Focus Entertainment | Release Date: September 1, 2010
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 247 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
147
Mixed:
65
Negative:
35
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
nauticoSep 3, 2010
A self-consciously pretentious artsy-craftsy flick. Sometimes less really is less, and this is such a case. Excruciatingly boring. One wonders why Clooney would subject himself to such a miserable script.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
higherfiSep 5, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, even still, I take it back a bit.

If anyone calls George Clooney's role in this film "a hitman," I don't think they ever actually WATCHED it.

I don't like spoilers. Needless to say, George Clooney in this role is NOT a hitman. A hitman actually goes out and kills people, or dies trying. What movie were this people watching? I swear I think they give them the script / proposal / premise, etc. and ask them to review THAT. Not what they actually print.

This is why we like more variety and choice in the media we pay good money for!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BradySmithSep 8, 2013
Do I even have to explain what's wrong with this movie? It's extremely boring. I'm not against art-house action movies. I enjoyed Drive, and loved Hanna, but can the American even be called an action movie? I'll admit that I stoppedDo I even have to explain what's wrong with this movie? It's extremely boring. I'm not against art-house action movies. I enjoyed Drive, and loved Hanna, but can the American even be called an action movie? I'll admit that I stopped watching after a while and didn't finish it, but after nothing happens for more than an hour did I really need to? This is not a thought provoking or suspenseful film as some have claimed. It's mega pretentious and miserably boring. Sure, it's well filmed and has a pretty location, and nothing's wrong with the acting, but something has to happen in order for a movie to be entertaining. I hate movie's like Revenge of the fallen that bombard you with empty action and have nothing else to offer, but this movie bombards you with empty nothing and has nothing else to offer, which might be even worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BenMttOct 27, 2010
Worst movie of the year! Boring! I dozed off once, folks ahead of us dozed off three times! A twisting, mountain road and 15 ways to shoot the same small streets: that's the best they could muster!!?? Eye candy for Cloony fans, other wise aWorst movie of the year! Boring! I dozed off once, folks ahead of us dozed off three times! A twisting, mountain road and 15 ways to shoot the same small streets: that's the best they could muster!!?? Eye candy for Cloony fans, other wise a waste of time and money! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
kabloomSep 3, 2010
Nonstop glum performance by George Clooney without any lightness or humor. Riddled with cliches like the whore with the heart of gold and remarkably heavy-handed symbolism. The audience I was with was ahead of the film, unfortunately. Just aNonstop glum performance by George Clooney without any lightness or humor. Riddled with cliches like the whore with the heart of gold and remarkably heavy-handed symbolism. The audience I was with was ahead of the film, unfortunately. Just a drag from the five minute mark onward. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
ShakermakerSep 10, 2010
I hated this movie, but let me start with what I did like about it: the muff shot!

