User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2356 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tap
    May 24, 2012
    10
    This movie is a great action flick with a few emotional scenes thrown in for good measure. Everything about this movie exudes perfection. Sure, some of the plot makes no logical or practical sense, and sure, some of the casting does not match previous movies featuring the same characters, but dammit, I don't care!

    The length of the movie is about 2.5 hours, yet the entire movie seemed
    to just fly by. After the movie was over, I was shocked that it was already close to midnight. Overall, I just could not get enough of this film. I plan to buy the Blu-Ray/DVD combo once they release it, and I will definitely watch the movie over and over again! Expand
  2. May 24, 2012
    8
    Why THE AVENGERS could easily become a huge success? I think even some of you could answer thiz question. Thiz movie is the culmination of Marvel hard work over the past couple of years. The lucky guy who was appointed to direct thiz movie is Joss Whedon. The director of S.H.I.E.L.D. Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) initiates the Avengers initiative by assembling all the super humans to save the world from the powerful evil Loki (Tom Hiddleston). The storyline is not as dynamic as I think it is, there was a time when the story is stuck and filled with unnecessary dialogue. The power of thiz movie obviously lies in its character interactions. Nick Fury is originally written as a white guy in the comic book but Samuel L. Jackson confidently steps in to play thiz character. Thiz is not the first time thiz has happened. It reminds me when Michael Clarke Duncan portrayed the overweight crime boss Kingpin in Ben Affleck DAREDEVIL (2003) and I am also so excited to see Laurence Fishburne as Clark Kent boss Perry White in upcoming Superman MAN OF STEEL (2013). However, in thiz case, I did not see Samuel L. Jackson became Nick Fury, instead it was Nick Fury became Samuel L. Jackson. But in the end, it was totally acceptable. Samuel L. Jackson is able to present a precise leadership aura to his Nick Fury character. Once again, I have to remind you, what made thiz movie so interesting is when these superheroes gather around and interact with each other. We can see The Duo Chris, Chris Evans and Chris Hemsworth who successfully demonstrate their muscular bodies, just like in CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER (2011) and THOR (2011). Thiz is how superheroes should look like! The brand new figures in thiz movie are the master archer Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) and the elegant Agent Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders who is widely known in HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER {2005-present}). The other figures who have been introduced since IRON MAN 2 are the loyal Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) and the sexy heroine Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson). Surprisingly, Scarlett Johansson has a fairly large part in thiz movie. Wait a minute, on second thought, if you have Scar Jo in tight sexy latex suit, of course you will exploit it more. If we are talking about Iron Man, thiz is also one of the most interesting parts. It looks like Robert Downey Jr. have already fused into thiz Tony Stark character so deep, he can represent thiz self-centered character very well without any problem. But in thiz movie, the one who really becomes a scene stealer is the giant green rage monster named Hulk! Once again, it was the Hulk character, not exactly Dr. Bruce Banner or Mark Ruffalo but it was all of them in one. Some fresh and funny moments are obviously when Hulk is around. The most unfortunate thing is that they did not bring up the original founding team such as Ant-Man and The Wasp into the movie. In the end, I confidently can say Marvel Comics seems to be one step ahead from its competitor DC Comics so far. Recently, thiz movie has ruled the box office chart and it turns out to be the earth mightiest blockbuster movie. You know what that means, right? Oh yeah, the next Avengers movie will be coming soon. Maybe next time Marvel Studios will enrich their universe with the presence of other superheroes like Quicksilver, Black Panther, Vision, Doctor Strange, She-Hulk, Wolverine, even Spider-Man. Are you ready for another one?



    Visit My Blog on JONNY MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly my favorite movie of all time. It has everything a good nerdy superhero movie needs and tells a tale that is quite unlike anything we've seen in theaters before with film heroes of 4 different film series coming together. Action was superb especially toward the major final showdown. Acting is fantastic(Mark Ruffalo and the Hulk are quite loveable and you wont miss Ed Norton TOO much.)

    Though the threat isn't incredibly frightening it provides just enough danger for the plot to seem real and significant enough to justify this great meeting of heroes...

