Miramax Films | Release Date: December 17, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 417 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
374
Mixed:
32
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
mrwarcriminalDec 18, 2016
THIS is Dicaprios Oscar movie. I never get tired of watching the film...Leonardo makes this movie work; anyone else and it's just a good-movie. The colors and cinematography is outstanding. Plus Kate is "simply divine!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Mar 12, 2016
With a strong performance from Leonardo Dicaprio who carries and drives the film all the way. Add to that a solid story led by a great director such as Marin Scorsese to make this film a solid good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Aug 4, 2015
There's definitely something to be said for the film's almost unforgivable length and gurth. But, then again, who else should deserve a biopic of such magnitude and grandeur than Howard Hughes? Scorsese's "Aviator" is a stately, brutal, andThere's definitely something to be said for the film's almost unforgivable length and gurth. But, then again, who else should deserve a biopic of such magnitude and grandeur than Howard Hughes? Scorsese's "Aviator" is a stately, brutal, and haunting biopic that asks for nothing but the best from its performers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Le__XenomorphJan 23, 2015
A spectacular film that goes into great detail about the life of Howard Hughes, the ultimate aviator. The costumes are great, the sets are great, the cast is great, and the acting is top-notch. This movie is near-perfect in every way. 10/10A spectacular film that goes into great detail about the life of Howard Hughes, the ultimate aviator. The costumes are great, the sets are great, the cast is great, and the acting is top-notch. This movie is near-perfect in every way. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
The great detail and enormity of The Aviator is astonishing. Leonardo DiCaprio's portrayal of the billionaire and mad-man is unmatched. Martin Scorsese will instantly engage you, and you'll remember this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ArendelleawesomAug 24, 2014
Simply fascinating I bought this movie a few weeks ago and never got around to watching it I don't know why I waited so long this film is a masterpiece on its own right Leonardo DiCaprio has always managed to create a completely different andSimply fascinating I bought this movie a few weeks ago and never got around to watching it I don't know why I waited so long this film is a masterpiece on its own right Leonardo DiCaprio has always managed to create a completely different and unique character each time he puts on a performance and it is never disappointing is always a spectacular show with beyond perfect execution o haven't seen all of his films but kits been this way every single time and he did that with this film right here and every other character in this film was interesting and none of them felt like throw away characters they all had there place but they weren't the focus and shouldn't be the main character Howard Hughes was and is one of the best played characters to date it was amazing to watch his life played out in this movie and it was genuinely grieving to see how he lived with his fears and mentality I would recommend for anyone given the chance to see this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 11, 2014
This undoubtedly a very good film. Leonardo DiCaprio is phenomenal in the lead role and really embodies Howard Hughes. Throughout, it barely felt like acting, rather it felt like I was watching Howard Hughes in a documentary, which is trulyThis undoubtedly a very good film. Leonardo DiCaprio is phenomenal in the lead role and really embodies Howard Hughes. Throughout, it barely felt like acting, rather it felt like I was watching Howard Hughes in a documentary, which is truly amazing. John C. Reilly, Cate Blanchett, and Alan Alda also really stood out in what was a very large and talented cast for this one. Martin Scorsese's direction is also fantastic as usual. Thanks to his direction, we get a very clear picture of what was a very troubled genius due to the great storytelling. Also thanks to his direction, the almost three hour run time feels more like an hour. The cinematography is also something to behold here, as the entire film is really beautifully put together. Sometimes with Scorsese, though I love his films, I can feel that little bit, "Well I liked that, but I thought it would be better," but here, there was no such feeling as this really lived up to the hype for me and more and really stands tall as a great biopic of one of the brightest men in recent times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidMay 18, 2014
This is one of Scorsese and DiCaprio's most underrated, DiCaprio is just so astonishing as Howard Hughes in a well studied portrayal, Cate Blanchett like always gives an amazing performance as Katharine Hepburn. Do not care about its 170 minThis is one of Scorsese and DiCaprio's most underrated, DiCaprio is just so astonishing as Howard Hughes in a well studied portrayal, Cate Blanchett like always gives an amazing performance as Katharine Hepburn. Do not care about its 170 min length it's very good Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineFeb 21, 2014
Great story, great actors, great director. Not much anything else to say except that the movie is pretty long, if you have no problems with that, go watch it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SirLouenFeb 12, 2014
Really amazing interpretation by Di Caprio and the cast. Considering Hughes was a really complex character considering his severe OCD (possibly better detail than Nicholson in As Good as it Gets). The film itself is a little bit slow in someReally amazing interpretation by Di Caprio and the cast. Considering Hughes was a really complex character considering his severe OCD (possibly better detail than Nicholson in As Good as it Gets). The film itself is a little bit slow in some parts but overall really good quality Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Feb 11, 2014
Perhaps one of the more underrated films of Scorsese, The Aviator is an exhilarating look at the aviation pioneer with DiCaprio filling in his shoes with never seen before intensity and some grand set design.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Jan 7, 2014
Scorsese matém uma boa forma depois de Gangues de Nova York, O Aviador sem sombras de dúvida se mostrou ser um bom filme, porém não um dos melhores mais está entre.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
The Aviator flies.
With the duo of Scorsese and Di-caprio, The Aviator takes a solid script and brings it to life. Amazing performances and a well paced story makes it take-off.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonNov 12, 2013
Howard Hughes had a dream for the future, and put everything he had on the line to build it. Scorsese has brought his dream to life, flaws, foibles, failures, and all in a stunningly dramatic masterwork. This is Scorsese at his mostHoward Hughes had a dream for the future, and put everything he had on the line to build it. Scorsese has brought his dream to life, flaws, foibles, failures, and all in a stunningly dramatic masterwork. This is Scorsese at his most breathtaking and cinema at its best. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 22, 2013
Although a little long, Aviator is an okay attempt at what Scorcese sought out to do. The movie is very slow at times, but nevertheless a powerful film. The performances are there, and DiCaprio as Howard Hughes is mesmerizingly good.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
Cate Blanchett is stunning and the cinematography is gorgeous. I strongly dislike Leonardo DiCaprio, though he's okay here; I think he's a highly overrated actor and so I find most of his performances incredibly annoying. With that in mind, ICate Blanchett is stunning and the cinematography is gorgeous. I strongly dislike Leonardo DiCaprio, though he's okay here; I think he's a highly overrated actor and so I find most of his performances incredibly annoying. With that in mind, I really liked him in The Aviator. This is his movie and he carries the film well. He works well with Scorsese and this film is proof of that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
The Aviator contains moments of greatness. It also contains some boring stretches, but make no mistake, the greatness is not overshadowed. Some key scenes in this film make it unmissable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Sep 2, 2012
The Aviator is a very boring film that is stretched to the end in too many parts. Leo is not at his best when he puts on a phony accent, in which i can't take him seriously. The art direction was nice though.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
JPWenzelJul 8, 2012
The way the story fit together was magnificent, the way how every intricate detail contributed to the story was amazing. A great movie I would recommend to anyone who likes this sort of movie.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 6, 2012
What a movie! Engaging, interesting, refreshing, witty! A movie with different hues! It was long, but never boring. Di Caprio's performance was excellent! I can't find real flaws here...yet it is not a 10...but close! I would love to see moreWhat a movie! Engaging, interesting, refreshing, witty! A movie with different hues! It was long, but never boring. Di Caprio's performance was excellent! I can't find real flaws here...yet it is not a 10...but close! I would love to see more historical-even if not very accurate- movies that are delightful as to me, this was. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
lovemusicJul 4, 2011
Leonardo DiCaprio deserved an Oscar for this movie. his performance was excellent. this is one of my favorite movies by him and Scorsese. it was genius. the acting was great. and the storyline was once again good. near perfect movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
I am not quite sure why this film didn't resonate with me. Technically perfect, amazing sets and costumes, great cast, but it just wasn't what everyone told me it would be. I guess I was waiting for that POW to knock me off my feet and itI am not quite sure why this film didn't resonate with me. Technically perfect, amazing sets and costumes, great cast, but it just wasn't what everyone told me it would be. I guess I was waiting for that POW to knock me off my feet and it never came around. I really don't have any complaints about this movie (other than it was pretty long) just that it didn't really catch my attention. I will say however Leonardo DiCaprio's performance was Oscar worthy, not sure why he is overlooked by some. Though The Aviator didn't really do much for me that shouldn't turn anyone off from seeing it as I am sure others will be much more impressed than I. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
JeremyE.Feb 22, 2009
It really pains me to write this review because this movie had soooo much potential. The acting by dicaprio and blanchett was PERFECT. They portrayed their characters so well. Another bright spot was the sound and cinematography. Everything It really pains me to write this review because this movie had soooo much potential. The acting by dicaprio and blanchett was PERFECT. They portrayed their characters so well. Another bright spot was the sound and cinematography. Everything about this film looked and sounded phenomenal. However, all of that goes down the drain because the plot is terrible. It's scattered, jumping from one thing to the other all the time and it doesn't really go anywhere. There's not really a story, more like a series of events. and the movie lasts about 40 minutes longer than it should. it's really sad because this could have turned out great but it sucked Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
