The Aviator Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    An enormously entertaining slice of biographical drama, The Aviator flies like one of Howard Hughes' record-setting speed airplanes.
  2. 100
    This is one of the year's best films.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Barsanti
    90
    This is Scorsese’s "Schindler's List", for better and for worse (mostly the better).
  4. The Aviator has a hole in its center, and Scorsese fills it the only way he can, with spectacle. He makes The Aviator colorful and entertaining from beginning to end. There are worse things.
  5. 75
    A flawed but entertaining (and perhaps informative) tale.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    70
    Despite its star's heroic efforts, The Aviator is a gorgeous jet, flying on automatic pilot.
  7. The Aviator could've been a "Raging Bull" brother film, given that masterpiece's crystalline purity of purpose and humiliated courage. But it brakes far short.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 150
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    The way the story fit together was magnificent, the way how every intricate detail contributed to the story was amazing. A great movie I wouldThe way the story fit together was magnificent, the way how every intricate detail contributed to the story was amazing. A great movie I would recommend to anyone who likes this sort of movie. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    A spectacular film that goes into great detail about the life of Howard Hughes, the ultimate aviator. The costumes are great, the sets areA spectacular film that goes into great detail about the life of Howard Hughes, the ultimate aviator. The costumes are great, the sets are great, the cast is great, and the acting is top-notch. This movie is near-perfect in every way. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Howard Hughes had a dream for the future, and put everything he had on the line to build it. Scorsese has brought his dream to life, flaws,Howard Hughes had a dream for the future, and put everything he had on the line to build it. Scorsese has brought his dream to life, flaws, foibles, failures, and all in a stunningly dramatic masterwork. This is Scorsese at his most breathtaking and cinema at its best. Expand
  4. ChadS.
    May 11, 2007
    8
    A LLLLOOONNNGGG movie, and it manages to keep your attention the entire way. Leonardo and the rest of the cast do a great job, and A LLLLOOONNNGGG movie, and it manages to keep your attention the entire way. Leonardo and the rest of the cast do a great job, and Scorsese's directing is unmatched, other than Spielsberg. The story, character development, and overall film is top notch. I would recommend this to anyone interested. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    8
    Scorsese matém uma boa forma depois de Gangues de Nova York, O Aviador sem sombras de dúvida se mostrou ser um bom filme, porém não um dosScorsese matém uma boa forma depois de Gangues de Nova York, O Aviador sem sombras de dúvida se mostrou ser um bom filme, porém não um dos melhores mais está entre. Expand
  6. masoudm.
    Nov 12, 2008
    7
    I agree with those who say dicaprio was not the best choice for playing howard hughes' role, but this doesn't mean he is a bad I agree with those who say dicaprio was not the best choice for playing howard hughes' role, but this doesn't mean he is a bad actor.I have seen people with these kinds of mental diseas (i guess it was germ phobia ), and he depicted it so well that you thought he was suffering from it right in front of your eyes. But the problem is leo's face. He still looks like a teenager and when he plays a grown up person's role you just can't accept it. But as always martin scorsese's direction was awesome and although the movies runtime is nearly 3 hours but you never get bored. The other actors also were good, specially alec baldwin. I have seen it 3 or 4 times and I'm going to watch it in the future. Expand
  7. JasonB.
    Jun 30, 2007
    0
    I'm here to expose the good people at netflix as a bunch of charlatans, for the movie I saw last night delivered by these good people I'm here to expose the good people at netflix as a bunch of charlatans, for the movie I saw last night delivered by these good people apparently bore no resemblance whatsoever to the film the above and below appeared to be gushing over. The film netfix sent to me was a meandering, overwrought pile of self-indulgent arse. How can a film made about an airplane test pilot millionaire who slept with most of the best looking people in Hollywood turn out to be so dull? This my friends is a truly mystifying. I guess part of the blame must be leveled on that dufus Decraprio, I Expand

See all 150 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered

    Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 14, 2010
    The star of this week's "Inception" might be adding another blockbuster to his filmography this week, but will he also be adding another critical hit? We look back at DiCaprio's best and worst films, to see where "Inception" might fit in.