    Stick around til after ALL the credits as there's TWO secret endings(although the first is decidedly more important than the second). Go have fun...this is the summer romp well worth the 4 year wait and should prove to the rest of Hollywood what a summer Blockbuster should be like.
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2012
    9
    A very risky movie to make considering the abundance of heroes. It could have used more information about the army of other-worldly creatures so willing to invade another planet. Looking forward to the inevitable sequel.
  5. May 23, 2012
    8
    The movie was actually much better than anticipated.
    I didn't expect the story to go around 1 character and it didn't.
    Joss Whedon did a good job at bringing the cast together to deliver a great story.
    All I wish now is if he could add a bit more action sequence into the film and make it slightly more intense to improve the movie.
  6. May 23, 2012
    2
    Despite being billed as an action movie, The Avengers is painfully slow. Much of the plot involves the eponymous team fighting each other, though we all know going in that they will eventually team-up, so this lengthy attempt at conflict seems especially sluggish and misdirected. Robert Downey Jr. And Samuel L. Jackson both manage to pull focus and remind you you're watching a bad movie more than they usually do, which is saying something; and the cast is generally much too aware they are in a movie for it to work. Indeed, The Avengers is so remarkably unambitious they even manage to avoid developing some of the team's most notable members like The Scarlet Witch and The Vision, choices that would be mystifying if it wasn't so clearly a cynically half-hearted attempt at storytelling. Nevertheless, Chris Evans is still nice to look at. Expand
  7. May 23, 2012
    5
    As you can see by the overwhelmingly positive reviews, this movie is hardcore nerd pornography. I now have insight into the fanboy mind: Screen make flashy flashy boom boom I clappy my handsies if u don't like u just a h8r. But the special effects really do give this thing a great-looking outer shell. Kinda reminds me of a pretty Easter egg that you can't wait to open but is disappointingly filled with those black jelly beans everybody hates. I liked Downey Jr. and non-Hulk Ruffalo. Scarlet played a robot with an accent. Captain America dude and Thor just plain can't act. They're so bad, they're almost a parody of themselves. Put them on SNL. They won't have to change a thing. Stereotypical one-dimensional GOOD guy vs. stereotypical one-dimensional EVIL guy + one-liner + insanely long stretch of movie in which nothing at all happens + evil guy beats up good guy for a while + one-liner + good guy shows evil guy what's up = you still go back to your girlfriendless lives, nerds. Expand
  8. May 22, 2012
    8
    Would I rather a return to the great action adventures of decades ago based on semi original concepts? Of course. But I'll take this over the mindless crap thats out there right now any day. Avengers is funnier than literally every comedy Hollywood farts out these days then add a few insightful character scenes and some cool if not breezy action sequences. Really my only gripe here is how undramatic this thing was. Theres just nothing at stake. Sure the whole world is being fought for but we know who wins. Thor takes a thumb tack to the side. Everyone else comes out the war unscratched and they all eat some shwarma. I guess its more of a comedy than I even thought. Expand
  9. May 22, 2012
    6
    I didn't like most of the prequels to The Avengers, I didn't like Iron Man 2, Thor and Captain America. So I was pleasantly surprised by The Avengers which is quite better. It is however a movie that I would never like to see again. It is awesome the first time, but there is nothing left once it's over. The sole value of the movie lies in its action scenes, and sometimes fun, sometimes not fun jokes here an there. So switch your brain off and enjoy, the entertainment is guaranteed. Once you've seen the action, you've seen all there is to see, and there is no point whatsoever to come back again to it. There is (as usual, sigh) some rubbish science talk that doesn't mean much and that shows how empty the plot is, so why bother including it at all? The movie could have been a bit shorter without it and without some other minor scenes, the action would have been more intense and the movie could only have been better. Anyway, I enjoyed it a lot, I didn't regret going to the cinema for once. Expand
  10. May 21, 2012
    5
    If it weren't for the great special effects and a few guilty pleasures, "The Avengers" would be a complete snooze-fest. A generally solid cast as well as the 3D imagery were woefully underutilized. For all the film's frenetic energy, there was little in the characters and the plot for the viewer to invest emotionally. In short, the sum was less than its parts in this overlong spectacle from Joss Whedon. Expand
  11. May 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say. This movie pulled out all the stops. I find it hard, and sometimes cliché to rate something a 10, but this film deserved it from start to finish. With an opening that pulled you in, to an ending that left you wanting more, this film deserves the 10 it is receiving.
  12. May 21, 2012
    8
    This is a fun, epic superhero movie. If you watch this movie in theater, you'll absolutely have a blast. For a full review, search up the user "TNShowbiz" on YouTube, and check out my review on The Avengers.
  13. May 21, 2012
    9
    This Movie has spoiled so many people because everything else looks like crap now. I was existed to watch the New Batman movie coming out but i couldn't care less about it now. I just hope this doesn't downgrade the single hero movies coming out like the next iron man or captain America. Lots of people talk about how grate Hulk was in the movie and now that i finally seen the movie i know what they're talking about , he was amazing. Thanks to the "GODS" characters in the movie Hulk didn't have to hold back like in the other Hulk movies but , I have to say my favorite with out a doubt was Thor !!!! Just like Hulk Thor wasn't pulling punches. He went full god mode in this movie. **** epic !!! OK so if their is one thing i didn't like was how Black widow was doing more then Captain America. I think she kicked more ass and had more camera time then they Captain America. I also liked the captain America suit he had in his own movie. The suit with the brown boots. It felt better then the suit he has now. They could have made it out of heavy leather and less bright. Other then that it was perfect , 9.5 out on 10 is my score Expand