masoudm.Nov 12, 2008
I agree with those who say dicaprio was not the best choice for playing howard hughes' role, but this doesn't mean he is a bad actor.I have seen people with these kinds of mental diseas (i guess it was germ phobia ), and he I agree with those who say dicaprio was not the best choice for playing howard hughes' role, but this doesn't mean he is a bad actor.I have seen people with these kinds of mental diseas (i guess it was germ phobia ), and he depicted it so well that you thought he was suffering from it right in front of your eyes. But the problem is leo's face. He still looks like a teenager and when he plays a grown up person's role you just can't accept it. But as always martin scorsese's direction was awesome and although the movies runtime is nearly 3 hours but you never get bored. The other actors also were good, specially alec baldwin. I have seen it 3 or 4 times and I'm going to watch it in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GigiM.Apr 24, 2008
It looks great, but that's it. Tedious and overrated. DiCaprio is horribly miscast; his Howard Hughes comes off like an arrogant teenager. Cate Blanchett, always good, reaffirmed my dislike of Katherine Hepburn. Not worth the time It looks great, but that's it. Tedious and overrated. DiCaprio is horribly miscast; his Howard Hughes comes off like an arrogant teenager. Cate Blanchett, always good, reaffirmed my dislike of Katherine Hepburn. Not worth the time investment. Watch "GoodFellas" again instead to see what Scorsese is capable of. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JasonB.Jun 30, 2007
I'm here to expose the good people at netflix as a bunch of charlatans, for the movie I saw last night delivered by these good people apparently bore no resemblance whatsoever to the film the above and below appeared to be gushing over. I'm here to expose the good people at netflix as a bunch of charlatans, for the movie I saw last night delivered by these good people apparently bore no resemblance whatsoever to the film the above and below appeared to be gushing over. The film netfix sent to me was a meandering, overwrought pile of self-indulgent arse. How can a film made about an airplane test pilot millionaire who slept with most of the best looking people in Hollywood turn out to be so dull? This my friends is a truly mystifying. I guess part of the blame must be leveled on that dufus Decraprio, I Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.May 11, 2007
A LLLLOOONNNGGG movie, and it manages to keep your attention the entire way. Leonardo and the rest of the cast do a great job, and Scorsese's directing is unmatched, other than Spielsberg. The story, character development, and overall A LLLLOOONNNGGG movie, and it manages to keep your attention the entire way. Leonardo and the rest of the cast do a great job, and Scorsese's directing is unmatched, other than Spielsberg. The story, character development, and overall film is top notch. I would recommend this to anyone interested. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
Not Scorsese's best, but "good" nonetheless. Leo is a wonder. Cate IS Katharine. A biopic in every sense of the word. Not for the simple minded or children, that much I can safely say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PlixikW.Jul 13, 2006
amazing movie. awesome directing by scorsese and awesome acting by dicaprio.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.Feb 23, 2006
This movie was very well-done and well-casted. Dicaprio was perfect as the eccentric, brilliant, odd-ball, Howard Hughes. Parts of the movie were positively creepy, and other scenes were very humorous. Overall a very effective movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FrankO.Jan 28, 2006
Better than I expected, great special effects, DiCaptrio was excellent thanks to direction of Sorcese; Blanchett was over the top as Katherine Hepburn, too much of a caricuture..long but plot kept moving...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
annonymousJan 6, 2006
Great movie slow in some parks but it was so good All of you who gave it a 0 2 or 3 have no life!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
michaelb.Nov 27, 2005
Terrible movie. Horribly edited. Casting DiCrapio for this part was a wrong decission, he looks too young, too clueless. The only redeeming quality of the whole film is the actress that plays Katherine Hepburn. That's a phenomenal Terrible movie. Horribly edited. Casting DiCrapio for this part was a wrong decission, he looks too young, too clueless. The only redeeming quality of the whole film is the actress that plays Katherine Hepburn. That's a phenomenal rendering of her. That I enjoyed. Otherwise I would wish I had never seen it at all. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful