The Apparition

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 54
  2. Negative: 30 out of 54

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    The Apparition is a horror movie without any horror. It has a setting and idea that could have proven to be terrifying but in the end the scariest thing about it is how bad it is. Because the movie isn't scary it ends up being nothing more than a boring waste of time, and we all know how valuable you time is so just skip this movie. Also helping bring the movie down is the weak script andThe Apparition is a horror movie without any horror. It has a setting and idea that could have proven to be terrifying but in the end the scariest thing about it is how bad it is. Because the movie isn't scary it ends up being nothing more than a boring waste of time, and we all know how valuable you time is so just skip this movie. Also helping bring the movie down is the weak script and bad acting. Only one good thing can be said about this movie and that's that Ashley Greene is super hot, but no matter how hot she is this movie is still a waste of time. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    6
    Would rate a 7 if not for the terrible soundtrack.
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    6
    The biggest damage done to "The Apparition" is done before you even watch the movie - the marketing. This movie is sold boldly advertising the movie's very final frame, which was even at the end of the trailer, thus ruining any shock or surprise value their last and biggest card could have possibly held. Outside of that, I'm surprised to see such low ratings here - it's really nowhere nearThe biggest damage done to "The Apparition" is done before you even watch the movie - the marketing. This movie is sold boldly advertising the movie's very final frame, which was even at the end of the trailer, thus ruining any shock or surprise value their last and biggest card could have possibly held. Outside of that, I'm surprised to see such low ratings here - it's really nowhere near that bad a film. Yeah, it's pretty unsurprising - but on the other hand, the characters aren't written as laughable cardboard cutouts who can't hope to pull off a believable person. The characters here are likeable and genuine, and even though the ending wasn't what I was looking for, the rest of the movie to a lesser degree was sort of what I wanted to see. It doesn't rely on cheap scares or gore to pretend to frighten us - it relies on PG-13, if not cliched, images and suspense tactics that are decent, if not "seen before". Overall, I rate it only slightly above a 5 for giving me some real characters for once. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    I admit the acting wasn't great. Come on though, the story is very original and very entertaining. The execution was also great. I thought this was a great start for Todd Lincoln's directorial debut. I can't wait to see what he's going to direct in the future.
  5. Dec 14, 2014
    4
    Didn't offend me as much as I thought it would. It had some interesting ideas that never really flourished, sadly, but there were one or two really cool and creepy scenes. The scene in the hotel was a good one, and there's another scene were the main chick is nailing a door shut, but the camera pans back, and we see that she's actually inside the locked door with the ghost/demon/whatever.Didn't offend me as much as I thought it would. It had some interesting ideas that never really flourished, sadly, but there were one or two really cool and creepy scenes. The scene in the hotel was a good one, and there's another scene were the main chick is nailing a door shut, but the camera pans back, and we see that she's actually inside the locked door with the ghost/demon/whatever. The rest was pretty mediocre. The first thirty minutes were painfully boring, but if you can get past that, it's a good way to waste a night with a friend or two. Expand
Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Come to think of it, it's a lot like the departed shade of a better, longer movie, hovering in tatters before us, vanishing when we blink. When you look into this abyss, it yawns back at you.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 27, 2012
    30
    The Apparition is not a great or even good haunted-house movie, but it does have the advantage of a memorable setting.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Aug 27, 2012
    30
    At one point Ben helpfully looks under the house to see what might be causing the ruckus. "Watch out for spiders!" Kelly says. Actually, Ben - and the filmmakers - have a lot more to worry about.