  14. May 21, 2012
    9
    I liked it a lot. My wife found it to be a bit slow at the beginning, and I could totally see that for someone who is not a big fan of the genre. To me it was just the prerequisite build up to the action that did not disappoint. The story can be criticized for its lack of depth, but lets face it, you are not going to "The Avengers" to quibble over the story. The Hulk took a while to make an entrance, but when he did, I found him to be the best part of the movie. Overall, this was a great movie. Anyone who complains is either not a fan, or just one of those internet contrarians who find it fashionable to hate things others like. Expand
  15. May 21, 2012
    9
    How can people say terrible things about this movie? I know there are flaws in the film. But most of the problems are created by hipsters of critics who want to seem cool but instead, end up looking like **** who don't even know what the f*ck they're talking about. The film is an exciting roller coaster ride from start to finish. And when there isn't action going on, there is either great humor or fantastically done character development. There is no reason you shouldn't be going to see this movie. And anyone who sees Battleship instead of this, is dead to me. Expand
  16. May 21, 2012
    6
    Its an ok superficial superhero action/comedy and if you liked movies like Iron Man and Captain America you will probably like this to. It has funny one liners and good looking effects but not much more. If you want a movie with good story and any depth to the characters this is not for you.
  17. May 20, 2012
    4
    This kind of movie is for the young at heart and mind. Not that there's anything wrong with that-been there done that-it's just such a repetitive genre. Invincible people beat up on invincible people. No-one gets hurt- major damage to buildings though-and then they do it again. Hulk gets the best scenes and Iron Man gets the best lines. In the end after 1/3 of greater New York City is demolished Mayor Bloomberg (or whoever in the future where Aircraft carriers fly) asks for Stimulus money from.......Odin? Expand
  18. May 20, 2012
    9
    Just Brilliant!
    The Action scenes are immense, the charakters are cool and interesting... the whole movie is total fun! I love how the different characters interact with each other. The movie doesn't try to be an intelligent Masterpiece but that's good because instead, it's giving you one awesome moment after another for the whole running time of 2 hours! Only a better Story could make
    this Masterpiece more perfect than it already is. It's very expensive, but I'm going to watch this movie a third time this week! Expand
  19. May 20, 2012
    5
    Every hype is fake. The Avengers is not the best Marvel film to date and quite possibly is the worst superhero movie I've seen in terms of humor, history and has no replay value. Loki or Thor never have been "stars" in comics. Bad choice for an Avengers movie.
  20. May 19, 2012
    10
    UNBELIEVABLE. Best Marvel film to date, hands down! No, best superhero film of all time!!! Saw it in 3D and it was just an awesome experience. So many characters, so much character development, everything done so well. Fantastic performances by all, what a complete success. Only few scenes I thought were a bit carried away; these scenes all included the Hulk. Also the film didn't really explain how Hulk could become a team player....or did I miss it? Despite these flaws, what an incredible and entertaining film - easy 10. Congratulations Marvel/Disney. Can't wait to get it on Blu-ray! Expand
  21. May 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! The Avengers brings depth to the Marvel characters, provides loads of laughs, great action, unbelievably stunning visual effects, and fantastic performances from the whole cast. I give this 100% of a good movie.
  22. May 19, 2012
    9
    Easily one of the best superhero-movies ever made! I was worried beforehand the movie would feel like a patchwork, what with there being so many "lead" characters. However, after seeing it, I can safely say that's not the case here. All the characters somehow get to have fantastic character-moments that really develop their personalities, something not many blockbuster films of this kind takes its time to do. Mind you, the action is there too, and it doesn't disappoint! Super-well choreographed fights that are easy to follow, and they always showcase the individual heroes powers and strengths superbly.
    All in all, if you like superhero movies, or just good adventures, I cannot recommend this film enough!
    Expand
  23. May 19, 2012
    8
    I've always been a fan of Joss Whedon ever since I saw Firefly, a television show of his that was unfortunately canceled. So when I say I liked it, that's not much of a surprise. But I didn't like it just because he directed it. The action was stylish and fun, and it was a whole lot better than one of the previous Marvel comic book movies, Thor. This should be the inspiration for later Marvel movies, along with the new Captain America: The First Avenger. Not only did it have some excellent action scenes, it was also humorous, with a certain level of seriousness. Would I recommend heading to theaters to see it? Well, yeah. But if you're a person that just isn't sure about it, or who maybe isn't a fan of the comics, by all means, rent it from Redbox, Blockbuster, Netflix, or any other movie rental company you go to. Expand
  24. May 19, 2012
    9
    It delivers exactly what its promotional material seems to promise, two hours of impressive CG, clever one liners and an always dependable Robert Downey Jr. If there's a weak point, its that Downey carries the rest of the cast single handedly.
  25. May 19, 2012
    10
    Best movie I've seen in years. Amazing cast, dialogue was great. Connected all previous movies perfectly, making it seem like a perfect legacy. Truly great
  26. May 19, 2012
    9
    Very entertaining movie that was well worth the price of admission and is very much suited for the big screen experience. I was completely entertained for the duration of the movie (over 2 hours).
  27. May 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its just the best. The best. Simply perfect, best, awesome, thrilling, humourous and exciting. The effects were simply awesome and if you plan to watch in cinema then make sure you watch it in 3d Expand
  28. May 18, 2012
    5
    What works: the allure of Marvel Comic branding, cast and media marketing made 3D event a "must see".