I mean come on, with todayâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
macmildjSep 8, 2010
The director spent most of the time zooming in on Clooney's face and not nearly enough time making it a good film. It stunk and was a waste of money. Very little plot, salacious sex to, I guess, make the film a bit more tittilating. a dumbThe director spent most of the time zooming in on Clooney's face and not nearly enough time making it a good film. It stunk and was a waste of money. Very little plot, salacious sex to, I guess, make the film a bit more tittilating. a dumb plot and little dialogue all combined to make this a disaster Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
torSep 10, 2010
I love George Clooney and I love assassins. So this movie is a canâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
egovirusFeb 12, 2011
Just boring as hell. The American fails to convince us not only that George Clooney is a cold blooded killer, but that this film needed to exist. It is an exercise in tedium from beginning to end. The photography, which should have been theJust boring as hell. The American fails to convince us not only that George Clooney is a cold blooded killer, but that this film needed to exist. It is an exercise in tedium from beginning to end. The photography, which should have been the highlight of the film, all things being equal, but was shot in such poor gray flat light, that even that possible escape from this prison sentence of a movie is shut to us. I didn't care about any of the characters, and the revelation that comes at the end is so obvious, that if you haven't seen it coming by 15 minutes into the movie, then you probably gave it a ten. The problem clearly is the pacing. I love slow deliberate plots, 2001 comes to mind. Kubrick understood he could whatever the **** he wanted in a movie, so long as it was interesting, and/or advanced the plot of the movie. The American on the other hand is about 30 minutes of plot, and another hour or so of foot dragging, mind numbing, care exhausting, I don't even care to finish this review I'm so god damn bored by this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
OscarPicks2010Dec 25, 2010
Not even halfway through the movie I already hated its guts. The American shows no respect for its film genre, its star, and its premise. Director Anton Corbijin should stick to his short documentaries instead of trying to direct an actionNot even halfway through the movie I already hated its guts. The American shows no respect for its film genre, its star, and its premise. Director Anton Corbijin should stick to his short documentaries instead of trying to direct an action thriller. Most of the time the camera is up in Clooney's face, and although his performance is quiet but dangerous, it doesn't make up for all the faults in this film. There were basically no dialogue and when there was, it lacks focus and was all over the place. Spending almost 20 minutes following Clooney around town without doing anything, The American is one of the worst thriller of 2010. Clooney's performance shows promise but the film failed on all other aspects and will/could not be made up by just George Clooney. RazzieBuzz: Worst Director, Worst Screenplay, these are both unlikely because critics liked the film but I put them there just to show how mad I am that George Clooney got involved in this. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
This movie was just plain terrible! It was pointless and watching it, was like watching paint dry. Clooney hardly speaks, everything was predictable, nothing made sense or was explained. It was just a complete waste of time. The oneThis movie was just plain terrible! It was pointless and watching it, was like watching paint dry. Clooney hardly speaks, everything was predictable, nothing made sense or was explained. It was just a complete waste of time. The one interesting thing I did want to mention is that throughout the movie, director Anton Corbijn shows everything done so methodically and wants to be as realistic as possible, however Clooney is seen driving on the left side of the car and on the right side of the road in Europe. Like the movie, even the setting has a huge hole in it. Honestly guys, don't even waste your time on this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
palmbeachstorySep 7, 2010
I joined Metacritic just to post a review of this godawful piece of junk. The worst movie I've seen this year. Excruciatingly slow (unless you like to watch Clooney do pushups and screw gun parts together). I was on the verge of walking out,I joined Metacritic just to post a review of this godawful piece of junk. The worst movie I've seen this year. Excruciatingly slow (unless you like to watch Clooney do pushups and screw gun parts together). I was on the verge of walking out, but stayed almost in disbelief that nothing ever happened (except something you expect from the very beginning). I am amazed that Clooney would bankroll and star in such a stinker. Violante Placido (co-star) was nice to watch as were the austere mountain scenes of the Abruzzi region in central Italy. Save your money and spare yourself the agony of sitting through this. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
1
JohnnyM1944Sep 5, 2010
This film is a snore. It takes forever to get going, but it never gets going. The best and only good clips are in the trailer. Just Clooney (he was a producer of this drivel) and a bunch of no name Italians. The two women, on the otherThis film is a snore. It takes forever to get going, but it never gets going. The best and only good clips are in the trailer. Just Clooney (he was a producer of this drivel) and a bunch of no name Italians. The two women, on the other hand, are hot! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
SoireSep 6, 2010
This movie was so slow moving i closed my eyes for a few times and never missed a beat. i'd recommend waiting to see it at home when you can speed through it. imagine stretching the action of the 2 minute preview for 100 minutes and thatsThis movie was so slow moving i closed my eyes for a few times and never missed a beat. i'd recommend waiting to see it at home when you can speed through it. imagine stretching the action of the 2 minute preview for 100 minutes and thats what you are in for....its a great nap movie Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
1
RaygirlSep 7, 2010
This movie was so dreary we left before it was halfway done, so I can't really comment on the whole thing except to say I rarely leave movies I have paid to see. It reminded me of "Constant Gardener". An espionage movie but so **** that itThis movie was so dreary we left before it was halfway done, so I can't really comment on the whole thing except to say I rarely leave movies I have paid to see. It reminded me of "Constant Gardener". An espionage movie but so **** that it was painful. Just couldn't do it. Unless you love long shots looking at George Clooney (driving, looking at his coffee cup, walking, thinking, etc.) I'd say SKIP IT! See Machete instead. It is PURE entertainment, now THAT was an awesome movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
LoloSep 7, 2010
Not a thriller, which is what I was expecting from the previews. Plot moved so slowly that I fell asleep mid-way through. I didn't not find that the movie created much tension mainly because the ending was predictable and story line hadNot a thriller, which is what I was expecting from the previews. Plot moved so slowly that I fell asleep mid-way through. I didn't not find that the movie created much tension mainly because the ending was predictable and story line had huge holes. If you love watching silent films of the Italian landscape and viewing George Clooney's abs, then go see the movie. Otherwise, save your $10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
FlamesuitreadyNov 17, 2010
George IS superb BUT this film is not. its just a long bland empty waste, predictable and uninspired.
The poster for the film is better, I'd rather stare at that for the running time of this pretentious drivel.
Still love George though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
irmaodDec 15, 2012
this movie is **** boring and makes you want to sleep.I do not know how to have a sixty-one and six point zero. clooney not supposed to be right in the head to do this movie but also if it was not anyone he knew this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
cabales1Sep 28, 2010
This film was painful to watch in every aspect. First movie I've ever thought of walking out on, but I kept hoping it would improve. All the dark, brooding, dull angst....Uggh! Story line was so predictable.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
movies-nycSep 6, 2010
this is bad, very bad. it is slow, very slow. worst movie i've seen all year. as much as i adore george clooney, i think he tried to come up with a reason to film in italy where he lives. there was maybe 10 minutes of story stretched tothis is bad, very bad. it is slow, very slow. worst movie i've seen all year. as much as i adore george clooney, i think he tried to come up with a reason to film in italy where he lives. there was maybe 10 minutes of story stretched to fill close to 2 hours, and zero action. lots of pretty camera shots of the terrain, and lots of clooney doing push ups and putting guns together. they tried to create tension like they did in the sopranos ending ie tony waiting to get killed (same as george looking over his shoulder the entire movie). very heavy handed symbolism at the end with the butterfly. waste of $11 and not even worth it as an airplane movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
JMolonySep 8, 2010
Anyone who pretends to like this incredibly boring movie are akin to the villagers in the emperors new clothes. There are zero redeming qualities about this movie, except for perhaps the very end because I did not make it that far.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
d4u7211Sep 12, 2010
AWFUL. I know that when it comes to critiquing anything, if you give media an extreme rating like a 10 or 0, you'd better have good reason, otherwise you didn't take the time to think through the pros and cons.

