Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2664 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Continuing the epic big-screen adventures started in Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor and Captain America: The First Avenger, Marvel's The Avengers is the superhero team up of a lifetime. When an unexpected enemy emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury,Continuing the epic big-screen adventures started in Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor and Captain America: The First Avenger, Marvel's The Avengers is the superhero team up of a lifetime. When an unexpected enemy emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury, Director of the international peacekeeping agency known as SHIELD, finds himself in need of a team to pull the world back from the brink of disaster. Spanning the globe, a daring recruitment effort begins. (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 3, 2012
    100
    There are moments of genuine pathos, genuine humor, genuine surprise. As much as the film adheres to the strictures of the standard comic-book movie, it also pops with a knowing, loving, Whedon-world jokiness that keeps everything barreling along.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 2, 2012
    88
    The Avengers kicks ass.
  3. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    May 2, 2012
    80
    Whedon is the key reason why this $220-million behemoth of a movie is smartly thought out and executed with verve and precision. It may be overly long at two hours, 23 minutes, but so much is going on you might not even notice.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 2, 2012
    75
    If the film is more solid and satisfying than terrific, so be it.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 3, 2012
    75
    The Avengers has been executed with all the reverence the super-fans demand, as well as the winking, self-referential humor that has made it palatable for filmgoers disinclined to take a bunch of grown men dressed in spangles and spandex so very seriously.
  6. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    May 2, 2012
    63
    While The Avengers exhibits exemplary craftsmanship, Joss Whedon hasn't made a great film.
  7. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    May 2, 2012
    30
    Of the star-studded cast, only Mark Ruffalo (playing Bruce Banner) and Robert Downey Jr. (as Iron Man) bring any personality to the place-holder dialogue. Overlong, monotonous, violent, and simple-minded, this is like one of those "World's Biggest Gang Bang" videos, except that no one onscreen appears to be enjoying himself.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 662
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is by far the best Marvel film. It's almost like if you putted together all the films from Iron Man till Thor and you have TheThe Avengers is by far the best Marvel film. It's almost like if you putted together all the films from Iron Man till Thor and you have The Avengers, which was basically what they did. Some characters are more relevant, like Black Widow or Captain America. The action sequences were superb and the way the characters interact was really great. The script also contains some nice humurous moments.
    A perfect and well deserved 10.
    Expand
  2. May 6, 2012
    10
    I am having trouble thinking of a movie I have ever enjoyed more. I am not having much luck though. I cant recommend this movie enough.I am having trouble thinking of a movie I have ever enjoyed more. I am not having much luck though. I cant recommend this movie enough. Can't wait to see it again. Expand
  3. May 4, 2012
    10
    The Avengers is the best Marvel film to date and quite possibly the best superhero movie I've seen in terms of all-out action spectacle,The Avengers is the best Marvel film to date and quite possibly the best superhero movie I've seen in terms of all-out action spectacle, humor, and replay value. Tony Stark has so much more character development here than in the self-obsessed and flat Iron Man 2, it's nice to see Iron Man getting to do more intricate work aboard the helicarrier than just blowing stuff up. Chris' Evans and Hemsworth did an awesome job as the no-nonsense living legend super soldier and the huggable god of thunder respectively. Joss Whedon does an amazing job balancing the screen time for all the heroes and everyone gets their chance to shine, Black Widow and Hawkeye get to have their own complete story-arcs and S.H.I.E.L.D. Director Nick Fury, Agent's Maria Hill and Coulson also had their moments and they took it well with the most pivotal scene of the film. But the big surprise is Mark Ruffalo who really steals the show as Dr Bruce Banner/Hulk, he's nailed down the relationship between the scientist and the big guy down to a T, and he has all of the funniest scenes in the Avengers.
    Loved the first two acts, the first meet-up of the characters, the confrontations are all top draw but the highlights for me are the vocal interactions between everyone, whether it's between Stark/Banner, Stark/Cap, Coulson/Cap, Loki/Thor, Loki/Widow, Widow'Hawk and what have you is all perfect and I'd be more than happy if the movie would've been four hours long just to see them all bouncing off each other and that's all credit to the smart witty screenplay by Whedon. Every scene is so well made and the script compelling and essential to moving the plot forward, the most memorable moment for me was when Cap was putting on his suit while a Mozart-esque symphony is playing in the backdrop and loved all the pop culture references especially Stark's nickname for the Hawk. The final third of the movie is all-out mayhem and watching the team come together to save Manhattan from a never-ending wave of an alien race who-shall-not-be-named attacks is absolutely exhilarating and the one long continuous shot of all the Avengers in the heat of battle is captivating. It proves the point of how character build-up and the tension watching our superheroes fight and play-off each other in the first two acts and have the final battle in context can make for a more engaging and extraordinary spectacle than just mindlessly blowing things up because you have to. It's the best action set-piece I've ever seen and it's so over the top in an amazing way. When you walk out of the cinema I promise your craving for a very well made superhero movie that's not dumbed down and at the same time not as gritty and dark will be satiated. It's pure indulgence.
    Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    A glowing example of what action movies should be like - a perfect blend of intelligence and thrills.
  5. May 4, 2012
    8
    Very fun movie to watch. This movie takes the wittiness from Iron Man and throws is into this movie. There really aren't any serious scenes.Very fun movie to watch. This movie takes the wittiness from Iron Man and throws is into this movie. There really aren't any serious scenes. Everything is just ride filled with action and laughs. The reason this movie won't get anything higher than an 8 from me is because the movie can be too light-hearted for my liking. When the world is at stake and you have almost every scene ending with a funny line it get's to the point where this movie becomes more of a comedy than an action drama. It's the best Marvel film by far, but the fact that the plot is not very deep keeps it from being more than an 8. I much prefer the take Warner Bros. has taken with Batman because it is more true to life . But if you are a person that doesn't want a movie that takes itself too seriously then you'll enjoy The Avengers. Expand
  6. May 4, 2012
    7
    The film worked best when the Avengers played off each other and in the strength of the majority of dialogue. Loki has gravitas as a villain,The film worked best when the Avengers played off each other and in the strength of the majority of dialogue. Loki has gravitas as a villain, Iron man is witty and Hulk is treated with restraint by the film-makers, but steals the show.
    It does however have flaws; the extended actions scenes aren't all the memorable and are exhausting (especially in 3D). The opening will make you feel like you missed a film and played too seriously for how silly it is. Loki's army is under-developed, borrow an unrelated (and stupid sounding) name from the comics and are dealt with via a plot-contrivance, followed by a convenient killswitch. A lot of assumed knowledge is required to get for example, Maria Hill's inclusion or the foreshadowing of the final shot of Stark tower. Odd things like not calling Hawkeye, 'Hawkeye' seem like easily fixable glitches that get over-looked. The Avengers is great, but the barebones, flawed main storyline stops it being exceptional.
    Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    0
    Mala muy sobre valorada, Joss Whedon puede ser bue guionista pero como director deja mucho que desear, la película es decepcionante y todosMala muy sobre valorada, Joss Whedon puede ser bue guionista pero como director deja mucho que desear, la película es decepcionante y todos parecen niños desesperados por esta película. Una historia muy simple. Expand

See all 662 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  3. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  4. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.