    What fails: script, cast chemistry and total lack of character development for key roles and length of movie (should have been part 1 of 2). Overall: Not even close to the hype; Catch on DVD.
  29. May 18, 2012
    10
    More than delivers. Given the amount of hype that was to be expected in such an epic adventure of bringing several stories together. This movie stands for what comic book fans have been imagining their entire lives. Can't wait to see how they continue and plan to keep the success rolling.
  30. May 18, 2012
    10
    I have not been this entertained by a film in quite some time. Whedon didn't make a film, but conducted a symphony of entertainment. Action, humor, banter, dialogue, all worked in seamless harmony. Unaccustomed to such a level of entertainment, I was mesmerized. If time flies when having fun, this movie was exactly that. 2hrs 45mins flew by, with every second as welcome as the first.
  31. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best ensemble Super Hero Movie ever! Iron Man and Hulk done great. Thor, Hawkeye done well. Black Widow elite killer assassin tearing up about possibly being torn in half by the Hulk? Not so sure about that.
    Biggest and only real disappointment is Chris Evans inability to fill Caps stature in an ensemble cast. Though he was really good in the cap movie but gets lost in this movie when
    competing against these other on screen personalities - It doesn't help that they changed caps costume to make him look like he is wearing underoos. Expand
  32. May 18, 2012
    9
    Imagine a typical summer blockbusters, explosions and gunshots, mixed with superheroes, and lastly a true good plot. Boom, you got yourselves the Avengers. Solid cast, eyepopping effects and good yet predictable story. Nuff' said.
  33. May 18, 2012
    5
    This movie is yet another example of sloppy script writing covered up by special effects, a few good action scene moments and some good gags. I don't know if it's coming from studio involvement but overall the movie is filled with scenes that could have been simplified or written differently but instead were used to shoe horn in a cool special effect or line of dialogue. I walked out of the movie liking it but you couldn't pay me to sit through it again and I'm someone who likes the characters. As a whole you know movies are getting bad when a 80's action movie has a more solid script than the Avengers. If you like seeing people punch things though and cars explode with the occasional funny gag you will probably love this movie, if you want a movie that is more than that stay home. Expand
  34. May 18, 2012
    10
    I love this movie! Finally a great movie with my childhood heroes. Do not miss this opportunity, go see this movie now! HULK SMASH! AVENGERS ASSEMBLE!!!!!!
  35. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best movie ever! Awesome action, animation, effects and jokes, it is the best compination of actors and superheroes to date. Worth the watch! I really liked it, and there was not a 11 out of 10 score lol.
  36. May 18, 2012
    10
    The avengers is an best marvel film i have ever seen. At one point of time i loved the spiderman parts . But when we see the way the avengers is been taken itz simply amazing. The incredible hulk was one of the most hilarious and most serious of all. However the way hulk beats up the villain is like the people wash clothes!!!!!!!!
  37. May 17, 2012
    8
    I WENT TO SEE THE AVENGERS WED, AND HAVE TO SAY I WAS THRILLED TO SEE IT. I WAS EXPECTING MORE ACTION THROUGHOUT THEWHOLE MOVIE,FROM START TO FINSH AND I DIDNT GET THAT.SO THAT WAS 1 DOWNER FOR ME.THE CHARACTERS WERE AWSEOME AND SO WERE THE EFFECTS, THE STORYLINE WAS KIND OF LAME.THEIR WERE PARTS THEY TRIED TO MAKE FUNNY AND WERENT.BUT I DID GET MY MONEYS WORTH. I THINK IT NEEDE SOMETHING-LIKE MAYBE WOLVERINE,SPIDERMAN,THEY ARE AVENGERS ALSO...WELL NEWER AVENGERS..I WOULD OF LIKE TO SEE MORE ACTION, MORE SUPER POWER TEAMWORK LIKE IN THE GAME ULTIMATE ALIANCE.IT IS A GOOD MOVIE TO TAKE YOUR KIDS TO SEE AND YOUR WIFE. Expand
  38. May 17, 2012
    10
    Waste of money, Plot is horrible, the first 45 mins is absolute junk, I dont know how a movie like this could make so much money. I guess teens might like it cause they bash stuff up and CGI is kewl. Dont waste your money wait till it ends up on TV or dollar rental.
  39. May 17, 2012
    10
    It was funny, awesome, and just plain fun. You will enjoy it even if you know nothing about comics. Hulk. Ya? Smash.
  40. May 17, 2012
    10
    Cant believe this movie is getting some negative views. Sure its not perfect, but what movie is , especially one as ambitious as this one. I must admit I was skeptical that they would be able to pull a movie off with so many iconic characters. They did and then some. This is a supremely entertaining comic book movie. In my opinion better than the first Iron Man and miles better than the Thor and Captain America movies. Amazing and a solid 8 out of 10. Expand
  41. May 17, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The dialogue is crisp, the action is loud and in your face, and the characters are all there. For an Avengers fan, or someone craving snippy lines and mindless action, this movie is for you. For those of you looking for a truly epic experience, a story with impact, look elsewhere. In the end, the Avengers is all it could be, and what was promised in the first of what may very well end up being a trilogy. As such, our heroes are in no danger (and neither is our villain for that matter), and for someone who isn't a Marvel junkie, the whole journey just felt like pointless fluff. Even the overlong action sequence carries little impact as we all know how it will end. I suppose The Avengers was all it promised to be, but in spite of that I left the theater wanting more from this film. It still gets a passing grade, but I would not see it again. Expand
  42. May 17, 2012
    10
    I had my doubts at first. I was expecting a movie with nothing but random fighting, nothing interesting. The movie had me at the edge of my seat the entire time. The moments of hilarity between sadness and destruction kept the movie well balanced. I loved the bond of all the characters, seeing everyone come together to fight such a force was great. I highly recommend to GO SEE THIS MOVIE. You will surely like it. Expand
  43. May 17, 2012
    10
    Well done Joss Whedon and your cast. Awesome movie. Very entertaining to the casual watcher and a nerdgasm for the hardcore fan. Best Marvel Movie so far in my opinion and best superhero, comic book based movie as well. Spiderman WAS my favorite hero movie, but no more.
  44. May 17, 2012
    9
    This is easily the best Marvel film to date, one of the best action movies of all time, the best effects we have yet to see, and a film that is worthy of a few Oscar nods (and a definite win for visual effects). Straightforward script, flawless acting, and smooth direction make The Avengers one of the best films of 2012. Odin Score: 95/100 (subject to change after a much needed second viewing).
  45. May 17, 2012
    10
    The Avengers was everything i could have asked for and more. The action was awesome, the dialouge was fun, every character had their moment of glory and I walked out of the theather feeling happy beyond all reason. Sure, it's a superhero movie so the plot is pretty simple, but who cares? This movie was just awesome beyond all reason. I'm surprised metacrtic didn't give it a higher rating...
  46. May 17, 2012
    10
    Absolutely outstanding! The Avengers is no doubt one of the best films I have ever seen. This movie is packed with action on top of action with all of the most popular superheroes out there. I recommend this film to anyone who is looking to spend their money and get the big bang for their buck.
  47. May 17, 2012
    9
    Avengers Assemble! great action flick made better if you've seen the other hero movies and made best if you know comics along with what and who's coming for the next one wow!
  48. May 16, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is just flat out fun. Throughout this whole movie, i was entertained. The story, however, was not as great as i would have liked but everything else in the film pretty much makes up for it. Even as a superhero movie, it made me laugh out loud in many situations. It's hilarious. It's action packed. It's amazing. Robert Downey Jr. once again proves that he was made to be Tony Stark. He was great in this movie just like in Iron Man. Even though, I didn't really like Captain America: The First Avenger, Chris Evans was also great in this film. Mark Ruffalo was the big change in this movie. I loved The Incredible Hulk especially because of Edward Norton but I think that Rufallo did pretty good also. Scarlet Johansson was the eyecandy for all the men who went to watch this film and she really fit into the role of Black Widow. Chris Hemsworth as Thor was great, since I did enjoy the Thor film. Samuel L. Jackson really didn't hit me like all the other characters in the beginning but by the end, I was happy he was chosen to play Nick Fury. Overall, The Avengers is one of the greatest superhero movies I have ever seen and definitely the most hilarious. Expand
  49. May 16, 2012
    9
    There is a reason why The Avengers is setting box office records, because its an awesome movie.

    I am a long time Avengers comic book fan, I even have an Avengers Annual #1 from 1968.

    The movies gets a little long winded in the middle as the group comes together. But when things get rolling, they "really" get rolling. In previous Marvel movies the heros have been under utilized. The
    Avengers breaks those bonds so that the heros can do their job. Expand
  50. May 16, 2012
    6
    I don't get all the hoopla over this film. In the end, it was yet another superhero movie with the same predictable storyline. It does have great special effects, good action (although a very shaky camera during the action sequences), and good 3D. They were smart to feature Iron Man more than the others as he is by far the most interesting of the Super Heroes. I have to say though, that it gets old that these heroes keep getting beaten to a pulp, then they get up without a scratch on them like a cartoon character. Ridiculous. I also thought that the Hulk was not supposed to be lucid when he was in his hulk state, yet at the end of the film he is calm and even says a few words while being a Hulk. I did look at my watch a couple of times and for me the 2 1/2 hours was excessive, but it was just good, not great. Expand
  51. May 16, 2012
    9
    First off, I am 30 years old and grew up reading comics and will still occasionally pick one up if i hear good things. What did I think about the Avengers? I came into the movie with good to great expectations and was pleasantly surprised. Its over 2 hours long and the beginning does lag a bit but the payoff is worth it. This is the pinnacle of what a popcorn movie should be. There's a decent story, good character building, excellent choreography and effects, and just the right amount of attitude and humor. I saw this with a five year old and he loved it. A note of caution concerning younger viewers, there is some blood and the "bad guys" can be scary. Overall I highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a good time, just don't go in expecting a masterpiece a la the Godfather. Expand
  52. May 16, 2012
    6
    If you didn't see the other 5 movies, go watch them first (even Hulk). The movie will taunt you with flashbacks to the old movies and you won't get to see the full character development. Having only been armed with the Iron Man movies, understanding of Norse Mythology, and basic background on the other heroes, I still got a good understanding of what was going on. However, the movie had a lot of elements from the other movies, specifically Thor. The movie's beginning is S.L.O.W, almost as slow as the first Willy Wonka. I'm not going to spoil the story, but don't worry, you'll forget about it. It's basically the Marvel formula: Bad thing happens, find hero(es), train, find bad guy, some one dies, attack on New York, save the day, New Yorkers go yay. As for the characters, it's hit and miss. Tony Stark and Loki are very enjoyable and witty, Captain America and Bruce Banner are alright, and everyone else is paper thin. Very little character development happens and by the end, the characters are still the same people. The final fight scene was as you think it would be. The effects are well done and the Hulk provides comic relief. My favorite scene by far was when Hulk was chasing Black Widow, though. Don't worry about the music, because you won't notice it. It's drowned out the the amazing amount of dialogue in this movie. Even in the fight scenes they can't shut up. There's no suspense whatsoever. Overall, I was very disappointed, but that doesn't mean it wasn't a good movie. But, if you want a good superhero experience, just go watch the Dark Knight again. Expand
  53. May 16, 2012
    10
    Okay so many critics who are saying bad things about this film is going to far into this film. Joss Whedon did an amazing job with it. Perfect amount of everything you had the suspense, the comedy a perfect balance of effects and action. The film didn't focus one main Avenger it focused on all of them which was great to see. Some of these bad reviews I see that some of these don'y enjoy a good ole action movie. See this movie. Its worth it. Expand
  54. May 16, 2012
    10
    This film was probably one of the most funny movies I have seen this year. Also, it was one of the most badass. I say that lightly, but give it the aformentioned status because Joss Whedon was at the helm for this one. Now a word of warning: the film will be confusing to you at first if you have not seen the movies that came before it. Those films set a general framework, so Whedon assumes you know what is going on. This is not a setback, because it saves time having to explain everything. I went to see this film for the Hulk, and I was not disappointed. Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man was like revisiting an old friend, as he makes the film less serious which is good. The comedic moments catch you off guard, and help to add to the charm the film has. I was pissed because I had to watch the film in 3D, but the 3D was not horrible. It was adapted at a tolerable framerate that did not give me headaches. If you must watch it in 3D, do not fret. I hope everyone that is a fan of Joss Whedon and superhero films goes to see this movie. Expand
  55. May 16, 2012
    9
    Best marvel movie
    very nice crosser and the story is good, not just the usual issue with the big boss,
    thanks hulk, you rock, sorry, smash!
    they are the ultimates!
    not 10 'cause tony alone is cooler
  56. May 16, 2012
    9
    Really the best movie that use the franchising Marvel, good actors, nice story, some commedy all well mixed.
    Maybe 3D it is useless, but i really enjoyed the movie.
  57. May 16, 2012
    10
    Everything perfect.Just what I wanted and needed to see.Only have one thing that made feel VERY awkward.The scene were Tony Stark said I'm bringing the party to you and she said ( VERY CORNY AND UNCOMFORTABLE ) I don't see how that's a party.Like she had gas or she forgot her line..Hahahaha.No i'm just messing. Best movie of the year so far.
  58. May 15, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *The good*: Lots of CGI.
    *The bad*: No character development. Zero. The nerds and the unimaginative among us will fall over themselves to oppose that claim, but the truth is that there is zero character development. Apparently the Avengers are a "time bomb". WTF? Why? Because of their egos? Because they, being heroes, haven't figured out how to be heroes yet, despite having their own movies where they did just that? The problem is that Joss Whedon is playing at telling a compelling "modern-day" hero story (which is all skepticism and a sense of shame regarding the past classic superhero take), but he can't actually do it. Rather than really develop characters, he opts for cheap one-liners designed to tell you that the Avengers can't get along, but he's too cowardly to show it and say why. A better film would go over why the Avengers don't get along. What happened to the characters between their own films and this one? Why are they jaded? Now, as a forgettable film, it's fine. Lots of CGI, some humour and competent direction. So why do review sites have it as 8.9 (I'm looking at you, IMDB)? How have people here managed to rate it collectively at 8.7? Why are the nerds wetting themselves over this? I have no idea. It could have been better, but instead it is... not. Hawkeye is lameness personified. Scarlett Johansson's outfit is tight but the character forgettable. Captain America is crowded out. The Hulk apparently can't control his rage (which is used against them by Loki), but then at the end he miraculously can! Thor (a demi-god) is bland and ineffective. Iron Man is **** but insubstantial. In all, the characters are very weak. Enjoy it as a popcorn (albeit $100 million+ popcorn) movie, but don't tell me that it has "developed characters" or anything of the sort, or that's it's worth anything more than a 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  59. May 15, 2012
    10
    I have seen this movie 4 times already (don't judge) and it has never gotten old. The action and humor mesh together perfectly in this movie. I did not expect to laugh as much as I did when I first saw the movie. The action is awesome and the special effects are top-notch. If you are a fan of the Hulk like I am, you will be very pleased with this movie. The Hulk steals the show, and people were cheering when he was on the big screen. Every character gets their fair share of screen time, with no one getting left out. I recommend watching Captain America and Thor before seeing The Avengers, because those films will provide helpful background information so you will not be confused on what is going on in the movie. Expand
  60. May 15, 2012
    9
    The only thing that stops this movie from getting a 10 is the relatively slow beginning. Though necessary to the development of the characters, it still felt sluggish at times. However, the last hour and a half or so is beyond epic and easily compensates for any flaws the film has. The Hulk stole the show. It may have taken 3 movies with 3 different actors, but Marvel has finally perfected Bruce Banner on the big screen. Expand
  61. May 15, 2012
    0
    The Avengers is middling at best. It is incredibly cliched, predictable and shallow. Character development is nil, as well as tension or suspense. Cheesy one liners and attempts at humor further sink The Avengers. The only redeeming quality of the movie was Loki, the main villain.
  62. May 15, 2012
    9
    I would not bother seeing the 3D version of the movie since the 3D aspect was added later and not very well. That being said, this is an amazing movie and I can't wait to see it again. Just don't pay extra for mediocre 3D.
  63. May 15, 2012
    10
    Can't remember the last time (never?) I went to a movie on a Monday night and saw a half full theatre of people cheering and laughing at a movie. Despite the positive hype, I cringed when the movie started off with a space scene featuring gods, aliens, magic, and mass-audience-unfriendly terms like "The Tesseract." It seriously seemed like all the right ingredients for the perfect train wreck. But it worked, and it worked well; delivering some of the best / most clever scenes ever to appear in a superhero movie. The casting was excellent as well - especially for Bruce Banner - even just standing there, he felt, nerdy, detached and dangerous. (but with just the right amount of soul.) I guess the best compliment I can give The Avengers is that it reminded me why sometimes it's just awesome to go to the movies. Expand
  64. May 15, 2012
    10
    This Movie was Awesome times Infinity. Whedon depicted all the characters correctly. I have learned a lesson on here today about how Metacritic works. If its a score of 69 like how Avengers has then I should watch it because I loved this movie.
  65. May 15, 2012
    9
    After Thor movie I lost all hope for next awesome comic book based movie, so I wasn't so excited about Avengers... till I saw the movie. Avengers is mix of action, comedy and one of the most popular marvel characters. But there is one problem... story is too cliche. Aliens (extra-dimensional beings) trying to destroy the world and superheroes are going to save it. Nevertheless movie is fun and looks incredible in IMAX. I would certainly give this movie 10 if not the story fail, so it gets 9. Now let's just hope that Dark Knight Rises won't have similar problem. Expand
  66. drm
    May 15, 2012
    5
    I said I wasn't gonna do it, but I watched 'The Avengers' last night, in glorious 2D. Now for a solid week, fake life-style comic nerds have been building this thing up to me like it was the second coming of Christ. It isn't. Think of it like this. 'Love In The Time Of Cholera' is a far better literary work than a 'Wolverine' comic. They are truly different animals. Using this example, "Scarface" is a far better film than "The Avengers". I didn't get the impression Joss Whedon was trying to make high cinematic art here, which is fine, if you take it at that level. It's fun. It's mindlessly entertaining, and the effects are top notch, but then they sort of had to be, didn't they? Watch it. Take your kids. They'll love it. Just don't let any Marvel fanboys build up your hopes too high. As comic movies go, it's pretty decent. As a pinnacle of modern filmmaking, it fails all over the place. Expand
  67. May 15, 2012
    8
    Digital Money Maker

    This is the crash! Bang! Wallop! movie of the year. It's digital, it's funny, it's stupid and it's in 3D -the first must see, post Avatar. Only if you don't know who each character is, or haven't seen their movies, you may be at a loss to follow (as if that matters).

    Loki (see Thor) has made a deal to get revenge on Thor and the Earth (of course) by getting some
    ridiculous source of power to some very bad aliens. All of the Marvel heroes - flawed heroes all - have to first unite, then trounce the invaders. And they do and you know they will.

    The script is way above average for this kind of film - think Iron Man witty. The cast is top notch - especially Mark Ruffolo (Hulk), Downey (Iron Man) and the redoubtable Samuel L. Jackson as the team leader (Fury). No doubt, Jackson has replaced Morgan Freeman as the black American god who can do no wrong. The effects are as good as they get, as long as you can focus your eyes. It is often like putting your head in a washing machine with 3D glasses on.

    Joss Whedon wrote, directed and probably gave birth to this film all on his own, and he makes a good fist of it. Despite it's enormous length - 147 minutes of popcorn chomping, it keeps your attention and never takes itself too seriously. I only wish that poor Jeremy Renner (Hawkeye) will take a serious part next - you know, like in Hurt Locker and the Town - to balance his all action man roles.

    This film cost a fortune and will make a fortune. Trust me
    Expand
  68. May 15, 2012
    10
    First of all, the fact that the critics show a score of less than 80 for this film shows that these guys OBVIOUSLY do not know how to enjoy a good film. They spend so much time complicating knit-picky details in their nerdy little heads that it is IMPOSSIBLE for them to enjoy a TRULY GOOD film. And the fact that they rated it in the 60s screams a warning to anyone who will listen that SOMEONE needs to take their bongs away from them at least one week prior to going to see ANY movie upon which they will be writing a review. : Expand
  69. May 15, 2012
    8
    I'll keep this short and to the point. This movie is gratuitous fun. ...lot's of action, great special effects, a ridiculous plot, and some laughs. I am one of those people who hates when a movie doesn't take me seriously, especially when it's pretending to. This one doesn't pretend to, and was entertaining. This is one extreme of what the cinema was created for, and shame on you for feeling bad about yourself for enjoying it. Expand
  70. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've seen this movie 3 times, and I plan on seeing it a 4th.

    Nuff said.

    P.S. Better action than Michael Bay's films, Funnier than Judd Apatow's films and more heart than most anything in recent memory.

    Love You Joss
  71. May 15, 2012
    6
    Disappointing. I can sum it up as 2 hours of explosions and 1 liners. Acting was... mediocre. I honestly expected a lot more. It was more of a straight action movie, the story was very very bland. Only good thing I can say about it was the visual effects were great and that is it.
  72. May 15, 2012
    10
    I didn't think I could be invested in so many characters in just one movie. I love the idea that each of the avengers have had there own movies, and that made them more familiar to me for this movie. seeing them together was just amazing. I loved the dialogue between characters and the action. There were a lot of subtle fan service moments that were also accessible to people unfamiliar with the comics. I was never bored because there was always something going on, whether it's a great action sequence or banter between the characters. The Avengers is a movie I can watch now and for many years to come. Expand
  73. May 15, 2012
    7
    Marvel's The Avengers is a fun movie. It's a +2hrs ride full of capes, suits and explosions. Just the type of entertainment you expect for the summer. It's not a deep movie, it's rather the opposite. The focus was on the Avengers coming together. While it was cliche usually, I enjoyed it. I knew what to expect, yet I watched it with pleasure. I think that's the point of such movies. You go to the cinema not expecting a masterpiece, but a good funride. We're presented with the obvious mid-movie crisis between the heroes and then the big fight with all of them fighting together. Cliche, but it's still nice to see Hulk alongside Iron Man :)

    Whedon and his cast deliver. Most of it, at least.
    The movie is stolen by Ruffalo's Hulk. Peroid. He gets the funniest moments, with Thor coming in second. Suprisingly - Tony Stark (Downey Jr.) is only trying to be funny. I didn't laugh at any of his jokes and sometimes even felt a bit irritated.
    Hiddleston's Loki is believeable, while Evans is a complete and utter mistake. I just can't bring myself to liking this version of Captain America. Evans looks and acts in this movie like a dumbed-down 25 y.o. with muscles bigger than Thor's. Not my pair of shoes.
    Renner steals the dumbest scenes in the movie with his funny faces and acting seriously, while doing stupid things. The felt... unnecessary. Both of them, really. Well no. Black Widow served a purpose. As opposed to Cobie Smoulder's Maria Hill. If she was supposed to be the eyecandy, she surely didn't catch my eye.

    Other major flaw is the forced 3D. My cinema didn't offer me the choice between 2D and 3D. And I regret that, because I watched about 30% of the movie with glasses off. It doesn't improve the experience, but on the contrary - makes the faster paced fight scenes blurry and hard to watch.

    Whedon's humour is clearly visible throughout the whole thing and is a major strength of the movie itself. And again - Hulk steals it. Stark tries to be funny, but on majority of occasions fails.

    I left the movie satisfied with the outcome. There were superheroes, big fights, laughs and Johansson in spandex (unfortunately 3D instead of pleasing the male audience did the opposite, blurred everything in closeups :( ).

    If you wanted a movie with tons of your beloved comic heroes doing good, you get better. You get a well paced and executed picture, which clearly sets up the ground for sequels. And I, for sure, will be visting a cinema nearby to see it. Just as I will go to Iron Man 3 and Thor 2.

    I will not go to Captain America 2, because Chris Evans is NOT my Captain America and at the same time is the biggest flaw of The Avengers. Pity, but we get Hulk, Iron Man and Thor to cover him up. And that's enough for me.

    Assemble in a theatre near you and enjoy. As did I.
    Expand
  74. DME
    May 14, 2012
    10
    Full of great action and humor. It keeps a good balance on every hero and doesn't favor any over another. From start to finish it's quite simply an awesome movie, maybe even the greatest superhero movie of all-time. The Avengers is spectacular.
  75. May 14, 2012
    10
    Excellent and very funny movie! All the main characters get some great lines, lots of good action, lots of fun.

    Easily one of the best superhero movies in recent memory (excepting the amazing Batman reboot series).

    Best. Line. Ever. "Clench up Legolas" (said by Ironman to Hawk-eye).
  76. May 14, 2012
    8
    When Iron Man or Hulk was on screen it was awesome. The only good actor was the guy who played Hawkeye.

    Every time Captain America was on-screen it was painfully bad. It was good an bad at the same time.
  77. May 14, 2012
    2
    Where's the story? Lots of punches but nothing to make me interested in the characters or the plot - what plot? What does it say about us that this movie has been so popular? I followed MC's recommendation and was sorely disappointed. The bits of humor and Robert Downey were the only bright spots in a really boring movie. Loki's horns looked ridiculous.
  78. May 13, 2012
    7
    It's a kids' movie! Extremely predictable plot, cliché characters, unrealistic comic relief. Effects were great, and great cast. Part of what makes this movie great is the fact that many other movies led to it. But the movie by itself... not that impressive.
  79. May 13, 2012
    9
    This movie was extremely fun to watch and also had a good plot. It was fun to see all the different guys come together. The humor was pretty damn good for an action movie. It was also cool seeing Captain America (Chris Evans) because he grew up in my hometown. This is a movie I would watch again.
  80. May 13, 2012
    8
    I kept hearing this movie sucked over and over, but it doesn't, in fact It's pretty good. The story had a good level of clarity and didn't do anything that contradicts the comics and other media too badly, the biggest complaint I have is the bad guys in the movie are a little lame.
  81. May 13, 2012
    5
    The Avengers has everything money can buy going for it and not much else. There's nothing offensive in the film but nothing provocative either. Did anyone here feel any tension whatsoever watching this? It plays it so safe. Hey, there's a lot of great stuff for the eyes, the pacing is good and I think the dialog is pretty funny, but there really isn't much substance or originality. A summer thrill ride and then it's over. Not that there's anything wrong with that. Expand
  82. May 13, 2012
    5
    I was trying to keep my expectations tempered. Now I have excitement churning in my chest, and a grin on my face that I can't fight. Can this be out already?

    Regards
    Diolt
  83. May 12, 2012
    10
    An amazing balancing act of chaos, explosions, big heroes, big actors, and good humor all done very well. I am very impressed that everything was done so well yet so balanced and entertaining. This sets a new standard for multi cast action films. Take note transformers.
  84. CDQ
    May 12, 2012
    10
    The best movie this year by far, and perhaps the best superhero movie of all time. The sheer awesomeness of The Avengers cannot be explained with words. It was completely amazing.
  85. May 12, 2012
    10
    This movie has flow, comedy and good character development. It is what you hope for when you go to see the movies. I don't make sweeping generalizations without substance unless I feel certain, this movie is brilliant.

    Just go see it.
    It's worth the 10 I'm giving it.
  86. May 12, 2012
    10
    This film was great - it had fantastic visuals, nice characters, breathtaking fights and kept me interested all the time. I consider it a great success :) There were also genuine comedic moments, when the entire cinema laughed. I enjoyed it very, very much and this is what is all about.
  87. May 12, 2012
    8
    Well designed characters, good acting, nicely balanced humour and very good visual aspect sum up to make of this film a very enjoyable movie, even for those who like me are not particularly fond of superheroes.
  88. May 12, 2012
    8
    It lived up to the hype! Its still just a comic book action hero movie which is to say "shallow action flick" but I have to give it props for doing it extremely well. I, along with most of the other movie goers in our theater had several laugh out loud moments thanks to M.D. Jr.. The special effects were spectacular. I saw it in 3-D which is never my preference. It didn't feel contrived to exploit the 3-D effects, it just amplified the experience.
    Take the kids but leave the wife at home she'll hate it.
    Expand
  89. May 12, 2012
    9
    "Joss Whedon is a freaking Genius" . It was so difficult to put together something like this but his amazing Story and Direction made the movie awesome . It was very thrilling and the action scenes were incredible and its had some really funny moment too which tells that the movie is not boring at all. Robart , Tom was the best as they were before. Hamsworth was good but not better then he was on Thor . Evans on the other seemed kinda different . seems like he was too angry about everything . Scarlet was super and her action scenes were perfect but hated her hair style. S.l.Jackson and Jeremy was super too . And last Cobie was the surprise of the film . I saw her every week on HIMYM but here seeing her beauty just made my day ! plus her custom was WahaaoooO !!!
    Effect was good as well as al the other work . But I didnt like the theme song that much . It wasnt bad but its not catchy like other superhero films.Overall The Avengers is a total perfect Entertainment !

    Really want to thank The Avengers Creator Stan "The Man" Lee (Respect)! and co-creator Jack Kirby.