Sadly, I couldn't find
AWFUL. I know that when it comes to critiquing anything, if you give media an extreme rating like a 10 or 0, you'd better have good reason, otherwise you didn't take the time to think through the pros and cons.

Sadly, I couldn't find anything i liked about this movie. Not ONE. George Clooney's appearance in this movie made hardly and difference. His acting was dry, emotionless, and just plain boring. All I could think about was: "Oh. Look, it's Clooney" through the entire abomination. He in no way delivered any kind of character of his own. Aside from this, the storyline itself was atrocious. Being based off a book doesn't make a movie good. Nor does it make it bad...it's how the book is interpreted is what really makes the movie. If anyone were to use a book with this sort of slow, serious plot (no, I have not read the book myself, only heard reviews) with vivid language and intense literary depth to make a movie, they'd better make it beautiful. This is not the case with The American.

The trailers decided to play the movie off as if it were some action-packed shoot-em-up with George Clooney, with guns blazing and epic cutscenes that were sadly the ONLY bits of action through the entire film. The only thing I personally would applaud is the cinematography. But alas, this is completely ruined with the stale acting, poor dialogue, unnecessary scenes, limited character connection and development, little-to-none thrills and awful kick-in-the-crotch bad ending.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 4, 2011
Excruciatingly boring...it is really hard not to fall asleep after about 15 minutes. Has nobody ever told the inexperienced director that the first and most important thing about moviemaking is change of pace ? The guy is a photographer fromExcruciatingly boring...it is really hard not to fall asleep after about 15 minutes. Has nobody ever told the inexperienced director that the first and most important thing about moviemaking is change of pace ? The guy is a photographer from the weird side, I wonder how he got the money and the cast to make this film. In addition, looking at the depressed and distressed face of George Clooney for the full length of the film, without one inch of emotion, lifeless, bloodless, come on, get something out of this guy, you paid him to act for you.
I actually lost sympathy for Clooney's character after 2 minutes, when he shot that woman in the back, for no apparent reason. It was disgusting, what exactly did she do to him ?
Moviemakers should be just normal, average people, people you can relate to. Not weirdos...
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
BenjineJul 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Italy. I love George Clooney. I hated this picture. It really stunk. I am sure George will admit - perhaps already - that this was an absolute PHEWWWW of a movie. Who is George? Jack? Eduardo? Who is he working for? Why? We never get told the answers to these most basic questions. Why is he being targeted in Sweden? Why does he kill his girlfriend? We never get told the answers to these important moments. Who is Pavel? Who does he work for? Why is he trying to double cross George/ Jack/ Eduardo? We never understand any of the answers to these important questions. Over and over and over the movie fails to entertain, to grip, to explain, to enrapture, to do anything except elicit either sleep (in my wife's case) or a big fat "meh" in my case. George looks good. Italy looks good. I cared less for both of them after this pitiful, execrable, appallingly directed, inanely written, drastically awful, insanely stupid movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews