Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 10, 2013
    50
    A boisterously Tarantinoesque mash-up of cliches, archetypes and bodacious craziness in the tradition of Southern-fried '60s and '70s drive-in fodder, The Baytown Outlaws is the sort of cartoonishly violent and swaggeringly non-PC concoction that defines guilty pleasure for many genre fans.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jan 10, 2013
    50
    The tin-earned dialogue and haphazard plotting are more reminiscent of Tarantino's frequent collaborator Robert Rodriguez.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Its ultimate merits may be few, but if nothing else, it stands on its own sweaty terms.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    It's unclear what drew the likes of Billy Bob Thornton, Eva Longoria and Andre Braugher to this tepid grindhouse retread, but at least they liven up the proceedings whenever they're onscreen.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Jan 7, 2013
    38
    This schlocky piece of ultra violence plays like a pop-culture pastiche without a stable thematic foundation.
  6. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jan 9, 2013
    30
    A barrage of unbelievable stereotypes try to kill each other in Barry Battles's dispiriting exploitation flick.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 8, 2013
    0
    The resulting mayhem and slaughter is vile and disgusting.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I created my new metacritic account Just to defend this OUTSTANDING Movie. I absolutely Loved it. Rented it, then went out and bought it the same day and watched it again. I just have to say I Loved it and any Normal person will too. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Okay, so you have Billy Bob Thornton in a cowboy kickass action movie. There's blood in The Baytown Outlaws all right! Heeeelllll yah! The film is really good, very simple and has clingy twists so you will be tangled and boggled from your mind. Watch this. Just watch it. Collapse

Trailers