    tnx to Marvel , Disney & Kevin for taking this Dream Project and turning it into a freaking awesome movie !
    Expand
  90. May 12, 2012
    7
    This is the type of film where if you don't take it seriously, and just sit back for the fun of it, you'll have a blast. It reminds me a little of Independence Day. The writing and characters are piss awful, but the sheer spectacle makes it fun enough to give a decent rating. If you go into the film wanting a fun action movie, then The Avengers provides, but if you want a sophisticated superhero movie like the Dark Knight, then save your money for the Dark Knight Rises. The film is difficult to score, but it is a blast to sit and watch. Go see it. Expand
  91. May 12, 2012
    10
    The first ten minutes of The Avengers is amazingly action packed and there isn't even a super powered hero in sight. It only gets increasing doses of "Oh MY GOD" from there! I found myself constantly saying to myself " Well nothing will top that," then BAM! topped it becomes. This movie will make you want to joyously cheer at the screen and you will.
  92. May 12, 2012
    6
    There is too much mayhem in the movie for my taste, although the story line is quite interesting: getting a group of superheroes, whose styles and personalities essentially do not click together, to get one supremely difficult task done. And the Big Boss is a black man! I would have liked to see some other minority groups, i.e., Asians and Hispanics, take a part in this huge enterprise too.
  93. May 12, 2012
    9
    This movie is just made of WIN, truly mind-blowing but also thought provoking. Definitely not one of those action hero movies where the switching off of one's mind is compulsory.
  94. May 12, 2012
    9
    THE AVENGERS is yet again more proof that Joss Whedon is a genius and is one of the greatest filmmakers of today. The Avengers is brilliantly written, contains great humour, well-done action sequences and visuals and great performances from the cast. The Avengers is probably one of the greatest superhero movies of all time!
  95. May 12, 2012
    9
    The Avengers is one of the greatest movies I have ever gone to see.If you like action films with no romance this is the film for you as there are no soppy love scenes which every action movie fan hates. Plus there are some humorous parts for people who like some comedy in a movie. Overall all the actor's and actresses played their role perfectly.I strongly recommend you see this film.
  96. May 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not so much a review in & of itself, as a response to all of the negative reviews I have read. With that said, this will be FULL OF SPOILERS. Do not read anymore if you hate spoilers. Most of the negative reviews I have seen thus far have been written by individuals who, quite obviously, have absolutely no clue what they are talking about. At least in regards to The Avengers. Some common complaints I have seen:
    1) The movie did not have enough exposition & I struggled to keep up with what was happening.
    ~The movie had plenty of exposition...about FIVE MOVIES worth of it. If you can't remember what happened in Iron Man or Thor because you haven't seen either of those movies since their theatrical release, that is not Joss Whedon's fault. Nor is it a fault of this movie. It would have been impractical to squeeze in an extra twenty or thirty minutes of exposition in a pointless attempt to bring those individuals who didn't "do their homework" up to speed.
    2) The heroes bickered & fought too much with each other.
    ~The reasoning behind this was two-fold. First & foremost, this is a form of fanservice. Geeky comic nerds (i.e. the target audience) WANT to see Thor & Hulk go toe to toe. We WANT to see Captain America deflect Mjölnir with his shield. Pitting our favorite heroes against each other has been a part of comics since comics existed, & to exclude that element from the film would have been a massive disappointment. Even if you ignore the fact that the heroes fighting amongst themselves was a desired piece of the movie, you cannot ignore one simple truth: it was entirely in character for these heroes to not get along with one another. At least, not at first. How unbelievable would it have been if the upright, disciplined, & serious Steve Rogers became fast friends with the pompous, arrogant, & self-absorbed Tony Stark? It would have been an outrage.
    3) My willing suspension of disbelief broke when I saw the S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier.
    ~Having S.H.I.E.L.D. play a role in all of the movies leading up to The Avengers, & then planning S.H.I.E.L.D. to have such a large part in The Avengers, but to exclude the S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier? Or, perhaps even worse, to simplify or dumb down the Helicarrier so it was JUST an aircraft carrier? Tantamount to blasphemy. Thor without his hammer, Captain American without his shield. Sure, those characters would still WORK & would still be recognizable...but (much like the S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier) those are iconic elements that the audience is expecting to see.
    4) The movie had a slow start.
    ~You must have missed the first fifteen minutes. You know, the part with all of the explosions, the gunfights, the car chase, the demi-god vaporizing people, & the massive underground complex that was turned into a city sized crater. All before the title appeared on screen. After that, the movie gives a brief (six to ten minutes) exposition on what each individual Avenger is currently doing, gives the viewer a glimpse on what the bad guy is up to, then dives right back into more action. Perhaps the first hour felt slow because the second hour was an absolute non-stop adrenaline fueled thrill ride. That's my best guess.
    5) Nothing but mindless fight scenes.
    ~I don't know how to reply to this, other than ask...have you read a comic book? Ever? There is, on average, a pretty good bit of fighting. Which, most comic book readers will agree, is not a bad thing as long as its done well. In The Avengers...it is done very well.
    6) The dialogue was terrible.
    ~I digress that some characters are less interesting to listen to than others. However, that is not something you can fault the movie for. Every character works at their maximum capacity, & every actor fulfills their roles quite well. You cannot blame the movie or Chris Hemsworth for Thor having epic sounding if somewhat stiff dialogue. You cannot blame Joss Whedon or Mark Ruffalo for Bruce Banner seeming somewhat bland, boring, or shy. They are playing the characters perfectly, absolutely spot-on! Not every member of The Avengers gets to be the witty & sharp tongued Tony Stark.

    In closing...I am sure I missed some complaints. Those are the ones that burned foremost in my mind. Is The Avengers a landmark groundbreaking masterpiece? No.
    Is it a work of art that will be discussed in classrooms? No.
    Is it a damned fun movie that hits all of the right spots, pushes the right buttons, & pleases its target audience? Hell yes. It is certainly that.
    Will there be a sequel? Without doubt.
    Expand
  97. May 12, 2012
    10
    Ben_Otter, Omg you must not been reading any comics when you were a kid. Superman,Green Lantern and Batman belongs to the DC comic syndicate and their hero group is called the Justice League... The Avengers are group of heros from Stan Lee's Marvel Comics. Completely different heroes from completely different storyline. Justice Avengers? Wow, that's a good title for a spoof comedy movie . It really shows how knowledgeable you are Mr Otter hence your spelling too needs improving. I do not know what you look for in rating a nice movie. Personally what makes a great movie is its villain. I would say the villains of marvel comics/film are a lot scary and powerful than the ones Superman and Batman encounters. But again I wonder what movie creators of DC's Justice League would have villains on it. Ben_Otter, I would avoid making comments until you do a little research about any movie you watch and review. Power Rangers have such lame villains(nice design costumes though very colorful) and they do like move, position their arms and head nodding a lot to communicate cause they do not use their mouths, people would find you strange and avoid you if like to be such a Power Ranger hero. Expand
  98. May 12, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had medium expectations, having seen glowing reviews etc vs knowing the quality of "blockbusters" these days but I very much enjoyed this movie. It's a popcorn movie and it's a REALLY GOOD popcorn movie. Great to see Joss Whedon at the helm of something that's going to see him getting a decent run in hollywood in the future. Great dialogue, great visual gags, good fun. Expand
  99. May 12, 2012
    7
    @Ben_Otter Green Lantern and Superman are DC characters so no they wouldn't be in a Marvel movie you moron! Anyway this movie was pretty good. Not the best movie I've ever seen, but I'd definitely recommend it.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 8, 2012
    75
    The banter has zip, the effects are fun, the climactic battle is decently spectacular, and if the 3-D is mostly expendable, there are a few scenes where it adds a nice kick.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 4, 2012
    80
    This mania is what Marvel followers have hungered for, and it would be fruitless to deny their delight. As Loki says to a crowd of earthlings, "It is the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation." We do, Master, we do.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 4, 2012
    60
    They're fascinating characters, to be sure, with back stories ripe for development. But Whedon doesn't commit here, and the results are shrug-worthy.