Miramax Films | Release Date: November 21, 2003
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
4
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
BobM.May 23, 2006
A beautiful film; very unhollywood; thoughful; and thank God, not something the Villlage Voice liked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.Jun 30, 2006
Intelligent and relevant without being inspiring, being somewhat diluted by itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OlivierB.Dec 6, 2003
This a the best film of the year. Go see it right now. A real jewel that reflect preoccupations of modern occidental life. Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryVanN.Jan 3, 2004
Like Atom Egoyan, the other great Canadian director,Denys Arcand reveals the human ability to find strength and hope amidst our all too human weaknesses and frailties.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshC.Aug 8, 2004
I like this movie. Good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElsieB.Nov 20, 2003
I just came from a screening of this movie in Toronto. It opens tomorrow night, and I hope it gets a huge turnout. It delivers emotionally, intellectually, comically, dramatically, and there is even a hot kiss. I hope Arcand gets the foreign I just came from a screening of this movie in Toronto. It opens tomorrow night, and I hope it gets a huge turnout. It delivers emotionally, intellectually, comically, dramatically, and there is even a hot kiss. I hope Arcand gets the foreign feature Oscar for this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LESZEKC.Dec 5, 2003
JUST A MASTERPIECE!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NaomaJ.Nov 20, 2004
An intellectual film - beautifully done. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LloydM.Feb 27, 2004
I am a professor and film scholar who sees more than 100 movies a year. Rarely have I found a movie this witty and emotionally moving. Of course, I am biased in my affection for intellectuals and personal concern for the relations between I am a professor and film scholar who sees more than 100 movies a year. Rarely have I found a movie this witty and emotionally moving. Of course, I am biased in my affection for intellectuals and personal concern for the relations between fathers and sons. But this is a great film in the humanist tradition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraP.May 24, 2004
Wonderful end to Arcand's "empire" trilogy: The Decline of the American Empire, Jesus of Montreal, and now Barbarian.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Aug 16, 2004
Punch in the stomach film, celebratory interpretation of Freudian thanatos (cf Decline and eros).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BernardoM.Nov 29, 2003
"Les Invasions Barbares" is the film of the year. It was probably the only unanimity in the Brazilian papers in months. I can only be sorry if the American critic couldn't get it - or couldn't take it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcK.Dec 7, 2003
I agree with the Village Voice reviewer that it is a "soap opera of assholes," but then again, so was Gosford Park, if you want to get right down to it. Well-written, interesting characters. And the actress who does an excellent job as the I agree with the Village Voice reviewer that it is a "soap opera of assholes," but then again, so was Gosford Park, if you want to get right down to it. Well-written, interesting characters. And the actress who does an excellent job as the young drug addict bears a strong resemblance to Ally Sheedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlR.Jan 24, 2004
A wonderfully exquisite movie about death, life, friends and intelligent thinking. And politically so not correct, it's a sweet taste for the ears. A great different approch to the bonds of friendship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TasosS.Feb 17, 2004
The best movie I saw this year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArnoldH.Dec 13, 2003
The rarest kind of movie - one whose characters linger in the memory for days after you have left the theater. Deeply moving as well as thought provoking. Not to be missed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful