.
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. One of the best films of 2011. There is little too complain about after viewing this classic piece of work. Althought this is computer generated animation it is breathtaking. The reason it succeeds is the screenplay adaption. The action is never ending and the characters are finely etched and the technical aspects are beyond expectation. There were not many live actionBrilliant. One of the best films of 2011. There is little too complain about after viewing this classic piece of work. Althought this is computer generated animation it is breathtaking. The reason it succeeds is the screenplay adaption. The action is never ending and the characters are finely etched and the technical aspects are beyond expectation. There were not many live action films that succeeded like this film does. Expand
  17. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This here movie is what Indiana Jones 4 should have been. (No hating on that movie, it was "good enough") It was mindblowing to watch this here movie, the amount of awesome camera angles, funny writing and awesome motion in this movie is just wonderful, it made my day... no take that back, it made my week! My friends are going to hate me, because the only subject my mouth will talk aboutThis here movie is what Indiana Jones 4 should have been. (No hating on that movie, it was "good enough") It was mindblowing to watch this here movie, the amount of awesome camera angles, funny writing and awesome motion in this movie is just wonderful, it made my day... no take that back, it made my week! My friends are going to hate me, because the only subject my mouth will talk about is how awesome and fine adjusted this here movie is, the countless of funny spoofs so professionally performed by the one and only Spielberg... What do you honestly expect from a movie like this? Get ready to get your mind blown by this here superb movie i give a round number 9. It is a great story made into an awesome movie, maybe the only problem with it is Tintin acting a bit too cliche and dramatic at some points (I could count 2.) But that's my only concern.. and it's THAT minor... like almost nothing, GREAT MOVIE i love it! Expand
  18. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    First off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. Visuals are just out standings. Some and most pushes boundaries between real and animation. Action sequences are great story. Story and score are well done, and the acting is great. Overall this is a great movie recommend for everyone.
  19. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This is the best animated movie I have seen in years. Some of the sequences are very intense for a "kids movie". I'm now 26 and I can honestly say I enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. The 3D is phenomenal as well.
  20. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I am honestly suprised that the critics didn't give this film better reviews. It's great. Good acting by the cast, It's funny, The plot is interesting, Even the sub-plot with the thief is good. It looks amazing as well, Great use of motion capture. I loved it and I will definently be seeing the sequel in theaters.
  21. May 19, 2013
    10
    The Adventures of Tintin is fantastic because it is by far a copy of Indiana Jones, the design is witty and his aesthetic is fascinating, and a brand revolção for future cartoon, at first he may seem old-fashioned face, but if unfold makes it a pleasant experience to see, and proves that the pair ceria Steven S. and Peter G. can bear much fruit in the future.
  22. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Awesome and completely simple. If you hate it, try tintin and haddickf not the game was not meant for you, your bad just do not blame the game please, give it a ten
    . I
  23. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This film is just amazing, the story, the characters, just like the original herge books. The voice acting was amazing, and everything just looked breath-taking, it looked just like a cod cgi cut scene. definitely worth your time
  24. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    i always love steven steliberg films from the guy who brought jaws which is amazing . then he creates tin tin . i love tin tin it is a heck of adventure .
  25. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson make a great team! This movie was outstanding for an animated movie. It had jaw dropping action and a great storyline. The casting was excellent, and the comedy was good. Can't wait for the sequel.
  26. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    this film is the absolutely glorious Tintin movie i've been waiting for. it translates the source material well thanks to it's expert writing and directing team with a great cast and some of the best use of motion capture and 3D that i've ever seen. it's my favourite comic movie and not just for the reasons listed above, it does what no other comic movie has quiet achieved it looks like athis film is the absolutely glorious Tintin movie i've been waiting for. it translates the source material well thanks to it's expert writing and directing team with a great cast and some of the best use of motion capture and 3D that i've ever seen. it's my favourite comic movie and not just for the reasons listed above, it does what no other comic movie has quiet achieved it looks like a living breathing comic Expand
  27. Jun 6, 2015
    10
    VEERRYY good film. I will not even continue... But the system doesn't allow me that. I have to do it. ------------------------------------------------
  28. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    Tintin is an amazing movie that is sure to entertain anyone that watches it, it is action-packed and hilarious. The action scenes dazzle, be it Tintin and his buddy Haddock tearing up a middle eastern town or trying to escape off a boat, they are all pretty amazing and beautifully crafted. The voice acting is amazing, especially Captain Haddock, Haddock can be hilarious and serious whenTintin is an amazing movie that is sure to entertain anyone that watches it, it is action-packed and hilarious. The action scenes dazzle, be it Tintin and his buddy Haddock tearing up a middle eastern town or trying to escape off a boat, they are all pretty amazing and beautifully crafted. The voice acting is amazing, especially Captain Haddock, Haddock can be hilarious and serious when needed to be and the character contributes to a lighter tone of the movie. The plot is relatively thrilling too as Tintin must find the treasure of the Unicorn while he faces opposition along the way but the plot is kinda thin though and the characters do not have an awful lot of depth to them. The characters are pretty amazing but a bit more depth into the characters could be appreciated but these complaints are washed away when you become bedazzled by the action sequences, they are amazing. Overall, Tintin is a great action packed film with cutting edge animation and lots of humor, the plot and characters could have used a bit more development but that is not what will be talked about when people mention Tintin. Tintin is an eye-popping thrill ride that will keep you hooked from start to finish and have you begging for more, it's awesome. Breakdown for "The Adventures of Tintin": Presentation: 8.7, Plot: 8.5, Acting: 9.5, Script: 9.3, Lasting Appeal: 9.1, Verdict: 9.1 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  29. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    The Most Glorious Adventurous Animated Film Ever The Adventures of Tintin is Steven Spielberg's first Animated film and he showed why he is THE BEST.The Adventures of Tintin created a whole new dimension to the CGI world . The whole movie is unbelievably amazing . Its Adventurous, None stop Action , Mysterious , Thrilling , Funny and the first Animated film which had the Neo-Noir look ,inThe Most Glorious Adventurous Animated Film Ever The Adventures of Tintin is Steven Spielberg's first Animated film and he showed why he is THE BEST.The Adventures of Tintin created a whole new dimension to the CGI world . The whole movie is unbelievably amazing . Its Adventurous, None stop Action , Mysterious , Thrilling , Funny and the first Animated film which had the Neo-Noir look ,in which Spielberg just nailed it . This movie had everything what we look for . The CGI never looked this much realistic . The way they put together the three story was really good work.The Score was amazing as well as the mixing . The Adventures of Tintin is a total entertainment that all will enjoy. Expand
  30. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Tintin's greatest achievment comes from it's visionary director. Although the screenwriting and the acting was good it did not steal the show. Spielbergs direction is flawless. He packs so many little details into every scene witch impact the scene as a whole. This is scene frequently throughout the action scenes. The whole film captivates your mind throughout the whole running time thereTintin's greatest achievment comes from it's visionary director. Although the screenwriting and the acting was good it did not steal the show. Spielbergs direction is flawless. He packs so many little details into every scene witch impact the scene as a whole. This is scene frequently throughout the action scenes. The whole film captivates your mind throughout the whole running time there is not one dull moment and that alone is an achievement. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Dec 26, 2011
    50
    Feels particularly mechanical. The movie isn't a complete waste: it adequately re-creates the comics' Dickensian characterization, and every frame brims with clever details. But once the action begins, Spielberg's incessant, force-fed "fun" quickly gets exhausting.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 26, 2011
    100
    In a movie year of more than two dozen animated films, this and "Rango" tower over all others. Welcome to America, Tintin. It's great getting to know you.